Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race Around Ireland 2015

• 04-06-2015 11:02am
    Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭

*Couldn't find an existing thread for this, apologies if there is one*

So just under 3 months to go until the start, I'll be taking part in this in a 4 man team- are any other boardsies racing?

How are people's preparations going?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

colm18 wrote: »
    *Couldn't find an existing thread for this, apologies if there is one*

So just under 3 months to go until the start, I'll be taking part in this in a 4 man team- are any other boardsies racing?

How are people's preparations going?

How does it work with a 4 man team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Best of luck with it.

Every 4th leg? What lengths do ye divide route up into? What pace are ye hoping to ride it?

How many in support crew? Do you go straight to next start point.

Can't be cheap whatever way you do it.

Couldn't believe the cost of an individual to do this, not entry but support costs

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

@godtabh - it works as a relay so each member does 1/4 of the route = 550km appx.

@ford2600 - yeah it's definitely not cheap as I'm really only starting to realise :-P A lot of your questions are TBC but as regards speed I think we'll be looking to do about 26 km/h but that is really a total guess! I've heard a lot of different avice regarding how to divide time in the saddle - many think the best way isto give each rider an hour then switch..again TBC.

Every hour, wouldn't have thought that, but have never sat down to plan one either!

I rather do a 4 hr stint, at least. Decent break to recover, some decent sleep and time to eat well.

The price quoted to me put me off every even thinking seriously about it, another reason to go with the other 100!

ford2600 wrote: »
    Every hour, wouldn't have thought that, but have never sat down to plan one either!

I rather do a 4 hr stint, at least. Decent break to recover, some decent sleep and time to eat well.

The price quoted to me put me off every even thinking seriously about it, another reason to go with the other 100!

Yeah , 1 hour seems pretty excessive to me too..we'll see. There's definitely a lot of reasons not to do it, my strategy was to pay the entry fee and then see what happens after that..it's worked so far :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

I did it last year as part of a 4 man team. Brief points to take heed...

1: Cycling is the easiest part of RAI

2: Ensure at least 50% of your crew are actual cyclists.

3: If your serious about competing, use tri bars

Any other insights or questions feel free to drop me a pm.

Oh and sometimes it gets addictive....im off to RAAM Monday week....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

How much is this costing ? I heard figures of around 15000 for a solo entry inc all support costs.

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    How much is this costing ? I heard figures of around 15000 for a solo entry inc all support costs.

Budget is currently being done up...€15k seems massive though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I know of one 4-man team who rode two and two. Maybe it was a drafting thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Last year's winners - 8 man team - wrote a book about their preparation and the race itself with support crew and 'mammies' to feed them.

http://www.lulu.com/shop/average-joes/miles-to-go-before-i-sleep/paperback/product-22144083.html

Yes I do know them but get nothing from this - all proceeds go to charity. It's a fantastic read even apart from personally knowing most people in it.

Some of them have entered a 4-man team this year too.

Best of luck with it - it's a great achievement to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

Orion wrote: »
    Last year's winners - 8 man team - wrote a book about their preparation and the race itself with support crew and 'mammies' to feed them.

http://www.lulu.com/shop/average-joes/miles-to-go-before-i-sleep/paperback/product-22144083.html

Yes I do know them but get nothing from this - all proceeds go to charity. It's a fantastic read even apart from personally knowing most people in it.

I can only echo what Orion just said , I know all the lads personally too , and for their race last year I did a lot of their training with them , reading that book will give you great info on the race itself and what to expect , it will also tell you that to succeed in the race you need a solid support team as these people are the backbone of the team .
    And as Orion just stated all proceeds of the book go straight to charity .
    I was origionaly supposed to be part of the 4 man team this year but gave my place up to one of the other lads as I couldn't commit my time to the training , a decision which I regret now as the time gets closer but seeing the effort they are putting in now it makes sense what I did .
    Enjoy the race and best of luck with it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Orion wrote: »

+1 on this. The book is a great read. And they're a grand bunch of lads. And it's a great charity.

I'm hoping to do support crew for the first all female 8-person entry this year so I read it to see what it was like, and it really does give a great insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Colm18 did you have to start this thread . .?? you're making me nervous now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,799 ✭✭✭cython

sullivlo wrote: »
    +1 on this. The book is a great read. And they're a grand bunch of lads. And it's a great charity.

