Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorbikes.

• 03-07-2015 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭

Never see one going less than 150 on the open road.Can their plates not be read or something?
    Granted they mostly injure themselves but they appear completely oblivious to speed limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Some do, most don't...

Generalise much? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Some do, most don't...

Generalise much? :rolleyes:

Any that I've seen,and I've seen quite a few.
    Particularly those Japanese suicides machines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Power Rangers are a different breed of bikers, Rossi wannabe's, usually with a shorter life span.

kneemos wrote: »
    Never see one going less than 150 on the open road.Can their plates not be read or something?
    Granted they mostly injure themselves but they appear completely oblivious to speed limits.

Pretty sure that's a classic case of confirmation bias.. You see plenty of bikes but notice the mongos who drive too fast and that supports your own view on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

People are only looking to be outraged these days ffs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Ive a motorbike. And I am aware of the speed limits. some are idiots, people speed in cars too. But most of us have sense.

b_mac2 wrote: »
    People are only looking to be outraged these days ffs...

Don't much care.Just curious if they can be caught as they seem to speed at will.

Aw cool, where can I get a speed checker yoke of my own? Always wanted one!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

kneemos wrote:
    Any that I've seen,and I've seen quite a few. Particularly those Japanese suicides machines.

The vast majority of bikes on our roads are Japanese........which ones are you referring to exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

Sometimes my teeth hurt but then I just think about motorcycles

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Aw cool, where can I get a speed checker yoke of my own? Always wanted one!

Collect 10 bar codes from Kellogs Crunchy Nut Corn Flakes (500g) and sent to:
    Speed Checker Yokes
    PO Box 911
    Co. Clare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Herpes Cineplex

Autonomous motorbikes that have no riders? Where are you living? Tron?..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭YurOK2

Oh great, another motorbike bashing thread:rolleyes:

I forgot to start a thread ranting about the idiot driver I encountered a couple of weeks ago. I was on the main road and he went through a stop sign and pulled out in front of me from a side road, looking into the back seat, chatting and laughing with his kids. I had to stop the bike in 5th gear in the middle of the road and do you know what he did? He laughed. Oh yeah, it was really hilarious:rolleyes:
    It was particularly hilarious for me as I was hit by a van driver 3 years ago who did the exact same thing as this idiot did but I wasn't able to avoid being hit on that occasion.
    And those 2 morons are just the tip of the iceberg.

There are idiots on every mode of transport, all you can do is try to avoid them.

YurOK2 wrote: »
    Oh great, another motorbike bashing thread:rolleyes:

I forgot to start a thread ranting about the idiot driver I encountered a couple of weeks ago. I was on the main road and he went through a stop sign and pulled out in front of me from a side road, looking into the back seat, chatting and laughing with his kids. I had to stop the bike in 5th gear in the middle of the road and do you know what he did? He laughed. Oh yeah, it was really hilarious:rolleyes:
    It was particularly hilarious for me as I was hit by a van driver 3 years ago who did the exact same thing as this idiot did but I wasn't able to avoid being hit on that occasion.
    And those 2 morons are just the tip of the iceberg.

There are idiots on every mode of transport, all you can do is try to avoid them.

So you know about the speeding then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

I smell BS.

Anyway, what's wrong with speeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭FreeFallin

Obviously all sorts of riders out there on bikes, but when I think about it, I very rarely overtake any on the motorway! I'd imagine that most bikes are built to go fast and 120Kmph+ is when they start to find their legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

FreeFallin wrote: »
    Obviously all sorts of riders out there on bikes, but when I think about it, I very rarely overtake any on the motorway! I'd imagine that most bikes are built to go fast and 120Kmph+ is when they start to find their legs.

A litrebike will do that in first gear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Depraved

Excuse me OP...I rarely go over 140.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

The sound of those bikes...so beautiful!

I'm glad this can of worms of a thread was started, if only to hear that.

TT lads are truly terrifying.

The word you're looking for is "legends" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

I haven't seen a motor bike with a side car for years - are they still allowed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I wish I never sold my motorbike. Thread makes me sad.
    Cant beat been on a bike on a day like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I've lost count of how many young men I have known that were killed in motorbike accidents. Almost all of whom were killed because of other road users not seeing them. That recent high profile case in Ireland of a very experienced biker is a good example of that.

