Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day 5 ascot

• 19-06-2015 5:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭

Gordon lord byron is an old fav with a few on here and i have him backed at 20/1 ew, he scoped poorly the last day so will ignore that and on his day he is really good, plus think this is below group 1 class this field. Hope he can bounce back and go close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

madmoose wrote: »
    Gordon lord byron is an old fav with a few on here and i have him backed at 20/1 ew, he scoped poorly the last day so will ignore that and on his day he is really good, plus think this is below group 1 class this field. Hope he can bounce back and go close.

The 25s on offer with lads is huge. I wasn't going to back him but at that price i cant ignore him. 1 pt ew 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Could make an argument for any of the horses in the Jubilee winning. Ansgar 50/1? mental price, never ran at 6f before but still, will love the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭kalinisi

last day

halford horse in the 1st
    On Due Diligence at 12's will have few quid GLB and Mustajeeb and stick the 3 in fc/tricast
    Postponed to beat telescope

Wicklow brave should win the last but is a mental price so ill leave alone just throw into a few accas

At downroyal i had shipyard and danz gift in the tracker to back next time out and there in the same race, have had a really decent cut at danz gift 11/2 e/w and stuck on a RFC

Xebec will improve i believe for the 1m4f trip so have had a good cut e/w at 5s also

Ringside Humor has done me some favors this year so stuck her in at 8/1 in accas with the 2 above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

I'm convinced [/B]Eagle Top[/B] is going to go seriously close to winning tomorrow. With only 5 career runs, his best run over C&D at last years festival, a grand 4th in King George (2l behind Telescope but only pushed out when Buick realised front 3 weren't for catching) and a nice reappearance when having a good blow, I think he's going to progress past bridesmaids in Postponed and Telescope for the patient Gosden. Was contemplating backing him for Arc too but see the 50/1 is mostly gone. Still though, have backed him for tomorrows race at 5/1 last week and still rate 4/1 serious value, especially given Stoute's woeful form this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Have just had the biggest bet on the month on Coto in the 2:00 at Downroyal tomorrow at 8/1. No way this horse should be that price given what it has done so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭mickey mac

Have just had the biggest bet on the month on Coto in the 2:00 at Downroyal tomorrow at 8/1. No way this horse should be that price given what it has done so far.

You did well to get 8-1. Good luck tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

Will win I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Hard to pick just one horse thats been laid out for the Wokingham but Kickboxer sticks out to me. Wouldn't be like Godolphin to purchase a pretty handicapper unless they had a plan in mind and surely this was it. Two good prep runs this year and ill have a small bet at 18s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭magicmoves

4/1 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

shmeee wrote: »
    Will win I'm told.

Tempting but I'll sit this one out. 8/1 a great price Francie. Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

I'll be going with a postponed/wicklow brave double. Really like the look of postponed and hopefully he will tear up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Powers enhancing Mahoob to 9/4 that looks massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Sennokian star
    Gordon Lord Byron
    Blaine

Singles and small trixie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 kccfc

Lads im going the irish derby next week,do you know will i have to get a ticket beforehand or can i pay at the gate? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

3.05 RA. going for Collaberation in this. I think the 11/1 looks decent.

3.40 RA Snow sky stands out in this for me. won over a mile 6 last time. was beaten before by Posponed but I think the extra furlong is too much for him.
    BTW I cant pick me nose lately so these are probably best avoided ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Bit of a of a off topic question here but am I better off doing a heinz or a lucky 63??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Bit of a of a off topic question here but am I better off doing a heinz or a lucky 63??

My first response would be dont bother with those bets and stick with singles.

To answer your question the only difference is the 6 single bets of a lucky 63. I wouldn't bother with the 63 unless your backing big odds and fancy getting a small return for 1 winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 cashcarson

Pay at gate 25- 30 euro roughly

Happy Eagle Top Day lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

Its not Ascot but VICTOIRE DE LYPHAR 3.15 REDCAR is back down to a mark off which he ran up a hatrick last year 2 of them over course and distance.At 10/1 its an E/W play for me.I think First Flight 3.05 will be my only bet at Ascot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭closcriobh

With rain forecast for around 1:30 at Ascot in taking a chance on Gordon Lord Byron who would love a bit of give in the ground in the Diamond Jubilee. Can see him outrun odds of 20-1 at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭boomtown84

4 places with bf sportsbook too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

They're not sending Ballydoyle to Ascot to make fools of themselves, so she's the bet if the day.

I like so many horses in the Hardwicke that it's impossible to separate them. Telescope has the Ascot form in the Bank but is plenty short enough, getting on a bit and Stoute is not in great form. Eagle Top came up short in the King George but a year older and with the flying Gosden could soar, still a bit meh though. I thought Postponed was the bees knees last year, his 10f runs this year is okay, should be suited by 12f, but I don't think his price is quite big enough. Will chance Snow Sky who's a very likeable type who's improved well this year and who'll arrive late on the scene when hopefully the others are tying up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Telescope has to be opposed, particular due to how Stoute's are running

Postponed for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

In the Eagle top camp, main worry Postponed. Gosden basically said before the sandown run to not back Eagle top as he wasnt half fit.Think Telescopes got a soft underbelly and wont win this unless on the bridle and cant see that here.

Im going to lay this Ballydoyle animal if he goes any shorter. The Only reason for him being so short is hype and connections. If with another yard and another name she'd be double figures.

Think welds animal mustajeeb has a good chance in the sprint but don't Know much about some of the field so ill let him run at 11/2 and hope he wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Nobody here thinks telescope will win ,feck it im backing him.

akelly02 wrote: »

Probably the best approach :pac:

Ugh, got badly checked by Danz Gift at the close.

Would he have gone close? Didn't see race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

akelly02 wrote: »

Normally I'd be a layer, today I'm a backer
    expecting a moore masterclass

Couple of win bets on red artist and cymric In the opener simply because the fav is a ridiculous price

Craig Williams looks like he's about 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

Red Artist
    Provenance
    Gordon Lord Byron
    Caspar Netscher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Craig Williams looks like he's about 90

Hard aussie living will do that to you (Look up his past) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Would he have gone close? Didn't see race

Def wouldn't have won
    not good enough on the day to beat the front two

Force ew here for me

Halford's against the fav for me

That rain is def getting into the ground lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

How badly are stoutes running? Fancy Provenance but worried

EDIT: 8 winners from his last 35 runners which isn't bad

How often do you see Bryan Cooper traveling brilliant on a horse only for it to find nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

How often do you see Bryan Cooper traveling brilliant on a horse only for it to find nothing?

I was surprised he lost tbh. It was a battle but in real time I thought he held on. Even in their photo I found it difficult to split them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

riding very poorly at the moment, gave Devils Bride a shocker last night as well, all he had to do was hold onto them a little longer, doesn't appear to be learning from mistakes, O'Leary will be getting rid of him if he doesn't function better this winter

Cool ride from Hanagan there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭pat1981

tuk tuk.345 downroyal

Telescope wrong price here win or lose, Stoute had had a bad week, but this Telescope really should be winning this, should be even money shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

All about Postponed here for me, tactically versatile and should be suited by the return to 12 furlongs

Eagle Top for me (Biggest bet of the week too)

Powerful ride by Smullen (raging though)

pat smullen, what a ride, can't understand how he doesn't get more international rides
    telescope disappointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Cracking ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

Wicklow Brave enhanced to 5/2 on paddys