Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advise please about concrete order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

5 bags, 5 scoops of a 4ft bucket of mini digger and 4 gallons of water

I poured a 50ft x 22ft floor 3 years ago and 21 meters in it. 2 Saturday afternoons did it .

its a 0.8M3 but easy it does 1m3
    How much a m3 is it costing you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

wht price is a meter of readymix ex quarry?
    In general it will be no cheaper than quoted price for a lorry.
    td5man wrote: »
    About the same as it's delivered. €70 I think it was the last time.
    However for 1-2 metres you have to factor in part load charges. They will not under quoe there own lorry's.
    Bullocks wrote: »
    I think a mate of mine is using about 12 bags per metre , I wonder is he overdoing it . 4 gallons seems very little , would it be very dry at that

He would have a fair good mix for floors or yards at that. in reality we often are inclined to go too strong for yards and floors that will only carry 80-90HP tractors and small trailers
    9 bags of cement per cubic meter. Min 220kgs required

That is if you are parking trucks with 20-30 ton lads on it, a silage slab or dumping grain before sheding it all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

Mine is a Fliegl . I bought it s/h in 08. The man owned it would have been well off, fancied one, worked it 5 or 6 times , the novelty wore off and he told the man he bought it off to find a buyer. I think it's .6 of a m, but not sure. He had 2 tractors. One 70 hp with front loader. Other old DB 885. So he got a lad to make a 4 wheel bogey to mount mixer on, so he could use it with the small tractor. A super job. 2 people have seen mine , and made a bogey for theirs, but using small balloon tyres on one, and truck tyres on the other. Mine is on 165 x 13 car tyres, that's why there are 4. I use it during the winter to mix my own barley with other ingredients, and it can be left free standing, just connect PTO shaft.

For wall, gate posts and general work I put in 4 bags of cement. For a silage slab , and a door lintel I used 5 bags. Looked super stuff.

Lackil, your water would strike meas very scarce. I often put 2 or 2 1/2 mineral buckets of water in a Teagle mixer, and they hold .2 m . I know, as a full mixer will fill a 5ft x 2 ft x 9 inch thick RMD pan.. I would be using 4 , maybe 5 buckets of water in mine.

I was appalled at the bill for €350 for the load of gravel, when I got it. Ready mix at €68- €70 a m is cheap then , I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ford 5600 wrote: »
    Mine is a Fliegl . I bought it s/h in 08. The man owned it would have been well off, fancied one, worked it 5 or 6 times , the novelty wore off and he told the man he bought it off to find a buyer. I think it's .6 of a m, but not sure. He had 2 tractors. One 70 hp with front loader. Other old DB 885. So he got a lad to make a 4 wheel bogey to mount mixer on, so he could use it with the small tractor. A super job. 2 people have seen mine , and made a bogey for theirs, but using small balloon tyres on one, and truck tyres on the other. Mine is on 165 x 13 car tyres, that's why there are 4. I use it during the winter to mix my own barley with other ingredients, and it can be left free standing, just connect PTO shaft.

For wall, gate posts and general work I put in 4 bags of cement. For a silage slab , and a door lintel I used 5 bags. Looked super stuff.

Lackil, your water would strike meas very scarce. I often put 2 or 2 1/2 mineral buckets of water in a Teagle mixer, and they hold .2 m . I know, as a full mixer will fill a 5ft x 2 ft x 9 inch thick RMD pan.. I would be using 4 , maybe 5 buckets of water in mine.

I was appalled at the bill for €350 for the load of gravel, when I got it. Ready mix at €68- €70 a m is cheap then , I think.
    Its €70 a metre here with fibreglass delivered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I meant 4 x 5 gallon buckets so 20 gallons. depends what its for

Sorry:o

There is many a yard in this country mixed with a shovel and still ok. I mixed a few mixes with 6 bags to the load and it was way to strong.

I have drilled a few bits of mixes putting in base plates on pillars and nothing wrong with the mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

The one thing about the pan mixer is you're almost guaranteed a well mixed batch of concrete. I've a Fliegl 0.6cu.m. here too. Made up a front bucket for my 50hx for filling the gravel and also used as a concrete skip. Used to reverse the 3ft back bucket and use it like a face shovel but was awkward and hard on hydraulics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

12m of 30N delivered today for €840. €70 M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Im going to have a look at one of these pan mixers. Got ready mix dropped on a van yesterday in edinburgh to build chambers... i had to mix it all again on site. Pure ****e!! some of it was pure sand not even mixed.

