Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corolla Twincams, Overrated/overvalued?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Considering what they go for these days and the DIY attitude for the Jap Scene, he's not far off.

Yes it needs work but he'll sell that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

That car needs an engine, a completely new body as far as I can tell, probably new suspension, wheels, most likely interior.

Who's gonna buy this pile of scrap for 2750?? Too much effort (coming from a guy who had an opportunity to buy an E34 M5 for peanuts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

CianRyan wrote: »
    Considering what they go for these days and the DIY attitude for the Jap Scene, he's not far off.

Yes it needs work but he'll sell that.

It doesn't have an engine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭LawlessBoy

Have to agree with Cian, if he was to drop the price a bit he wouldn't be far off. They're going for good money at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Sobanek wrote: »
    That car needs an engine, a completely new body as far as I can tell, probably new suspension, wheels, most likely interior.

Who's gonna buy this pile of scrap for 2750?? Too much effort (coming from a guy who had an opportunity to buy an E34 M5 for peanuts).
    It doesn't have an engine!

Respectfully, neither of you understand just how sought after these cars are.

He is on the money with it really.

A car made a classic because of a drifter and a cartoon... It's a Corolla. I think the Supra, or the Celica both deserve so much more streetcred than the Hachiroku.

Just because you don't get it doesn't mean you have to disrespect it.

It's a not a Hachiroku, that's a booter. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

This has changed to the "Ever so slightly ambitious seller of the week" thread.

It looks a heap but he'll shift it, some dope well just see an ae86 and pay the money on the off chance he can build it. He'll if I was younger and had money to burn I'd probably take the punt on it myself. Whack an s2000 engine into it!

I guess to some people it's the holy grail because of what it is. The question is, how much would you have to put into it, how much is it worth when finished and can you get a clean one cheaper?
    Some people just see a particular car and they will buy it no matter what.
    No matter what car you buy, it's always the same:
    How much, what condition, how much when restored and can you just buy a clean one for less? It all hinges on the last question.
    So if it can be bought and done up for less than just buying one in the same condition, yes it would be. Usually that goes for very few high end cars. Restoring 90% of cars you will always take a bath, the trick is to buy one in the best condition possible. Start with a shed and be prepared to pay big with no return. It's always a mug's game.
    But sometimes people fall in love and then all logic goes out the window and that is also part of the game, we wouldn't be in it otherwise. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

If it's a UK car it's riddled with rust. You'd be lucky to even be left with a subframe by the time you strip it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Showing your ignorance a bit there.

I'd say it's at that price point to get rid of time wasters. Put that up at €1500 and every lad with no money and no trailer would be on the phone to you a.s.a.p. but you can be sure it'l be bought for around that money.

if it's brought back to good standard it could easily be a €10-12k car.

Buy it for 2k, there's a 10k margin for restoration. You'd buy a good 4age 20v for €5-600 and the same again for a box. Then there's a good 9k left for welding, painting and ancillaries.

It is LHD though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

I guess to some people it's the holy grail because of what it is. The question is, how much would you have to put into it, how much is it worth when finished and can you get a clean one cheaper?
    Some people just see a particular car and they will buy it no matter what.
    No matter what car you buy, it's always the same:
    How much, what condition, how much when restored and can you just buy a clean one for less? It all hinges on the last question.
    So if it can be bought and done up for less than just buying one in the same condition, yes it would be. Usually that goes for very few high end cars. Restoring 90% of cars you will always take a bath, the trick is to buy one in the best condition possible. Start with a shed and be prepared to pay big with no return. It's always a mug's game.
    But sometimes people fall in love and then all logic goes out the window and that is also part of the game, we wouldn't be in it otherwise. :p
    I dunno...a restored charger pays you back in smiles for miles :P

Taylor365 wrote: »
    I dunno...a restored charger pays you back in smiles for miles :P

The above pays you back in smiles for slides

....or something like that :P

Just because you don't get it doesn't mean you have to disrespect it.

It's a not a Hachiroku, that's a booter. ;)

I'm talking about the AE-86 in General. It is a Corolla, just like the M5 is a 5 Series.

How is stating the facts disrespectful? Don't get me wrong, they're fun cars, but I fail to see why would someone pay that kind of money for them. They boomed recently, because I remember I wanted one when I was 17 and they were mostly 3-4k.

I'm talking about the AE-86 in General. It is a Corolla, just like the M5 is a 5 Series.

How is stating the facts disrespectful? Don't get me wrong, they're fun cars, but I fail to see why would someone pay that kind of money for them. They boomed recently, because I remember I wanted one when I was 17 and they were mostly 3-4k.

The only fact you've stated really is that it in indeed, a Corolla.