I'm hoping to do support crew for the first all female 8-person entry this year so I read it to see what it was like, and it really does give a great insight.

In that case either I already know you, or I will by the end of it, as I'm also doing support for them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

I'll be part of an 8 person team. 5 from St. Tiernan's CC with 3 riders from York Tri-Club.

Couple of Boardsies on our team and support crew.

Our idea was to do an 8 person team this year and a 4 man team next year.

As mentioned upthread the logistical challenges are interesting to say the least. :)

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Colm18 did you have to start this thread . .?? you're making me nervous now

Ha, I know- I thought it was a good idea to find out what we haven't done ie.everything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 portabubblejoe

In for the two man category! Team Arrow Asset Management/Lucan CRC.

Bricking it but mad for off!

Thread Bump

Getting close now. How's the prep going folks?

We did the Wexford to Laragh Stage on Friday night and then up to Sally Gap as the sun was coming up.

Looking forward to the real thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 portabubblejoe

daragh_ wrote: »
    Thread Bump

Getting close now. How's the prep going folks?

We did the Wexford to Laragh Stage on Friday night and then up to Sally Gap as the sun was coming up.

Looking forward to the real thing :)

If we're not ready by now.....
    Looking forward to it alright and getting my life back!

We did Blarney-Trim last month, Sally gap as the sun came up is pretty special alright! Roads and hills are horrendous!

See ye at the start ramp!

If we're not ready by now.....
    Looking forward to it alright and getting my life back!

We did Blarney-Trim last month, Sally gap as the sun came up is pretty special alright! Roads and hills are horrendous!

See ye at the start ramp!

Two man team. Yikes. :eek:

See you there and best of luck. Watch out for wildlife! I got dive bombed by bats a couple of times. We had deer in our lights a few times as well.

Getting very close alright...not quite sure what to expect but reading the thread on the boardsie team that did it in 2010 gives an idea of what's invloved :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Getting very close alright...not quite sure what to expect but reading the thread on the boardsie team that did it in 2010 gives an idea of what's invloved :eek:

Ah the memories! It was undoubtedly a tough race but strangely, I really really enjoyed it. Riding through a storm somewhere near Bushmills in the north was "interesting". Flying up some steep hill near Tralee felt awesome. Climbing through the Caha Pass tunnels at midnight was eerie. So many great memories which come flooding back each time the race comes around each year. You exist in this weird bubble for 5 days or so. Best of luck to those crewing, organising and of course... riding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

cycling is the easy part!

Good luck

Raam wrote: »
    Ah the memories! It was undoubtedly a tough race but strangely, I really really enjoyed it. Riding through a storm somewhere near Bushmills in the north was "interesting". Flying up some steep hill near Tralee felt awesome. Climbing through the Caha Pass tunnels at midnight was eerie. So many great memories which come flooding back each time the race comes around each year. You exist in this weird bubble for 5 days or so. Best of luck to those crewing, organising and of course... riding.

Raam, would you mind if I pm'd you with a cúpla questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Fire away.

No, he can't do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

Two man team. Yikes. :eek:

See you there and best of luck. Watch out for wildlife! I got dive bombed by bats a couple of times. We had deer in our lights a few times as well.

That was because you were casting the "Bat Signal" with your shadow from the headlights of the follow car due to your awesomeness up Glenmacnass!

The bikes stickered up and ready for Sunday...the countdown is on :eek:

stickered.jpg
    free image hosting

Best of luck to all you guys taking part , I'll be down in trim myself on Sunday cheering on a few of my mates who are taking part too , they make up 2 teams , team average joes and team average josies.
    I hope you all have a safe and enjoyable race .

sullzz wrote: »
    Best of luck to all you guys taking part , I'll be down in trim myself on Sunday cheering on a few of my mates who are taking part too , they make up 2 teams , team average joes and team average josies.
    I hope you all have a safe and enjoyable race .

Cool; give Team Thinkbike a cheer too :cool:

That goes without saying .
    I'll try say hello to you guys .
    I hope the weather is as good on Sunday as it was down there last year .

