Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I've got two boyfriends. It's time polyamory became socially acceptable"

• 18-06-2015 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭

I made a post a while ago about the Gay liberation Front manifesto. Some people perceive the GLF manifesto to be militant, extremest and a thing of the past which has nothing to do with the current situation in society or what people hope to attain. The truth is the GLF manifesto is alive and well and is slowly being introduced in a salami slice approach tactic. Basically it's being introduced piece by piece.

One of the most troubling quotes from the GLF manifesto is It will take more than reforms to change this attitude, because it is rooted in our society’s most basic institution – the Patriarchal Family (P, 7).

Recently The Guardian released a video on Youtube entitled "I've got two boyfriends. It's time polyamory became socially acceptable". In this video a man describes his current polygamous relationship and in his description of his relationship and argument he list off how he thinks society should be and the law and it is pretty much a match for the GLF vision of society. The GLF who hate straight men and hate the family - my family, your family, every bodies family.

He claims the philosophy "Love is limitless" but it is more likely he has a fuzzy sense of self and has trouble understanding the boundaries between himself and others. Rather than the notion of love is limitless, like the GLF manifesto, these are ideas rooted in Cultural Marxism which has been designed to destroy Western society. Yes it has, look it up.

The video also gives the impression as though people already support these types of changes, a typical manipulation tactic called The Band Wagon Effect. Whether you want to accept it or not, we are in a culture war. It's time people stood up for themselves and asserted their identities. People like to claim there is no such thing as normal, these are usually people with mental health problems. The truth is normal and healthy is measurable and what is being proposed in that video is not normal or healthy.

I have linked the video below and the GLF manifesto so you can be informed and decide for yourself.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1YSJh8wbuI
    http://www.awakeman.co.uk/Sense/Books/GLF%20Manifesto%201971.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Gay Liberation Front?

The best dressed guerilla fighters around I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

What if the boyfriend became a girlfriend Alpha.......then what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Two girlfriends........... Twice the hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭AlphaRed

What if the boyfriend became a girlfriend Alpha.......then what.

Same thing applies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Pretty much everyone except the far right wing has accepted that the GLF was a tiny fringe group in the 70's that had, and has, pretty much no support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Not again :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

YES!!! Here we go again. Another thread about the Gay Army V Christian Crusades V ISIS V all other Muslims V atheists V anyone else.

I believe we can all get involved somehow in this war. Which side will you take? Maybe we could draw straws for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

So some gay lad who is into Marxism, and who is probably nuts, wrote something that is nuts. Some other gay lads have written other similar nuts stuff.

Are they going to rob my wife and child from me? Smells strongly of other peoples' issues, so forgive me if I'm not the slightest bit perturbed.

I'll leave you to your 'war'.

Grayson wrote: »
    Pretty much everyone except the far right wing has accepted that the GLF was a tiny fringe group in the 70's that had, and has, pretty much no support.

I'm not in the far right. Watch the video read the manifesto, they are the same
    Not again :rolleyes:

Yes it's topical it will keep coming up
    traprunner wrote: »
    YES!!! Here we go again. Another thread about the Gay Army V Christian Crusades V ISIS V all other Muslims V atheists V anyone else.

I believe we can all get involved somehow in this war. Which side will you take? Maybe we could draw straws for the craic.

Is it not worth discussing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Culture war me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Have you personally been threatened?

Or do you just spend all day on the web looking for things you can construe as a threat to your sexuality, family and society?

The slippery slope fallacy, Is just that, a fallacy. Gays getting married won't lead to the destruction of society, just as woman getting the vote didn't, just as divorce didn't.

And didn't the authors of the that gay manifesto later renounce it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

AlphaRed wrote: »

What do you think about manifesto?

Wait a minute

WHERES ME JUMPA

We already discussed it and the general consensus was that your ideas come from cloud cuckoo land but we still love you.

But they are not my ideas

Don't hate the poster hate the post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Iang87 wrote: »
    Two girlfriends........... Twice the hassle

It must be squared. Four times id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I 100% agree with the polyamory argument and I apple it to all couples regardless of orientation.

I am opposed to the "social unacceptability" of anything that is consensual between everyone involved. It's time we collectively got our noses our of our arses and stopped imagining that we're important enough to dictate the lives of others. Nobody is that important, yet everyone seems to think they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Gay Liberation Front?

That's all I could think of too, like the nationalists all over Europe before WW2. What a ridiculous name.

Of course getting upset about them is just as ridiculous. Just because someone makes a suggestion, even one you see as barney, it doesn't mean it's going to be brought in overnight. It's a suggestion.

I also think "normal society" today needs a lot of upgrades.

But they are not my ideas

But I said I love you :confused:

As for your ideas, you posted it and you believe it. I know that from a previous thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭The Dark Side

. The truth is the GLF manifesto is alive and well and is slowly being introduced in a salami slice approach tactic.

