Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Cycling Club/Wheelers?

• 06-07-2015 8:52pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Some one recently asked me about my boards gear asking me was it a club. Had to explain to them it wasnt (they thought boards.ie was our sponsor).

But is there an opportunity to form a club? Not sure if this has been discussed before but if memory serves me right the athletics form has its own club for runners who arent apart of an established club.

I was attached to Orwell but due to family/college havent ridden with them in nearly 18 months so didnt rejoin this year. Not sure if there is any major benefits to being with/without a club.

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Would ya need a newly designed kit for it?
    Ya know to distuingish a member of Boards CC from the normal boardsie's!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

bcmf wrote: »

we could have a secret hand shake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

By extension, if a club were to be formed and affiliated with boards.ie (obviously assuming the powers that be were to approve such an affiliation as well), would kit orders have to then be limited to members of that club? I seem to recall that the A/R/T singlets and gear are only available to those who are members of the boards.ie club, and that might become necessary were a cycling club formed, as while boards.ie can now tell anyone that may take issue with a cyclist that said cyclist is no more than a poster, while if there were an affiliated club, a third party is never going to accept/be bothered to distinguish between the different kits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

godtabh wrote: »
    Some one recently asked me about my boards gear asking me was it a club. Had to explain to them it wasnt (they thought boards.ie was our sponsor).

But is there an opportunity to form a club? Not sure if this has been discussed before but if memory serves me right the athletics form has its own club for runners who arent apart of an established club.

I was attached to Orwell but due to family/college havent ridden with them in nearly 18 months so didnt rejoin this year. Not sure if there is any major benefits to being with/without a club.

Any thoughts?

Can you be a member of two clubs. One primary and then the rest?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

TonyStark wrote: »
    Can you be a member of two clubs. One primary and then the rest?
    Yes you can - one club is listed on your licence, but you can be a member of any number of clubs

There are two sides to setting up a CI affiliated club:

1. It needs 3 officers (president, treasurer and secretary) and a committee - it also needs a constitution and has to be fully "CI-compliant". ie there is some administration involved. It's a members club (ie it's owned by the members and not a commercial organisation such as Boards, although they could be a club sponsor). It then needs to consider membership fees, bank accounts etc.

2. The benefits include insurance and other perks of CI membership, including the ability to apply for licences and run races (a bit like the TTs we used to put on) - it would also be possible to run leisure events (such as the "Evil 200") in an official capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

This is a good idea. Happy to help out with looking into this (allowing for greenlight from Boards HQ)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

Are you putting yourself forward to organize another kit order ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

From what I gather, you've all just volunteered yourselves for putting together the next jersey run.

I'd be up for the club - group - cycling - fun part though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Beasty wrote: »
    Yes you can - one club is listed on your licence, but you can be a member of any number of clubs

1. It needs 3 officers (president, treasurer and secretary) and a committee - it also needs a constitution and has to be fully "CI-compliant". ie there is some administration involved. It's a members club (ie it's owned by the members and not a commercial organisation such as Boards, although they could be a club sponsor). It then needs to consider membership fees, bank accounts etc.

2. The benefits include insurance and other perks of CI membership, including the ability to apply for licences and run races (a bit like the TTs we used to put on) - it would also be possible to run leisure events (such as the "Evil 200") in an official capacity

I assumed 1 and thought the benifit would be 2. I also thought there might a social aspect as often you see threads were people recognise each other but a club might give that more purpose and encourage more social riding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Wait...did someone just refer to the Evil 200 as a "leisure event"?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I assumed 1 and thought the benifit would be 2. I also thought there might a social aspect as often you see threads were people recognise each other but a club might give that more purpose and encourage more social riding

Sounds like a good idea. Could be worth giving Bikerbhoy a shout as he organised a fair number of informal boards spins over the winter & spring which seemed well attended. I'm purely a leisure cyclist myself mostly solo, but certainly enjoy the occasional social spin.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thinking a bit more about it - there is the additional "complication" that as a CI affiliated club (and indeed to benefit from the insurance cover available) anyone joining to take part in any "organised" spins would also need to be a member of/join CI (as already highlighted though, those of us who are already members can be a member of more than one club)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Bagsie being treasurer.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Brian? wrote: »
    Bagsie being treasurer.

secretary is where the power is

I might investigate what would be required to set up an affiliate club and speak to Dav and get his views. Then I can gauge interest

secretary is where the power is

In cycling, first you get the money, then the power, then the many beautiful women.

they/them/theirs

Spoke to CI. They have sent on some info. Will look through it later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

one issue is the whole North South divide where would the club operate out of not to make it a club for South or North, would it have two hubs?

