Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most profitable machine to hook on a tractor

• 11-06-2015 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭

Just a bit of light discussion
    in you opion for your own use what is the most profitable machine you could hook up to.
    Myself i am torn between the sprayer and the fert spreader, my reasoning for this is that both help grow more/better quality grass. As we are ment to be a grass based system the more grass the more stock you should be able to carry. (In a perfect world)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

fanadman1 wrote: »
    Just a bit of light discussion
    in you opion for your own use what is the most profitable machine you could hook up to.
    Myself i am torn between the sprayer and the fert spreader, my reasoning for this is that both help grow more/better quality grass. As we are ment to be a grass based system the more grass the more stock you should be able to carry. (In a perfect world)

The stock trailer.
    Hard to get stock moved to sale without it.
    Literally carrying all of your eggs in one basket.
    Well kinda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

kippy wrote: »
    The stock trailer.
    Well kinda.

Good point never thought on it probably the most used machine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

The hook of a recovery lorry taking it away :)

Fert spreader, mower and Tedder

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Pre 2009 it was a dump trailer/low loader. Now, this week it's probably a mower conditioner or a rake. On the 20th of January it could be an agitator/vac tank or even a hedgecutter!

Something that doesn't have too much wearing parts anyway.

Anyone care to say what is the least profitable machine to hook up to, baler-wrapper combo? There's probably been some years that harvesting spuds was a waste of time.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Aul lad still talking about benefits of a wuffler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Fertiliser spreader,mower and Tedder and contractors phone number for rest

blue5000 wrote: »
    Pre 2009 it was a dump trailer/low loader. Now, this week it's probably a mower conditioner or a rake. On the 20th of January it could be an agitator/vac tank or even a hedgecutter!

Anyone care to say what is the least profitable machine to hook up to, baler-wrapper combo? There's probably been some years that harvesting spuds was a waste of time.
    Here men talking about the one pass beibg least near cheaper to get a contractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Definitely Hedgecutter cause some contractors spend hours cutting the same bit of hedge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

The ould fella reckons diet feeders are the biggest waste of money. After being to a few yards with good operators. I'd have to agree. Not one of them had a diet feeder. Know of one farmer that just uses his diet feeder to transport meal from the coop.

Most profitable I would say a slurry tanker as it spreads free-ish fertiliser. Then a spreader, sprayer, and mower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Least profitable here use to be the topper, bloody yoke set way too high. Going to put it on the tractor early next week and lower it to the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No matter what the implement if you don't have saleable quality stock to market then it's all loss making.

Lads do get caught up in tractors, quads and machinery thinking these things make a good farmer.

Hard to beat a good herdsman/stockman, he can make a good profit with the most basics of equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

blue5000 wrote: »

Least profitable - zero grazer?

Most profitable - bale handler. They got to be fed for 5-7 months of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

just do it wrote: »
    Most profitable - bale handler. They got to be fed for 5-7 months of the year

perhaps if you were zero grazing you could knock 2 months silage feeding off your winter ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

perhaps if you were zero grazing you could knock 2 months silage feeding off your winter ??

If the ground is too wet to graze then I could only imagine ZG is a very expensive way of giving the animals water :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Do you zg?

Do you zg?

Don't own one but to answer your question, Yes.
    Pro's and cons with it, as there are pro's and cons trying to graze heavy ground.
    Contrary to what almost everyone here thinks, they work very well on heavy ground.

where cattle would plough the place, tractor & ZG will travel without cutting the sod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Chaser bin. :)

BTW I did the whole zg thing over a year ago....load of shyte.
    If animals can graze it themselves, why spoon feed them?

Enough to do here without spoon feeding cows.
    Get busy doing something that pays....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

A trailer;

car-photo-john-deer-tractor-school-bus-funny.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Fertiliser spreader,mower and Tedder and contractors phone number for rest

You can buy manure spread cheaper than actually spreading it yourself. Shop around.

The most profitable machine is the calculator.

Dawggone wrote: »
    BTW I did the whole zg thing over a year ago....load of shyte.
    If animals can graze it themselves, why spoon feed them?

Enough to do here without spoon feeding cows.
    Get busy doing something that pays....

