Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance companies won't insure me!

• 23-06-2015 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

First of all sorry if this is in the wrong section, it is the closest I could find to my problem

So as the title states, every single insurance company I could possibly find won't insure me, I have my provisional license and have completed all my 12 edt lessons but now must wait 5 months with my provisional license before I can get my full I'm trying to get insured on an 05 Mercedes e200 I'm 20 years old

Before you start giving out that I should've just bought a smaller car for a first time driver , Im Managing Director of a limited business I had setup , it's going well but because of my age and the nature of my business a small majority of people I have come across do not take me seriously , on top of that showing up to meetings in a small 99 fiat punto wouldn't be an option ,
    also my dad whoworks at my company and basically sofeurs me around everywhere I need to go is going abroad to do business for a while so I'll have to be driving myself

I have tried every single insurance company I have managed to come across and none of them even wanted to quote me, insurance is a legal requirement but I can't get it anywhere even with these companies who claim to be the best in insuring learner drivers, I've been trying to get third party fire and theft coverage so the car being a little on the expensive side shouldn't make a difference as I cannot claim for damage to my car under third party fire and theft

Last but not least would it be possible to get insured from an overseas company? Would that be legal , can I get insured on a company outside Ireland and still meet legal requirements ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭slinky2000

At end end of the day mate, you're 20 and haven't passed your test. Doesn't matter if you own Microsoft, insurance companies only want to insure you on 99 Puntos.

Take it on the chin and drive a punto. It's only for 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭kippy

vchircu wrote: »
    First of all sorry if this is in the wrong section, it is the closest I could find to my problem

So as the title states, every single insurance company I could possibly find won't insure me, I have my provisional license and have completed all my 12 edt lessons but now must wait 5 months with my provisional license before I can get my full I'm trying to get insured on an 05 Mercedes e200 I'm 20 years old

Before you start giving out that I should've just bought a smaller car for a first time driver , Im Managing Director of a limited business I had setup , it's going well but because of my age and the nature of my business a small majority of people I have come across do not take me seriously , on top of that showing up to meetings in a small 99 fiat punto wouldn't be an option ,
    also my dad whoworks at my company and basically sofeurs me around everywhere I need to go is going abroad to do business for a while so I'll have to be driving myself

I have tried every single insurance company I have managed to come across and none of them even wanted to quote me, insurance is a legal requirement but I can't get it anywhere even with these companies who claim to be the best in insuring learner drivers, I've been trying to get third party fire and theft coverage so the car being a little on the expensive side shouldn't make a difference as I cannot claim for damage to my car under third party fire and theft

Last but not least would it be possible to get insured from an overseas company? Would that be legal , can I get insured on a company outside Ireland and still meet legal requirements ?
    A small majority of people dont take you seriously because they may see the car you drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Elliejo

Who is going to be accompanying you while you drive this Mercedes on your provisional licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭dmc17

Have you considered getting a car somewhere in between the Mercedes and the Punto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 vchircu

kippy wrote: »
    A small majority of people dont take you seriously because they may see the car you drive?

No, A small majority of people of people do not take me seriously because of my age, that coupled with whatever car I end up driving will again alter their perception of me

For example, I had recently tendered for a large project with a large building contractor and had given them my price for the job

I then had not heard back from them in a while so I decided to ring and follow up,

they had said that the price I had given them was acceptable but they did not want to give me the job because of my "lack of experience" in this sector which I can only assume that was a nice way of saying that they think in too young and therefore did not have the necessary knowledge to tackle this job

After some meetings and talks I had decided to make them a large sample of the product, upon seeing the quality of work I had produced they decided to give me the job

I basically want to prevent that from happening again, and believe that the car I drive will determine the view prospective clients have of me

Yes I know it's shallow but I cannot change how the world works, alot people are shallow

Elliejo wrote: »
    Who is going to be accompanying you while you drive this Mercedes on your provisional licence?

