Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Westwood Rip Off

• 21-06-2015 2:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

I got this price list from Westwood to join the gym... Are these guys for real? I thought joining fees were gone these days - but €499 joining fee on top of €75 a month? Unbelievable. Of course they rolled out the "well you're in luck, someone just left the gym and we can transfer their payment to you for just €170"

Is there anywhere in the area with a pool that doesn't want your first born as payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

The monthly fees have been about the same for the last ten years and the gym has been renovated extensively during that time. I can't see them dropping prices any time soon.

The CRC have a swimming pool with public hours. Slender Health in Raheny has a gym. Northwood has a gym and pool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I once saw a price list for something I thought was expensive.

I didn't buy it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Hanley wrote: »

I didn't buy it.

I also did this and instead went for an option more affordable to myself

Also... if you spread that over the course of the year, it's the price of a cup of coffee per day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

I saw that as well. Except it said join for only 149 , I knew it wasnt for the year , but for the craic I tried to joint for the year for 149.
    It is a class gym, and if you use it , it's probably worth it.
    I currently do crossfit, but Westwood is a good bit cheaper so it is making me re consider my exercising options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Caoimhin

I paid about €60 joining fee, even at this I was giving out ****e to them. But I have been a member for ages and just insulted the crap outta the gym so they kept lowering the price. This was all pre- renovation of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I didn't buy it.

You mean you didn't whine about how disgraceful it is that the service costs more than ~€200 a year first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,712 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

There are probably several places with pools that do not require 'a big outlay'.

But they may not
    • have all the other stuff that Westwood has.
    • be located conveniently in your area.
    If neither of those two points matter, you're sorted.

If they do, they have a value. Only you can decide if the cost represents value.

But first I'd ring them and see how far they are willing to drop the joining fee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I didn't buy it.
    Neither did the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

Also... if you spread that over the course of the year, it's the price of a cup of coffee per day!

What if the OP doesn't drink coffee? Are they still not entitled to go looking for a better deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Sorry but how can ANY gym justify €500 plus €75 per month? Seriously like.

Once they have enough members paying they don't need to justify it.

You just don't pay it if you don't think it's value.

stephenl15 wrote: »

There's no room for haggling on the monthly fees. If you fight with them over the price they may "do a deal" on the signing fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I'm assuming each member gets a team of personal trainers with different areas of expertise all working with them at the same time, with optional oral sex provided by models of your choice after the sauna session, and a helicopter ride back to your penthouse after it all.

That or dumb rich people who fail to identify the drastic diminishing returns on gym cost/quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

And if you spread it out over 12 payments its 116 euro a month or nearly 1400 a year. Seems a bit pricey alright.

Zillah wrote: »
    I'm assuming each member gets a team of personal trainers with different areas of expertise all working with them at the same time, with optional oral sex provided by models of your choice after the sauna session, and a helicopter ride back to your penthouse after it all.

That or dumb rich people who fail to identify the drastic diminishing returns on gym cost/quality.

Hahahaha I thought it was a serious post from the first sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Gym in Sligo = 5 months membership for 40 Euro, take that Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

JJayoo wrote: »
    Yeah but it's Sligo.

I'd happily pay 1400 a year to not have to live in Sligo.

In fact, rent wise, I probably do.

Imagine a gym with:

great space
    swimming pool
    top class changing room / shower facilities
    Top notch bumper plates / bars (think Eleiko)
    Top notch machine equipment (something like Hammar Strength)
    Banks of Concept Two's
    Banks of other cardio equipment
    Boxing / studio like space
    Knowledgeable trainers who provide good advice and assessment
    Long opening hours

I'd say that would be well worth your €500 + €75pm and more. Now, such a facility doesn't exist because we don't live in a Carlsberg ad but let's not pretend that there isn't a hypothetical well worth that money.

If you've money to burn, sure, but for 95% of people 1400 a year is quite a bit, and the gains over a gym that's, say, 300-400 per year, aren't exactly great.

I'd love if Flyefit cleaned their free weights now and then. Last couple of times I've needed to go back to the changing rooms to wash off the grime before continuing. I'm sure there would be lots of small perks like that, but it's hard to imagine any gym being worth 1400.

If you've money to burn, sure, but for 95% of people 1400 a year is quite a bit, and the gains over a gym that's, say, 300-400 per year, aren't exactly great.

I'd love if Flyefit cleaned their free weights now and then. Last couple of times I've needed to go back to the changing rooms to wash off the grime before continuing. I'm sure there would be lots of small perks like that, but it's hard to imagine any gym being worth 1400.

Just paid €100 for 6mths in Parnells gym. No pool but apart from that absolutely fine gets everything done. €1400... no thank you

There's a lot that goes into what a gym is worth to someone. Convenience, lack of other pool and gym facilities of the same quality within a certain distance, etc.

The majority of people won't hand over €1,400 a year for a gym if it isn't worth it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It is a class gym, and if you use it , it's probably worth it.
    How? Are their kilograms heavier than Ben Dunne's kilograms? Are the showers showerier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

JJayoo wrote: »

Pumpin' turf?

That's not what meant by 'feel the burn'!

There's a lot that goes into what a gym is worth to someone. Convenience, lack of other pool and gym facilities of the same quality within a certain distance, etc.

The majority of people won't hand over €1,400 a year for a gym if it isn't worth it to them.

