Irish Rail Jobs Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Interestingly the medical email also says 'this is a part of the application process and is seperate to the interview' so by right they should have offered it to you too, considering I haven't heard anything about my interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 nidhuinn

I’m willing to guess it’s a generic email sent to everyone. They mentioned to me today that several candidates have gone for their medicals before their line manager interview already. It wouldn’t surprise me if anyone that hasn’t done their medical yet, is only sent for one if an offer is potentially pending on the medical - just for cost and time efficiency. Obviously that’s just my guess, could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

It's based on available medical slots. They bring people for medicals, who then might not pass the interview. Which is a bit of a waste of everyone's time really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 cloud8

Howya folks. Had the line manager interview this morning for the train driver role. Have applied for Dublin. Not had the medical yet. Was told follow-up with the result of the interview would be 2 to 3 weeks.

Just got my invite for medical next week.

How long does it usually take? Is it like going to your GP and your appointment is at x o’clock but you’re not seen for an hour still?

I’d appreciate that, thank you! Just trying to gauge as mine is in the late afternoon and I’m trying to guesstimate what time I’ll be back home

Yeah mines at 15:20 so you have a good idea then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 edge13

hello everyone , I have a interview for Irish rail , could anyone give me an idea on the interview what sort of questions will they be asking me

As someone said, you can find all those answers on the thread. No need to go all the way back to the start. Start here and just work backwards - those of us who have gone through it recently have posted and asked similar questions and received answers. If you’re still unsure, feel free to ask in here if you need more clarity.

If it’s your line manager interview, just have examples ready to give for the competencies they mention in the email and know a bit about the company itself and you’ll be fine :)

Post edited by nidhuinn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 David874

Hi All,

Been a lurker here for a while, thanks to everyone for their contributions. It was my first time through the process so didn’t feel I had anything to add really.

Had my line manager interview yesterday, felt it didn’t go well. I put my research into the wrong areas and was caught off guard by some of the questions. Oh well, maybe next time!

Some advice for anyone still to do their line manger interview, don’t waste money on any of the how to become premium content. Any of them I bought didn’t help at all imo and probably led me down the wrong areas of research. Also most of it is available for free on YouTube already.
    Found the premium content from OPC a great help when preparing for the in person tests though.

Congrats to the lucky few who do get the job offer, ye certainly earned it. It’s a crazy process to go through

hello thank you for your replies , I was looking through the posts I just could not go through all 112 pages though , yes I will study the tasks , thank you again

Just have a look back over the most recent ten pages or so. Then go back further if you feel you need some more information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 84johnm

Hi all, done my line manager interview on the 12th and medical last week. Haven't heard anything about the interview. Anyone else in a similar boat? What's the next step after this? Does anyone remember if we gave references during the competition?

Post edited by 84johnm on

I was in for 0900 and out by approx 10, or there abouts. So prepare for close to two hours in the medical.

If you plan for approx two hours you'll be covered. I took approx 90 minutes.

@84johnm

Unlikely to hear anything for another couple of weeks, awaiting the outcome of the scoring process of all interviews.

Fairly certain references will only be asked for if you are offered the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 johnny1000

Mine is next week.. what takes so long? What do they do?

Its a pretty thorough medical, they check a lot.

Anyone get an offer yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 podge380

Well folks, did my LM interview early Feb and medical on 24th. Was told by doctor I passed🙌

anyone have an idea when to expect to hear from IE?

And best of luck to anyone still in!

I'm in a similar boat, have passed the three weeks after the LM interview point, so have no idea whats next. Just wait for the yay or nay I suppose.

it’s just a waiting game. They’re still doing medicals which will have more candidates no longer progress any further. I only had my medical yesterday. No news is good news as this thread has said in the past. Just gotta wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 podge380

Yeah ive read that a few times now seems to be good news so far not hearing anything. Hopefully not too long more

hi lads as I said I have a interview coming up soon on teams , I wouldn’t be use on doing interviews online , do I just click the link they sent me and will it bring me straight in on the day ?

Give it a try beforehand to make sure you are happy with the process. Clicking the link now or at any point shouldn't cause any issue, it will just take you to a "waiting room".

Alternatively you can DM me and I'll send you an invite to a Teams meeting so you can test the process at your end.

Hi, as mentioned already log into it now and check it brings to a waiting room. It may tell you that you are joining as a quest because you havent an irish rail accont, dont worry about that, it happened to me. I joined the waiting room and at my designated time they brought me into the interview. Good luck with it

So... I've been the first to receive and accept the offer. Starting April with the diesel class