Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Low level sadness

• 28-05-2015 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

The sad songs thread struck a chord with Pighead and got him asking 'When was the last time you were truly sad Pighead?'. Really difficult question to answer as Pighead is a really really positive person. A bad day at work? At least you have a job Pighead. Row with Miss Piggy? At least there is a Miss Piggy. Really itchy arse? At least you have fingers Pighead.

Anyway, scanned through 37 years worth of memory files looking for the last sad moment which was a real waste of time as an hour later the results came back as 'Last Night'.

Yes, there was indeed sadness last night. It was the night Pighead told a lie to his beloved. Ten years together and the very first lie.

Pighead's foot is broken and has been for over ten weeks now. Tensions have been running high in chez Pighead as Miss Piggy's patience begins to wear thin towards her injured lover. Not exactly sure why she is getting so impatient. Could be because she has to do absolutely everything around the house or as Pighead likes to think it could be because she misses seeing Pighead dance.

Last night in a desperate bid to speed up the healing process she whipped out the acupuncture needles and told Pighead to take off his protective boot.

For Pighead this was his Waterloo moment. (Haven't a clue what that saying means but it sounds significant and this was a significant moment). The needle is the only thing on the planet that scares Pighead. The traditional fears for Snakes, Lions, clowns and Drogheda women have never phased Pighead but needles have the ability to make his bowels loosen.

A dilemma had presented itself. Admit to Miss Piggy that you are just like every other mere mortal who has doubts and fears or lie and tell her that you were born in Jamaica and Jamaican skin is ultra sensitive thus making it non compatible with acupuncture needles.

Went with the latter. A wave of sadness washed over yours truly. Partly because a lie had been told but mainly because the woman Pighead loves was so stupid to fall for what was a pretty rubbish lie. Honestly thought she was better than that. The lie had broken the bridge of trust that united us. A chasm as wide as the gap in Pighead's 5th metatarsal had been opened in our relationship.

Thankfully the sadness only lasted four minutes and happiness returned almost as quickly as it had left.

So what was the briefest feeling of sadness you have had in your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Sheep Lover thought to himself that talking in the third person gets pretty fcuking annoying after a few lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Why are ye referring to yourself in the 3rd person? , thought The Valeyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

You're a Dundalk football fan. Just listen to your teams results!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Whisht...Pighead is speaking :P :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Hey Pighead

uh, why's your name an anagram of head pig

you like giving pigs head or something?

ya that showed you :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Did the needles fix your foot? This is what makes me sad, not knowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

What saddens catallus is that pighead doesn't know the difference between "phased" and "fazed".

I thought you were perfect, you bastard. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sheep Lover thought to himself that talking in the third person gets pretty fcuking annoying after a few lines.
    Your annoyance is nothing when compared to that which your sheep feels when you stick your measly maggot into. Leave him alone and get yourself a woman you oddball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Pighead wrote: »
    Your annoyance is nothing when compared to that which your sheep feels when you stick your measly maggot into. Leave him alone and get yourself a woman you oddball.

What an outburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Where were you Pighead?
    AH missed you.
    Aongus VanB is the new muse around here now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They're the best team in the league, won the league last year and are nailed on to win it this year?

catallus wrote: »
    What saddens catallus is that pighead doesn't know the difference between "phased" and "fazed".

I thought you were perfect, you bastard. :(
    Meant phased. You may think that it makes no sense in this context but it does. It's to do with space and time and fear. Will explain in more depth when I have more time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Quite an assumption on your part that Sheep Lover automatically means that I fornicate with livestock.

If I was to assume the same about yours some interesting revelations about you sucking pig d1ck might come to light.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Where were you Pighead?
    AH missed you.
    Aongus VanB is the new muse around here now...

Aongus is much better imo.

Pighead is very much one dimensional in third person.

That would have been a brilliant retort four years ago. In 2015 it makes you look like a wally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Will explain in more depth when I have more time.

Ah, pighead, that's the trouble we all have, you see.

We think we have time. But we don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

So what was the briefest feeling of sadness you have had in your life?

Thought I'd lost my car keys earlier. Instant sick feeling in pit of stomach as don't have spare set.

Went back to cafe and the girl behind counter had found them.

Could have given her free sex I was so happy.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Aongus is much better imo.