Roughly what time do ye expect to be in Kinsale/Cork at?

Doing Mizen to Malin this week but would like to give a few lads a shout early on in week if possible.

Best of luck either way

Roughly what time do ye expect to be in Kinsale/Cork at?

Doing Mizen to Malin this week but would like to give a few lads a shout early on in week if possible.

Best of luck either way

I'd guess we'll be passing through Kinsale sometime between 12-6am Wednesday ..so I don't expect a shout from you :D

Good luck on M2M

Best of luck . I'll try make it to the Gap to give yis a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Best of luck to all safe round.
    Will try greet you up the gap if times collide...
    Explains the evil 230km route this year Daragh and how easy you made it look.

Over the Hill a 4 man team are finished in just over 3 days, 73hrs i think. 30km/h avarage. ANIMALS.

Average Joes another 4 man team very short distance behind them, 16km when I last checked, just finished now.

Steinberger and Paul fighting it out for solo prize.

Cuttris leading Irish man in 4th in solo mens, with Brazilian RAAM ladies champion 4th solo, just ahead of Cuttriss.

http://racearoundireland.com/

Any word on what happened with Ricky Geoghegan ?

Over the Hill a 4 man team are finished in just over 3 days, 73hrs i think. 30km/h avarage. ANIMALS.

Average Joes another 4 man team very short distance behind them, 16km when I last checked, just finished now.

Steinberger and Paul fighting it out for solo prize.

Cuttris leading Irish man in 4th in solo mens, with Brazilian RAAM ladies champion 4th solo, just ahead of Cuttriss.

http://racearoundireland.com/
    Following the tracker all day in work :D
    Over the Hill finished first - 71hrs 37 @ 30.66kmh
    Average joes finished 2nd - 72hrs 05 @ 30.46kmh
    Savage going by all.

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    Any word on what happened with Ricky Geoghan ?

All that was said was he had to retire from the race due to injury last night about 11:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Tiernans 8 man team with a massive ride as well, 3rd place, around 200km on the next 8 man team..some effort for a bunch of first timers!

sullzz wrote: »
    Following the tracker all day in work :D
    Over the Hill finished first - 71hrs 37 @ 30.66kmh
    Average joes finished 2nd - 72hrs 05 @ 30.46kmh
    Savage going by all.

The competition between them must have been savage. They both had dropped below the 30km/h pace yesterday but I'd imagine the competition helped pull it back up. Unbelievable ride by all.

Might get to see Cuttriss and Brazilian lady on the Mizen tonight.

The competition between them must have been savage. They both had dropped below the 30km/h pace yesterday but I'd imagine the competition helped pull it back up. Unbelievable ride by all.

Might get to see Cuttriss and Brazilian lady on the Mizen tonight.
    Yeah there was a constant 20km gap between them .
    It was great to follow , the average joes won it last year as an 8 man and did it this year approx 2 hours quicker as a 4 man . That shows how strong the competition is this year.
    The average josies are also doing great , as the first ladies 8 person team .( currently sitting in 2nd of the 8 person teams ) I know all these girls well and I can say that none of these girls have done anything like this before , some did support for the average joes last year but have done nothing but leisure cycling and sportive before this , so a lot of respect has to go to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

monster ride from Restwise-Ted’s Bike Shop which includes one of our club !

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Quickpip

monster ride from Restwise-Ted’s Bike Shop which includes one of our club !

Tough going alright. They were fighting it out with the Rossi team (both riders from our club) for most of the race. Heading now shortly to welcome them back. Your lads won't be far behind.

Zyzz wrote: »
    Tiernans 8 man team with a massive ride as well, 3rd place, around 200km on the next 8 man team..some effort for a bunch of first timers!

Must. Have. Sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Must. Have. Sleep.

Go to bed ya mad man!

Must. Have. Sleep.

Well done daragh , great achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

shame the race avoids most of donegal though (must be too hard for them)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Josies at top of Sally now. Neck and neck with thinkbike. Despite thinkbike having a couple of boardsies I'm cheering on the Josies. As sullz said they've never done any racing - just social. And a fantastic group of women.

C'mon Colm18 - get up that road !