Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbourhood Watch.

• 05-06-2015 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭

What's the concept behind this scheme and does it make a blind bit of difference in practice.
    "Community alert area"signs are common also."Text alert area"seems to be the latest incarnation of this programme.
    Is it purely for curtain twitchers or a useful tool for fighting crime in the hood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,983 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wouldn't have much faith in it, although I suppose it's good if people are keeping an eye out for suspicious behaviour.

An old man in my area living alone was roughed up and robbed twice in the one week by the same gang recently, now he is living in fear when he should be enjoying retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

They do a mobile text alert thinge now. Let you know of dodgy characters seen about or recent break ins at a particular area. Could have its uses I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

oh curtain twitchers now are we.

...checks op's profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

The numerous theft of Tracy Harrington's underwear garments in 1999 sparked our neighbour to get proactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Tends to be done by nosey busy bodies. We have a neighbour who is home all day (elderly disabled) and will ring us for anything suspicious. It's all well intended of course. But when she calls to say a dog did a poop at our gate and the owner didn't pick it up. Well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The people in your neighbourhood who know what you're doing before you know it yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Wouldn't have much faith in it, although I suppose it's good if people are keeping an eye out for suspicious behaviour.

An old man in my area living alone was roughed up and robbed twice in the one week by the same gang recently, now he is living in fear when he should be enjoying retirement.

I know an old fella living out the country being harassed at night also, it happens about once or twice a month, young gurriers drive into his yard and start reving the engine and blowing the horn, they don't take anything or attempt to enter the house they just seem to get their kicks out of terrifying poor old fellas.

The problem in a rural area like that is community watch is pretty much a non runner and the guards don't seem to have the resources to patrol as their cars and manpower are tied up miles away in the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

I know an old fella living out the country being harassed at night also, it happens about once or twice a month, young gurriers drive into his yard and start reving the engine and blowing the horn, they don't take anything or attempt to enter the house they just seem to get their kicks out of terrifying poor old fellas.

The problem in a rural area like that is community watch is pretty much a non runner and the guards don't seem to have the resources to patrol as their cars and manpower are tied up miles away in the town.

Cowardly little scrotes. Someone should maybe help the man by setting up a cctv camera to get a reg plate of the car. That would at least give the gardai a path and evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

If they actually drive onto his property then a nice shotgun fired in the direction of the car would be a solid option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

If they actually drive onto his property then a nice shotgun fired in the direction of the car would be a solid option

Agree, if I was retired on my own in the country side a nice up and over would be my first purchase, my father in law lives down the country and keeps one in the bedroom. Anyone that comes through that door is getting To know what a 12 bore feels like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭sjb25

kneemos wrote: »
    "Community alert area"signs are common also."Text alert area"
    See these everywhere do they really work like I mean do criminals see these signs and say oh the locals are texting each other I'm not robbing here? I'd doubt it

Nosey neighbour syndrome people wanting to know who is doing what at all times seems more like

Anyone any feedback on this? Has there been any success stories? Is it worth the money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Do we have to supply our own door knobs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

sjb25 wrote: »
    See these everywhere do they really work like I mean do criminals see these signs and say oh the locals are texting each other I'm not robbing here? I'd doubt it

Nosey neighbour syndrome people wanting to know who is doing what at all times seems more like

Sister in law lives in remotish area with txt alert in operation.

She received an alert describing a van and occupants. Few minutes later she saw said occupants in her garden. She replied txt and several men arrived and Gardai arrived few minutes later. Gardai said the lads in the van had record for burglaries.

Without txt alert she most probably would have gone out or answered the door. Besides that she has a few other stories along similar lines concerning her neighbours experiences. So, sounds like a good idea to me.

cajonlardo wrote: »
    Sister in law lives in remotish area with txt alert in operation.

She received an alert describing a van and occupants. Few minutes later she saw said occupants in her garden. She replied txt and several men arrived and Gardai arrived few minutes later. Gardai said the lads in the van had record for burglaries.

Without txt alert she most probably would have gone out or answered the door. Besides that she has a few other stories along similar lines concerning her neighbours experiences. So, sounds like a good idea to me.

Thanks for that, Cajonlardo. It's being proposed in my area and I was a bit wary, especially are there is a fee involved, presumably to cover cost of texts. If it's that closely connected to the Gardai and not just mobile phone companies using peoples fears to make a quick buck, then it would be worth getting involved. I'll go to the meeting and suss it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Do we have to supply our own door knobs ?

Heavy sack beatings are already up 900%

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hate these type of things, just a excue for nosy curtain pullers to bounce there weight around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Thanks for that, Cajonlardo. It's being proposed in my area and I was a bit wary, especially are there is a fee involved, presumably to cover cost of texts. If it's that closely connected to the Gardai and not just mobile phone companies using peoples fears to make a quick buck, then it would be worth getting involved. I'll go to the meeting and suss it out.
    Haven't looked into how exactly this works, but wouldn't a WhatsApp or facebook group make most sense? They are straight forward enough if you use the messenger app for FB that showing an elderly person how to would be very easy, and the fact that it is a group means that you can quickly see if someone is not responding - e.g. Tom sends a warning text about people outside Mary's house. Mary doesn't respond (might not be home, at her phone, who knows) but Sarah and Jack's families live nearby so they go to give a quick look.

