Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying into Nighclubs

• 24-06-2015 5:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

I'm of the notion that it's a bit ridiculous. I do it and will probably continue to do so but I feel that it's paying to be able to spend more money.

Nighclubs are already overpriced. First of all we have to queue for ages just to hand over money, for frankly nothing and then to enter and really not get much for it except a messy late night venue.

Do you think it's justified that they charge, are we getting some sort of extra service you can't get in a bar? What's your thoughts or do you really care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

OP didn't pull last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

profit profit profit.

DJ , staff, lights, music, late licence etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

There are enough late bars in the Country that paying into a nightclub is basically a tax on idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Club organisers (if different to venue owner) get door fee. Venue gets the take on the bar.

Just business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

If people stop going and paying the cover charge, they'll quickly drop the cover charge. Fairly simple really.

Perhaps I'm a bit blinkered being a jackeen, there's a fairly hefty number of pubs around Dame St. up to Harcourt/Camden St. that are open late, free in and play better music than most night clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Nighclubs...people paying money to go into a club where it's all about to end?

cabla wrote: »
    Do you think it's justified that they charge, are we getting some sort of extra service you can't get in a bar? What's your thoughts or do you really care?

All the old fellows in my local hate the DJ pumping out tech house and spill their pints on the dance floor, cos it's the exact same as a club.

Next thing people will be paying into concerts and sports, when they could just sing or kick a ball themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Have never paid to enter a club in my life. If I ever had to be somewhere i'd be sure to go at a time when it's free in. Many a friend I've stood up with a simple text at 1am saying...

"gxffg hfhhfsdhk?"

"Ha! I presd sned bu mistakes!! HaHaah7 noy layimg in theta ua sap!"

"stupid phones notre writing whau I"

4:04

"ja soery man, I founf a wheeliebin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Have never paid to enter a club in my life. If I ever had to be somewhere i'd be sure to go at a time when it's free in. Many a friend I've stood up with a simple text at 1am saying...

"gxffg hfhhfsdhk?"

"Ha! I presd sned bu mistakes!! HaHaah7 noy layimg in theta ua sap!"

You got that right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

All the old fellows in my local hate the DJ pumping out tech house and spill their pints on the dance floor, cos it's the exact same as a club.

Next thing people will be paying into concerts and sports, when they could just sing or kick a ball themselves.

Yes because a dj basically playing the radio is the same as an international DJ playing a gig... (which I've always happily paid into)

I've never seen a dj playing the radio. Could you name and shame the clubs where a dj plays the radio?

What's an "international dj"? Is it like a dj from another country? Does that make them better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I'm of the notion that it's a bit ridiculous. I do it and will probably continue to do so but I feel that it's paying to be able to spend more money.

Nighclubs are already overpriced. First of all we have to queue for ages just to hand over money, for frankly nothing and then to enter and really not get much for it except a messy late night venue.

Sounds like you don't enjoy the experience anyway. All those faults would be there if it was free in.

Why go at all, let alone pay in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

OP should start his own nightclub. With blackjack. And hookers.

I've never seen a dj playing the radio. Could you name and shame the clubs where a dj plays the radio?

What's an "international dj"? Is it like a dj from another country? Does that make them better?

lol

Valetta wrote: »
    Sounds like you don't enjoy the experience anyway. All those faults would be there if it was free in.

Why go at all, let alone pay in?

Good point. I suppose when you're with a crowd and that's where their headed and rather cut the night short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Questioning the idea of paying into a nightclub is one of the earliest signs that you're getting old. It won't be long until you're doing a houdini in the last pub.

Embrace it, enjoy the feast of ****e fast food you get in substitution of your entrance fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have yet to see a business drag unsuspecting innocent passers by off the street and extort money of them. If you think a service is too expensive, you don't use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Really they should be providing entertainment.

That just means DJ in most places, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I have yet to see a business drag unsuspecting innocent passers by off the street and extort money of them. If you think a service is too expensive, you don't use it.

Cough... Property Tax for those who bought houses prior to 2011?

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There are enough late bars in the Country that paying into a nightclub is basically a tax on idiocy.

Someone always wheels this line out when these threads are started. They aren't the same thing.
    aphex™ wrote: »
    Really they should be providing entertainment.

That just means DJ in most places, unfortunately.

What else would you want in a nightclub? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Basic economics. If there was no demand for nightclubs that charge on the door then they would cease to charge. But as long as people keep on paying then some nightclubs will keep on charging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Yeah it's crap, I stopped doing it about two years ago que for ages to get in , pass the bouncer exam , get to a packed bar and que again , then try to move to a smoking area where you might find space to move your arms...nah.

A late bar is much better I think unless your desperate to pull some yoke at 2am that there's a 70/30 chance she may or may not have a riddled vag.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    A late bar is much better I think unless your desperate to pull some yoke at 2am that there's a 70/30 chance she may or may not have a riddled vag.

Huh?

Isn't that what the late bar is, the place where people guzzle pints and hope the women are doing so too to pull them at 2am?

