Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hollywood's double standards

• 18-06-2015 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭

https://www.yahoo.com/style/this-one-picture-captures-everything-wrong-with-121696530878.html

this caught my eye and I'll admit it looks a bit strange, almost uncomfortable. The difference in effort between selena whatshername going through so many hours of makeup and deciding what to wear to conform to the Hollywood fashion 'standard' and then the two lads just turn up like they're heading out to tescos :) I think they could have made a bit more of an effort so that she didn't look like the odd one out.

there's calls of sexism and a double standard here. is it really? is this the perfect example of an industry holding women to a constant higher standard? had she not have dressed up and instead mirrored kevin and adam's casual dress, she probably would've crucified for it in the press. but that's just ****ty Hollywood for you. I personally wouldn't have thought any less of her, it's just odd that their outfits don't coordinate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Adam Sandler gave up trying in any way, shape or form years ago. Most male actors do put a bit of effort in for events like this. That said, the double standard does exist of course. But this photo is a pretty extreme example of it, not a typical one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Adam Sandler, it wouldn't matter how he presents himself, he's still an overgrown child who is not one bit funny.
    She has a bit of class about her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

How does this effect any of our lives ?

By leading to a discussion on gender norms and double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

The thing with these "double standards" is that it's largely other women who enforce them. I mean, who would have "crucified" her if she hadnt made an effort. Daft celebrity magazines, website and TV shows made by and for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

He seems fair as a judge on the bake off but then again he cheated on his missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Would she not have been given the dress for free or perhaps even linked with a designer to wear it anyway?
    She's the type of celebrity that seems to always be in the magazines that clamour for this type of information anyway "who are you wearing?".
    To me she's overdressed herself for this, it's a minor kids cartoon premiere, look at the cast of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 for example at their premiere.

Neil+Patrick+Harris+Kristen+Schaal+Cloudy+a7mgjOYh-yrl.jpg

Do you think anyone would be willing to put a tailored suit on Sandler or James? Stephen Merchant summed this up well when he went looking for a suit to wear to an award ceremony but none of the big houses would touch him.

Kev W wrote: »
    By leading to a discussion on gender norms and double standards.

Who expects women to dress up like this.. Oh yes other women. Other women are the ones setting these standards not men.

Your point being?

Bingo! Really, how many men are watching expose every evening? This isnt a gender issue or even a hollywood issue, it's a women hating women issue

All those women who own the media companies are at fault!

Wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Couldn't care less.

The two male stars' clothing choices might be just as calculated as hers is, but with different aims.

But maybe not.

Probably the only way Hotel Transylvania 2 will ever get publicity anyway. Well played slobs.

Wait...

Firstly, are you insinuating that some John at the head of a massive network decides what goes on the fashion show he technically owns but is really under the control of a sub division of a sub division.

And secondly, are you really insinuating that it's men who give a shit what selena gomez is wearing and want to pillory or praise her off the back of that?

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The problem with that picture, as for as I can see, is a lack of standards rather then double ones.

Adam and Kevin nearly make you weep for the time gone by when going out to dinner required a tux.

Selena is dressed inapropriately too BTW, her dress reminds me of this particular jibe at the 'less is more' Hollywood ethos when it comes to getting as much coverage in the glossies as possible. When pornstars have better dress sense sombody needs to have a word....
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/574284/347808.jpg

Wait...

Oh dear... Lets think of the demographic for a second you know for red carpet events who watches them.

They're often tagged on to the end of news broadcasts as a light story to end with, so lots of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

What total and utter bullshit.

Actresses can wear whatever the fcuk they like to premieres.

THEY are the ones that choose to dress the way they do, be that casually dressed or provocatively.

Women don't always have to be victims you know. Sometimes, just sometimes, they might actually be choosing their own actions.

osarusan wrote: »
    Couldn't care less.

Yeah you could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭The Dark Side

All three of them look ridiculous.

Yeah you could.

Well, I supposed I might not have posted at all.

But I read the article, and even went and clicked on the 'read more' at the bottom, and it turns out that women can get paid pretty damn handsomely for looking sharp and advertising the dresses/jewelry for designers (although it doesn't mention if Gomez was paid like this).

Maybe that's why the two lads look like they just finished a binge of computer games - nobody paid them to dress up smart.

So yeah, even the writer's own argument falls apart to a certain extent there, when she highlights that they can get well paid for choosing the clothes to advertise.

Well, I supposed I might not have posted at all.

