Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi parked nightly in estate with No discs

• 28-05-2015 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

For the past few months a black Audi a4 2008 has been parked just inside my estate. Some fella keeps parking the car there at 6:30 in the evening and collects it again around 8:30 in the morning. No discs at all displayed.

Also a woman seems to be doing the same thing with a ****ty blue kia estate. She has been doing it for two years solid and these two people seems to know each other. All her discs are out of date for over a year.

They together or separately walk away out of the estate..

What can be done about this? I considered approaching them before and asking them but there is nothing stopping them parking there per say but what about all the cars expired credentials? Should I call the Gardai and what would be my best thing to say to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm confused - what is the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

They are either not taxed and insured or are up to no good and leaving the vehicles parked up there so that they will not be connected to them if the Gardai get involved.

I would be contacting the Gardai and reporting this as suspicious activity as well as reporting it to the council as vehicles must have road tax to be on the public roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Its suspicious alright. No harm in reporting it to the gardai and see what they make of it. May be a pattern they are familiar with thats used in crime somehow.

They may live on a main road that has parking wardens so don't want to leave their cars there without discs so hide them in an estate instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I'm confused - what is the problem?

I don't like paying for other people's insurance.
    Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

There is no parking wardens anywhere near where I live. Everywhere here is estates and local shops. You'd have to walk several kms to find any pay and display areas. That's why I'm curious as you would think these cars are abandoned if you seen them but then they don't appear to be. Someone owns them and maybe like someone said they are chancing their arms and if the cars aren't there the next day they won't give a damn.

follow them and see where they go. At least you'll have an address to go with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭lau1247

That's why I'm curious as you would think these cars are abandoned if you seen them but then they don't appear to be. Someone owns them and maybe like someone said they are chancing their arms and if the cars aren't there the next day they won't give a damn.

An Audi a4 2008 is worth quite a few bob, so i doubt they won't give a damn if it goes missing. I know I wouldn't that's for sure.

Does it happen everyday consistently?? I'm going to make a stab a guessing, maybe they are car pooling with a colleague where they don't live near by?? (Example: As in the person giving the lift is 50 km away and they live 10 km away but their end destination is another 40 km?)

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

lau1247 wrote: »
    An Audi a4 2008 is worth quite a few bob, so i doubt they won't give a damn if it goes missing. I know I wouldn't that's for sure.

Does it happen everyday consistently?? I'm going to make a stab a guessing, maybe they are car pooling with a colleague where they don't live near by?? (Example: As in the person giving the lift is 50 km away and they live 10 km away but their end destination is another 40 km?)

Everyday, even weekends. The Audi might disappear 3 or 4 times on a saturday before being left back here over night again. I was out walking one evening a few weeks back and I seen the guy in question leaving the Audi and walked a fair bit up the road and crossing a large green. The other side of this green is another main road which divides dublin 24 and Dublin 16. Who knows where he went after the that . Whoever they are they are leaving their car a good bit out of the way for some reason.

Thats far too dodgy, report it. I wouldn't want people like that on my doorstep given the amount of shootings etc. in the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Personally I would ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It could be genuine as in a mechanic or garage insurance policy but there is no problem contacting local cop shop.

I would as if there is something dodgy then its good to have people who spot things.

No harm in cops checking if nothing illegal then at least you done your bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

pippip wrote: »
    Its suspicious alright. No harm in reporting it to the gardai and see what they make of it. May be a pattern they are familiar with thats used in crime somehow.

FFS. It's been happening every night for 2 years. Crime, are you for real?

Sounds to me like someone is pretending they don't live in the house they live in.
    Also sounds to me like some people are too nosy for their own good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Personally I would ignore it.

Even with the no tax no insurance and no NCT?

I'm surprised tbh, if the car is on a public road it should be taxed etc.

I certainly wouldn't advocate ignoring suspicious activity in my local area anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Sounds to me like someone is pretending they don't live in the house they live in.

Well if it has insurance he hardly carries it on his back to park it somewhere.

Sorry, I did miss the two years bit, that would be a bit long alright for use in criminal activity, still not impossible though.

I love the way people accuse others of being too nosy in situations like this with blatant laws being broken. FFS the guy won't park in his own estate, has no tax or insurance....what aspect of that would have you want him around your own estate???? I don't want anyone near my place with no insurance but I'm sure he's a nice chap who would leave a note on your car should they smack it right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

they seem to hide the cars over night. either for safety reasons (because the cars could get stolen from their own drive way or they are up to something (hence no discs)
    as mentioned already, just report it to the Gardai and tell them about it, it's their job to investigate then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭moleyv

Might be hiding them from repossession?

166man wrote: »
    Even with the no tax no insurance and no NCT?

I'm surprised tbh, if the car is on a public road it should be taxed etc.

I certainly wouldn't advocate ignoring suspicious activity in my local area anyway.

None of my business. Im not a rat.

Until they hit your car.

I have secure parking. I see your point though but I still would not get involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The other side of this green is another main road which divides dublin 24 and Dublin 16. Who knows where he went after the that . Whoever they are they are leaving their car a good bit out of the way for some reason.
    Hah, that's no doubt somewhere near me. If I had the exact location I could probably give you a good idea of what he's likely doing.

There are a few estates around there which have management companies in control. If he leaves the car there, the Gardai won't do anything about it being in a managed estate.
    They could also be paranoid about thieves, so don't park the car outside.

