Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris Evans... new Top Gear presenter

• 17-06-2015 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-33158464

"TV and radio personality Chris Evans will replace Jeremy Clarkson as the lead presenter of an all-new Top Gear line-up, the BBC has announced.
    Evans said he was "thrilled" to get the job, describing the motoring show as his "favourite programme of all time".
    "I promise I will do everything I possibly can to respect what has gone on before and take the show forward," he added.
    Clarkson was dropped in March after punching a producer while on location.
    Car enthusiast Evans, who has signed a three-year deal with the BBC Two show, had been tipped to replace his good friend Clarkson but had previously insisted he was not interested.
    An "all-new" line-up means Clarkson's co-hosts Richard Hammond and James May will not be involved."

I think Evans is a good choice...
    he knows his ferraris cars, and is a brit Lad at the same time...
    I was hoping for some left field additions too.. Eddie Irvine, that German female driver, Tiff Needle....
    but I´m fine with Evans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

"TV and radio personality Chris Evans will replace Jeremy Clarkson as the lead presenter of an all-new Top Gear line-up, the BBC has announced.
    Evans said he was "thrilled" to get the job, describing the motoring show as his "favourite programme of all time".
    "I promise I will do everything I possibly can to respect what has gone on before and take the show forward," he added.
    Car enthusiast Evans, who has signed a three-year deal with the BBC Two show, had been tipped to replace his good friend Clarkson but had previously insisted he was not interested.
    An "all-new" line-up means Clarkson's co-hosts Richard Hammond and James May will not be involved."

I was hoping for some left field additions too.. Eddie Irvine, that German female driver, Tiff Needle....

Don't know an awful lot about him other than his name, never really sat down and listened to him, so can't really judge the decision.

No matter who they would hire I imagine people would complain. Clarkson did a lot for Top Gear but now theres no point complaining too much as ultimately he only has himself to blame for messing it up.

It will be interesting how the first episode will go quality and ratings wise, also if Clarkson, Hammond and May go off to make their own rival show. Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

I stopped watching TG years ago when it stopped being about cars and was more about ego's, thats when i started to despise Clarkeson....
    Evens is well liked , he can be a bit mouthy on things but he does love his cars...it'll depend on the producers which way the show will go i suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

He's a good choice alright - an independent thinker in his own right, and respected by Jeremy et al from previous appearances on the show.

that female German driver, the one from the 'Ring? Under the surface, I thought she had the personality of a shoe - didn't seem to be much depth to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Evan's is a super smart guy, amazing business acumen, car crazy and he has lots of charisma. He'll be excellent. I'd say things will be less scripted, looser and funnier. The last three were in a bit of their own bubble in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,646 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

you mean Tiff Needel the co-host of the old Top Gear that was cancelled? how is he a left field choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

you mean Tiff Needel the co-host of the old Top Gear that was cancelled? how is he a left field choice?

I lol'd at this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tiff Needle is a co host of Fifth Gear which is successful in it's own right. I'd doubt he would want to move over to a now dying horse being flogged by the BBC.

R.I.P. Top Gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I wouldn't be so negative about Top Gear with new presenters. Most people were only giving out about it for the last few seasons anyway saying it's gone stale etc.
    Evans could be good. Hopefully his Ferrari bias won't ruin other brand supercar reviews.
    The choice for the other two presenters will be key though, and the chemistry between them. Irvine would be a dreadful choice! He's terrible in front of camera. Sabine Schmit is the ring taxi girls' name. I think she's actually not too bad, but don't think she'd suit.
    I don't like Jody Kidd, hope they don't use her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

Chris Evans: Just another reason not to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

To be honest, I was just throwing up names... Needel isn´t so much left field as i was using a throw away comment like "left-field choice"..
    as you were folks..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

Chris evans and who else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Evans has matured a bit in fairness to him, he's not anything like as annoying an oik as he was about ten years back. Still, TG won't quite be TG without the three eejits. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

I find Tiff Needle the most annoying of the presenters on 5th gear tbh.

