Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is this heat wave

• 30-06-2015 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

I thought we were due a heat wave..its fcuking raining outside

Are met eireann clueless or just wind up merchants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Balmy warm and sunny outside my house.

I'm alright Jack :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

massive here, gonna get a cornetto and stroll around in the nip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Check for a leak in your roof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

28 Degrees today here

Tomorrow 33 degrees

Saturday 38 Degrees

Well that's my sleep f*cked for the next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

Just polished off a wibbly wobbly wonder for breakfast. No porridge this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

the-dog-is-melting.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Teeing off on the old course in Lahinch in less than half an hour. Just finishing a very mediocre coffee in the clubhouse. The weather is absolutely stunning. It's almost as hot as my short game at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Cloudy skies here in the midlands and me back stuck to the seat of the van. You can't beat the Irish summers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Very warm where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Specialun wrote: »

ME never forecasted a heatwave.

It was forecasted by the likes of the Sun, the Daily Mail, the star etc etc. They hype up absolutely anything weather wise, every winter is snowmageddon and every summer we're going to have death by heat.

Honestly, how the Irish public are still fooled by these silly excuses for newspapers when it comes to their weather predictions is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's fantastic in Dublin and c'mon, that's the only bit that matters really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

John.Icy wrote: »

It was forecasted by the likes of the Sun, the Daily Mail, the star etc etc. They hype up absolutely anything weather wise, every winter is snowmageddon and every summer we're going to have death by heat.

Honestly, how the Irish public are still fooled by these silly excuses for newspapers when it comes to their weather predictions is beyond me.
    And how ME manage to get the blame every time is very unfair as well!

This is their summary forecast for today.

<Warm and humid today.
    Misty in places at first. Dry with good sunny spells developing especially in central and eastern areas, cloudier further west and near parts of the south coast with patchy rain or drizzle at times. Sea mist or fog likely to affect some coastal fringes also. Afternoon temperatures of 18 to 25 degrees, highest in eastern areas with the risk of a few showers breaking out later in the day.>

I'm guessing the OP is in the S/SW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Funny enough, Met Eireann's Gerald Fleming at the weekend... "
    we can expect some “warm and humid weather, certainly towards the end of the coming week, say Thursday, Friday”.

"I wouldn’t classify it as a heatwave."

http://www.thejournal.ie/heatwave-gerald-fleming-2185435-Jun2015/

Sooo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

This is spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

give it another 2 hours and we're fecked on the west coast by the looks of it....

http://www.sat24.com/en/gb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's in Dooblin since day break, the only place that matters in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

****awkward****

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's in Dooblin since day break, the only place that matters in all fairness.

The only thing important in Dublin is the Airport, so you can get a cheap ryanair flight in and drive somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Car temp gauge showing 20 degrees here in Dinegal at 8:30 this morning with Clear blue skies and bright sunshine. Gonna get very warm today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭StarBright01

There was so much hype about this last week that it was going to be a nationwide heatwave! Rainy and foggy where I am :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The only thing important in Dublin is the Airport, so you can get a cheap ryanair flight in and drive somewhere else.

That and the tax money propping up the rest of the Island....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's 24 here, it's 22 in Dublin

Haha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Heat and Rain are not mutually exclusive!;)
    Except, they are here and now in Dublin atm!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Teeing off on the old course in Lahinch in less than half an hour. Just finishing a very mediocre coffee in the clubhouse. The weather is absolutely stunning. It's almost as hot as my short game at the moment.

Haha! i hope the cucumber sandwiches don't wilt.

listermint wrote: »
    That and the tax money propping up the rest of the Island....

Yep, that's why I don't like Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Yep, that's why I don't like Dublin

No it wasn't implied, I was implying culchie fanciful notions that the rest of the Island is a dreamy paradise.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Too ****ing warm here, I'm boiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Definitely too warm for pants here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's fantastic in Dublin and c'mon, that's the only bit that matters really.

It really is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Low cloud, a breeze and rain overnight - yep it's an Irish summer.

http://www.met.ie/weathermaps/WEB_sat_vis_irl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Why they still buy them is another mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

I don't think Met Eireann ever mentioned a heat wave.

A heat wave is classed as 5 consecutive days of 5 degrees above the normal.

The tabloids class it as any time the sun comes out.

I think only some parts of the south / south east of England and parts Wales are going to have proper heatwave conditions. The rest of us are going to have warm spell definitely not a heat wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Gorgeous here in Sth Dublin suburbia...blazing sun and a cooling balmy breeze.
    Stack of washing drying happily in minutes on the line. Raspberries ripening before our
    very eyes. Sun lounger deployed. Clothing reduced to minimum and to hell with the neighbours!
    Might get in for a dip at Seapoint later. Life is beautiful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Merces

Weather forcasts are about as reliable as the White Witch of Cobh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭arch_stanton

39º in the shade predicted here today. Drops to 34º for the next couple of days, better get out the thermals, before it goes back up to 40'ish again for the weekend.

Luc01 wrote: »
    There was so much hype about this last week that it was going to be a nationwide heatwave! Rainy and foggy where I am :(

Who said it would be a nationwide heat wave? Not the meteorologists anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

28 Degrees today here

Tomorrow 33 degrees

Saturday 38 Degrees

Well that's my sleep f*cked for the next week
    I don't think the Irish sun goes up to 38 degrees, we'd need to get a new radiator and all new bushings for it to get close to that temperature.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The sun is splitting the stones here in Newry

Stheno wrote: »
    The sun is splitting the stones here in Newry

We're talking Ireland here buddy. You might as well be telling us what the weather is like in Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

More lies from this narcissist, it's raining in Lahinch!

ThisRegard wrote: »
    We're talking Ireland here buddy. You might as well be telling us what the weather is like in Spain.

You knew where it is when you wanted cheap booze and electronics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

It feels about 30 degrees in London today and 20 at night. Up to 35 predicted for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

Playboy wrote: »
    It feels about 30 degrees in London today and 20 at night. Up to 35 predicted for tomorrow.

29 degrees here right now at London Bridge, glorious and will be even hotter tomorrow. A lunchtime pint by the river beckons, in the best city in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Left the flat at 07:30 this morning and it was 15ºc in Dublin. Sweatin balls in work here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

In Kerry. Cloudy skies and is drizzling. Kind of warm..but not really!

It's 40 degrees in the town my Dad lives in in France. Should go there for a week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

Almost 40° here in Madrid. What I'd do for that Irish rain right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Jan Laco wrote: »
    Almost 40° here in Madrid. What I'd do for that Irish rain right now.

Ah here you can keep that kind of heat, I'd get no work done in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭arch_stanton

Ah here you can keep that kind of heat, I'd get no work done in that

It's alright in the air conditioned office but I think I'll need a space suit or a camel to go get lunch in a few minutes.

The good thing about Madrid is that it's rarely humid so temperatures up to around 32º are quite manageable although once it hits 40 it feels very toasty out. Thankfully beer is cheap :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Absolutely glorious in London - would kill for a sneaky half day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

It IS glorious in Dublin, head for the nation's capital!
    I bet the banks of the canal are lined with happy picnickers.
    Stephens Green must be full of people sitting on the grass. The beaches basking in the coconutty smell of suntan oil.
    Its lovely when the sun shines!