Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Mercedes - President

• 24-05-2015 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭

There is a report in today's independent and in Phoenix that the President sent back a New Mercedes as he wanted a superior model. The superior model was €40,000 dearer. The Gardaí denied the story. I assume that he got a E class and wanted an S class. Would there be a difference of €40,000 in the price of an E class and S class?

Currently the President has a 06 S class with 300,000kms on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭moleyv

As long as it has ISOFIX they should fit him in just fine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

An S-Class should be standard for the president, even if it is 40k, so what, that wouldn't even cover one job in a state quango.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

The president should be rolling in an S class. E class pff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I was in a Skoda Superb with a lovely leather interior. I reckon that should be more than adequate for President, Taoiseach etc. That's seriously what I'd ask for of I wanted to demonstrate that I was in touch with the people during a fiscal crisis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Sure an s class is a lot of money but it's kind of what you would expect him to be in not the likes of a skoda superb etc he is representing the country and s class mercs seem to be what are used for governments in many countries pulling up in a superb just isn't going to give as good an impression. Also if they are going to keep this one for 9 years 300k km at least they are getting their/ our money's worth out of it would be different if they were changing it every 6 months for the new plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Is it the president of uraguay drives himself around in a Vectra?
    Also that other president that was in the papers recently after donating his car, a late sixties Beetle to charity after he turned down some serious offers privately.
    To be honest I'm suprised there isn't a rolling fleet contract with Mercedes for presidential/governmental vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

We take out loans to run the country and to give aid to basket case countries yet their presidents drive around in $1.15million armoured Mercedes limos...

car.jpg

http://www.africareview.com/News/Outrage-over-Museveni-two-new-Benzes/-/979180/1618106/-/1ql5ttz/-/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

He also has the old Rolls for ceremonial state occasions..

aras-an-uachtarain-the.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Maybe he needs a E63 AMG instead of a boggo E200 to get away from all those water protesters? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

hi5 wrote: »
    He also has the old Rolls for ceremonial state occasions..

aras-an-uachtarain-the.jpg

Sweet machine! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Does he really need a new motor?

I've only ever seen him on his bicycle:

[IMG][/img]ReverendTimmsBicycle_zpshvrsdpgx.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Bpmull wrote: »
    Sure an s class is a lot of money but it's kind of what you would expect him to be in not the likes of a skoda superb etc he is representing the country and s class mercs seem to be what are used for governments in many countries pulling up in a superb just isn't going to give as good an impression. Also if they are going to keep this one for 9 years 300k km at least they are getting their/ our money's worth out of it would be different if they were changing it every 6 months for the new plate.

A leprechaun leaping out of any car hardly has the best impression anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

n1ck wrote: »
    A leprechaun leaping out of any car hardly has the best impression anyway.

A post of real class there, n1ck. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I doubt the difference would be 40k between an E and an S - No taxes to pay whatsoever! This is a State car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

tippman1 wrote: »
    A post of real class there, n1ck. Well done.

Tippman1, meet sarcasm, sarcasm meet tippman1, glad you could get acquainted.

About as impressive as some of your posts.
    tippman1 wrote:
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

the cars are basically free when you take out all the tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭mickmmc

The Phoenix who broke the story said the difference was 'apparently, being in the region of €40,000. The Sunday Independent has the story today. No models are mentioned in both articles. The list price of a short wheel base diesel S class starts at €96,670 and €102,730 for the long wheel base model (starting prices). The starting list price of diesel E class is €48,030. (source: Mercedes website) I have no knowledge as to whether the government or their agencies pay VRT/taxes on cars and what they would pay. From the article there is a 'Mexican stand-off between El Presidente and Sabina on the one hand and the parsimonious authorities on the other hand over the appropriate mode and standard of his motor vehicle'.

n1ck wrote: »
    Tippman1, meet sarcasm, sarcasm meet tippman1, glad you could get acquainted.

About as impressive as some of your posts.

???

MD is a great speaker and makes a good impression everywhere he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

President should have an S Class as should the Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

It's relatively cheap over ~10 years, I'd go for a Jag XJ or a Lexus LS600h though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

freddieot wrote: »
    I doubt the difference would be 40k between an E and an S - No taxes to pay whatsoever! This is a State car..