My limit it geographically?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

manafana wrote:
    one issue is the whole North South divide where would the club operate out of not to make it a club for South or North, would it have two hubs?

Surely it would be based from Boards HQ on South William St.

It needs to be "located" within a single Province (and affiliate within that Province) - Leinster would be the obvious choice as already highlighted by bcmf's post above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

It needs to be "located" within a single Province (and affiliate within that Province) - Leinster would be the obvious choice as already highlighted by bcmf's post above

my point is that for actual rides it would need to have some sort of meeting points so would it have more than one etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Looking forward to the first boards Grand Prix race around the centre of Dublin :D No CP racing, separate races for all categories including youths!!!

manafana wrote: »
    my point is that for actual rides it would need to have some sort of meeting points so would it have more than one etc
    In that sense it can have as many "hubs" as are desired by its membership. Think though that there is more of a Leinster focus currently within the forum, with Munster probably in second place. Certainly though if demand warrants it, having somewhere to meet up in Ulster would be no problem

Equally it should be open to all disciplines, and could be a good way to re-build a bit more of a MTB userbase

In that sense it can have as many "hubs" as are desired by its membership. Think though that there is more of a Leinster focus currently within the forum, with Munster probably in second place. Certainly though if demand warrants it, having somewhere to meet up in Ulster would be no problem

Equally it should be open to all disciplines, and could be a good way to re-build a bit more of a MTB userbase

thats what I meant about not being geographically constrained.

If people want to run an event some where in ireland that would be fine as long as it got sanctioned (or what ever the procedure would be)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

If a new kit is being designed; here's an early vote to go back to pink :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Yeah, forget the rest of us outside Dublin. I'd probably look odd in my boards MTB jersey anyways....

We could have chapters, with frat houses and scantily clad college students, sounds like my sort of club....

If people want to run an event some where in ireland that would be fine as long as it got sanctioned (or what ever the procedure would be)
    Official "Open events" are sanctioned by Provincial Executives, and there may be some geographical constraint on that. However that should not be the case for anything that is run by a club for its members

In cycling, first you get the money, then the power, then the many beautiful women.

I'd say it could work if you have a single club with a number of chapters. Similar to the Stone Masons. I'm actually serious about that.

A central committee with local committees for each chapter. Each chapter looks after it's own funding and membership with over sight from the central committee.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

There is no North South divide, unless you're a blow in.

Maybe an East/ West..but even that is flimsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

I'd say it could work if you have a single club with a number of chapters. Similar to the Stone Masons. I'm actually serious about that.

A central committee with local committees for each chapter. Each chapter looks after it's own funding and membership with over sight from the central committee.

That would have the important business of the split sorted from the off

ford2600 wrote: »
    That would have the important business of the split sorted from the off

It wouldnt be Irish unless there was a civil war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

To hell or to Connacht!!

G1032 wrote: »
    To hell or to Connacht!!

What was the first option again? ;)

You could use skype / conference call for committee meetings and have at least 1 member of the committee representing a provincial / City location.

Boards.ie lends itself to being a club with a National footprint and as Beasty suggests multi discipline too.

smacl wrote: »
    What was the first option again? ;)

Easy there fancy pants....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I'll stick with my own club thanks.

Why a boards club there's loads of clubs around the country that would be glad to have you as a member and belei g e me it's not difficult to get the committee if that's what you want ( if our clubs anything to go by)

You could use skype / conference call for committee meetings and have at least 1 member of the committee representing a provincial / City location.

Boards.ie lends itself to being a club with a National footprint and as Beasty suggests multi discipline too.

I've done two years of college group work like this. Very manageable
    I'll stick with my own club thanks.