I have never seen or heard anyone say "Fish Go Deep are playing in X niteclub tonight, I hate paying a cover charge in cos it's the exact same experience as my local pub, but I'll go just to pull manky women".

Clubbing and pubbing can be two different experiences. Sure, if the club has some fellow churning out Rihanna and Black Eyed Peas the difference may be fine between it and a late bar, but you can then choose not to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

It's a nightclub, you kind of expect to pay in. What bugs me is being forced to line up like a spa for ages to give the impression the place is some sort of "happening" spot and then having your clothes judged by some roided up police or army reject who thinks he's hot **** cause someone gave him a black jacket and an id cause he managed to complete a two day bouncers course. Typically, he'll act the hard man until an actual fight breaks out or someone actually needs help at which point he'll be nowhere to be found.
    Once in the club you then pay way over the odds for shitty bottles of beer, which you have to drink 50 of to make the shitty music bearable. That's if you can get served at the bar; even after battling your way to the front unless you've a nice pair of knockers barely concealed it can be tough to catch the barman's attention.
    Once you get your drinks it's back to where youre friends are standing or sitting, largely in silence, because conversing means screaming the key words of a sentence in their ear as loud as you can. Then everyone's hoofed out at the one time to try and get taxis.

Sorry, i may have gone off piste there. I just hate nightclubs. You should be charged for going into them, cause youre an idiot if you do.

Huh?

Isn't that what the late bar is, the place where people guzzle pints and hope the women are doing so too to pull them at 2am?

I have never seen or heard anyone say "Fish Go Deep are playing in X niteclub tonight, I hate paying a cover charge in cos it's the exact same experience as my local pub, but I'll go just to pull manky women".

Clubbing and pubbing can be two different experiences. Sure, if the club has some fellow churning out Rihanna and Black Eyed Peas the difference may be fine between it and a late bar, but you can then choose not to go.

Oh god, youre not about to start trying to convince people that DJs are real musicians are you?

Um.

No. They are DJs. And people pay to see them to be entertained.

The same way they pay in to see footballers. Or comedians. Or all those others who keep people entertained but are not "real musicians" because they don't play banjos or whatever. When did "real musicians" become the yardstick for judging what should entertain people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Huh?

No not for me anyway, it's a place me and the lads can go and continue to drink and have a laugh in relitive comfort without having to scream at each other, generally if you know a spot you won't have to que or pay in either..

Um.

The same way they pay in to see footballers. Or comedians. Or all those others who keep people entertained but are not "real musicians" because they don't play banjos or whatever. When did "real musicians" become the yardstick for judging what should entertain people?

So with this analogy you're telling me going to see a world class sport athlete perform on the largest stage, at the highest level in the world is comparable to a guy who DJs (not even his own music) on the weekends?

The music they play isn't their music. The actual artist people would pay to see, not someone who plays their tunes.

I don't see how you can compare a top class athlete or comedian with a guy who plays tracks that aren't even his/ hers. I'm not taking away that yes they're clearly entertaining the crowd but you pay to see artists, comedians and sports athletes because they're the top of their game, world class and unique. Your local team that plays football can't be compared to Real Madrid just becasue they're both entertaining.

So with this analogy you're telling me going to see a world class sport athlete perform on the largest stage, at the highest level in the world is comparable to a guy who DJs (not even his own music) on the weekends?

The music they play isn't their music. The actual artist people would pay to see, not someone who plays their tunes.

I don't see how you can compare a top class athlete or comedian with a guy who plays tracks that aren't even his/ hers. I'm not taking away that yes they're clearly entertaining the crowd but you pay to see artists, comedians and sports athletes because they're the top of their game, world class and unique. Your local team that plays football can't be compared to Real Madrid just becasue they're both entertaining.

I've paid in to see my local GAA club. They're not Real Madrid either.

Which is why I didn't say "they're all the exact same".

Incidentally, things being the same is your argument, pubs and clubs are the same so why pay into the latter.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    No not for me anyway, it's a place me and the lads can go and continue to drink and have a laugh in relitive comfort without having to scream at each other, generally if you know a spot you won't have to que or pay in either..

I know friends who go to late pubs to pull. I can honestly say I have never heard anyone of my friends say "such and such a DJ is playing deep house at such and such a club...we'll go pull women".

I guess we just have different friends!

Um.

If you pay to see a comedian he doesnt get up on stage and put on a mashup of Tommy Tiernan DVDs.

But that's an argument for another thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

profit profit profit.

Covering costs. Breaking even.

If you pay to see a comedian he doesnt get up on stage and put on a mashup of Tommy Tiernan DVDs.

But that's an argument for another thread

Again, I did not say DJs and comedians are the same. I have not seen too many get up and dance at a comedy gig.

As I said, they both provide entertainment. People pay to be entertained, but you are right laughing and dancing are two different things.

Incidentally, comedians have made whole careers out of others material. See Denis O'Leary.

Again, I did not say DJs and comedians are the same. I have not seen too many get up and dance at a comedy gig.