Pighead is very much one dimensional in third person.
    Rubbish. The very fact Pighead speaks in the third person gives him an extra dimension to most people. You are very much negatively dimension. You exist on the negative x-axis. Who is this Aongus chap anyway? Must check out his work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

anncoates wrote: »
    They're the best team in the league, won the league last year and are nailed on to win it this year?

I was scratching my head over that one too. Look like the town could win by double figures the level they seem to be above the rest. Dont sell my Towell my Richie Richie Towell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Rubbish. The very fact Pighead speaks in the third person gives him an extra dimension to most people. You are very much negatively dimension. You exist on the negative x-axis. Who is this Aongus chap anyway? Must check out his work.

He's not a patch on you Pighead! ;)

That would have been a brilliant retort four years ago. In 2015 it makes you look like a wally.

It being the League Of Ireland, it should be perfect for reuse in about 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

It briefly made me sad that there are people on Boards who don't know who Pighead it. Then I realised I don't care that much.

What an outburst.
    Something about that Sheepman that winds Pighead up something fierce. Apologies if the language was a bit fruity. Sometimes Pighead would be better served to close his laptop, count to ten, put on his shoes, find Sheep Lover and give him a pasting. Laptop anger is too intangible.

Who is this Aongus chap anyway? Must check out his work.

I suggest a full bodied red with undertones of rustic autumn leaves to accompany his work.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I got an ice cream cone once, took a lick, the ice cream fell on the ground.
    The sadness crept in while I was lying on the ground weeping licking up the ice cream and realised the ice cream man forget the flake.

Something about that Sheepman that winds Pighead up something fierce.

Ah the ould Farmyard rivalry :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Backed a bad animal yesterday evening at Gowran on its 1st run going simply on word coming from other people. Lost a triple figure sum which is what I'd usually back on something i fancy strongly not just something I've been told is a good animal at home from a second or third hand source. Was a bit P'd off with myself until i thought about it and 3 or 4 years back i had no job having finished studying, had student loans up to my eyeballs and wouldn't have had any money in my bank machine at times and relied on friends on occasion to pay bills, yet now i could lose a relatively large amount on a Wednesday and not have it effect on my financial wellbeing at all.

Still stupid to have put so much on but in truth i know im in a lot better place financially, emotionally and physically than back then and that's something to be glad about.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The French for "a pain in the arse" is literally "casse-pied", a broken foot. DeVore hopes Pighead gets better soon (but also that Pighead should have been honest... :( ... *microsad* )

Backed a bad animal yesterday evening at Gowran on its 1st run going simply on word coming from other people. Lost a triple figure sum which is what I'd usually back on something i fancy strongly not just something I've been told is a good animal at home from a second or third hand source. Was a bit P'd off with myself until i thought about it and 3 or 4 years back i had no job having finished studying, had student loans up to my eyeballs and wouldn't have had any money in my bank machine at times and relied on friends on occasion to pay bills, yet now i could lose a relatively large amount on a Wednesday and not have it effect on my financial wellbeing at all.

Still stupid to have put so much on but in truth i know im in a lot better place financially, emotionally and physically than back then and that's something to be glad about.

"If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings
    And never breathe a word about your loss;"

Yeah I've lost a few 3 figure sums in my time on horses...

oh s*it, not a man either :(:pac:

Jaysus a 3 figured sum on a horse who was making it's debut :eek:

Still, it's an expensive lesson to learn but hopefully one that will save you considerably more in the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Pighead wouldn't spend any time messing about with mindfulness I'm fairly sure....

For me low level sadness are things like really really looking forwards to a steak, nailing it cooking wise for that perfect medium rare and then doing something like dropping it on the floor when transferring it from pan to plate.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I’ve been off work for the past two weeks on stress leave. This is hugely common in my line of work – working at the cutting edge of European finance here in Frankfurt.

It has been accompanied with what I could describe as low-level sadness. My 10k times are rarely dipping below the 38 minute mark, and I find myself sighing gently occasionally.

It has been a difficult few weeks. If it wasn’t for mindfulness, a selection of great novels I’d been meaning to read for years, and the occasional glass of good wine then I don’t know what I would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Meant phased. You may think that it makes no sense in this context but it does. It's to do with space and time and fear. Will explain in more depth when I have more time.

Ya slipped up there Pighead. Get well soon.

I’ve been off work for the past two weeks on stress leave. This is hugely common in my line of work – working at the cutting edge of European finance here in Frankfurt.