The traffic up there is also really bad. He may have found that it's quicker to park the car and walk five minutes to it rather than spend 20 minutes sitting in traffic waiting to get out of the estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

moleyv wrote: »
    Might be hiding them from repossession?
    That was my thought too. If they can't afford (or won't pay for) tax & insurance, then it's quite possible they are under the kosh financially. That might include not keeping up payments on a car loan or loans, or they may be bankrupt and hiding their assets etc..

I personally would have no problem informing the authorities in such a situation. Why should those of us who pay our way make it easy for those who don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

That's the ex-colonial community spirit we all know. It's dying out in the main, but you get the odd one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Are you 14?
    They more than likely are doing something wrong with odd behaviour like that.
    No harm if there is nothing in it but if there is then all good it was copped!

I am not 14. I hold a driving licence.

If you are busy being a busybody as someone has no tax or whatever in their car, you either have too much time on your hands or you just like informing.

A neighbours house was burgled a while ago, myself and two neighbours made a positive ID, the cops told me the amount of people that don't want to "rat" or simply don't have the confidence or bravery to stand up to criminal activity in their own area is unbelievable, they pretend they didn't see anything. A case of craven or I'm all right Jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

Hiding it from the social welfare inspector?

All depends on your sense of righteous.

I would think very carefully ratting. Dublin is very small and some people have no qualms shooting you or a family member dead by your actions.

Personally, putting myself in danger or my family is not worth it because mrs jones got her tv nicked or Mr smith got his car robbed.

no thanks

If you are busy being a busybody as someone has no tax or whatever in their car, you either have too much time on your hands or you just like informing.

No insurance, no tax, acting suspiciously in the OP's area? I'd be happy to "inform" as you put it. If they're up to nothing illegal they'll be happy to know that the community is alert and unafraid to report dubious activity.

I would think very carefully ratting. Dublin is very small and some people have no qualms shooting you or a family member dead by your actions.

Personally, putting myself in danger or my family is not worth it because mrs jones got her tv nicked or Mr smith got his car robbed.

no thanks

The Gardai won't tell them who reported them. Grow a pair of balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

to be fair, the pair in question don't exactly sound like hardened criminals..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

no thanks

Hopefully when your house is burgled your neighbours have the same attitude

John_Rambo wrote: »

No need to be insulting rambo.

I am very self assured individual. Just because I think informing is not worth the risk does not mean I do not have a set of testicles.

If you can not reply in a decent fashion, please ignore my future posts

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

John_Rambo wrote: »
    The idea that reporting a car for being out of tax will get you a gun in your face is hilarious.

The gardai will pop out and have a look at the car, look up the reg, find out who the owner is and go around and have a chat. They may not even bother taking your own name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

I am not 14

Are you sure?

no thanks

No need to be insulting rambo

Apologies.

Try to be braver, more community minded, more thoughtful and have a larger moral responsibility. The Gardai don't tell criminals who reports them. You are not putting yourself at risk by reporting suspicious activity, don't be afraid.

I stood face to face with four men that burgled my neighbours house and told the Gardai they were the men I saw and I haven't been shot.

Nobodies going to shoot you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I have secure parking. I see your point though but I still would not get involved

My car was reversed into and 3 grands of damage was done to it my my last place with secure parking.

The guy who did it was a known scumbag with no insurance. I left that place soon after. It was leafy south dublin too.

Secure parking means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Hiding it from the social welfare inspector?

...would be my guess.

The car seems to be in regular use so I wouldn't say its hot but chances are the chap doesn't want the SW knowing he drives a fresh Audi that is/ was most likely the result of ill-gotten gains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭ofcork

How is he chancing driving it on public roads with no discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

he's probably riding yer one, his missus has a tracking device in the car so he has to park away from her gaff

he spent the tax money on flowers and chocolates

or something

none of that makes sense :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭SteM

no thanks

Your posts in this thread are depressing beyond belief. I didn't think people still thought like you do. It's everything that's wrong with society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

He is either hiding the car from the social welfare or he is hiding it from getting it repossessed by a finance company/bank. One way or another, its dodgy.....

...would be my guess.

The car seems to be in regular use so I wouldn't say its hot but chances are the chap doesn't want the SW knowing he drives a fresh Audi that is/ was most likely the result of ill-gotten gains

I was actually more thinking lone parents allowance or some such. Eithers a possibility.

Are you sure?

yes im positive. Are you sure you are the age you think you are too? :rolleyes:

SteM wrote: »
    Your posts in this thread are depressing beyond belief. I didn't think people still thought like you do. It's everything that's wrong with society.

Im sorry you feel that way. Yes a lot of people still think the way I think.

The same people that have a good moan about the Gardai no doubt.

What on earth makes you think that someone reporting something like this to the Gardai could cause them or their family to be shot? Why would you even come out with rubbish like that? How would the people find out who report it? It's just nonsense in this case.

could be 101 reasons

people get shot for far less stuff here.

please explain how I would have a moan about the guards?

could be 101 reasons

people get shot for far less stuff here.

please explain how I would have a moan about the guards?

101 reasons. Can't believe I'm even bothering with you to be honest. Luckily it seems that the OP has a much more level head.

You don't need to give your name if you ring traffic confidential. Simples.

SteM wrote: »
    101 reasons. Can't believe I'm even bothering with you to be honest. Luckily it seems that the OP has a much more level head.

I cant believe it either SteM