All of my employees have full license's so the problem of having someone else in the car with me that has a full license during work hours is not a problem, the problem is that either way I cannot get insured, I was just emailed by one of the insurance brokers a couple of mins ago who did manage to get me one quote however , for 12000, which to be honest is way to much considering the car itself only cost 3900

i would even be Happy with paying around 3500 a year but 12000 is a bit much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

You really shouldn't be worried about other people's perception of you.

If you get insured, you will need to be accompanied & have to display L plates. Doesn't scream managing director regardless what you drive.

All of my employees have full license's so the problem of having someone else in the car with me that has a full license during work hours is not a problem, the problem is that either way I cannot get insured, I was just emailed by one of the insurance brokers a couple of mins ago who did manage to get me one quote however , for 12000, which to be honest is way to much considering the car itself only cost 3900

i would even be Happy with paying around 3500 a year but 12000 is a bit much?

12,000? :eek:

You should hire a chauffeur on the JobBridge scheme :pac:

No, A small majority of people of people do not take me seriously because of my age, that coupled with whatever car I end up driving will again alter their perception of me

For example, I had recently tendered for a large project with a large building contractor and had given them my price for the job

I then had not heard back from them in a while so I decided to ring and follow up,

they had said that the price I had given them was acceptable but they did not want to give me the job because of my "lack of experience" in this sector which I can only assume that was a nice way of saying that they think in too young and therefore did not have the necessary knowledge to tackle this job

After some meetings and talks I had decided to make them a large sample of the product, upon seeing the quality of work I had produced they decided to give me the job

I basically want to prevent that from happening again, and believe that the car I drive will determine the view prospective clients have of me

Yes I know it's shallow but I cannot change how the world works, alot people are shallow
    What does a small majority actually mean?

Perhaps if your clients see a 20 year old driving an E class merc, no matter what the year, they may get the perception that you're a pompus git who's can well afford to be pricing a bit lower etc etc

You really shouldn't be worried about other people's perception of you.

If you get insured, you will need to be accompanied & have to display L plates. Doesn't scream managing director regardless what you drive.

James I usually do not care about other people's perception of me, but in business, yes their perception of me does count,
    And no while A big L plate doesn't exactly scream Managing Director an L plate still looks more professional on a Mercedes than on a Nissan micra or a smart car or any other 1L car

In fact I know of a couple of older gentlemen who own businesses and hire out a cars whenever going to meet bigger clients just to look more respectable, unfortunately yes it does make a difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Why don't you just stay in the instructors car until you pass the test and get a driver in the mean time. Surely you'll be treated more seriosuly with a driver opening the door for you?

What does a small majority actually mean?

Perhaps if your clients see a 20 year old driving an E class merc, no matter what the year, they may get the perception that you're a pompus git who's can well afford to be pricing a bit lower etc etc

I've maybe come across
    15-20 people who have actually blatantly stated that due to my age they didnt think I would be able to handle the jobs and so deccided not to give them to me

And also before I had bought the merc me and my dad would drive to meetings in a 1L 99 opel corsa, I could overhear some of them taking about the car after we had left and sometimes they would act extremely snobby as we talked to them, they did not directly say anything to offend but we could feel that they looked down on us

Ever since myriad has been driving me to and from meetings I havnt felt any of these stated thing I feel as though they take me more seriously

Regardless things are getting a bit off topic

Is there anything I can do? I'm stuck in a loop between legally needing insurance and being declined to get insured

Is that idea of getting insured with an overseas. Company viable?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

http://www.consumerhelp.ie/car-insurance#refused
    If you are refused cover by three or more companies you can contact the Declined Cases Committee of Insurance Ireland. They will get an insurance quote for you (usually the first company you approached will be asked to quote) unless there are good public policy reasons why you should not be given motor insurance. It is important that you keep note of the order in which you looked for quotes.

Before the committee considers your case, you must first have been refused a quote in writing from at least three insurance companies. You can also contact the Declined Cases Committee in cases where you feel a quote is too high or the conditions attached are so severe that it amounts to a refusal to give you insurance.
    - See more at: http://www.consumerhelp.ie/car-insurance#refused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

What's with giving him the hard time? The choice of car is pretty silly as is actually buying the car before finding out of you could get insured on it. But people's perceptions of potential suppliers in big business is a major part of getting deals done. It's a genuine concern and I can understand not wanting to rock up to a meeting looking like one of the lads from The Inbetweeners.

