Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC Fight Week

• 02-07-2015 3:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭

http://www.ufc.com/FightWeek

Some great events for people travelling to Vegas. Thought I'd open a non fight related thread to discuss events that are a must see, any tips for others travelling.

There are some great events, Expo however this will probably have a lot of queueing going on, The Dropkick Murphys, The Weigh Ins. Freemont on Friday should be good I hope.

Please keep chat related to the fight week.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Petermc83

Cant wait myself.. going to the Expo on the Friday, not bothering with Saturday.

With the fight kit announcement already been this week, i wonder what the 189 Fight Night Kit reveal is all about?!!
    the weigh-ins will be electric.. may queue early to get into that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Has the schedule for d expo been released yet?? Wanna see who's on each day,

Anyone going invicta??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,101 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Petermc83 wrote: »
    Cant wait myself.. going to the Expo on the Friday, not bothering with Saturday.

With the fight kit announcement already been this week, i wonder what the 189 Fight Night Kit reveal is all about?!!
    the weigh-ins will be electric.. may queue early to get into that.

I’m guessing it’ll be the kits the fighters will be wearing on the night. I think the stuff in NYC was the more generic wear. Could be totally wrong in that though.

Looks like the weigh-ins will be just the weigh-ins, which is great. I’m really not a fan of having press conferences/Q&As before. You can be there for over 4 hours by the time it’s all over which is a total loss of a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

The expo doesn't really appeal to me to be honest. I think we'll bump into plenty of fighters just around the mgm

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭johnpro

dulux99 wrote: »
    The expo doesn't really appeal to me to be honest. I think we'll bump into plenty of fighters just around the mgm

You'll see them all floating around the MGM, this was incredible the last time...I couldn't get over how approachable they were. We played blackjack with Bruce buffer, had lunch with Tim Kennedy and got to spend a good half hour chatting to Conor (day after the fight) The only guy who seemed slightly odd was urijah hall, we were having the crack with tony ferguson and he just stood there and didn't say a word

And yes, before anyone comments I'll get a brush and sweep up all the names I've just dropped :)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Dropkicks are a definite must for us anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Glad to hear there will be plenty of fighters around the MGM would love to bump into a few, will still head along to the expo to see some of the amateur fights there too.

Fleetmont on Friday night should be good craic.

Are alot of you boys planning on going to the tuf finale on the Sunday? I got my tickets, I can't help but feel it would have been way more suited to the Friday night, to get us warmed up for 189. On the Sunday it's just going to pale in comparison to the previous night.

It would have been class to have had this itinerary -

Wednesday - amateur MMA championships
    Thursday - invicta
    Friday - tuf finale
    Saturday - ufc 189

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭DK224

Anyone here going to Joe Rogan on the Friday night? Bit awkward the way they have the Dropkick Murphys gig scheduled around that time but with 2 comedians on before Rogan I'd say he won't be on stage till 10:30pm.
    I want to go to Invicta but I doubt the Mrs can be convinced after watching Joanna brutalize Penne a few weeks back!

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭glass half full

For all the latest updates follow @UFCFightWeek on the tweeting machine.

Lots of announcements today.

CM Punk, Luke Rockhold, Werdum and Hendricks in a cook off down in Lagasse in Venetian\Palazzo.

https://twitter.com/ufc/status/616728067453534208

ultimate cookoff?!!! ha.. quality..

Im waiting to see where all the octogan girls are heading!!!!! i call dubs on Arianny :)

Here ya go!! You'll have to meet Arianny another time though!

https://twitter.com/UFCFightWeek/status/616779303485706240

Any concrete news on how to get weigh in tickets yet? Could be tough to get in.

weigh ins are free to the public.. as previously mentioned on this forum.

If you are a fight club member, you can get in before the arena is opened to the public.

I like to think this thread is a safe haven from all the lunatics in the main thread.