The other 3 are bound to do their own "top gear" with someone else so I guess think of this now as a new motoring related program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,646 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Is Andy Wilman staying with the BBC or is he moving with clarkson?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

How hard is it to Replace a Mouthy English Moron who has a history of racism, classism and General being Offensive.

And what makes it worse is that he was probably only performing this Persona because he was all too aware that his moronic viewers would approve of it.

Not to mention a Clip around the Ear to one of his Staff.

Replacing a Moron ……..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Is Andy Wilman staying with the BBC or is he moving with clarkson?

Think I remember reading that he left too

This will be TG in name only and will die a quick death from fans who watched it because of the banter between the three lads. I read people saying "but maybe it'll be more about cars again" - maybe, but that's not why people watched the show (and besides there's FG for that).

If the 3 lads and Wilman show up elsewhere I expect "new" TG will be dropped by the BBC rapidly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Think I remember reading that he left too

This will be TG in name only and will die a quick death from fans who watched it because of the banter between the three lads. I read people saying "but maybe it'll be more about cars again" - maybe, but that's not why people watched the show (and besides there's FG for that).

If the 3 lads and Wilman show up elsewhere I expect "new" TG will be dropped by the BBC rapidly.

What the hell have Fine Gael got to do with cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

He was a showman, he did it very well and rattled cages, since when is a person with no opinion entertaining to watch? I think calling all top gear viewers morons is a bit narrow minded in fairness. While I agree that he needed to be sacked I think the show was the 3 of them. We loved it because it was funny, herself wouldnt sit down and watch an all out car review show with me so it was a happy medium. It was an entertainment show based around cars, they never tried to be anything else.

I see what Evans is like but he's a bit ferrari fan so I would say he will be biased in case Ferrari refuse to sell him cars in the future like they have done before. Also the 3 amigos will have a show on Netflix with Andy Wilman. Ill be watching that.

nd wrote: »
    I find Tiff Needle the most annoying of the presenters on 5th gear tbh.

The other 3 are bound to do their own "top gear" with someone else so I guess think of this now as a new motoring related program.
    I agree. Needle was brilliant on old Top Gear, and OK a few seasons ago on new Fifth Gear, but now he's annoying, and become egotistical too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Carraig Fhearghais

the original Top Gear (from the 70's) was a motoring program, it relaunched in the 'current' format as an entertainment show (based around cars) more about the interaction between the three 'laddish' presenters (I enjoyed this when I stopped expecting it to be a motoring show). It will be interesting to see what the format of the next version will be (with Chris Evans on board it looks like they want to retain the 'humour/irreverence' element), I'd say it will initially get plenty of viewers who want to see what the next format will be like, then time will tell if the BBC manage to retain the shows popularity.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I agree. Needle was brilliant on old Top Gear, and OK a few seasons ago on new Fifth Gear, but now he's annoying, and become egotistical too.

Oddly enough, the more Needell becomes a sort of parody of himself, the more he amuses me. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

galljga1 wrote: »

You need to go to more of their local meetings

galljga1 wrote: »

I wonder. Charles Haughey used to drive a Daimler right enough. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

The format had gone a bit stale anyway. It had run its coures. Clarkson's stupidity may well have given the show a chance to reinvent itself a bit. How that goes, well, we'll see.

I can't believe how bent out of shape people get over a tv presenter. I think Evans will do a good job. He has the character to put his own mark on it. I wonder would the likes of Guy Martin be involved? Maybe.

At least we will still have a car entertainment show on a Sunday night. Beats watching X-Factor or other such drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    We loved it because it was funny, herself wouldnt sit down and watch an all out car review show with me so it was a happy medium. It was an entertainment show based around cars, they never tried to be anything else.