Can't you get the car insured in your dads or someone elses name and add you as a named driver. It's bound to be much cheaper and more likely to get a few more quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Think you should just shelve the Merc idea, at least until you have a full licence. If I was in your position I'd be thinking Mondeo, Avensis or similar, max 1.6.

Jayop wrote: »
    What's with giving him the hard time? The choice of car is pretty silly as is actually buying the car before finding out of you could get insured on it. But people's perceptions of potential suppliers in big business is a major part of getting deals done. It's a genuine concern and I can understand not wanting to rock up to a meeting looking like one of the lads from The Inbetweeners.

Can't you get the car insured in your dads or someone elses name and add you as a named driver. It's bound to be much cheaper and more likely to get a few more quotes.

Finally someone who understands how business works, it's about looking professional and being presentable

yes I realise that you may think it was silly to buy the car before I could get insurance but I actually originally bought it for my dad to drive as his opel corsa was one it's last legs, so for the last couple of months he has been driving it and me around but has now bought himself one

Unfortunatey we had tried today with my dad's insurance company and they did not want to insure me

We did however find one company that would insure me if my dad was the main driver but it would mean my dad cancelling his current insurance, he has 8 months left with all of it payed off so cancelling is out of the question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Have you tried going through a broker? Sometimes they have better luck than an individual contacting companies themselves.

If unsuccessful this way, I would look into downsizing your car, unfortunately. Speak with some insurance companies and see if you can find out what's the largest car they'd be willing to insure you on for a reasonable price (a Mondeo, Astra, or similar) and then bite the bullet and swap to that.

I know this isn't the answer you want to hear, but it might be the easiest alternative in the short term.

Finally someone who understands how business works, it's about looking professional and being presentable

yes I realise that you may think it was silly to buy the car before I could get insurance but I actually originally bought it for my dad to drive as his opel corsa was one it's last legs, so for the last couple of months he has been driving it and me around but has now bought himself one

Unfortunatey we had tried today with my dad's insurance company and they did not want to insure me

We did however find one company that would insure me if my dad was the main driver but it would mean my dad cancelling his current insurance, he has 8 months left with all of it payed off so cancelling is out of the question

Best advise for you is scrap the Merc, go out and buy something like a nice clean focus 1.6 diesel if you can afford it and get insurance in your own name. Driving a Merc at a young age looks a big like a drug dealer or a bit pretentious but a focus is as inconspicuous and inoffensive as you could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

Not having a go at all.

Just trying to be sensible about it - insurance for a learner driver is extortionate enough as it is without making things harder for yourself, car wise.

OP how about you go with a work colleague in their car for these types of meetings, get your full & then get insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

As a Provisional Licence holder, you MUST be accompanied at all times. It might be better image if you had a chauffeur? Would you consider contacting a broker; insuring the car in the company name and either with named drivers, or open driving for anyone aged over 25 with a FULL licence?

Looking professional and being presentable do not involve spinning around in a Merc of any age.

If the car type is that important to you and will swing major deals either way surely the cost of insurance, no matter what it is, is well worth paying?

DivingDuck wrote: »
    Have you tried going through a broker? Sometimes they have better luck than an individual contacting companies themselves.

If unsuccessful this way, I would look into downsizing your car, unfortunately. Speak with some insurance companies and see if you can find out what's the largest car they'd be willing to insure you on for a reasonable price (a Mondeo, Astra, or similar) and then bite the bullet and swap to that.

I know this isn't the answer you want to hear, but it might be the easiest alternative in the short term.