Heavy or light land ?? .....I think I know the answer !
    On your type of land I have to ask the question, what were you at ?
    Imo, A very useful machine on heavy ground. Not useful on dry ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

You can buy manure spread cheaper than actually spreading it yourself. Shop around.

The most profitable machine is the calculator.

How do you hitch the calculator onto the tractor, is it linkage mounted?

Do you work hard or smart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Do you work hard or smart?

I try not to work at all if that answers your question ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Filling artics or long draws otherwise get rid.
    Sell the spreader get a sprayer with decent section control.

I didn't read the full thread title so apologies.

Cattle trailer and transport box.

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Filling artics or long draws otherwise get rid.
    Sell the spreader get a sprayer with decent section control.

Always filling artics Blackgrass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Most profitable machine to hook on a tractor

Taking it quite literally, I'd say the gizmo that reads the ECU diagnostics:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

GPS . Save on fert and spray and tell contracters proper sizes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The farmer from the neighbouring parish potato planter back in the 70's he was charging £17/acre for planting and the person he was planting for had to supply the two people to put the potato seed down the shoot. Crazy price back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Both my contractors gave the same answer when asked this question , a digger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

One like this Dawg?

Were you at cereals? :D
    Few farms around run Annaburger 30tonners to fill artic in one go, that would need a crawler to pull it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Suckler wrote:
    Aul lad still talking about benefits of a wuffler!

A very underated machine, neighbour bought one for €800 a few years and has made some excellent woth it. Turns his silage while leaving it in rows for baler. Almost nothing to go wrong.

Always filling artics Blackgrass.

One tractor trailer while buisy will do for 40% here with 2 at another 40% 3 for 10% and do a swap with contractor neighbour for an extra when needed doing wheat on furthest block for 1 day 2 max. 6 miles away down a very buisy dual carriage way.
    Are you spread out or just farm from store? Few run artics around but nightmare to keep them legal with taco's etc..

Were you at cereals? :D
    Few farms around run Annaburger 30tonners to fill artic in one go, that would need a crawler to pull it!

I was. I suppose ypu we in the thick of the JD stand. I'm just in the door home in West Cork now.
    Here's the sprayer you need....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

A.T.M

I was. I suppose ypu we in the thick of the JD stand. I'm just in the door home in West Cork now.
    Here's the sprayer you need....

No it's me old boss left us with deere :rolleyes:, case or claas for me it seems :pac:.

Oh. Here you are so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

The square baler has to be up there. Father bought a second hand one for 700 quid in the late 70s and had it paid back that summer baling for a few neighbors.

For us ot has to be the fertiliser spreader. Keeping it in good nick and accurate will help us be as efficient as possible with our biggest cost (fertiliser)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

I would say its hard to beat a wrapper for being profitable

can be run on a 70hp tractor, feck all diesal used, driven by a kid in nappies and the machine itself has virtually nothing to go wrong with it

Panch18 wrote: »
    I would say its hard to beat a wrapper for being profitable

can be run on a 70hp tractor, feck all diesal used, driven by a kid in nappies and the machine itself has virtually nothing to go wrong with it

For your own use though ? I doubt the average farm could class it justifible let alone profitable to have one for there own use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Lime spreader.
    Improve the pH and in doing so improve fertiliser utilisation, palability of grass, earthworm activity , soil condition and crop growth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

kippy wrote: »
    The stock trailer.
    Well kinda.

Local haulier can take mine for cheeper than I could do it. I dont need to buy a jeep or a trailer.

I think I'm better off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

The loader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

My ancient round baler and wrapper I'm saving a small fortune with them over using a contractor :) about 5 years ago I went to the main dealer for a part for the baler the store man laughed at me and said those balers are obsolete :mad:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    My ancient round baler and wrapper I'm saving a small fortune with them over using a contractor :) about 5 years ago I went to the main dealer for a part for the baler the store man laughed at me and said those balers are obsolete :mad:

And yet you've knocked another 5 years out of it. Now bad for an obsolete machine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Local haulier can take mine for cheeper than I could do it. I dont need to buy a jeep or a trailer.

I think I'm better off

How much a head is it working out? Suppose it depends on distance.