Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you still in touch with your first love?

• 27-05-2015 2:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭

Do you ever think about your first love or have you completely moved on? Anyone still in a relationship with those they first fell in love with? Still happy going stong?

I'm by no means a romantic, but when I hear old WW2 love stories and the like, my heart skips a beat and a tear is brought to me eye. My granny met my pops when she was 15 and he was 16 at a Catholic inspired charitable bake sale. He was a bit of Del Boy and was persistent until she eventually agreed to go with a dance with him.

Nearly 70 years later, still together.

How's your first love getting along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 grey_area

Yeah we're so close you could say we're attached at the hip! I mean wrist. Attached at the wrist. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

Yes always. I never let her leave her cage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭traineeacc

Yep, met at 17 married 10 year later! Have 2 children together now almost 5 years married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

traineeacc wrote: »
    Yep, met at 17 married 10 year later! Have 2 children together now almost 5 years married

Fair play. It just immediately clicked, did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Saw a lovely pic there recently of the couple on the cover of the Woodstock album,sitting in their kitchen, giggling holding up a copy of the album.

They're still together after 50 years.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭traineeacc

Either that or we were both too lazy to look elsewhere!!!

On a serious note yep, we grew up together I suppose. We lived in different counties and countries for short period of time during those years and still come back to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

Yep, we were together nearly 13 years, broke up a couple of years ago but still mates and in touch weekly.

I can't imagine not being in each others lives after that long but I'm sure there will come a time that we'll drift apart as such.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

No though tbh, I don't think I was ever properly in love 'till I met this fella, so maybe yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

No, mainly because she is a demented harpie who toys with people hearts and crushes them with wreckless abandon.

Happily married now though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Met at 16 and still going strong at 23! Planning the wedding soon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

no :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

I had a strange one this week...
    I never kept in touch with my ''first love'' though it was a big deal and the real thing etc...but life moved on and after several years we parted ways.

I thought of him occasionally and wished that life was treating him well and that he was happy and in loving circumstances. (As I am.)

25 years later (now) I was glancing through some random internet things and I saw a recent obituary for his Mother. And he was mentioned in the obituary as her beloved late son. Hmmm. Even to write that brings a tear. It hit me in the feels for sure. Have no idea what happened or even how to find out. One of life's things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Still in touch?

She's my friend on Facebook if that counts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

On Facebook so it's good to see how she gets on with work, kids, life etc. Chat occasionally and grab the odd coffee. I think it's good when you don't completely lose contact with important people like that in your life even when you've both moved on and are happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Nope.

Pity, as we were together for 7 odd years.

Her maternity clock was going ape****, and mine just wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I had a strange one this week...
    I never kept in touch with my ''first love'' though it was a big deal and the real thing etc...but life moved on and after several years we parted ways.

I thought of him occasionally and wished that life was treating him well and that he was happy and in loving circumstances. (As I am.)

25 years later (now) I was glancing through some random internet things and I saw a recent obituary for his Mother. And he was mentioned in the obituary as her beloved late son. Hmmm. Even to write that brings a tear. It hit me in the feels for sure. Have no idea what happened or even how to find out. One of life's things.

That must have been a bit of a shock I imagine. Old memories flooding back of things done and said (and not done and unsaid perhaps). Good that you are happy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I've no contact and don't want any contact with her.

My grandparents played as little kids together, grew up together, married for over 50 years. Granddad passed away first and it was the first time in my grandmothers life that they weren't together. Both sadly passed on now, although i'm in no way religious, maybe there back together again somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Emsloe

No, no animosity as such, we were just horny teenagers and we moved on. I've googled him a handful of times over the years - no desire to reconnect, more out of curiosity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Sorta, get a message every now and again from her asking if we're still friends and I answer really indirectly then we don't hear from each other for ages again.

Retrospectively I dunno if I'd call it love, was more like I was just desperate to prove to myself it was that so I bought what she was selling in that regard but i neither trusted her nor truly opened up at all, she definitely didn't earn either what with some of the **** she pulled too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Only via my ouija board :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭Nollog

We could be in touch if I wanted to, we have the facebooks and stuff still.
    Better off not though, it's been 13 years. Doubt she even remembers me honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Naw, pity though, she was the best teacher we had in that school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭bizebee

Yes :) We attended the same school as kids and we are now 8 days off our wedding! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

If by "in touch" you mean hiding in the bushes outside her bedroom window, then yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

No, but i'd like to touch her...with a big stick...that's on fire...and explodes on contact!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Met my first love in 1968, married her in 1971 and still love her as much today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ok, I'm going to be cynical here...

