Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Times Atlas of the World: Universal Edition £5 on Amazon UK

• 27-05-2015 7:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Awesome deal op awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ilavela

Dispatching will take some time but it is an absolute bargain. Thanks OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Bargain, cheers OP

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

£9 shipping so you'd be as well to get some more orders in to get to £25 and thus qualify for free delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Bollox, just put in a big order yesterday for a load of camping stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Has ended up costing me way more than the £5 as I've managed to justify a couple of other purchases to get me over the free delivery mark!

First thing I've ordered from Amazon since the Euro took a nose dive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

hi thanks op
    whats the difference between this and reference edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

I have this and it is an excellent atlas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

The reference edition has a lot less pages, so there is probably more content in the Universal edition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭ene

thanks op! something else i dont need!

will look lovely on the coffee table though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Tried to order earlier with an item to get free delivery but it still charged postage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

sweetie wrote: »
    Tried to order earlier with an item to get free delivery but it still charged postage

Thanks me too.

Ordered 3, a phone case and a logitech k400 keyboard and it split into two deliveries, one free and the other approx 15 shipping.

Any ideas, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

same here, just used parcel motel instead so working out at around 12e in total rather than 25e+ with some other stuff I didnt know I needed.

then again, dont know how Ive survived til now without a comprehensive hardback atlas in the living room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

Is it just me,I see it priced at £16.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Hagar7 wrote: »
    Is it just me,I see it priced at £16.50
    Same here, looks like we missed out.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Thargor wrote: »
    Bollox, just put in a big order yesterday for a load of camping stuff.

Pity, seems to be over, you might have been able to cancel your order then add this:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It appears to be over now, looked like great value and great reviews.

Can someone answer me why it's something I would need if I had internet access to the likes of Google Maps/Earth etc, does it offer anything unique?

It'll probably be £5 again, the reviews mention it been reduced previous to this in feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

It'll probably be £5 again, the reviews mention it been reduced previous to this in feb

I got it for £3 last year. It should go down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Set an alert for it on Camelcamelcamel and get an email when it drops, Ive seen this offer before.

EDIT: http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/The-Times-Atlas-World-Universal/product/0007455224

Back in November...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Cyclonius

It's actually back to £5 now; just put in an order myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

just ordered it for 5£..well used some vouchers I had from a previous bargain alert £10 for £20 voucher. So picked this and a few others up for the princely sum of £4.49 :D

Nabbed one myself (and something else i didn't know i needed!), great stuff :)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

people getting super saver delivery on this order (over £25 obv)?

Yeh, free super saver del on over the 25stg

vicwatson wrote: »
    Yeh, free super saver del on over the 25stg

tried it again on android app, mobile site and normal website, no free postage. It's splitting my order in two but won't give me option to send as one delivery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Really want to get this. Haven't used amazon much previously. How do I get the free shipping or cheaper shipping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Thanks very much bromley :)
    every house should have one.
    Just ordered mine there, and one for the parents.

If you spend 25 you qualify for free delivery.

Also if you pay in GBP it works out about 1 euro cheaper than paying in EUR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

MAJJ wrote: »
    Thanks me too.

Ordered 3, a phone case and a logitech k400 keyboard and it split into two deliveries, one free and the other approx 15 shipping.

Any ideas, thanks

I'd say the phone case screwed you up. All items need to be at the very least, "fulfilled by Amazon" to qualify for free delivery. I'd guess the case was from a marketplace seller which won't qualify. Oh, and make sure you select "free delivery" option !

Some Q & A here for future reference:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=3793231

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭tipperary

tried it again on android app, mobile site and normal website, no free postage. It's splitting my order in two but won't give me option to send as one delivery...

Same thing happened to me, order was split in two. One order had option of free delivery and the other wouldn't give that option. All items were sold by amazon.
    I contacted amazon using the chat function, and they said it was a bug on the system, to place the order and they would refund the extra shipping cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭jmch81

tipperary wrote: »
    Same thing happened to me, order was split in two. One order had option of free delivery and the other wouldn't give that option. All items were sold by amazon.
    I contacted amazon using the chat function, and they said it was a bug on the system, to place the order and they would refund the extra shipping cost.
    I had the same problem on the phone. I managed to find the issue. They never gave the option to select postage and had auto selected the middle option. Had to go into postage myself and change it for free delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Bargain alerts strikes again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Carlosthejakal

Bought it yesterday. No issues.
    Thanks OP

Mine despatched a week early, due next Monday ! Nice one Amazon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Mine Shipped...

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

same here. Deliv expected monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

when using Parcel Motel for my order I was given free UK postage if my or was for £10 or more on books

"FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books"

So I ordered this Marvel book as well . :)
    614J%2Bk304aL._AC_SX60_CR,0,0,60,60_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

MoodeRator wrote: »
    when using Parcel Motel for my order I was given free UK postage if my or was for £10 or more on books

"FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books"

So I ordered this Marvel book as well . :)
    614J%2Bk304aL._AC_SX60_CR,0,0,60,60_.jpg

I ordered the same! Ordered other stuff to make up to 25 for delivery here. That marvel book looks a BA in itself.

Yay mine arrived today, even better than Monday, this is excellent for the price, nice find op, about A4 size in a carboard folder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

Got mine too. Nice but I'd be very disappointed to pay £50 for it. About 350 pages with 100 of them being the index.

For £5 you can't go wrong.

These are still at 5£ lads and lassies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭The lips

65euro on books later.....ouch

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Ah feck it, picked one up to get me over the £25 mark on other purchases, I always keep a rake of so/so stuff in my 'saved for later' to get the free P&P

I can't get free postage on this for some reason, i decided to get another as an xmas present with the marvel book and another couple of things , all of which qualify for free super saver delivery but the books are always separated and chargeable delivery, does it have to be £25 in books as well to get the free delivery? If so probably will just parcel motel the books as they are free delivery to NI

Supercell wrote:
    I can't get free postage on this for some reason, i decided to get another as an xmas present with the marvel book and another couple of things , all of which qualify for free super saver delivery but the books are always separated and chargeable delivery, does it have to be £25 in books as well to get the free delivery? If so probably will just parcel motel the books as they are free delivery to NI

I couldn't either but ordered and customer services refunded me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I purchased two copies and received them yesterday.

Order Summary
    Item(s) Subtotal: GBP 10.00
    Postage & Packing: GBP 0.00
    Total Before VAT: GBP 10.00
    VAT: GBP 0.00
    Total:
    Grand Total: GBP 10.00
    Payment Grand Total: EUR 14,29

I paid €3.95 to use Parcel Motel so the grand total is €18.24, I'm thrilled with my purchases, thanks OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Hagar7

Anyone bought the book and the cover is upside down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

Maybe you're holding it wrong way round? :D

Or perhaps you are standing on your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Nah, they probably just sent the Australian edition by mistake :-p