Costed £84.80 per metre excluding vat to collect :o That would be 118.72 in euros. Was 50n 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Im going to have a look at one of these pan mixers. Got ready mix dropped on a van yesterday in edinburgh to build chambers... i had to mix it all again on site. Pure ****e!! some of it was pure sand not even mixed.

Costed £84.80 per metre excluding vat to collect :o That would be 118.72 in euros. Was 50n 10

By Jaysus, they're working the QS hard getting him to mix concrete.

id have called them and told them to come back and collect it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Not in the UK you wouldn't. An absolute cluster fcuk of a place to deal with concrete or stone. They don't give a sh1te about any customer as they have plenty of other work.

We don't know how good we have it in Ireland with concrete suppliers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Not in the UK you wouldn't. An absolute cluster fcuk of a place to deal with concrete or stone. They don't give a sh1te about any customer as they have plenty of other work.

Heard that before alright. No such thing as getting an extra bit either if your short. You get exactly what ya order no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Reggie. wrote: »
    Heard that before alright. No such thing as getting an extra bit either if your short. You get exactly what ya order no more

That is different to Ireland all right. Recently measured a small area needed 3.2M ordered 3.4 was short about 0.2m. One of the lads working with said that the ready mix companys are chancing that most lads that do not order ofteh will over order by about half a meter. It was impossible to prove unles I dou out the fresh conc.

My father worked for a large construction firm back in the 80s that used to get a share of bridge builds etc.
    They were working on a large concrete pour outside Cork city. One engineer realised that it was taking more readymix lorries to finish a pour than expected. That night a big steel box was assembled and landed on site. During the following day they stopped one lorry that came on site and told him to fill it. He emptied the lorry but it didnt fill the box completely. Apparently the readymix company were under filling the lorries but invoicing for full loads. Needless to say they got the door.
    Neighbour got caught for over 1/2m when filling a shuttered wall. He showed me his calculations and we doubled checked them and came up with 4m. Took almost a full mix from a 0.6m pan mixer to finish it. When he challenged the readymix rep on it after he came out and measured it. Very little room for error in shuttering so had to blame the system in the batching plant. Lorries filled by weight and not volume, very wet sand etc.

so the quarry was selling you 20ton of concrete (8 x 2.5ton) rather than 8M3 of concrete?

heard similar problem buying a bulk product that was been delivered in tipper lorries . 3 loads, 3 different drivers and lorries and exactly the same weight to the gram. eg 20.148ton. asked for cctv of weight bridge going out (as most lorries aren't weighted going into the quarry if they are quarry lorries) . ended up not having to pay for 10 loads of stuff worth €4000 and never did business with them again as he said how could you trust that

My father worked for a large construction firm back in the 80s that used to get a share of bridge builds etc.
    They were working on a large concrete pour outside Cork city. One engineer realised that it was taking more readymix lorries to finish a pour than expected. That night a big steel box was assembled and landed on site. During the following day they stopped one lorry that came on site and told him to fill it. He emptied the lorry but it didnt fill the box completely. Apparently the readymix company were under filling the lorries but invoicing for full loads. Needless to say they got the door.
    Neighbour got caught for over 1/2m when filling a shuttered wall. He showed me his calculations and we doubled checked them and came up with 4m. Took almost a full mix from a 0.6m pan mixer to finish it. When he challenged the readymix rep on it after he came out and measured it. Very little room for error in shuttering so had to blame the system in the batching plant. Lorries filled by weight and not volume, very wet sand etc.

Theres an opening for a volumetric mixer for small loads. Mix supplied to your specific needs on site. Cut out small loads in ready mix lorries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Theres an opening for a volumetric mixer for small loads. Mix supplied to your specific needs on site. Cut out small loads in ready mix lorries.

If I get made redundant I'll get one of those.

We collect due to the fact we dont need massive amounts fir chamber construction. Maybe a metre but they charge you £13 for every metre not used in truck as a part load charge. So would be sn extra £91.

@genghis its the family business. When you get an arsehole that lets you down you jump on and get it sorted. Digging holes is what put me through college, im not above it now that i have a degree.

I spend prob 40k a month with one tar company and we are still only a drop in the ocean. Not even an email at christmas or a call off a rep

and account on hold if the bill isn't paid on 28days

in Ireland, sure your grand :rolleyes:

and account on hold if the bill isn't paid on 28days

in Ireland, sure your grand :rolleyes:

We always pay net monthly on everything. A bad name for credit is as good as a death sentence in this game and tbh its only a wanker that holds money longer than they should.