Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

power city ad / san fran balcony todays irish indo

• 19-06-2015 11:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭

anyone spot the power city ad on page 17 of todays irish indo? it has a girl waving her arms/taking a photo on a balcony in san fransisco with the golden gate bridge in bakground.

seriously how could this have been let go to print today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

pic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

What???
    Have depictions balconies now entered the list of things that the Perpetually Offended consider off limits?
    Cop on for fukk sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Dickie10 wrote: »
    anyone spot the power city ad on page 17 of todays irish indo? it has a girl waving her arms/taking a photo on a balcony in san fransisco with the golden gate bridge in bakground.

Been a little sensitive, I mean if that is a problem then the media should be band from filming outside the apartments.

I don't want to come accross a p**** but I think we are overeating. Where do you draw the line, should Aer Lingus stop flying passengers to SFO to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OMG, I am so offended on someone else's behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

♫ Come on down to bargain town! ♫

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Some people just look to be offended on social media for the sake of it and feign outrage

Offended people are easily offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Why did you type 'balcony', OP?

It's like 911 all over again. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Just heard they are banning Romeo & Juilet in Ireland beacuse of the balcony scene

Offended people are easily offended.

They're not really. They just like to pretend to be because it makes them feel smug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

With all due respect, and to put it bluntly - life goes on.

Companies won't put their necks on the line and lose money over this. They're not going to ring up power city and tell them they can't publish the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I really hope this thread's a silly joke.

I don't believe it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

still surely a bit of bad luck though ?! strange that it would be san fran golden gate bridge depicticted and from a balcony?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

look at the paper page 17 today fri 20th june

Unless I see a gremlin taking screws out of the balcony supports, I'm gonna stick with my gut reaction that you are trying to stir up some sh!t where none exists.

Hah, I'd totally inspect for gremlins. Now there would be something to discuss.

As opposed to, I dunno, banning balconies. Or pictures of balconies. Maybe we should ban the word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

That's like, so offensive to me because today is actually Saturday the 20th, not like, Friday the 20th.

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    That's like, so offensive to me because today is actually Saturday the 20th, not like, Friday the 20th.

He's got a special paper! Full of inappropriate ads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Jamie2k9 wrote:
    I don't want to come accross a p**** but I think we are overeating. Where do you draw the line, should Aer Lingus stop flying passengers to SFO to?

I think we're overeating too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

You never gave a trigger warning for "balcony" OP, how fuggin insensitive of you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

DareGod wrote: »

Jesus, talk about hyper-sensitive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

OH MY GOD THAT GIRL ONLY HAS ONE ARM!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Panasonic, not Power City. What next a warning on during the start of Armageddon...Oh wait that happend on RTÉ :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I dont think if I wasn't told I would've noticed she was even on a balcony. Or that it was San Francisco. Or the ad at all if I'm honest, probably would've never entered by consciousness.

...Well, I suppose if someone raised a kerfuffle about Hillary Clinton's campaign logo because "OMG TWIN TOWERS AAARGGH", it's just possible that this thread might be real.

But I'm clinging desperately to it being satire.

It's also Lisbon not San Francisco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Todd Gack wrote: »

D'OH!

The OP is one of those that phones RTE when someone says feck.

Ha.

/end thread.

I thought It wasn't SF

So...
    • It's not even necessarily a balcony.
    • She's not waving her arms.
    • She's not taking a photo.
    • And it's not San Francisco.

This has to be the biggest thread fail ever.

So...
    • It's not even necessarily a balcony.
    • She's not waving her arms.
    • She's not taking a photo.
    • And it's not San Francisco.

This has to be the biggest thread fail ever.

Yeah it's not a balcony, it's a viewpoint there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

She's looking at the Sun,what kind of message is that ?

kneemos wrote: »
    She's looking at the Sun,what kind of message is that ?

She's not in Liverpool???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Some people really should take a moment to think before pressing the post button. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭semionova

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Some people really should take a moment to think before pressing the post button. :rolleyes:

I'm sorry. :(

The above should be my sig! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭ollaetta

So, it's not San Francisco and not even a balcony. Time make your excuses and leave, OP. Nothing thread.

So not only the OP feign offense, but the thing they were faux-offended by wasn't even correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Ah lads, it's just a bridge. Get over it.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

How dare this newspaper allow this ad, clearly full of lazy stereotypes regarding ladies going outside and enjoying the sunshine while on holiday. Clearly it's insensitive and wrong to suggest that just because it's the truth, with years of blatant evidence backed up by the personal experiences of absolutely everyone in the country, if not the world, that anyone could imply such a thing.

The ambassador should get involved here.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

anyone spot the power city ad on page 17 of todays irish indo?
    K
    it has a girl waving her arms/taking a photo
    Taking in a view
    on a balcony
    In front of a fancy telly
    in san fransisco with the golden gate bridge in bakground.
    With Lisbon in the background.
    Because it only offends the minds of the person eager to be offended.

So the wrongest thread since Mr Wrong from Wrongtown , Co. Wrong, decided he'd like to post something wrong on Boards.ie !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    K

So the wrongest thread since Mr Wrong from Wrongtown , Co. Wrong, decided he'd like to post something wrong on Boards.ie !

Leave the op alone, just leave them alone.
    It was a good thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Bet you feel like Dickhead10 now.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Oh free 5 year warranty :)

Tell the truth dickie10 you work for power city and wanted us to look at the add :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

The way she's kind of reaching out to sun is wildly insensitive to Icarus' family :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The real problem with the ad is the way she is trying to steal the sun. That's gotta have severe repercussions for everybody.

Encouraging Solar larceny is a disgrace in this day and age.