Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glenisk Greek yogurt + pineapple = yock

• 23-06-2015 8:44am

Lads, on Sunday night I put some greek yogurt into a tub with some pineapple and flaked almonds and put it into my lunch bag thingamajib for work yesterday. When I went to eat it, it tasted poisonous! Seriously, couldn't eat it, really really strong bitter chemically taste. So I threw it in the bin and enjoyed my lunch all the more because I was bleeeeedin' staaaarvin'.

I thought maybe leaving it sit overnight in the same tub might have been the problem and so today I put them in separate tubs and ate a little bit of pineapple with a little bit of yogurt and it tasted yum. But after I was finished I got that same manky taste in my mouth. It's really really rotten.

Anyone know what's the craic with that? Is there some chemical reaction I don't know about? It's never happened with any other type of greek or natural yogurt. Very weird.

No sure this needed such a long post but there you go :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭smeal

I'm not sure about the mixture but last week I cut open a pineapple, ate some of it and put the rest back in the fridge and by the next evening the pineapple was STINKING out the fridge even though I had it wrapped up. It must just not keep well after cutting it open? Seriously I was convinced there was gone off chicken or veg in the fridge the smell was so strong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If in doubt, blame pineapple.

Yeh I thought maybe it was the pineapple, but I cut up pineapples all the time and leave them in a tub in the fridge to use over a few days. And the pineapple tasted lovely on its own, and so did the yogurt, but together - YOCK.

I was hoping for some exciting science reason :D

Yeh I thought maybe it was the pineapple, but I cut up pineapples all the time and leave them in a tub in the fridge to use over a few days. And the pineapple tasted lovely on its own, and so did the yogurt, but together - YOCK.

It's not hugely exciting but it's quite likely it's because of the enzyme bromelain in the pineapple. It'll cause yoghurt to curdle and whatnot so just keep em separate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

It's not hugely exciting but it's quite likely it's because of the enzyme bromelain in the pineapple. It'll cause yoghurt to curdle and whatnot so just keep em separate.

Either than or the Acidic nature of Pineapples.

papu wrote: »
    Either than or the Acidic nature of Pineapples.

Doesn't sound as sciency so it was relegated.

Anyway, pineapples usually taste of bleugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Doesn't sound as sciency so it was relegated.

Ok lets try again,

The casein protein in the yoghurt (technically called micelles) have a negative charge, which makes them repel other groupings of casein and keeps them all evenly dispersed. Acids are positively charged (proton donors ) and as such adding the acidic pineapple juice the negative charge on the casein groupings becomes neutralized; the reaction between an acid and base is essentially a proton transfer. Now instead of pushing each other apart, the casein starts to clump together.
    Boom Curdles.
    giphy.gif

Science, bitches.

If in doubt, blame pineapple.

ohmigod, you're wrong, mr. wrong, of wrong town.

Pineapple is the feckin BIZ.

papu wrote: »
    Ok lets try again,

The casein protein in the yoghurt (technically called micelles) have a negative charge, which makes them repel other groupings of casein and keeps them all evenly dispersed. Acids are positively charged (proton donors ) and as such adding the acidic pineapple juice the negative charge on the casein groupings becomes neutralized; the reaction between an acid and base is essentially a proton transfer. Now instead of pushing each other apart, the casein starts to clump together.
    Boom Curdles.

Ah. With you now.

All of the science. Love it.

ohmigod, you're wrong, mr. wrong, of wrong town.

Pineapple is the feckin BIZ.

Bear Grylls doesn't like them and he drinks his own wee.

QED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The pineapple, in the presence of yoghurt, separated into its constituent parts: pine and apple. Both pine and apple are used as scents in household cleaning products. The presence of cleaning products strongly suggests the presence of something needing to be cleaned. Things that need to be cleaned are dirty. Dirty things smell bad.

Endacl M.Sc.

You're welcome.