If I had kids, I wouldn't let them near the damn things to be honest and yes I know that people get killed in car accidents too but the odds of getting killed (or seriously injured) whilst on a motorbike is far greater than it is for motorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I love bikes and bikers plus I always keep in so they can overtake me easily and they always acknowledge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Loud fcukers

Truckermal wrote: »
    I love bikes and bikers plus I always keep in so they can overtake me easily and they always acknowledge it.

And we love people like you :D

What a wonderful philosophy he has. Take him away! :):):)

I've lost count of how many young men I have known that were killed in motorbike accidents. Almost all of whom were killed because of other road users not seeing them. That recent high profile case in Ireland of a very experienced biker is a good example of that.

If I had kids, I wouldn't let them near the damn things to be honest and yes I know that people get killed in car accidents too but the odds of getting killed (or seriously injured) whilst on a motorbike is far greater than it is for motorists.

A good few older men - and women - have died too. Usually at the hands of people who don't care enough to watch what they're doing, and it hurts. It is an embuggerance of the highest order, as the great Sir Pterry might have said. I've been a motorcyclist all my life - including one twelve-year period when I drove nothing else - and I love them with all my heart. But I hear you. These days, I hesitate before encouraging a younglad to get into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I only speed to stop my motorbike from overheating!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I love that bikers refer to guys riding jap bikes as Power Rangers. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

It's the leathers they wear, not the type of bike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Dexter Bip

jimgoose wrote: »
    A good few older men - and women - have died too. Usually at the hands of people who don't care enough to watch what they're doing, and it hurts. It is an embuggerance of the highest order, as the great Sir Pterry might have said. I've been a motorcyclist all my life - including one twelve-year period when I drove nothing else - and I love them with all my heart. But I hear you. These days, I hesitate before encouraging a younglad to get into them.
    I've a fourteen year old daugher who is mad to learn how to drive a bike. I have mixed feelings but will probably teach her to drive an ancient Yamaha FS1E 50cc lying in the garage as a basic life skill. Nothing compares to the fun that comes with riding a bike. This is tempered by my being nearly creamed by two car drivers (one a neighbour) in the last week. No other mode of transport would involve taking such a risk, or be worth this risk. I was in the UK a few weeks ago and the awareness of car drivers to bikes was amazing. Filtering along the motorway queues in heavy traffic, cars in both lanes moved apart to let me (and many more on bikes) through. Here, drivers don't seem to have the same level of awareness to what's behind them or the willingness to let a bike (or anyone) through. Regarding the OP's question, I haven't tested the idea but I suspect that bikes aren't that vulernable to the radar checking systems. Also, mid range and above bikes are designed to be driven comfortably at speeds well above the irish speed limit, and like it or not, so they will be driven at those speeds given human nature.
    Motorcyclists tend to have in interest in roadcraft and tend to be alert and compentent drivers. A pity that all road users aren't as aware.

Dexter Bip wrote: »
    I've a fourteen year old daugher who is mad to learn how to drive a bike. I have mixed feelings but will probably teach her to drive an ancient Yamaha FS1E 50cc lying in the garage as a basic life skill. Nothing compares to the fun that comes with riding a bike. This is tempered by my being nearly creamed by two car drivers (one a neighbour) in the last week. No other mode of transport would involve taking such a risk, or be worth this risk. I was in the UK a few weeks ago and the awareness of car drivers to bikes was amazing. Filtering along the motorway queues in heavy traffic, cars in both lanes moved apart to let me (and many more on bikes) through. Here, drivers don't seem to have the same level of awareness to what's behind them or the willingness to let a bike (or anyone) through. Regarding the OP's question, I haven't tested the idea but I suspect that bikes aren't that vulernable to the radar checking systems. Also, mid range and above bikes are designed to be driven comfortably at speeds well above the irish speed limit, and like it or not, so they will be driven at those speeds given human nature.
    Motorcyclists tend to have in interest in roadcraft and tend to be alert and compentent drivers. A pity that all road users aren't as aware.

Average speed cameras only see front plates,so useless for bikes.
    Dunno about Gatso vans.

Dexter Bip wrote: »

In my experience, motorbikes cannot be picked up by speed vans.

In relation to your coment about us being interested in roadcraft and being alert, bikers are the only road users who are not tempted by distractions while driving, no eating, no drinking, no phone, no radio, no chatty passengers, no misbehaving kids in the back seat etc, which means (comparatively speaking) we are always focused on the road and what is going on around us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

In relation to your coment about us being interested in roadcraft and being alert, bikers are the only road users who are not tempted by distractions while driving, no eating, no drinking, no phone, no radio, no chatty passengers, no misbehaving kids in the back seat etc, which means (comparatively speaking) we are always focused on the road and what is going on around us.

