Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

The Irish language is failing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Jaysus, I did mine in a car. Fair play to you.

De nada. I did mine in German!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

At this point I'm more interested in learning a bit of Polish. I've met many nice people from Poland who've made this country their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Damn Irish..THEY RUINED IRELAND!!

mickstupp wrote: »
    At this point I'm more interested in learning a bit of Polish. I've met many nice people from Poland who've made this country their home.

You mean girls? :P:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

When learning another language we always mean girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

mickstupp wrote: »

Now there is a tough language. But it is most definitely possible. I'd say there are courses now in Ireland?

Don't let yourself give up too soon, it's a bit mental at first but you'll start to get your head around it in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You could be on to something there... If girls find Irish sexy and are willing to put out for it...

This could work...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,813 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    Annual Irish bashing thread.

Annual?! :D

You could be on to something there... If girls find Irish sexy and are willing to put out for it...

This could work...

Good enough for me! I'm already signed up for a course and halfway out my pants.
    Now where is dem girls at?

This could work...

That's how to get people speaking it again!
    "Irish the language of love"
    Secondary Schools should just teach pickup lines! Its brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,101 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Adamocovic wrote: »

Attempts at "getting down with the kids" rarely work.

Banning it would be far more effective, they'll speak it just to be awkward and rebellious.

The idea that people should either be inteerrested in something, or are "oafish".

I consider anyone that isn't interested as I am in 12th century Gregorian chant as 'oafish'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tipparetops

The idea that people should either be inteerrested in something, or are "oafish".

But how does that make me a hypocrite, I am interested in something and I am not oafish/lazy.
    I am a truth teller, anyone who refuses to learn our language should be called out for what they are - touched,lazy,oafish etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,200 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

But how does that make me a hypocrite, I am interested in something and I am not oafish/lazy.
    I am a truth teller, anyone who refuses to learn our language should be called out for what they are - touched,lazy,oafish etc.

Ye Irisígí types were always completely in awe of ye'reselves. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

It isn't my language, nor that of 90-95% of the people in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tipparetops

It isn't my language, nor that of 90-95% of the people in this country.[/QU

There is many reasons for learning Irish,
    here's one that you might understand - the contacts you make and the doors those contacts open.

It isn't my language, nor that of 90-95% of the people in this country.[/QU

here's one that you might understand - the contacts you make and the doors those contacts open.

I'm happy for you. Same could be said for many other group activites and pastimes. You don't have a monopoly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

All too often with Irish, that means "jobs for the boys".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,879 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

So the last 4 years spent working full time, getting degrees in Philosophy and maths and a masters in Business makes me oafish.......

Guess I'd better throw the Heidegger and Rousseau in the bin then and start learning another dead language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

That in itself us a lazy opinion to hold. Many people simply want to do other things and put lots if time and hard work into these pursuits.

To simply dismiss them instantly as lazy or in some way 'oafish' is, in itself, lazy and oafish. You have not put any effort into considering this, you have not investigated this. You have no idea who you are talking about, nor are you interested in making the effort to learn.

That's lazy.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Great. What's Irish for "Babe, I wish you were a door, so I could bang you all day long"?

Some people want to learn Irish some don't. Calling people oafish or lazy because they don't study something you have an interest in is just ridiculous.

Regardless to how Irish it is, do you expect the entire nation to play hurling, football, irish dancing, uilleann pipes etc all because it is to do with our country rather than because they have an interest in it?

I love our language and wish it was spoken more but that opinion is just awful. It's a persons choice to learn it or not, there is no point getting a false sense of superiority because you are able to speak Irish.

Regardless to how Irish it is, do you expect the entire nation to play hurling, football, irish dancing, uilleann pipes etc all because it is to do with our country rather than because they have an interest in it?

There was crowd that wanted just that, great bunch of lads...

http://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/ailtiri-na-haiseirghe-irelands-fascist-new-order/

I do sometimes think "what a twat" when I hear people speaking Irish. I won't lie. It's in me somewhere. I was born in England. Maybe it's a superiority complex.

Although that is a generalisation, some of them are definitely twats.

I do sometimes think "what a twat" when I hear people speaking Irish. I won't lie. It's in me somewhere. I was born in England. Maybe it's a superiority complex.

Although that is a generalisation, some of them are definitely twats.

They might be saying the same about you for all you know :pac::pac:

They'd probably be right for saying it too :D alas, I don't expect relations to improve. This thread is a reflection of wider society. The vast majority of people saying "yeah, I'd love to speak it. We should look into improving it" and then the tiny minority going on about blood and west brit and first languages as if languages exist outside of the population and come with the land.

It's more of a thread of people complaining about whether someone knows the language or not more so than how we could improve it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,507 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Thing is, usually once you learn another language, there is now a whole new group of people that you can communicate with.

When people learn Irish, they get to communicate with the same bunch of people they could always communicate with anyway.

astrofool wrote: »
    Thing is, usually once you learn another language, there is now a whole new group of people that you can communicate with.

When people learn Irish, they get to communicate with the same bunch of people they could always communicate with anyway.

Or make everyone uncomfortable as they feel a deep sense of shame :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,318 ✭✭✭✭briany

Once the term "West Brit" is introduced into a debate, you know any chance of even discussion is pretty much gone. It's a snide last-resort term and suggestions that you move in with Fintan O'Toole can't be far behind. "West Brit" seems to be to Irish people what "Oreo" or "Bounty" would be to black people in the US or the UK when they have the supposed temerity to "act white" (whatever that means). These kinds of terms (there's probably a name for them) are just there to belittle one side and inflict a cultural guilt. It goes on on both sides with words like "Gaeliban" in effect. None are acceptable or contribute anything worthwhile.

There is an assumption on the part of some that it is the cultural duty of an Irish person to learn Irish, even though it is a decidedly minority language. This is wrong because it assumes the language should have the same meaning to a person in Dublin as it does in Galway. Culture is not blanket or uniform and you have to take into account the history of a particular region. Irish has been hard to find in the area historically known as the Pale for hundreds of years.

Put it this way, Ireland was pretty much a Christian country 400 or 500 years after it being introduced. Regions of Ireland that have been speaking mainly English for the same amount of time could be considered natively English speaking. If there's no time limit on when a cultural aspect becomes endemic to a region, couldn't the argument also be made that Celtic Polytheism should be promoted with a view to it making a comeback?