But I read the article, and even went and clicked on the 'read more' at the bottom, and it turns out that women can get paid pretty damn handsomely for looking sharp and advertising the dresses/jewelry for designers (although it doesn't mention if Gomez was paid like this).

Maybe that's why the two lads look like they just finished a binge of computer games - nobody paid them to dress up smart.

So yeah, even the writer's own argument falls apart to a certain extent there, when she highlights that they can get well paid for choosing the clothes to advertise.

Yeah, it's not like they can afford to buy their own clothes.

Do you really think that's a valid point?

I mean, what does it add to this discussion?

Do you really think that's a valid point?

Yes, that's why I made it. They should have some respect for themselves.

Do you equate them not dressing up with not having respect for themselves?

I equate them dressing like crap with not having respect for themselves. You could argue that it also indicates a lack of respect for what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

the guys are dressed up to look like 'every day normal guys' to try appeal to the 'normal guys'.

Hey, adam sandler is worth XXX million $ but he looks like a pretty down to earth guy.. he's even wearing a baggy t-shirt, I have one of those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

The poor darlings choosing to dress up all pretty so they can get paid more. What a horrible double standard. Cry me a river.

I equate them dressing like crap with not having respect for themselves.
    Well, I don't.

I'd say they couldn't care less either.

I'll leave it there because, as I said, I don't really care either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

None of the three of them are dressed appropriately for a good day's hashing.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Personally I think she is probably a bit overdressed for this particular event but the two lads don't even look like they got dressed for it. The look like they were wearing those clothes the day before, fell asleep in them, woke up late and headed straight to the event. Regardless of what she's wearing they look like they've made zero effort.

Of course you could argue it's a cartoon, they've given voice performances, their appearance is irrelevant.

Speaking as a woman I do agree that often it's other women who put this pressure on women. They may not be the ones calling the shots at magazines, TV shows etc. but more often than not they're the ones doing the interviews, reviewing the fashion, writing the articles etc. etc.

I equate them dressing like crap with not having respect for themselves.

They dress like that because it gets them attention. Each popstar / actress / wannabe might have a different reason for wanting that attention, but attention is for sure what the goal is. Kim Kardashian is a perfect example of how it can pay off. Wanting attention is not always indicative of a lack of self esteem. Sometimes it can be for sure, but more often than not, it's just a means to end. I don't blame them either tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Personally I think she is probably a bit overdressed for this particular event but the two lads don't even look like they got dressed for it. The look like they were wearing those clothes the day before, fell asleep in them, woke up late and headed straight to the event. Regardless of what she's wearing they look like they've made zero effort.

Of course you could argue it's a cartoon, they've given voice performances, their appearance is irrelevant.

Speaking as a woman I do agree that often it's other women who put this pressure on women. They may not be the ones calling the shots at magazines, TV shows etc. but more often than not they're the ones doing the interviews, reviewing the fashion, writing the articles etc. etc.
    razorblunt wrote: »
    Would she not have been given the dress for free or perhaps even linked with a designer to wear it anyway?
    She's the type of celebrity that seems to always be in the magazines that clamour for this type of information anyway "who are you wearing?".
    To me she's overdressed herself for this, it's a minor kids cartoon premiere, look at the cast of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 for example at their premiere.

Neil+Patrick+Harris+Kristen+Schaal+Cloudy+a7mgjOYh-yrl.jpg

Do you think anyone would be willing to put a tailored suit on Sandler or James? Stephen Merchant summed this up well when he went looking for a suit to wear to an award ceremony but none of the big houses would touch him.

so would you say that if it were a Oscar nominated epic drama based on a true life story, there would be a tighter dress code? does the calibre of the film matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I equate them dressing like crap with not having respect for themselves. You could argue that it also indicates a lack of respect for what they do.
    I like to read too much into things to.

The whole article is based on the picture showing her to look slightly uncomfortable, if we looked at the other few hundred shots we'd probably find that she doesn't look awkward at all. They just turned the picture they would normally throw in the bin into a money spinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

I see no 'red carpet' in this shot.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Entirely agree as regards female pressure to conform to these standards. That doesn't make it any less of a problem, though.

Not all gender issues HAVE to be a case of "Woman Blame Man. Man get Angry. Media go Crazy." Gender issues don't have to be about BLAME. This is just one of those strange societal issues.

There IS no denying that a female in the media will almost certainly get some comments about their looks, generally in a sexual sense. In -general-, other female comments will be slighting about their clothing or hair. Male comments will be slighting about their general sexiness ("Wouldn't ride her into battle, lol" etc). The fashion industry is toxic and it's a money-making racket that appeals to that particular nasty tone in the media about appearance, particularly a woman's appearance, although I won't say that males never get it either.