It has been accompanied with what I could describe as low-level sadness. My 10k times are rarely dipping below the 38 minute mark, and I find myself sighing gently occasionally.

It has been a difficult few weeks. If it wasn’t for mindfulness, a selection of great novels I’d been meaning to read for years, and the occasional glass of good wine then I don’t know what I would do.
    What the hell is mindfulness? Would you not be better served doing something more worthwhile like trying to improve your 10k times? Faster running times = happier running person = lower stress levels. You can have that nugget for free.

Something tells me you're not the type of individual who is in a position to dole out advice on improving 10k times.

You strike me as the type of person who works in low-level IT (password resets etc.), physically unfit and with an awful fashion sense (brown suit, ginger combover). Just the impression your posts give off.

Keep your nugget, although I dare say you've probably eaten too many of them in your time too.

Oh Lord, this is gonna be like Giant Hatstacks v Big Daddy!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Something tells me you're not the type of individual who is in a position to dole out advice on improving 10k times.

You strike me as the type of person who works in low-level IT (password resets etc.), physically unfit and with an awful fashion sense (brown suit, ginger combover). Just the impression your posts give off.

Keep your nugget, although I dare say you've probably eaten too many of them in your time too.

Ohhhh... it's on now. eFight of the Century. Clash of the Tight Trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

*Grabs gourmet popcorn and a fine Riesling*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have a wistful yearning for the days when Pighead wasn't a mere scaredycat mortal. Not he's just another unfunny old man like the rest of us. :(

Who the hell rattled your cage Mindlessness Boy? If you don't want to take on board some grade a advice that's your business. However people with class and distinction tend to smile politely and say 'I'll take that on board' even if they have no intention of doing so rather than spit out their dummy and go 'Wah wah wah'.

You've got a chip on your shoulder and a brain weighed down by negativity. No wonder you run so slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Damn, thought Pighead was gonna go with something like:

Well, if you like fine wine so much how come from the letters of your username I can spell Mr. Anus Vino.

Who the hell rattled your cage Mindlessness Boy? If you don't want to take on board some grade a advice that's your business. However people with class and distinction tend to smile politely and say 'I'll take that on board' even if they have no intention of doing so rather than spit out their dummy and go 'Wah wah wah'.

You've got a chip on your shoulder and a brain weighed down by negativity. No wonder you run so slowly.

My cage is very much un-rattled. I'm feeling extremely positive and well-balanced today. I'm very much focussed on the here and now. Just this morning I used a simple but effective mindfulness tool to lean into some uncomfortable thoughts I'd been having. It has really given me a fresh perspective.

I was a bit taken aback by your unprovoked assault on me today. I couldn't understand why someone who I've never interacted with before would be so negative towards me. So I took the liberty of reading back through your posting history on this site...

It doesn't paint a very pretty picture and explains an awful lot. A man who is in a joyless relationship, holds down a menial job as a low level IT drone and worst of all a League of Ireland supporter. :o

LoI supporters are a particularly odious type of person. It's all dead sunken eyes, sheepskin coats, bootcut jeans, chanting English soccer chants. A lifestyle of pints of harp, deep fried sausages, trips to the bookies for a sure thing and spousal abuse.

At first I was angered by your attack on my character, but it makes sense now, and I forgive you Pighead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Oh sh1t oh sh1t oh sh1t

IT IS ON

Shots fired from both sides...epic internet battle commence

This all seems so...familiar.

Damn, thought Pighead was gonna go with something like:

Well, if you like fine wine so much how come from the letters of your username I can spell Mr. Anus Vino.
    You can make the word Nosiness out of your name. Just saying.

Anyway back on topic does anybody know why Pighead's foot is taking so long too heal? It's been ten weeks without a dance at this stage.Far too long in any man's language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Yesterday's man speaks. You can't wind back the clock Piggy.

Meanwhile Aonghus von O'Carroll-Kellyhoff has us all enthralled with his flighty tales of chalky tasting wine and mindfulness.

Yesterday's man speaks. You can't wind back the clock Piggy.

Meanwhile Aonghus von O'Carroll-Kellyhoff has us all enthralled with his flighty tales of chalky tasting wine and mindfulness.
    As the old saying goes Magico 'Better to have been yesterday's man than no man at all'. Boom. Eat it up Gonzalez.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I've not been enthralled.