Saves the risk of the text not being seen before the door being answered, or someone forcing their way in etc before she can respond. Particularly for the elderly who are less likely to have their phone on hand this would be far more useful - and giving them an old 2011-era smartphone or whatever would suffice if they otherwise are still on their Nokia 3310 and unable to use FB/WhatsApp/etc.

From the Garda Guideline doc:

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/Text%20Alert%20Version%20Final%202013.pdf

Text Alert in operation
    1. Member of the public reports incident to the Gardaí (24 hour Garda
    District -Telephone number will be widely advertised). The reporting
    Garda verifies details and determines that the “Text Alert” system
    should be utilised.
    2. Garda sends text or e-mail out to each registered “Community Contact”
    in their Garda District.
    3. Each “Community Contact” forwards the text to their “Community
    Group” to advice the public to watch out and report any developments.
    If the information is received by e-mail the Community Contact may
    forward the e-mail or convert the content to SMS Text and send to their
    Community Group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

cajonlardo wrote: »
    From the Garda Guideline doc:

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/Text%20Alert%20Version%20Final%202013.pdf

Text Alert in operation
    1. Member of the public reports incident to the Gardaí (24 hour Garda
    District -Telephone number will be widely advertised). The reporting
    Garda verifies details and determines that the “Text Alert” system
    should be utilised.
    2. Garda sends text or e-mail out to each registered “Community Contact”
    in their Garda District.
    3. Each “Community Contact” forwards the text to their “Community
    Group” to advice the public to watch out and report any developments.
    If the information is received by e-mail the Community Contact may
    forward the e-mail or convert the content to SMS Text and send to their
    Community Group.

To be honest, in a situation where response time is often critical that sounds like an awfully convoluted and dated system.

Hate these type of things, just a excue for nosy curtain pullers to bounce there weight around.

In the case of the text alert system, the "curtain twitcher" would be vetted by Gardai and then the initial report must got through gardai - or am I misunderstanding the system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

In our area there is such a text alert system in place. Costs 5 euro per year. You get texts about a suspicious vehicles, robberies etc.
    Sometimes there seems to be a delay in the text reaching you.
    The problem is, in our scheme anyway, not every member of the force is up to speed on every crime. I got a text about a stolen builders trailer back in the summer. Minutes later the exact same one passed me pulled by a car driven by a little gurrier who would be "known to the Gardai" as the saying goes.
    Rang the station and asked if thestolen trailer had distinctive LED lights fitted. Garda who answered knew nothing about it but promised to get the Guard who took the description to call me. He called in about 30 minutes. I told my story, and said I had got a photo.
    His response was " Ah, that trailer is away across the border by now. It'd never still be about the area a day later" He never bothered asking to see the photo. Waste of time and a call.
    No wonder criminals seem free to operate at will.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

community alert signs are just a good way to know you're outside the pale and should turn back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

My cat is a very overzealous member of neighbourhood watch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

the same type of goons that do donuts on the roads in the middle of the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Dr.Internet

Billy86 wrote: »
    Haven't looked into how exactly this works, but wouldn't a WhatsApp or facebook group make most sense? They are straight forward enough if you use the messenger app for FB that showing an elderly person how to would be very easy, and the fact that it is a group means that you can quickly see if someone is not responding - e.g. Tom sends a warning text about people outside Mary's house. Mary doesn't respond (might not be home, at her phone, who knows) but Sarah and Jack's families live nearby so they go to give a quick look.

Saves the risk of the text not being seen before the door being answered, or someone forcing their way in etc before she can respond. Particularly for the elderly who are less likely to have their phone on hand this would be far more useful - and giving them an old 2011-era smartphone or whatever would suffice if they otherwise are still on their Nokia 3310 and unable to use FB/WhatsApp/etc.

Mary is not supposed to respond to Tom's text, the Gardai are. If the info Tom has supplied is significant after the Gardai check their system, then the Gardai send out a text. Sarah and Jack can stay at home and text the Gardai with the info. That's how it works in our area, you can't have heros running around the neighbourhood tackling people. There is supposed to be a designated Gardai in the stations for these texts.

It is also my understanding that texts will NOT be sent to elderly or vulnerable people, as it may cause them unnecessary stress. Just to those who register.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

community alert signs are just a good way to know you're outside the pale and should turn back.
    But isn't it usually people from the Pale that venture out to rob the country-folk, spreading misery and fear throughout the land? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I live in a posh part of the City, everyon has a Rolex.
    I had to get myself a Breitling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

The way it works here is you ring the gardai and then notify an alert zone admin. They then send a text out to subscribers.

No sooner was the system in place and we received a notification of a suspicious white van in the area - it was grand though, just the lads putting up the signs for it.