Thanks for the reply, there's no answer that I don't want to hear, I want all the advice I can get an I'll chose the best option given to me

Yes I have tried both insurance brokers and individually contacting companies both to no avail, I will try contacting them tomorrow and ask what the largest car they insure me on is, seems like a good way to go

I might also look into buying a 4x4 and slapping the company logo and details on it as I have heard that 4 wheel drive cars are cheaper to insure as they are safer, this option will also help with the look as company jeeps tend to look more professional regardless of make

ravima wrote: »
    As a Provisional Licence holder, you MUST be accompanied at all times. It might be better image if you had a chauffeur? Would you consider contacting a broker; insuring the car in the company name and either with named drivers, or open driving for anyone aged over 25 with a FULL licence?

Good advice if it's possible.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

This isn't far off the mark sometimes, I know IT consultants who deliberately drive a less "flash" car due to comments being made if they do turn up in their flash cars about how much they earn etc.

Jayop wrote: »
    But people's perceptions of potential suppliers in big business is a major part of getting deals done. It's a genuine concern and I can understand not wanting to rock up to a meeting looking like one of the lads from The Inbetweeners.

Ah now there's a balance, rocking up in a Merc does actually get on some peoples wick, and does give the wrong impression sometimes.

OP is 20 something like a Mondeo would be much less in your face.

And doing what you suggest is fronting, and OPs dad is going abroad
    Looking professional and being presentable do not involve spinning around in a Merc of any age.
    Yep exactly

Stheno wrote: »
    This isn't far off the mark sometimes, I know IT consultants who deliberately drive a less "flash" car due to comments being made if they do turn up in their flash cars about how much they earn etc.

Ah now there's a balance, rocking up in a Merc does actually get on some peoples wick, and does give the wrong impression sometimes.

OP is 20 something like a Mondeo would be much less in your face.

And doing what you suggest is fronting, and OPs dad is going abroad

Yep exactly

Yeah I said as much re the Merc in my next post. A nice clean focus would look better anyway.

Why don't you just stay in the instructors car until you pass the test and get a driver in the mean time. Surely you'll be treated more seriosuly with a driver opening the door for you?

There's a difference between looking professional / presentable an just plain going over board, having a chauffeur is just being a bit snobby to be honest most of the company directors I meet with th aren't chauffeured around either

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There's a difference between looking professional / presentable an just plain going over board, having a chauffeur is just being a bit snobby to be honest most of the company directors I meet with th aren't chauffeured around either

I know company directors who take the bus and use Dublin bikes :D

Seriously, you're way too overfocussed on your image, regardless of the Merc you weren't getting that job you then did get due to your age, until you proved yourself.

Get rid of the Merc, after you find out what you can get insured on.

Btw, what are you putting down as your occupation when you apply for insurance? And are you declaring it will be used for business use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 prettylamp

I learned to drive in my dad's e200.

The only way I could get insured was by Aviva.
    They gave me 6 months free insurance as I did 10 lessons with them and once I passed they continued the insurance.
    Not sure if that helps!

prettylamp wrote: »
    I learned to drive in my dad's e200.

The only way I could get insured was by Aviva.
    They gave me 6 months free insurance as I did 10 lessons with them and once I passed they continued the insurance.
    Not sure if that helps!
    Was that as a named driver though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've maybe come across
    15-20 people who have actually blatantly stated that due to my age they didnt think I would be able to handle the jobs and so deccided not to give them to me

I think you're confusing and conflating the issue(s) as you see them. If people don't wish to hire you because you're 20 and lack experience in the sector, that has nothing to do with your car. You could rock up in a fleet of lamborghinis wearing tailored suits, an Apple Watch Edition, etc - but you'll still be a 20 year old with a lack of experience in the sector. The only way to change that is by gaining experience (and do a good job so you have good references/portfolio to use).

Fair play to you, and while I appreciate the need to look professional - I think you've got the wrong end of the stick here.

I know company directors who take the bus and use Dublin bikes :D

Seriously, you're way too overfocussed on your image, regardless of the Merc you weren't getting that job you then did get due to your age, until you proved yourself.

Get rid of the Merc, after you find out what you can get insured on.

Btw, what are you putting down as your occupation when you apply for insurance? And are you declaring it will be used for business use?