That's what it turned in to. It started out as something very different. Never say never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

I'd like to see Suzi Perry in the line up......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

Suzi perry may be a good choice. I noticed her in the audience of the 1off TFI last week hosted by evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,217 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The Format was 4 Week Old Bread, I have no reason to follow the 'three bantz' lads anywhere tbh.

I used to watch it only because it was in a non clashing time slot, no other reason tbh. Would not have taped it or gone out of my way to watch it.

Same stuff each and every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

They should have went with Chris Harris, I think he is the best automotive journalist in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

1210m5g wrote: »
    They should have went with Chris Harris, I think he is the best automotive journalist in the UK.

He's a great reviewer but boring as drywall.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I like Evans he is a proper car nut and has a decent personality. I don't understand why there "has" to be a female presenter. Whats wrong with having three guys presenting a car show? I'd love if Guy Martin got the gig but he wont, they will probably give one of the slots to Jody Kidd. A insufferable women who thinks she can drive. I'd bring back James May as he is the only one of the last trio who wasn't really annoying.
    Completely agree, a woman might well ruin it. It was entertaining and different because it was a lads show, bringing in a woman would upset that flow.
    Granted, it had gone too far in some ways, but the basic formula was correct. You can't just change it and assume it'll be better. There are too many politically correct formats out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

On second thoughts maybe Chris Harris wouldn't be a good choice, i can't see him doing all that lad banter that the Top Gear fans desperately need with their car reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

I like Evans he is a proper car nut and has a decent personality. I don't understand why there "has" to be a female presenter. Whats wrong with having three guys presenting a car show? I'd love if Guy Martin got the gig but he wont, they will probably give one of the slots to Jody Kidd. A insufferable women who thinks she can drive. I'd bring back James May as he is the only one of the last trio who wasn't really annoying.

Watched Jodie Kidd on Masterchef last year and she was by far the most normal and down to earth of the contestants. Seemed extremely grounded. Was really surprised because I had the impression that she was a rotten daddy's girl high fashion nightmare creature. Id say she a can drive as well as the last three. Also think Evans is a good fit. The format needs to be radically different though not just because it'll be compared unfavourably but also because they should have stopped it acouple of years back. They Simpsons it big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Our American friends seem to have woken up today to the news that Captain America is now hosting Top Gear. :D

http://mashable.com/2015/06/17/captain-america-top-gear-chris-evans/

He could be the Stig though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I really like Evans but it's who they pair him up with that will make/break the show.

Clarkson Hammond and May will be starting a new programme on Netflix or wherever fairly soon so we'll still have them albeit on a different programme which means two similar Top Gear style programs which can only be a good thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

I've said my piece on Chris Evans over on the Top Gear forum so wont go over it again but a bad move on the part of the Beeb. Nailes down Top Gear as car based light entertainment rather than a serious car programme.

I certantly wish they go for Chris Harris. His reviews are among the best video's on YouTube IMO and I though he worked very well with Tiff Neddell on the segment the pair did for Fifth Gear a year or two ago. Besides, with Harris you get a true petrolhead who certantly can steer a car at speed rather than a boy with a shed full of Ferrari's who prefers looking at them

CianDon wrote: »
    I've said my piece on Chris Evans over on the Top Gear forum so wont go over it again but a bad move on the part of the Beeb. Nailes down Top Gear as car based light entertainment rather than a serious car programme.

I certantly wish they go for Chris Harris. His reviews are among the best video's on YouTube IMO and I though he worked very well with Tiff Neddell on the segment the pair did for Fifth Gear a year or two ago. Besides, with Harris you get a true petrolhead who certantly can steer a car at speed rather than a boy with a shed full of Ferrari's who prefers looking at them
    Harris is a great driver, and I like him as a reviewer, but he is the wrong fit for Top Gear. Also to be fair Evans is well known for actually driving his Ferrari's as opposed to storing them for investments.
    Also, you seem to be confusing Top Gear the car review show that ended in the late 90's with Top Gear, the entertainment show.
    It is a car based entertainment show, has been for over 20 seasons, and that's why it's sucessful.
    If they went with your way, we'd have a 5th Gear or something, and it would have mediocre success. Proper car reviews have a limited audience. That's a fact that no amount of wishing otherwise will change.

