Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So now its the great Aer Lingus 'sell off' referendum (as proposed by Sinn Fein).

• 27-05-2015 8:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭

Hot on the heels of the Marriage referendum and the Presidential referendum, publicity seeking Sinn Fein are now asking for another referendum, this time on the sale of the governments 25% stake in Are Lingus > to IAG.

From today's Irish Examiner;
    "Sinn Féin has said the Government should hold a referendum before agreeing to the sale of Aer Lingus.
    The suggestion came as the Dáil continues its debate on the proposed sale of the government's 25% stake to IAG".
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/sf-hold-a-referendum-on-aer-lingus-sale-679042.html

But are we really in the mood for another rerendum? Or is it (as I suspect), a cynical vote grabbing exercise by SF, who are just trying to tap into that feeling of positivity post the marriage referendum?

Call me cynical, but I can't help thinking that the Shinners don't miss a trick :cool:

What say you?

I read the Constitution. No mention of Aer Lingus. Whew, no need for another referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Link doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I suspect if IAG wasn't the parent of an airline with British in the title the Shinners wouldn't care too much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

LordSutch wrote: »
    Hot on the heels of the Marriage referendum and the Presidential referendum, publicity seeking Sinn Fein are now asking for another referendum, this time on the sale of the governments 25% stake in Are Lingus > to IAG.

From today's Irish Examiner;
    "Sinn Féin has said the Government should hold a referendum before agreeing to the sale of Aer Lingus.
    The suggestion came as the Dáil continues its debate on the proposed sale of the government's 25% stake to IAG".
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakin...le-679042.html

But are we really in the mood for another rerendum? Or is it (as I suspect), a cynical vote grabbing exercise by SF, who are just trying to tap into that feeling of positivity post the marriage referendum?

Call me cynical, but I can't help thinking that the Shinners don't miss a trick :cool:

What say you?

Publicity seeking you say?

So you set up a thread on a social media site about it!

Yep, makes sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm no fan of SF but even I can see that your fascination with them isn't one bit healthy OP. For you or the rest of us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

I read the Constitution. No mention of Aer Lingus. Whew, no need for another referendum.

Don't remember seeing all those EU treaties in the constitution either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

The Nice Treaty required us to change the Constitution. I think we were the only country to hold a referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's going to be scary if the Shinners ever get into power.

They won't be asking for bat-sh1t crazy stuff like this to happen, they will just do it!

What say you?

Does not compute. Maybe you mean FG being cynical by suddenly calling a snap election to tap into the positivity before reality hits again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

padd b1975 wrote: »
    It's going to be scary if the Shinners ever get into power.

They won't be asking for bat-sh1t crazy stuff like this to happen, they will just do it!

Ya.

Let's hope they never guarantee the banks.

Now that would be mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Eutow wrote: »
    The Nice Treaty required us to change the Constitution. I think we were the only country to hold a referendum.

This is about the only area Ireland deos well....is democracy in relation to Europe and holding referendums

The Supreme Court held in the Crotty case that referendums are needed for such matters.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crotty_v._An_Taoiseach

Not the sale of shares in an airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ya.

They'll be too busy robbing them I would imagine.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

The government having another flash sale of assets. We must be like the Delaz store of Europe. If we ever get into a recession we will have nothing to sell or bargain with.

Wish they would sell at leased to an Irish company keep it somewhat Irish !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think Aer Lingus should be allowed marry whoever they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

...and what they do with their slots is their own business and no-one elses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'm no fan of SF but even I can see that your fascination with them isn't one bit healthy OP. For you or the rest of us.

He's more fascinated by them than I am, and I vote for the feckers. Tis odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Where was SF when Bord Gais & its power generation wing was sold last year?

Curiously transient principles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

Ah the Shinners, absolutely clueless when it comes to finance, economics and general understanding of business.

Now if it's child abuse or robbing banks you want then SinnFein are your party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Enough referenda. I would like the constitutional convention to come up with 10 versions from existing to less conservative to ultra liberal . Then we vote using STV for our favourite in order. Then we take that constitution and that's it for 100 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Axel Lamp wrote: »
    Ah the Shinners, absolutely clueless when it comes to finance, economics and general understanding of business.

In general I would put them as smarter than the Tories or FF. which isn't saying much.

Axel Lamp wrote: »

Ah Fianna fail/fine gael, the catholic church and decades of child abuse, and the banks robbing the public!

You gotta love the gov apologists on here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

As long as their partner doesn't want to sell off the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

You gotta love the gov apologists on here!

More whataboutery

As opposed to being a child abusing apologist, a party that moves convicted child abusers to a separate sovereign country?

Liam Adams - child rapist.

Liam Adams - Sinn Fein.

Liam Adams - Gerry Adams brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Great. Sell it to one of the largest Multi-National going in the Industry. EU anti-competition Laws anyone?

How many routes to London/Britain/Spain will be cut? I doubt IAG will keep duplicate services when the initial contract runs out. Jokes on them though, endless strikes for the next few years.

Do you actually know how Constitutional Law works? Our constitution superscedes all EU laws (something only Ireland negotiated for itself back when it still knew how to) so when an EU Treaty conflicts with our Constitution we have to amend it.

Great. Sell it to one of the largest Multi-National going in the Industry. EU anti-competition Laws anyone?

How many routes to London/Britain/Spain will be cut? I doubt IAG will keep duplicate services when the initial contract runs out. Jokes on them though, endless strikes for the next few years.

Do you actually know how Constitutional Law works? Our constitution superscedes all EU laws (something only Ireland negotiated for itself back when it still knew how to) so when an EU Treaty conflicts with our Constitution we have to amend it.

But should there be a referendum, as proposed by Sinn Fein?

On what basis? Referenda are only held when a change to the Constitution is required. Holding one would be unprecedented.

So why are they proposing one?

I don't know.

The populist nonsense basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Probably to deflect from tomorrow's latest SF related scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ya.

They must have gone a bit mental on the day they voted for the guarantee.

I can't see this referendum idea "taking off"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

*GODGE AND IWASFROZEN TO AISLE 4 PLEASE*.
    *SINN FEIN SPILLAGE ON AISLE 4 NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH IMMEDIATELY*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Did Mary Lou phone you?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Its cute how the Gerry-bots crawl over themselves to avoid the substance of this weeks slice of Shinner stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What say you?

I'd say you prefer to fly BA anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They must have gone a bit mental on the day they voted for the guarantee.

Do you not have to be up early to do a bit of work for SIPTU?

Cos lets be honest, the only people still publically shilling for labour are SIPTU officials :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

What article of the constitution needs to be changed to allow for the sale of a minority share in a publicly quoted airline again?

Stupid shinners.

Its cute how the Gerry-bots crawl over themselves to avoid the substance of this weeks slice of Shinner stupidity.

'Gerry-bots'.. that's a new one. Did you make that up all by yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,218 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Ya.

Didn't SF vote in favour of implementing the bank guarantee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

TallGlass wrote: »
    The government having another flash sale of assets. We must be like the Delaz store of Europe. If we ever get into a recession we will have nothing to sell or bargain with.

Wish they would sell at leased to an Irish company keep it somewhat Irish !

You have a real understanding of the international aviation industry i see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I see Sinn Fein/IRA scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of latching onto a few populist vote. Thankfully the majority of the nation are wise to these shower of idiots. They as so far removed from economic policy it is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The government will take in €335m from the sale of Aer Lingus, if we were to split it up amongst the 4.5m or so of us living here we would get just under €75 each, not enough for a decent pair of runners. Aer Lingus is better off as part of a larger organisation, another oil crisis or war and the company could be too small to exist profitably on its own.