I think I'm going to scrap the mercidea for now, I'll keep it though Im not going to sell it

I think as suggested a Mondeo or maybe a vw passat

I'd also like to hear from other business owners ? What do you guys think?

As my occupation when I get asked by the companies I just tell them the truth, Managing director

I think I'm going to scrap the mercidea for now, I'll keep it though Im not going to sell it

As my occupation when I get asked by the companies I just tell them the truth, Managing director

I'm a company director, as I'm an IT contractor, but I work as an IT consultant.
    There is nothing customers dislike more than someone coming across as overly flash in their appearance, be it car, shiny suits, whatever. For some, it can immediately affect how they deal with you, remember that first impressions can create an instant image of how you are viewed.

And at your age, it would look incredibly pretentious, it could in fact lead to customers thinking you are driving the Merc to give the impression you are doing well, and hiding something else.

Managing director could well be an occupation that will load insurance, as it would infer you drive a lot for work, or could. Do you put down that you are using the car for work as you are required to as opposed to domestic and leisure use?

I think you're confusing and conflating the issue(s) as you see them. If people don't wish to hire you because you're 20 and lack experience in the sector, that has nothing to do with your car. You could rock up in a fleet of lamborghinis wearing tailored suits, an Apple Watch Edition, etc - but you'll still be a 20 year old with a lack of experience in the sector. The only way to change that is by gaining experience (and do a good job so you have good references/portfolio to use).

Fair play to you, and while I appreciate the need to look professional - I think you've got the wrong end of the stick here.

I completely understand why everyone thinks don't have experience, but that's but true, they just perceive me as not having experience because of my age, but you see I'm not actually out on the workshop floor making the products, all the employees have plenty of experience, so my experience in the field doesn't contribute to the overall quality of the product as I'm most the one making them, All of my employees are from another company who shutdown as of last year, the employees are all qualified and have decades of experience

Also i have some experience in the field, my dad owned a company in the same industry and so have been though by him and have worked with him since I was 13

I completely understand why everyone thinks don't have experience, but that's but true, they just perceive me as not having experience because of my age, but you see I'm not actually out on the workshop floor making the products, all the employees have plenty of experience, so my experience in the field doesn't contribute to the overall quality of the product as I'm most the one making them, All of my employees are from another company who shutdown as of last year, the employees are all qualified and have decades of experience

Also i have some experience in the field, my dad owned a company in the same industry and so have been though by him and have worked with him since I was 13

Your issue in the case of the tender you referenced is nothing to do with your car, it's with how you responded to the tender.

Did you include a company profile with profiles of your key employees emphasizing their experience/qualifications background etc to demonstrate the breath of skills and experience in the company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'm noticing another issue here - in that you're confusing you (personally) with the company.

So to clarify:

Your company that you own and are managing director of - is quite new and has no reputation to rely on.

Your employees have plenty of experience
    Your father has experience

You may well have been trained by yoda - but if your company has no name for itself or reputation to rely on - it and you are going to be (rightly so) considered as having no experience in the field. What your father did or didn't do has no bearing on your company. His reputation doesn't transfer to your company - you have to make a name for yourself.

Your issue in the case of the tender you referenced is nothing to do with your car, it's with how you responded to the tender.

Did you include a company profile with profiles of your key employees emphasizing their experience/qualifications background etc to demonstrate the breath of skills and experience in the company?

I should also have asked were you able to provide multiple references for work of a similar size and value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

What class of insurance are you trying to take out?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Drive any old car and treat it as a purely functional piece of equipment. They will admire your swagger.

Maybe say that you work as a fabricator/widgetmaker etc instead i.e. the type of job. And if people ask what your role is in the company say you own the company. People are not idiots and they know that while a new merc/beamer can cost 100k, a 10 year old merc can be worth less than 5k. Much like they know that anyone can be an Managing Director if they set up a limited company.

I dunno, maybe they interpret the Merc as you trying too hard. But then again I would say that as a self righteous skoda driver.

I'm a company director, as I'm an IT contractor, but I work as an IT consultant.
    There is nothing customers dislike more than someone coming across as overly flash in their appearance, be it car, shiny suits, whatever. For some, it can immediately affect how they deal with you, remember that first impressions can create an instant image of how you are viewed.