As I said, they both provide entertainment. People pay to be entertained, but you are right laughing and dancing are two different things.

Incidentally, comedians have made whole careers out of others material. See Denis O'Leary.

It's a bird, it's a plane, no, it's my point, flying clean over your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Highlight of Denis O Leary's career was a starring role in My Left Foot, credited as 'Child'.

Denis Leary on the other hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Went to Diceys on Sunday. 10 cover charge, but its only 2 quid a drink on Sunday, so its worth it.

I've paid in to see my local GAA club. They're not Real Madrid either.

Which is why I didn't say "they're all the exact same".

Incidentally, things being the same is your argument, pubs and clubs are the same so why pay into the latter.

Are you a DJ by any chance?

Supporting your local GAA club who probably barely makes ends meat coupled with the fact players don't get paid is still not a comparison you can make to justifying 10 squid in to a club because there's a lad playing tracks that aren't even his.

There's difference levels of entertainment, different levels of effort required by people to provide this entertainment. My question is simply do people think it's worth spending 10 quid into a nightclub or not. Clearly you don't mind as you pay for everything that entertains you which is fair enough.

Also I don't think I mentioned that clubs and pubs are the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

Nightclubs are ****e.

You can't talk to your mates, you always meet someone you Dont want to who's pissed and starts shouting into your ear about something or other.

You might on a very good night manage to pull but if your not single nightclubs are an absolute disaster. You end up standing around in a group looking at each or looking at women. Or worse, looking at other groups of men doing the same thing.

And the drink is catpiss

I actually looked it up briefly. I believe during the prohabition they had "night clubs" where they entertained but obviously for a fee in. When it was lifted I guess they just kept it going as it it was good money and provided enterntainment such as bands etc. You don't get much for your membership these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's a nightclub, you kind of expect to pay in. What bugs me is being forced to line up like a spa for ages to give the impression the place is some sort of "happening" spot and then having your clothes judged by some roided up police or army reject who thinks he's hot **** cause someone gave him a black jacket and an id cause he managed to complete a two day bouncers course. Typically, he'll act the hard man until an actual fight breaks out or someone actually needs help at which point he'll be nowhere to be found..

That's nonsense. I was a bouncer for years and was always a man of refined taste and sophistication as well as having a rapier wit. I was beloved by customers and colleagues alike as well as universally feared by rapscallions and knaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Reoil wrote: »
    Covering costs. Breaking even.

overpriced drinks take care of that and more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,434 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

There's difference levels of entertainment, different levels of effort required by people to provide this entertainment. My question is simply do people think it's worth spending 10 quid into a nightclub or not. Clearly you don't mind as you pay for everything that entertains you which is fair enough.

Also I don't think I mentioned that clubs and pubs are the same.

I usually pay €15 going into a club on a Friday night OP, I think that's good value for the entertainment and the atmosphere and the whole lot, but I know clubs alright which have a €10 charge on the door and honestly they'd have to be paying me the €10 to go in there. Not my kind of place at all.

That said, I've had some good times in late bars too, so I wouldn't be totally against late bars either, but I just prefer the atmosphere in the particular club I go to which I personally think anyway is well worth the €15 cover charge.

I don't mind paying for something which entertains me as long as I feel it's giving me value for my money. Some places do, and some places don't. I go where I get value for money and whether that's a pub or a club or a late bar or whatever really makes no difference to me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The only function of a nightclub is to meet women, absolutely pointless otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Um.

People go to nightclubs for the DJs...? Anyone in my experience only ever went to night club try and get laid. The "there's a good DJ" line was usually a very thinly veiled smokescreen.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Gah this pretty much sums up nightclubs for me,think you just hit an age and see them for what they are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

My OH was a doorman for a few years in a pub that had a late bar Friday& Saturday night they would have a band on first and then a DJ, it was free in before 11 and E5 after that he could never fathom out people leaving at about 1/1.30 to go to the nightclub down the street and pay E13 in, it would finish at the same time as the late bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The only function of a nightclub is to meet women, absolutely pointless otherwise

Nonsense. It's not the only reason.
    It's 1:30am. You're locked. You don't want top go home. So in your drunken stupidity you go to a nightclub so the night can keep going. You pay to get in. You queue for the bar. You eventually get a vastly overpriced drink. Then you drink for another hour or two.

next morning you wake up and see that stupid stamp on your hand and think "Why the **** did I do that".

It's a bird, it's a plane, no, it's my point, flying clean over your head

Your point being you hate DJs.

Or they are not "real musicians"...because God forbid anyone could be entertained by anything other than these "real musicians"! And it was such an original point, like no one has ever said that before! ;)
    Are you a DJ by any chance?

Nope, just someone who likes dance and electronic music and will happily pay to see a good DJ. What's your take on that genre?

Your point being you hate DJs.

Or they are not "real musicians"...because God forbid anyone could be entertained by anything other than these "real musicians"! And it was such an original point, like no one has ever said that before! ;)

Nope, just someone who likes dance and electronic music and will happily pay to see a good DJ. What's your take on that genre?

I think it's scary