Personally, I consider most "women's magazines" and "fashion magazines" to be utter rags that I wouldn't even have in the bathroom, but there's no denying that it's a multi-million [currency of choice] industry and it can make or break an actor, or particularly an actress.

Males get away a bit more with wearing whatever they like, and not all of them are sex symbols. Just about ALL actresses are though, with some very few exceptions and those exceptions are the few older women who -were- sex symbols in their prime and who have managed to stick around by sheer grit and incredible acting chops (Helen Mirrin, Judi Dench for instance).]

That's the entertainment industry for you. Don't ask me for a solution, I don't have one.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Robsweezie wrote: »
    so would you say that if it were a Oscar nominated epic drama based on a true life story, there would be a tighter dress code? does the calibre of the film matter?

I think it does. Maybe to the public it shouldn't, but to the studio backing the film it would.

Where this film is concerned they've got an established audience from the first film and Gomez's presence guarantees audience too, so it's quite likely nobody involved in backing this film cares who wore what. I doubt this event would have gotten any real press coverage if it wasn't for this particular issue generating conversation and attention.

ejabrod wrote: »
    I see no 'red carpet' in this shot.....

It's Hollywood. The carpet is always removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

The difference in effort between selena whatshername....

Her second name is Gomez. It's in the article you linked to. Don't hide it, we know you know who she is! :D

Samaris wrote: »
    Males get away a bit more with wearing whatever they like, and not all of them are sex symbols. Just about ALL actresses are though, with some very few exceptions and those exceptions are the few older women who -were- sex symbols in their prime and who have managed to stick around by sheer grit and incredible acting chops (Helen Mirrin, Judi Dench for instance).]

That's the entertainment industry for you. Don't ask me for a solution, I don't have one.
    Just stop giving them money. How people spend their money is as important as how they vote. Money talks much louder than a vote would on a daily basis. Every time people buy hollywood films, buy magazines and obsess on celebrity sites, they're essentially saying, "nevermind what I said, I really like your work and do more of the same".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

ScumLord wrote: »
    Just stop giving them money. How people spend their money is as important as how they vote. Money talks much louder than a vote would on a daily basis. Every time people buy hollywood films, buy magazines and obsess on celebrity sites, they're essentially saying, "nevermind what I said, I really like your work and do more of the same".

Hah, quite. I never do give them money, the only time I'll read one of those rags is if it's in the doctor's waiting room and I don't have my kindle. And even then, I'll go through the newspapers first! The magazines are desperation level reading material :D

Samaris wrote: »
    Hah, quite. I never do give them money, the only time I'll read one of those rags is if it's in the doctor's waiting room and I don't have my kindle. And even then, I'll go through the newspapers first! The magazines are desperation level reading material :D
    I take the moral high ground and pirate everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭ejabrod

It's Hollywood. The carpet is always removed.

Wow, just wow.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Yes, yes I would Kent.

You'd generally have a greater media presence too, the lads wouldn't be wearing their "Dad's on holiday" packs either.

Check out KJ at something like the Hitch premiere or AS at something like Spanglish (first ones that came into my head).

Can I help you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ah I thought was actually a pretty decent play on words tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Her second name is Gomez. It's in the article you linked to. Don't hide it, we know you know who she is! :D

how did you know? im embarrassed now :0

*hides selena whatshername CD collection and wizards of waverly place DVDs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

razorblunt wrote: »
    Yes, yes I would Kent.

You'd generally have a greater media presence too, the lads wouldn't be wearing their "Dad's on holiday" packs either.

Check out KJ at something like the Hitch premiere or AS at something like Spanglish (first ones that came into my head).

So what you're saying is, Kevin james and Adam Sandler were better dressed at premieres when they were not big names and were unsure where their next job was coming from than now when they can name their price?

How very strange, double standards indeed

dub_skav wrote: »
    So what you're saying is, Kevin james and Adam Sandler were better dressed at premieres when they were not big names and were unsure where their next job was coming from than now when they can name their price?

How very strange, double standards indeed

Sandler was a huge name when Spanglish came out and James had several seasons of a very successful sitcom behind him when Hitch came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Adam Sandler and Kevin James are now hollywood superstars? Does that mean "Grown Ups 1&2" and "Paul Blart" are Hollywood blockbusters?

Only if by "Hollywood blockbusters" you mean "films produced in the Hollywood studio system that were hugely financially successful".

So yeah, actually.