I haven't been a member of Westwood for quite a while but it did have a lot going for it. The location is convenient for a massive number of people who commute to town or East Point from the northside. For me it was partly a social thing as plenty of my mates were also members. It's big enough that you can get into classes and don't have to wait for equipment. It also has a decent pool and the spa area is massive.

It was pricey as hell so once I moved house and a couple of friends left it lost the social and convenience benefits and didn't justify the cost to me.

Fair enough, these conversations are pointless. Some people see the €€€ ahead of any quality concerns and, tbh, fair play to them. What is the difference between a pair of shoes in Clarks and a fine pair of Italian leather shoes? They both do the same thing right? They cover your feet.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Fair enough, these conversations are pointless. Some people see the €€€ ahead of any quality concerns and, tbh, fair play to them. What is the difference between a pair of shoes in Clarks and a fine pair of Italian leather shoes? They both do the same thing right? They cover your feet.

In fairness, that's very different. I agree that Westwood may be better than the average gym but not to the tune of €1000 a year.Buying nicer shoes have other benefits, ie confidence, longer lasting, better looking etc. but weights are still essentially weights. You don't get more muscles using westwood weights than average joes gymnasium weights,

Is it though?

Bars are not all of equal quality
    Facilities are not all of equal cleanliness
    Space is not all equally divided and utilised
    Trainers / employees are not all armed with the same knowledge and experience

You're taking out a huge amount of considerations.

If it's just the weight of the weights, why don't we all just go to Sligo and use a gym that's less than €100?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭caviardreams

It's only 1400 for the first year - every other year is 900, so that's a truer indication of cost imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

Once you go over a certain price you are paying mainly for the brand though. IDk if that is the case here but maybe someone else can chip in and explain what the premium price gives you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

As someone who was in the gym business for 8 years I can say don't ever pay joining fees. They are only a bonus for the gym.

Most of time its used as a bargaining chip. Oh, if you join today we'll half the joining fee! etc, etc.

If they don't budge with eliminating the joining fee offer 2-3 months membership in advance.

I train in a shed :) it cost me nothing........except my dignity :(

It's only 1400 for the first year - every other year is 900, so that's a truer indication of cost imo.

Which sounds like they're trying to dupe you with a sunk cost fallacy, which makes me want to slap them even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Which sounds like they're trying to dupe you with a sunk cost fallacy, which makes me want to slap them even more.

I'm sure its designed to make it seem exclusive but it made me feel like they were looking for a brown envelope.

I had built myself up to the idea of paying €75 per month but the vig was a step too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

When you consider that lots of people are paying between €12 and €15 per Pilates or Yoga class per week - that's between €600 and €800 per year for only 1 class per week and generally no showers.

Are there cheaper options? Yes
    Are there more specialised options? Yes

Is there a more complete club in Ireland than West Wood - Not that I know of. (by complete, I mean - boxing area, huge free weights & cardio areas, Functional training rigs, Pool, Spa's, hundreds of free classes, free pilates & yoga, Free programmes, cafe's, ladies only gyms, climbing walls, tennis, squash etc)

A lot of that is of no benefit to some people, and for those people, WW is not good value. But, if you like to do a spin class, some weights, some boxing, maybe a game of squash every couple of weeks and a sauna on a Sunday morning after a heavy night, then it might be worth it!

(full disclosure - ex employee)

Population density = enough people prepared and able to afford more expensive option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

At 1400 a year I reckon it'd be cheaper and less time consuming to get cosmetic surgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

When you consider that lots of people are paying between €12 and €15 per Pilates or Yoga class per week - that's between €600 and €800 per year for only 1 class per week and generally no showers.

Is there a more complete club in Ireland than West Wood - Not that I know of. (by complete, I mean - boxing area, huge free weights & cardio areas, Functional training rigs, Pool, Spa's, hundreds of free classes, free pilates & yoga, Free programmes, cafe's, ladies only gyms, climbing walls, tennis, squash etc)

A lot of that is of no benefit to some people, and for those people, WW is not good value. But, if you like to do a spin class, some weights, some boxing, maybe a game of squash every couple of weeks and a sauna on a Sunday morning after a heavy night, then it might be worth it!

i think the ex-employee is not necessary as what you're saying so good ol common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭calfmuscle

UCD. . . . . . .

calfmuscle wrote: »
    UCD. . . . . . .

Would I be correct in saying UCD's construction costs were subsidised by gov/university?

Because if they were...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭caviardreams

calfmuscle wrote: »
    UCD. . . . . . .

Ucd is approx €750 a year with a graduate discount afaik so not massively different to Westwood. Also the gym in UCD is very, very small (2 power racks for ex.) given the volume of users and would not be in the same league as Westwood from the description above, climbing walls, squash courts etc. are not part of the gym membership as far as I know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Has Westwood (Clontarf) changed much since being renovated? From what I remember there were only 3 power racks and 1 curl rack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭deco72

Have to say when I first went to westwood asking about membership they did try the whole €499 joining fee however they know nobody is going to pay this and they generally reduce this to around €39-€99 depending on who it is selling the membership.
    I did end up joining westwood last August and have to say I love it. Its local, got everything I need and more.

The revamped weights area is brilliant with everything you need, they have loads of classes(not that I go to any) but I like the fact that they have them there if I ever wanted to do them.

I would definitely recommend WW but would bargain the price down to as low as you can get for the joining fee. They will definitely not reduce the monthly cost as this is a fixed price.