Whether or not you fail to see why someone would pay 2750 for the above car is irrelevant. I could say I fail to see why anyone would pay any more than €1k for your 7er, that doesn't make it worth any less than it is though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Caliden wrote: »
    If it's a UK car it's riddled with rust. You'd be lucky to even be left with a subframe by the time you strip it back.

exactly, it will still in that yard rusting away, only a dreamer (tyre kicker) will think otherwise. piece of rotten ****

If the car was in anyway half decent condition it would be a very nice car

but its not, its a **** heap

I could say I fail to see why anyone would pay any more than €1k for your 7er, that doesn't make it worth any less than it is though

Because that car came out of a factory over 100k new, it has a spec and driveability that many modern cars can't live up to and an engine that is perfectly balanced - a 728i may sure be worth €1k.

I never said the AE-86 is a heap of ****e, don't get me wrong, but I cannot see any redeeming features in this car that would make it interesting, besides the fact that they're fun to drive, Keichi Tsuchiya owned one and it was a main character's car in Initial D.

The E38 7 Series has its cult, because it's probably one of the prettiest 7 Series made, it has a V12 engine under the bonnet which never was popular with anyone, its driveability is incredible for what it is (I dare say it's more fun than anything modern today for under €40k) and the comfort is top notch - so far only the S-Class can live up to that, I have driven many modern BMWs and Mercs and none of them were that comfortable apart from the new 7 Series and the W220/W221 S-Class - that really says something about the car.

I can see why the AE-86 is a classic, but I cannot see how it's a €15-20k classic. So many better cars out there for that kind of money, even JDM - Honda Integra Type-R, Honda S2000, Toyota Supra, Nissan 300ZX...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Because that car came out of a factory over 100k new, it has a spec and driveability that many modern cars can't live up to and an engine that is perfectly balanced - a 728i may sure be worth €1k.

I never said the AE-86 is a heap of ****e, don't get me wrong, but I cannot see any redeeming features in this car that would make it interesting, besides the fact that they're fun to drive, Keichi Tsuchiya owned one and it was a main character's car in Initial D.

The E38 7 Series has its cult, because it's probably one of the prettiest 7 Series made, it has a V12 engine under the bonnet which never was popular with anyone, its driveability is incredible for what it is (I dare say it's more fun than anything modern today for under €40k) and the comfort is top notch - so far only the S-Class can live up to that, I have driven many modern BMWs and Mercs and none of them were that comfortable apart from the new 7 Series and the W220/W221 S-Class - that really says something about the car.

I can see why the AE-86 is a classic, but I cannot see how it's a €15-20k classic. So many better cars out there for that kind of money, even JDM - Honda Integra Type-R, Honda S2000, Toyota Supra, Nissan 300ZX...

You need to hear the sound of the 4A-GE 20v 4 banger hitting 8000 RPM :D Sounds so good for such a small engine.

The 7 series is a totally different class of car. No point comparing ships to bicycles :rolleyes:

Large barges with big engines never hold their value, sports cars always hold their value and appreciate better.

I'm not comparing either, just stating what makes them special.

The F20c redlines to 9200 RPM and it sounds awesome as well, high revving engines don't make cars go for 15-20k :P

@CianRyan: That statement is partially correct. I dare you to find an A8 W12, an E38 750i/E65 760Li or an S600 for peanuts. Top of the line barges do depreciate like a biatch, but they will hold value much better than base models.

Grand yeah, your one.
    I know what you paid for it. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

I'm not comparing either, just stating what makes them special.

The F20c redlines to 9200 RPM and it sounds awesome as well, high revving engines don't make cars go for 15-20k :P

An F20c is like 10 years younger than a 4A-GE.

The beauty of the Corolla is that it was built at an era when emissions of cars weren't AS important as they are now. That's what makes it a beautiful engine.

You have to remember your car is only worth what the next bloke is willing to pay. Clearly Corollas are wanted and hence why they are so expensive. There's no point claiming they are overrated.

Grand yeah, your one.
    I know what you paid for it. :p

Check how much they are overall, not just talking about my one. Worth every penny to me.

It would've been more expensive to import one from the UK either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No

No

No... what?

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

I had a UK AE86 and a JAP one about 15 years ago, performance wise the are Hughley overrated but are a fun car with a great scene which I liked and I understand why they are popular, my UK Cam you could break bits off the bodywork was very rotten I sold that for good money to a guy from Cork with more imagination than me and I imported a Jap AE86 Levin, super clean I really liked that one kept her for 6yrs and for a finish took a px for MK2 RS Escort, bit of a project but I still have that and drive it at least once a week but some would say MK2'S are overrate also but everyone's taste is different I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Caliden wrote: »

It's not a UK car, the boot model was only sold in Japan.

The ad says it's left hand drive.

Either way, as was said, the bottom line is, it's worth what lads are willing to pay.

Following an import company on facebook and it looks lime they are back coming into Ireland at a rate of 1 or 2 a week from Japan. A cheap one like a rough levin or booter would be 8k imported, but for the likes of a WOB trueno you could be paying 12-13+ vrt for somerhing in decent shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The booted model was sold outside of Japan I thought?

Yer wan in bridesmaids had one? Or was that a trueno?