Why a boards club there's loads of clubs around the country that would be glad to have you as a member and belei g e me it's not difficult to get the committee if that's what you want ( if our clubs anything to go by).

Its not for everybody but I think some people will like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

To hell or to Connacht!!

Ya Connacht. The Province with it own TT league which has been running for years. A Criit Series. County Leagues run on open roads. MTB league and Cyclocross league. Sounds like a good option. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

... asking me was it a club. Had to explain to them it wasnt (they thought boards.ie was our sponsor)....
    I've been asked that on several occasions!

Esroh wrote: »
    Ya Connacht. The Province with it own TT league which has been running for years. A Criit Series. County Leagues run on open roads. MTB league and Cyclocross league. Sounds like a good option. ;-)

I'm from Connacht! I was more or less saying the old saying still rings true it seems. Maybe I should have been clearer.

Tough farming, but fantastic cycling to be fair. I reckon if a boards club was set up, regardless of where its centred, organising local spins around the country (with a chance of a beer after) could be good craic. A possible differentiator between a boards.ie club and many of the other clubs would be to make it more leisure oriented, even where leisure does extend to the likes of the evil200. Only been on a handful of boards spins but always enjoyed them for their social and non-competitive nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Interesting Idea here. I do NOT however like the immediate ruling out of Munster.

So much more thought needs to be put in if this were to actually be done fairly from the get-go i.e if that's the intention -> to be done fairly! Maybe some select individuals or clique already evident have it decided / decisions made amongst themselves thereby eliminating the opportunity for others.

Munster Probably in second place. This forum has members who have formed cliques through the years, so if/should this be a real possibility, then it should be open to all especially so when using a name like boards.ie. As it currently stands these alleged 'boards spins' should really be re-named the Dublin/Leinster-based boards members' spins!

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    There is no North South divide, unless you're a blow in.

Maybe an East/ West..but even that is flimsy.

Again, assumptions being made and isolated to Dublin/Leinster boards members.

So in essence what is being asked here is : Can you form a Dublin/Leinster-based boards.ie cycling club?!
    Then it should be called that instead of a country-wide name like Boards Cycling Club/Wheelers imo.
    kerry4sam

Hang on...
    I didn't read this as Dublin Über Alles or any Dublin Clique stuff..

For the record I'm Cork based.

It makes sense to have the (proposed) Boards.ie club based in Dublin (and by default registered as a Leinster Club. Boards itself is based in Dublin.
    The make up if the committee could be entirely made up of people from outside Dublin. In reality it though it would be better for any committee to be represented from all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Any thoughts?
    The Athletics club ran for a few year (pun intended) but has since gone by the way side. The idea was a good one and people new to the sport did join. After a while most moved on to new clubs. Now its just some singlets at races similar to the cycling gear.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Interesting Idea here. I do NOT however like the immediate ruling out of Munster.

So much more thought needs to be put in if this were to actually be done fairly from the get-go i.e if that's the intention -> to be done fairly! Maybe some select individuals or clique already evident have it decided / decisions made amongst themselves thereby eliminating the opportunity for others.

Munster Probably in second place. This forum has members who have formed cliques through the years, so if/should this be a real possibility, then it should be open to all especially so when using a name like boards.ie. As it currently stands these alleged 'boards spins' should really be re-named the Dublin/Leinster-based boards members' spins!

Again, assumptions being made and isolated to Dublin/Leinster boards members.

So in essence what is being asked here is : Can you form a Dublin/Leinster-based boards.ie cycling club?!
    Then it should be called that instead of a country-wide name like Boards Cycling Club/Wheelers imo.
    kerry4sam

Bloody hell didn't think the in fighting would happen so fast!

I don't think there is any suggestion that this is going to be a Leinster / Dublin centric club. Definitely not my vision of things

Irish cycling's answer to Sons of Anarchy but without the guns and the Harleys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Irish cycling's answer to Sons of Anarchy but without the guns and the Harleys!

Or the drugs and trashy women

Actually without drugs and trashy women I'm out

ROK ON wrote: »
    Or the drugs and trashy women

Actually without drugs and trashy women I'm out

Lol. You can run Diosa so! I'll join your charter!!