I agree. When I am walking in Dublin, I find myself looking over my shoulder for cars turning and being more aware of my surroundings and what is going on.

All thanks to riding a motorbike! We have to look for hazards and plan.

Did over 35,000 miles in 2 years as a courier and only had one accident. 100's of near misses. Gave it up as my blood pressure was through the roof!!

dubscottie wrote: »
    I agree. When I am walking in Dublin, I find myself looking over my shoulder for cars turning and being more aware of my surroundings and what is going on.

All thanks to riding a motorbike! We have to look for hazards and plan.

Did over 35,000 miles in 2 years as a courier and only had one accident. 100's of near misses. Gave it up as my blood pressure was through the roof!!

I hear ya. I've had 2 offs (other drivers at fault and prosecuted) and since them, I'm always on edge, probably hyper vigilant, which is both a good thing and a bad thing.
    However, the enjoyment I get from bikes is greater than the fear I have of other road users.
    I only drive a bike, no car, and I don't know if I'll ever get a car, I'm terrified of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 SmilesInMass

Any that I've seen,and I've seen quite a few.
    Particularly those Japanese suicides machines.

Japanese Suicide Machines is a great name for a band!

I hear ya. I've had 2 offs (other drivers at fault and prosecuted) and since them, I'm always on edge, probably hyper vigilant, which is both a good thing and a bad thing.
    However, the enjoyment I get from bikes is greater than the fear I have of other road users.
    I only drive a bike, no car, and I don't know if I'll ever get a car, I'm terrified of them.

My one was an American tourist. Glad I got the Garda as I would be screwed otherwise.

My biggest fear is being rear ended at lights. Twats in cars that keep going.

And don't get me started on cyclists.. "assertive riding position" for them = riding two abrest as somone starts to over take, forcing me to hit the brakes or hit the hedge on the otherside of the road to avoid them.

People aren't tuned to see small fast moving objects at a glance.

Not sure if it is obligatory,but front headlight should always be on imo.

If you have a motorbike/scooter/moped your lights should be on at all times IMO..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Someone coming through your windscreen at a 150 can be quite hazardous for your health !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Oh great, another motorbike bashing thread:rolleyes:[
    In 14 years of using this site I've never seen another motorbike bashing thread.

Well people should try to be more observant on the road.
    Most newer bikes (probably from 90s on) should have DRLs.
    In 14 years of using this site I've never seen another motorbike bashing thread.

Well I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

rear ended twice by a cyclist with headphones on, must be jamming just not jamming on the brakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

I love that bikers refer to guys riding jap bikes as Power Rangers. :D

Guys who say that are almost invariably fat wannabe Hell's Angels who ride slow, heavy Harleys with loud exhausts at the weekends. The go out in groups no smaller than 5, ride about 5 miles, hang around some pub or restaurant in their ridiculous leather waistcoats, posing and slagging guys on Japanese bikes because the yanks used to do it. They're frauds and derided by the real biking population of Ireland/Europe.
    Irish biking has always been linked to transport and racing. BSA, Triumph, Norton etc., then those bikes modded into café racers, and in the late 60s/early 70s moved on to jap bikes and by the 80s purpose built sports bikes.
    The power ranger gear fits with the image, but more importantly, offers some level of protection and comfort. Jeans and a crappy jacket with your "gang's" patch on the back with an open faced helmet does not. They are frauds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

il gatto wrote: »
    Guys who say that are almost invariably fat wannabe Hell's Angels who ride slow, heavy Harleys with loud exhausts at the weekends. The go out in groups no smaller than 5, ride about 5 miles, hang around some pub or restaurant in their ridiculous leather waistcoats, posing and slagging guys on Japanese bikes because the yanks used to do it. They're frauds and derided by the real biking population of Ireland/Europe.
    Irish biking has always been linked to transport and racing. BSA, Triumph, Norton etc., then those bikes modded into café racers, and in the late 60s/early 70s moved on to jap bikes and by the 80s purpose built sports bikes.
    The power ranger gear fits with the image, but more importantly, offers some level of protection and comfort. Jeans and a crappy jacket with your "gang's" patch on the back with an open faced helmet does not. They are frauds.

You right they just 1% of the bike world :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

What a attitude, any wonder they think that way. Like the op your being very narrow minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

So people who ride one type of bike are ok in your book, but people who ride another are frauds? Bit of a generalisation?