I really wish people would stop getting upset at every pointer that shows Top Gear being an Entertainment show. It's been 13 odd years now in that format, why aren't people getting it?

None of the last three could really drive, I saw Kidd race once and she was at the back spinning at every occasion.
    They didn't need to be able to race. Many racing drivers don't make good car reviewers! Only some do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

They didn't need to be able to race. Many racing drivers don't make good car reviewers! Only some do.

Definitely. Most racing drivers aren't exactly blessed with an excess of personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

Id have preferred Steve Coogan to that gob****e Evans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Clarkson should cast off the other two as well tbh...
    He might as well make a clean break.

May is good on his own, not great when forced into playing along with the comedy capers.
    Richard Hammond has no redeeming qualities at all. And I just imagined him pronouncing the word 'redeeming' and that has cemented my position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I don't know enough about Chris Evans to form an opinion.

I like Chris Harris, but I couldn't listen to a lot of him to be honest.
    He's also a bit more of a straight up reviewer than I would like.

Clarkson was a writer first, and even into the twilight years of TopGear when he was on form he delivered some pretty epic monologues and those are what I will miss the most.

The Internet fills the gap in TV schedule now, though its not as good as having a properly put together show with the Budget that TopGear had. Still I find that Harry Metcalfe and various others are making the loss as bearable as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

We'll see how it works out anyway. I will probably miss the old presenter set-up but it depends on how Chris Evans performs.

They'll be auditioning for presenters! Right, I'm off to the UK...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

Clarkson was a writer first, and even into the twilight years of TopGear when he was on form he delivered some pretty epic monologues and those are what I will miss the most.

Really important thing that will differenciate the new Top Gear and the last Top Gear is the fact that Clarkson had a real passion for the everyday cars outside of the super and hyper cars. Could never in my wildest dreams imagine Chris Evans having either the background or the desire to give fantastic reviews on TV of cars like the GT86, the Fiesta ST, hot hatches or the latest Evo v Scooby (sadly probley never to happen again). In between his staged scripts and silly features, Clarkson gave us some truly fantastic pieces of automotive television (The Senna segment may be his greatest)

CianDon wrote: »
    Really important thing that will differenciate the new Top Gear and the last Top Gear is the fact that Clarkson had a real passion for the everyday cars outside of the super and hyper cars. Could never in my wildest dreams imagine Chris Evans having either the background or the desire to give fantastic reviews on TV of cars like the GT86, the Fiesta ST, hot hatches or the latest Evo v Scooby (sadly probley never to happen again). In between his staged scripts and silly features, Clarkson gave us some truly fantastic pieces of automotive television (The Senna segment may be his greatest)
    Yep, I agree. And that's why they need someone passionate about those as one of the other presenters.
    Jodie Kidd is looking like a strong possibility, she's big into classics, which at least is a niche. So they need someone with a passion for the ordinary, or the special sub-bunch within the ordinary! ie, me!!

Yep, I agree. And that's why they need someone passionate about those as one of the other presenters.
    Jodie Kidd is looking like a strong possibility, she's big into classics, which at least is a niche. So they need someone with a passion for the ordinary, or the special sub-bunch within the ordinary! ie, me!!

I think Ms. Kidd is a fascinating baysht altogether. Tall, blonde, leggy supermodel type jacks all that in to become... a racing driver. Whale oil beef hucked! :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    I think Ms. Kidd is a fascinating baysht altogether. Tall, blonde, leggy supermodel type jacks all that in to become... a racing driver. Whale oil beef hucked! :D
    I don't really like her much to be honest.

I don't know the woman at all, she seems pleasant enough on t'tellybox.