*Gay Sex Pun here*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ok, rather than hating the poster, can we just find him a bit silly instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

It's topical to a tiny minority who see gay people as a threat, everyone else sees that tiny minority as the threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

I made a post a while ago about the Gay liberation Front manifesto. Some people perceive the GLF manifesto to be militant, extremest and a thing of the past which has nothing to do with the current situation in society or what people hope to attain. The truth is the GLF manifesto is alive and well and is slowly being introduced in a salami slice approach tactic. Basically it's being introduced piece by piece.

Right because nothing says hegemonic like a movement that collapsed about forty years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Gay Liberation Front?

Not like those bloody Liberation Gay Front splitters.

The Gay Liberation Front sounds fabulous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

At this point, have you not started to bore yourself, Alpha?

I am opposed to the "social unacceptability" of anything that is consensual between everyone involved.
    Like what happened in Waco, TX?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

RayM wrote: »
    Ok, rather than hating the poster, can we just find him a bit silly instead?

Only a bit?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Anyone else know who the op was by just seeing the title?

Mobile site helped keep it a "surprise"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

AlphaRed wrote:
    I've got two boyfriends....

Are we meant to be impressed?

Polyamory: the much forgotten sequel to Balamory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Oh crikey, here we go again.

The Wiccan philosophy has a good basic rule that applies here. "An it harm none, do as ye will". Much emphasis on the first bit.In a general sense, it applies across most of our society and most of our religious wotsits.

The GLF are a relic of the past, and if anyone is still fighting on the basis of that particular manifesto, they are not large enough to worry about. You may as well raise flags against the Templars or the Loony Monster Party. Both are equally as irrelevant.

I strongly doubt Ireland is at all likely to embrace polyamory or indeed polygamy. If it -did-, I wouldn't particularly give a damn. I'm not particularly inclined to it myself, but I don't think a meteorite is going to strike the country if it did. As long as it's not used as a weapon to force people into situations they don't want to be in, well, consent is usually the key.

Don't we have better things to be worrying about?

Edit: The whole GLF thing might be better off in the Conspiracy Theory forum.

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Recently The Guardian released a video on Youtube entitled "I've got two boyfriends. It's time polyamory became socially acceptable". In this video a man describes his current polygamous relationship and in his description of his relationship and argument he list off how he thinks society should be and the law and it is pretty much a match for the GLF vision of society. The GLF who hate straight men and hate the family - my family, your family, every bodies family.

He claims the philosophy "Love is limitless" but it is more likely he has a fuzzy sense of self and has trouble understanding the boundaries between himself and others. Rather than the notion of love is limitless, like the GLF manifesto, these are ideas rooted in Cultural Marxism which has been designed to destroy Western society. Yes it has, look it up.

The video also gives the impression as though people already support these types of changes, a typical manipulation tactic called The Band Wagon Effect. Whether you want to accept it or not, we are in a culture war. It's time people stood up for themselves and asserted their identities. People like to claim there is no such thing as normal, these are usually people with mental health problems. The truth is normal and healthy is measurable and what is being proposed in that video is not normal or healthy.

I have linked the video below and the GLF manifesto so you can be informed and decide for yourself.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1YSJh8wbuI
    http://www.awakeman.co.uk/Sense/Books/GLF%20Manifesto%201971.pdf
    you realise that it's very hard to take someone serious when they basically post "polyamory is a commie plot to destroy Western civilisation".

do you have any objections to polyamory that doesn't rely on the audience being Wearers of the Tinfoil?

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

OP seems obsessed with homosexuality.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Well considering there was more drama than danger in that particular situation you've no need to worry yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Samaris wrote: »

Edit: The whole GLF thing might be better off in the Conspiracy Theory forum.

Nah. To daft. Even for them.

Well considering there was more drama than danger in that particular situation you've no need to worry yet

Phew! I was thinking that I may not have enough time to decide which side to take. I voted Yes in the recent referendum so I could possibly take their side. Then again I am an atheist so I could take their side. Then again I could go all Chuck Norris and become a lone wolf. Or maybe even a double or triple agent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The OP said:
    "It's time poeople stood up for themselves and asserted their identities."

That's what these people are doing: They identify as polyamorous. Who's it hurting? Noone (as long as it's all consential) so let them be.

Also, what does this have to do with LGBT issues?

Look, they said the same thing about Hitler. He's not harming anyone, it's not our problem and then BOOM!!

Are you harming anyone..?

The world has changed since then. Intelligence gathering has changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

Has to be troll, ****ing has to be. No sane person compares homosexuals to Hitler no matter how homophobic they may be :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

And what do you suggest we do to prevent gay hitler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,171 ✭✭✭trashcan

What do you think about manifesto?

Wait a minute

WHERES ME JUMPA

I like your manifesto, put it to the test-o
    I took a trip down to meet the anarchist party, met a groovy guy, he was arty-farty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Some steamer tried to convert me earlier today, and let me tell you... After a makeover and a colonic I feel fabulous darling

Glazers Out!

And what do you suggest we do to prevent gay hitler?

Sure all we have to do is kill anyone with a tash like his. Wasn't all the evil in the tash?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

You Godwined your own thread?!

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Somewhat ironic post given the time you spend posting doomsday predictions as result of giving rights to minorities.

If you can read this, you're too close!