And at your age, it would look incredibly pretentious, it could in fact lead to customers thinking you are driving the Merc to give the impression you are doing well, and hiding something else.

Managing director could well be an occupation that will load insurance, as it would infer you drive a lot for work, or could. Do you put down that you are using the car for work as you are required to as opposed to domestic and leisure use?

Yes I do put the car down as I'd be using it for work, infact that's true I would only be using it for work as I generally had not need for a car until recently, would usually take the bus or cycle where I needed to go

Also as stated before I do feel as though since buying the merc we have been taken more seriously

Most of our clients are actually big commercials whose owners do themselves drive flashy cars
    I believe it is the normal private consumer would most likely find it pretentious for me to drive a merc although we do not deal with to many private consumers, mostly commercial

As also stated before I will be scrolling the Mercedes idea and looking into a 4x4, ford Mondeo or Vw passat

Will try to get quoted tomorrow on one of those cars

Also as stated before I do feel as though since buying the merc we have been taken more seriously

Most of our clients are actually big commercials whose owners do themselves drive flashy cars
    I believe it is the normal private consumer would most likely find it pretentious for me to drive a merc although we do not deal with to many private consumers, mostly commercial

Most of my customers are very large commercial organisations too :) It's not just a private individual thing.

Your insurance is going to be loaded as you are putting down that you will be using it for work, that's increasing the risk due to extra mileage

I'm noticing another issue here - in that you're confusing you (personally) with the company.

So to clarify:

Your company that you own and are managing director of - is quite new and has no reputation to rely on.

Your employees have plenty of experience
    Your father has experience

You may well have been trained by yoda - but if your company has no name for itself or reputation to rely on - it and you are going to be (rightly so) considered as having no experience in the field. What your father did or didn't do has no bearing on your company. His reputation doesn't transfer to your company - you have to make a name for yourself.

Well here's where you would be wrong, I have quite reputation to rely on and uphold, my father's company was named the exact same as mine except for the limited part at the end, after he had shut down and basically retired i'd taken over the name, along with all his connections and older clients who then had no problem working with me after the situation was explained and who still do, so I still had all of his company's reputation all his clients and even his employees who I took on so essentially the only thing that change was the companies structure and owner

When did you take over the company?

Thank you all for your input, I have gained a little more insight on the image I present to clients and also on what advice to take,

I will be calling some insurance companies tomorrow to try get quoted for either a Mondeo or a vw passat

When did you take over the company?

Last year In December

That's the point we are trying to make.

You've taken over the company six months ago, so despite it's reputation/background/relationships, customers will be wary until they see what you are like to deal with, and if you maintain the standards they are used to.

Six months is nothing in that context, as you build up the relationships and they see that you are capable of doing so and delivering at your age, then their attitude will change.

That's the point we are trying to make.

You've taken over the company six months ago, so despite it's reputation/background/relationships, customers will be wary until they see what you are like to deal with, and if you maintain the standards they are used to.

Six months is nothing in that context, as you build up the relationships and they see that you are capable of doing so and delivering at your age, then their attitude will change.

The problem is not with the existing customers, existing customers as I have stated are extremely happy and have no problem trusting us after the switch from my dad to me, people who had done business with my dad are in fact still brining in new customers

The standards they are used to are still there, I strive to keep them and although my dad is now retired he still around at the workshop most days offering advice and helping out

Now that I think I've this issue pretty much solved, do I mark the thread as solved or how do I go about closing the thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

I doubt you'd even insure a passat or mondeo for 3,500. You could pay that on a 1.4 if it's going to be up in the years

Now that I think I've this issue pretty much solved, do I mark the thread as solved or how do I go about closing the thread?

One of the mods can close it for you, or you can just unfollow it

You can do one of the following:

1. Just leave it be, it will die a natural death
    2. Ask a mod to close it.

After a day or two it will drop off down the rankings as other threads get replied to etc

Good luck getting the insurance