Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Payments Published

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Saw George Lee on about it on the lunchtime news. Apparently someone is getting, wait for it, 300 euro. What a shock lol.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0530/704893-eu-farm-payment-list/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Pacoa wrote: »
    Saw George Lee on about it on the lunchtime news. Apparently someone is getting, wait for it, 300 euro. What a shock lol.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0530/704893-eu-farm-payment-list/
    I'd tell them keep it :) hardly worth the bother of applying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Is the ifa very strong in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Is the ifa very strong in Cork?

Well we are the biggest county so going to have the most land and as payments are based on HA as we have the most. It's like people being surprised that Dublin has the most cars.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Well we are the biggest county so going to have the most land and as payments are based on HA as we have the most. It's like people being surprised that Dublin has the most cars.
    Are galway second?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Well we are the biggest county so going to have the most productive land and as payments are based on HA as we have the most. It's like people being surprised that Dublin has the most cars.

fixed your post ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Are galway second?

According to the times, Tipp is second then Galway.

I was only pulling the p**s, ya was looking at lads with 1/4 of the land and stock im farming, with 3-4 times a bigger sfp, one of them is in organic with few animals! If only i started 10 years earlier!! I was wondering how lads were able to afford 15 tractors, ah well!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

I was only pulling the p**s, ya was looking at lads with 1/4 of the land and stock im farming, with 3-4 times a bigger sfp, one of them is in organic with few animals! If only i started 10 years earlier!! I was wondering how lads were able to afford 15 tractors, ah well!

Its shameful some of the payments, seems the payments are gone to a view wives of fellas around here. Some of them wouldn't know one end of a cow from another. If I hear sh*te talk from fellas on this forum about no money in farming after this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

And who said there was little money in farming? It's after making a hell of a lot of wealthy people over the last 20yrs

johnny122 wrote: »
    And who said there was little money in farming? It's after making a hell of a lot of wealthy people over the last 20yrs

Oh no, it's that time of year again. Remember last year ap :D

johnny122 wrote: »
    I agree tho some armchair farmers are set up for life while other lads are scraping away!

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Oh no, it's that time of year again. Remember last year ap :D

I do indeed and I called it right from day one, no money in farming sh*te and every 2nd fella with a blue new holland under his hole.

avg payment €9,000. Just having a gander around my area and alot in the wives names. Wives who wouldn't set foot on the farm. Jaysus lot of lads on 30,000. Over the last 20 years as said above is some money.

Great to see the figures published though and these spoofers haven't a leg to stand on now. Next lad that tells me I am robbing fellas with the price I am charging for silage I will tell them where to go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Plenty of eye openers around me also. The per acre payment system will bring plenty of these back in line surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I didn't come up right for us anyway. Short 12k on it...can still pretend to be a poor farmer :D

Timmaay wrote: »
    Plenty of eye openers around me also. The per acre payment system will bring plenty of these back in line surely?

Something has to be done. If it goes per acre I will lose out severely myself. Jaysus there are lads on 30,000 with 10 bullocks around my place :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Well agreed, per acre will wipe the smile from them boys, but drive the rental market crazy. From my point of view, the most surprising thing is how little most the dairylads around me on, despite us being the highest stocked etc. Would suit me perfectly fine if the SFP was scrapped, and afew 100 acres cropped up for reasonable long term rent around me :P

AP2014 wrote: »
    I do indeed and I called it right from day one, no money in farming sh*te and every 2nd fella with a blue new holland under his hole.

avg payment €9,000. Just having a gander around my area and alot in the wives names. Wives who wouldn't set foot on the farm. Jaysus lot of lads on 30,000. Over the last 20 years as said above is some money.

Great to see the figures published though and these spoofers haven't a leg to stand on now. Next lad that tells me I am robbing fellas with the price I am charging for silage I will tell them where to go!!

Does anyone remember when they published them a few years back with full names and addresses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Why is it in wives names ? Or is it split between the two of them to get double payments ?

The husbands died after holding onto 1000 cattle during thr reference year

Haha.
    I think it was paddysdream that said there weren't too many on very high payments and I saw one or two around here rumoured to be up on the 100k that have only 25/30k and plenty more not getting much over 10k

Bullocks wrote: »
    Why is it in wives names ? Or is it split between the two of them to get double payments ?