Have many of you lads been to a fight in Vegas before? This is my first, it's a genuine bucket list moment for me so I am just beyond buzzing for it

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

dulux99 wrote: »
    I like to think this thread is a safe haven from all the lunatics in the main thread.

Have many of you lads been to a fight in Vegas before? This is my first, it's a genuine bucket list moment for me so I am just beyond buzzing for it

Likewise pal. I believe the atmosphere in and outside the fights are just mental.

My first time heading over too and am beyond buzzing :D
    They've just released an Apple and Android app for all the weeks events

Apple
    https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1014102771

Android
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ufc.fightweek&hl=en

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

weigh ins are free to the public.. as previously mentioned on this forum.

If you are a fight club member, you can get in before the arena is opened to the public.

How does it work, one of the lads is a fight pass member so how many of us could he get in. Theres 7 of us, otherwise is it just first come first serve to get in? Anyone know from previous fights how ealry you would have to be queing will it even be full?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,101 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

m.j.w wrote: »
    How does it work, one of the lads is a fight pass member so how many of us could he get in. Theres 7 of us, otherwise is it just first come first serve to get in? Anyone know from previous fights how ealry you would have to be queing will it even be full?

It's the member plus one guest. The usual process is the member will have to log into their account and print out a unique ticket and bring it to the door. They normal have access to get in for a half an hour before everyone else.

Conor was previously pushing to have the weigh ins open the whole arena rather than the usual half. If it's the full arena I think everyone would probably get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

nice one hopefuly thats the case then, cheers!

Lads Vegas is like nothing you have ever seen! You look strange if you don't have a drink in your hand all the time! The heat? Dont worry you will never see it as the strip all connects with the hotels

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Pulse8

Posted this in the now locked thread, might be handy for some of ye traveling over....got the details from the PR mailout, locations & times of some of the main buildup events:

Open workouts on the Weds for press & the public @ Studios A & B, MGM Grand Hotel & Casino - 12.30pm - 3pm

The press conference is the Thursday at 10.30am to Midday @ KÀ Theatre – MGM Grand, again open to the public

The weigh ins are in the arena on the Friday at 4pm (doors open at 3pm)

Never been to mma event in Vegas was at Pacman v Barrera back in the day, this will be another level with international fight week and so many fighters about gonna be unreal.

Hopefully I can keep a good stack on the blackjack and poker tables going to keep the Absolute 7s flowing for a cheap night.

Can't wait for Friday night down fleeting now.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,239 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

3rd Vegas trip.

Did UFC 100 & 116 too.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    3rd Vegas trip.

Did UFC 100 & 116 too.

Any tips on to meet fighters??

but1er wrote: »
    Any tips on to meet fighters??

Hang around the lifts in the MGM. You'll meet damn near everyone if you want.

Not the most exciting way to spend your time in Vegas though...

Hang around the lifts in the MGM. You'll meet damn near everyone if you want.

Not the most exciting way to spend your time in Vegas though...

If there was one thing you would say do for the 5 days what is it//

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭johnpro

Coke, strippers, gamble, rent a lambo and fire as many guns as possible....if you manage to do all of those at the same time you're probably on a night out with Jon jones

• Registered Users Posts: 39,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

3rd Vegas trip.

Did UFC 100 & 116 too.

My 3rd vegas trips, and my 6th UFC event..but its my first UFC Event in Vegas ;)

Just enjoy yourself, and do fun stuff thats nearby. Vegas is huge and if you get too bogged down in trying to get to specific locations for sets times you spend far too much time in a taxi.

The only musts for me are the weigh-ins, and the fight. Everything else is an optional extra

189, TUF finale and Glasgow will bring me up to 16 UFC events.

What to do in Vegas, well I don't drink or go to strip joints so maybe I'm the wrong guy to ask...

But I'll be going shooting at a gun range, destroying a few buffets, maybe the Freemont zip line and a few Texas hold'em tournaments.

Might take in a show too, not sure. I actually need to book a few things this week.