Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is having sex too much of a gamble?

• 14-06-2015 7:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Realist2

I heard recently that Irish people have the most amount of youngsters in Europe under 12, surely most of these were mistakes, because in a recession the last thing u want is another kid, that could cost u close to half a million in your life taking in the inflation. sex is too much of a risk , if a condom is 90% safe, and the pill is 95% safe and pulling out is 85% safe, surely sex is a serious gamble, with 1 in 10 times ending up with a baby? any body agree, me i never gamble like that, its crazy, i have a friend not married with 3 kids, i know countless people who had kids when they weren't married that were obviously mistakes, makes me sick, what ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

You seem a bit bothered about people having kids outside wedlock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Mathematically illiterate post is a mathematically illiterate post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭316

Stick in it and ride on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Physics tomorrow, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Realist2 wrote: »
    I heard recently that Irish people have the most amount of youngsters in Europe under 12, surely most of these were mistakes, because in a recession the last thing u want is another kid, that could cost u close to half a million in your life taking in the inflation. sex is too much of a risk , if a condom is 90% safe, and the pill is 95% safe and pulling out is 85% safe, surely sex is a serious gamble, with 1 in 10 times ending up with a baby? any body agree, me i never gamble like that, its crazy, i have a friend not married with 3 kids, i know countless people who had kids when they weren't married that were obviously mistakes, makes me sick, what ye think?

If this factoid is floating around, I would believe that the majority of 'em are accidents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭316

And dole day for some.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

316 wrote: »
    And dole day for some.

Dole Day is decided by the letter of your surname, otherwise they'd be queues of epic proportions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

We need kids to pay my pension.

Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dip the wick no harm done.

Serious note though it is a choice of life style for some as they see it as money coming in and a lovely house for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I prefer to consider my children as life choices rather than accidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Yes, I agree it is a gamble for YOU to have sex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Don't the women have the biological clock that makes them want kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

We need to start popping them out faster, it's projected that there will be 1.4m people over 65 in Ireland by 2046... that will be a lot of pensions needing to be paid from these kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Are children not the outcome of natural sex?

So the very bedrock of the OP's presumption is the displacement of sex from a natural thing to a plaything of idle minds. Thus degrading the very act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

catallus wrote: »
    Are children not the outcome of natural sex?

So the very bedrock of the OP's presumption is the displacement of sex from a natural thing to a plaything of idle minds. Thus degrading the very act.

Yea like when you go to Las Vegas for a fun weekend of gambling... except this game is more like russian roulette than blackjack! :p

Pull the trigger and out shoots the next tracksuit with pulse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

PARlance wrote: »
    We need to start popping them out faster, it's projected that there will be 1.4m people over 65 in Ireland by 2046... that will be a lot of pensions needing to be paid from these kids.

We should invest in robot technology like the Japanese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Everything in life is a gamble, there are things one can do to even the odds in their favour though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Not married, 2 kids, 0 accidents.

P_1 wrote: »
    Everything in life is a gamble, there are things one can do to even the odds in their favour though

may the odds be ever in your favour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

lucky it's not biology

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Realist2

P_1 wrote: »

its like when u go out drinking, u feel great with the 10 pints inside u, but deep down u know u are going to pay for it the next day, its the same with sex, deep down u know u are going to pay for that 11 seconds of pleasure with paying 140 maintenance for the next 18 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭SSLguru

I lost a Johnny in some yoke after I blew my beans when I was around 17 I remember sweating for weeks , then she told me she found it one day whilst in the jacks in work.

25 now and no kids , either I'm blessed or I just can't have kids

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Not married, 2 kids, 0 accidents.

ya of course and santa isn't real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭SSLguru

Is that 140 maintenance per week or per month ?

If per week I might just get the snip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

its like when u go out drinking, u feel great with the 10 pints inside u, but deep down u know u are going to pay for it the next day, its the same with sex, deep down u know u are going to pay for that 11 seconds of pleasure with paying 140 maintenance for the next 18 years

11 seconds? You're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,688 ✭✭✭worded

If say that 140 is per week
    140 PM is FA

SSLguru wrote: »
    Is that 140 maintenance per week or per month ?