Would those that marry the girl/boy they met in school be more likely to hit a midlife crisis or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

If only to see what a lucky escape I had - yes....on facebook,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

First crush, first kiss, first love.............still with her 35 years later. Happy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

First crush, first kiss, first love.............still with her 35 years later. Happy out

so you never had any strange ?

same kebab for life ?

you live a sheltered life my friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

bizebee wrote: »
    Yes :) We attended the same school as kids and we are now 8 days off our wedding! :)

Dunno whether to thank this or not until unless you clarify that you weren't a teacher. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

so you never had any strange ?

same kebab for life ?

you live a sheltered life my friend

The more in tune you are with your partner and when there is more love, trust and empathy, the more adventurous you can get. I doubt I've left anything behind that I wasn't interested in anyway

Just sayin' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭coffeepls

No way do I have an iota where or what my 'first love' is doing. Not even to sure was it love or just rampant teenage hormones. Probably the latter. Heck it was 30 years ago. Danged if I remember!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Birneybau wrote: »
    Ok, I'm going to be cynical here...

Would those that marry the girl/boy they met in school be more likely to hit a midlife crisis or not?

More likely? Not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

More likely? Not!

Why not? Would it not get montonous? We aren't built to be mongamous. Ous, ous, ous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Not while my hands are on the keyboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

We started going out when I was 18, 20 years on we're married with two kids, love him to bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

This thread is a bit of a trap. Did my wife start it? She blames me for having girlfriends before I met her. Wimmins be mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

No he's far too busy still chasing chungwans and pretending he doesn't have a receding hairline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭bizebee

anncoates wrote: »
    Dunno whether to thank this or not until unless you clarify that you weren't a teacher. :)

hahaha! :) Nope wasn't a teacher...... trust me ye wouldn't have had any our teachers as "first loves"......... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

No but I was cleaning things out of my bedroom at home at the weekend and found one of his old copies full of art and lyrics that I'm sure he'd like to have back.So I will get in touch and return it to him now and hope it's a short and sweet handover and that no motivations on my part will be assumed beyond the desire to give it back to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I always find it weird people who keep in contact with their ex's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

6781 wrote: »

Why? Breaking up might just mean you weren't suited as a couple, you could still be on good terms though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

eviltwin wrote: »
    Why? Breaking up might just mean you weren't suited as a couple, you could still be on good terms though.

Yeah it's important to stay on good terms I think if you randomly bump into them but stay in contact?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

6781 wrote: »

Tried to find a couple of randomers recently for the craic that I got off with years ago, while with my first love. The poor guy even met one of them when he (one of the randomers) dropped me back to Galway after a weekend away with a gang from college. Wasn't meant to happen just lots of drink, slow set and off in his car after the club. Poor hubby still doesn't know! He thinks that he is the only one I was ever with :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Ocassionally get a text from every now and again saying " I miss you" or "We need to talk" but haven't responded to her in two years. I've fallen for it far more times than I'd like to admit and every time we've ended up hating each other.

I don't wish her any ill will per se, just know that my life would be a lot more stressful if she was in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mocha please!

We're Facebook friends. He's married with a kid, I'm unmarried with a kid (but still getting the regular ride.)

I think I came off best out of that one. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Fellas, I think this thread has only one purpose, and it is to reveal the real reason your wife is mad at you, and it is because of this reason exactly.... you were not her first choice.

Op, first love? Now? At this point in your life we're talking about it? What the hell? It's all bull. Basically what you are saying op is 'the one that got away'. That's disingenuous to our current partners, if any, imho.

My view is that this profile of woman has a man they wish they were with, and a man that they actually are with. When these women were younger women they were perhaps very demanding, all these hopes and aspirations, fancy notions, and requirements of you. Whereas now, older ladies, typically the plumpers with a bit of weight, they are just happy to have a man with a d1ck and a job. The older they get, the harder it seems to be to bag a man. So they just settle, or compromise somewhat, whatever it may be.

But secretly they yearn for someone like yerman out of the Fifty Shades books? Is that the lesson here? Why in God's name are you thinking about a first love at this stage in your life if not with your head in the clouds and disrespect to your husband right on the table?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

myshirt wrote: »
    Whereas now, older ladies, typically the plumpers with a bit of weight, they are just happy to have a man with a d1ck and a job.

Charming :)

And men age so well...it's a hardship on them to be stuck with mad cows.

Personally, I require a sense of humour that has me losing the run of meself regularly. And a d1ck. Don't care about the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Of course, men also.
    Though I do think the perception at least is that for men the basic requirement doesn't undergo a significant change in focus over time.

In any event, the key point is that male or female, I don't think you can reflect on your first love that way without being disingenuous to your current partner. It's shocking that it is going on, none of the men in my social circle are at it. Sad to see when does occur though.