Tax reasons I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

People do need to remember though that that avg payment of 9k is only about 5k when the tax man get his cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Bullocks wrote: »

That would do nicely how does that work!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Timmaay wrote: »
    Well agreed, per acre will wipe the smile from them boys, but drive the rental market crazy. From my point of view, the most surprising thing is how little most the dairylads around me on, despite us being the highest stocked etc. Would suit me perfectly fine if the SFP was scrapped, and afew 100 acres cropped up for reasonable long term rent around me :P

Because the SFP was calculated on the amount of 10 and 22 month premiums, slaughter premiums and suckle cow premiums, a lad 100% dairy would have little in the reference years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Very interesting reading! I see a lot of husband/wife splits. Not a farmer myself but it seems stupid to give a grant and then tax it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Tax reasons I presume.

As I understand it - you still need the underlying hectares to claim the SFP on, so if the wife has this, then wny shouldn't she in this case get a SFP?

Anyways - I don't agree with it being published, I don't think it should be, but it is now, so that's that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

That would do nicely how does that work!!!!

There was max no. of beef premium you could draw, so farmers divided up the herds into different herd no.s and different names, also splitting tillage land that time reduced your setaside requirement...that was before the reference years, hence the wifes name being used
    Farmers would get round an upper limit on the BPS probably the same way, so it was pointless bringing it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Does anyone remember when they published them a few years back with full names and addresses?

I remember that Sam , cos I got to find out what all the relations / neighbours were getting .
    2007-2009 is still available on http://farmsubsidy.openspending.org/IE/

This new publication only gives the nearest municipal district , so trying to track down say , John Murphy in Kilkenny is going to be impossible

I remember that Sam , cos I got to find out what all the relations / neighbours were getting .
    2007-2009 is still available on http://farmsubsidy.openspending.org/IE/

This new publication only gives the nearest municipal district , so trying to track down say , John Murphy in Kilkenny is going to be impossible
    Exactly its unfair on the lads that are easily identifiable, while theres 20+ m ryan or j kennedy in tipp

When lads were buying all the cattle in the reference year where were the cattle bought from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

Exactly its unfair on the lads that are easily identifiable, while theres 20+ m ryan or j kennedy in tipp

Unfair my ass. They r getting the money aren't they!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Spot on I don't think it's very fair. We're the only one in wexford with our name. Too easily identified. Saying that I know what all neighbours are getting even though there's 2 or 3 with same name

When lads were buying all the cattle in the reference year where were the cattle bought from?
    The usual places. I know a few farmers that bought as many cattle as they could and just kept them alive to claim subsidies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Spot on I don't think it's very fair. We're the only one in wexford with our name. Too easily identified. Saying that I know what all neighbours are getting even though there's 2 or 3 with same name
    think the first name should just have been initials

whelan2 wrote: »
    think the first name should just have been initials
    If you have many namesakes in your area it would be hard to pinpoint a person otherwise there would be no problem finding a person :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If you have many namesakes in your area it would be hard to pinpoint a person otherwise there would be no problem finding a person :mad:
    thats what i mean, there wouldnt be too many on the list with the same first name as me-if any- i dont care who looks up what i get , they are nosey feckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Why are any of ye even looking to see what others are getting? Why do ye care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

Nosey neighbour syndrome. .

boredom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Same couldn't give a Shyte what anyone else is getting

Because its so easy , if you had to pay even a euro to look up an individual's payment nobody would bother their hole

Just checking to see how easy it was to find me, what anyone else gets doesn't bother me. Also I seem to be getting more than I actually got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

The usual places. I know a few farmers that bought as many cattle as they could and just kept them alive to claim subsidies.

You only had to keep them two mths to qualify so in theory you could have at least 3 - 4 batches turned in the year......as for your stocking rate limit, guys rented huge tracts of rubbish land that some of them never even stood on to get the maps...ah the good old days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Anyone know what Coolmore are pulling in payments? Or am I even allowed ask that question.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Just checking to see how easy it was to find me, what anyone else gets doesn't bother me. Also I seem to be getting more than I actually got.

Same as that penalty's don't seem to show up if they are going to the trouble of putting them up they could at least put up the correct amount

djmc wrote: »
    Same as that penalty's don't seem to show up if they are going to the trouble of putting them up they could at least put up the correct amount

Exactly, mine is about €700 over what I'm getting and they over paid me by 28.67 last year and all the fuss they kicked up about wanting it back you'd swear I was after robbing it off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Anyone know what Coolmore are pulling in payments? Or am I even allowed ask that question.;)

Why do you care?

It's a fair question, these guys have got millions over the years in tax exemptions on stud fees so why should the tax payer be subsidising them again. It's a hugely profitable organisation and if they are getting payments like some of the other huge payments out there surely the format of the payments needs to be questioned.

Find it a tad ironic how lads are saying it's nosey this nosey that and don't care who sees what they are earning. Haven't seen anyone post there sfp yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

So what if our sfp are shown, doesn't bothar me in the slightest its public money! Its a bit on a non event