If per week I might just get the snip

depends on your income, but 140 is being generous

syklops wrote: »
    11 seconds? You're doing it wrong.

thats on a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

What about the good ole strategy of a false name? Many a guy about this city who've been involved in a couple of hit and runs.

thats on a good day

another thing is like when some young one is pregnant say in your friends on facebook, not married and everyone saying congrats, congrats on what? with most people thinking, i don't want to be in your shoes, I'll like to comment, condolences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

thats on a good day
    No wrist strain so..thats good..

Colser wrote: »
    No wrist strain so..thats good..

you get more pleasure out of that, without the worry, i put that question into google which i asked in this tread and nothing, at least i'm getting a response even if none of ye are agreeing with me, even when my women was on the pill, i used a sheet and still pulled out, i'm a very careful driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

PARlance wrote: »

Aren't you kinda making an assumption there i.e. that a good proportion of all these new babies will have jobs here in Ireland in 2046 and paying taxes to support you??

Growth is one of those illusions, the more growth there is, the more growth is needed to keep the whole merry go around turning. Until the balloon goes pop :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

you get more pleasure out of that, without the worry, i put that question into google which i asked in this tread and nothing, at least i'm getting a response even if none of ye are agreeing with me, even when my women was on the pill, i used a sheet and still pulled out, i'm a very careful driver
    Volvo driver?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Is that post supposed to be reader-assembled? Or did you accidentally drop a load of marbles on your keyboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Hate to break it to you kid...but finding out you were an accident isn't the only bad news for you today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Don't the women have the biological clock that makes them want kids?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Condoms are extremely effective in preventing pregnancy and hiv, chlamydia, etc) I'd say the problem is more when your pissed out of your mind and forget to cover the bishop, or make a balls of it by ripping it or using it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

He isn't? They never told me.

Condoms are extremely effective in preventing pregnancy and hiv, chlamydia, etc) I'd say the problem is more when your pissed out of your mind and forget to cover the bishop, or make a balls of it by ripping it or using it wrong.

i think people should have to do a licence in order to have kids, if they don't get the licence which is a training course on how to be a parent, they have to pay the government 10 grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

another thing is like when some young one is pregnant say in your friends on facebook, not married and everyone saying congrats, congrats on what? with most people thinking, i don't want to be in your shoes, I'll like to comment, condolences

What are you basing that on? Age, martial status? Don't assume the child of a young or unmarried couple was unplanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

worded wrote: »
    If say that 140 is per week
    140 PM is FA

No it's not. I get €20 a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Kalman

My belief is: You can give one child a better life than, say, 2 or 3 etc , etc.

eviltwin wrote: »
    What are you basing that on? Age, martial status? Don't assume the child of a young or unmarried couple was unplanned.

what are you on about? u think an unmarried youngster planned a baby, why?

I'm sure some do. I don't see the point in judging them for it. You don't need to be a certain age or married to do a good job as a parent. They can sit around and cry about it or just get on with it.

so your answereing by question perfectly by saying "They can sit around and cry about it or just get on with it.[/QUOTE]"

so your answereing by question perfectly by saying "They can sit around and cry about it or just get on with it.
    "[/QUOTE]

What do you expect them to do? Shotgun wedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Having sex is not the same as having children.
    I heard recently that Irish people have the most amount of youngsters in Europe under 12,
    Perhaps. Two important factors (a) we also have a large number of women of child-bearing age (b) those women didn't have children during the boom.
    surely most of these were mistakes, because in a recession the last thing u want is another kid,
    Many people availed of the recession as an opportunity to have children - they were too busy before that.

"

What do you expect them to do? Shotgun wedding?[/QUOTE]

your summing up my point perfectly, no young unmarried couple plan a kid, it doesn't make any sense financially, not giving the child a stable upbringing, if your a child, how can u raise a child, thats why i always wear a condom, giggidy giigidy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I heard recently that Irish people have the most amount of youngsters in Europe under 12

I'm not sure what you think you read but I'd be reasonably confident it wasn't that a country of 4.5 million people has more under twelves than any other in Europe.