Good spot, bridesmaids was a trueno, i was exposed to another ****ty US rom com the other week with a subtle ae85/ 6 in it too, can't remember what though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

the boot model was sold in lhd european markets which is where this probably was sold originally.

huge twin cam fan have driven sr20detd , 20v 4ge and 16v na and s/c examples..

prefered the 20v experience myself:D
    bop bop bop bop:cool:

its not really a twin cam though if it has no engine:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Good spot, bridesmaids was a trueno, i was exposed to another ****ty US rom com the other week with a subtle ae85/ 6 in it too, can't remember what though.

Yeah, there was some bad film on Netflix about a pizza delivery guy that had a trueno (or sr5 or whatever)
    Only reason I watched it.

So this is your justification for your car's apparent value.
    but I cannot see any redeeming features in this car that would make it interesting, besides the fact that they're fun to drive, Keichi Tsuchiya owned one and it was a main character's car in Initial D.

And this is why the twincam is worth its value. Right there, said it yourself
    The E38 7 Series has its cult,

As does the twincam, and I would go as far as to say that on a worldwide scale, its probably larger that that of the e38.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The E38 7 Series has its cult, because it's probably one of the prettiest 7 Series made,

specsavers.jpg
    Large barges with big engines never hold their value, sports cars always hold their value and appreciate better.

Not in Ireland they don't because of the tax. Have a look at prices for them on the continent. A low milage E38 750i is heading towards €20k. Pre-95 S600's up for ~€15k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

If you think that's bad you should see the price of them from Japan. I was bidding on the 86 Trueno below on Wednesday night. It had a 20v in it with mod's and would have worked out at around €11'250 landed here. There was some rust/corossion that I wasnt happy with when inspected to I cancelled, none the less it made strong money.

2q9xdvs.jpg

ft5on.jpg

Just to throw it out there, here's one that had a Nissan sr20det conversion on Friday, completely stripped it sold at 770k jpy, roughly around 10k by the time you'd have landed it here

2a0nihs.jpg

For a clean low mileage high grade one with no repair history I've seen them make 14/15k+, Prices have sky-rocketed on them from Japan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

LHD UK import?

They musht be as rare as hensh teeth!

People will have a twincam engine lying around or they acquired, those shells will sell, even though its in awful condition.

B

The E38 7 Series has its cult, because it's probably one of the prettiest 7 Series made, it has a V12 engine under the bonnet which never was popular with anyone, its driveability is incredible for what it is (I dare say it's more fun than anything modern today for under €40k) a

The e-38 is a big heavy and dated looking barge, any modern hot hatch would p*ss all over it in handling, drivability and fun.

Just don't get the appeal, newer BMW's are far batter looking.

Vicxas wrote: »
    LHD UK import?

People will have a twincam engine lying around or they acquired, those shells will sell, even though its in awful condition.

A few people have mentioned it's a UK car, where does it say that? Sure enough, it has a UK back axle, but that could have been put in, the fact it's LHD say'd it's anything but UK.

Vicxas wrote: »
    LHD UK import?

he says it has a uk back axle , no mention of it being a uk import;)

my money is on it having been imported from a lhd country in europe-

was a popular way during the celtic tiger here a few years back to find far cheaper cars esp if you only wanted them for drift/track or rally use,
    the same thing worked as a cheap way to find mk2 escorts:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

yeah, I suppose Im sure the seller will be fighting them off if the opinions on here are anything to go by. Probably will have it edited with a price change too, perhaps 5k?

still for sale anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

why are they know as twin Cams anyways ??

My K11 1.0 micra was a 'TWINCAM'
    Almera 1.4 was a 'TWIN CAM'
    pretty sure my e36 318is was a 'TWIM CAM'
    & my current Mx5 is a twin cam too

so by that logic there is a shed load of twin cam cvars out there but they don't need to go round shouting it !!

The corollas are cool car but get a bad name for the hords of knackers going round with diffing them with straight through pipes that go

rinn dii dii din din rin din ,, all day long

In 1983 having dual cams was probably a bit more of a spectacle, particularly in a car like a corolla.

still for sale anyway.

Yesterday was it's one month anniversary on done deal. Here's hoping for many more happy returns

In 1983 having dual cams was probably a bit more of a spectacle, particularly in a car like a corolla.

yea especally 4 valves per cylinder was state of the art from the racing world in the ae86 and is still in demand today 99% of engines still made favouring it 30years later shows its effincency :)

16 valves and twin cams ,and tvis ,123bhp was unhead of from a revvy little 1.6 liter must have been record breaking power figures for that engine class at the time:D

Yesterday was it's one month anniversary on done deal. Here's hoping for many more happy returns

Expect it to be "readvertised due to timewasters" soon.
    Maybe now with "L@@K!" and "PRICEDROP!" in the ad.

On a sidenote: It looks wrong with a boot to me.

Works for me, I could stick a bike rack on that easier than the coupe!