+1 the Sindo doesn't let facts get in the way of a good story!

In terms of list price, the difference is about 45K. A bog standard E-class would be an E220 (diesel) Elegance Auto which is currently 53,585 while the cheapest S-class is the S300 Bluetech Hybrid at 98,670.

coylemj wrote: »
    +1 the Sindo doesn't let facts get in the way of a good story!

In terms of list price, the difference is about 45K. A bog standard E-class would be an E220 (diesel) Elegance Auto which is currently 53,585 while the cheapest S-class is the S300 Bluetech Hybrid at 98,670.

Seeing as about 45k is tax, the government could make a profit selling off his car at about 3 year old as it would go for sale as a tax paid irish reg car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

An S-Class should be standard for the president, even if it is 40k, so what, that wouldn't even cover one job in a state quango.
    The president should be rolling in an S class. E class pff..
    Bpmull wrote: »
    he is representing the country and s class mercs seem to be what are used for governments in many countries pulling up in a superb just isn't going to give as good an impression.
    mickdw wrote: »
    President should have an S Class as should the Taoiseach.

Why though? Are we really still there, that it's a reflection of a man what car he rolls up in that he didn't pay for?

If you genuinely want to make a good impression on people - Take two presidents, & both roll up in brand new cars. One exits a brand new S Class. The other exits a brand new Passat (or any other regular comfortable saloon) & says "I know my car isn't as desirable as the S Class, but I chose the regular car so the excess funds left over could go towards building homeless accommodation/charity/helping people in need." - I know which one would make a better impression for me, & my respect would go up exponentially for that individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

The fact is, no matter how much money we scrimp and save on state cars in order to pump into the HSE, or whatever homeless charity, they're always going to want more. As unhappy as I am with the level of tax I have to pay, and to see some politicians no more qualified than myself driving around in top spec cars, I recognise that an air of authority and professionalism has to exist around our government for this country to be taken seriously by other countries. Whether we like it or not, that means having a high-spec car.

The fact is, no matter how much money we scrimp and save on state cars in order to pump into the HSE, or whatever homeless charity, they're always going to want more

It'd be nothing more than a gesture, as a way of showing connection to the issues faced by real people every day. It's not going to fix anything, as the amounts involved are tiny in comparison to the amounts needed. It would however be, an important way of showing solidarity & affiliation with the people...a far more important way to generate respect & a positive impression I would think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

boombang wrote: »
    I was in a Skoda Superb with a lovely leather interior. I reckon that should be more than adequate for President, Taoiseach etc. That's seriously what I'd ask for of I wanted to demonstrate that I was in touch with the people during a fiscal crisis.

I drive one myself. If it is good enough for me....... However there is a danger that he will get lost in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

galljga1 wrote: »
    I drive one myself. If it is good enough for me....... However there is a danger that he will get lost in the back.

Straight to hell for that one.:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭RyanMGF

Considering how poor quality the modern E-Class is I can't blame him to be honest.

Myrddin wrote: »
    Why though? Are we really still there, that it's a reflection of a man what car he rolls up in that he didn't pay for?

If you genuinely want to make a good impression on people - Take two presidents, & both roll up in brand new cars. One exits a brand new S Class. The other exits a brand new Passat (or any other regular comfortable saloon) & says "I know my car isn't as desirable as the S Class, but I chose the regular car so the excess funds left over could go towards building homeless accommodation/charity/helping people in need." - I know which one would make a better impression for me, & my respect would go up exponentially for that individual.

No. Its not so much a reflection of the man as a reflection of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

You look at nearly all foreign heads of state and they'll have by and large, they'll have a fleet of Mercs. It gives off a better impression at a glance and even though the sentiment of turning up in a high end VW is noble, I think an S Class or even A8 is something the President of the country should have, if we're keeping it for pushing a decade too its not the worst bit of business the state can do.

I would however be more concerned if they were splashing out on a new motor every year which isnt the case.

BMJD wrote: »
    It's relatively cheap over ~10 years, I'd go for a Jag XJ or a Lexus LS600h though.

The ls is a dinosaur. The naughties called, they want their car back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

S600 Maybach is the only way to roll. I'd like to see my stealth taxes going to someone who actually works in this country.

No. Its not so much a reflection of the man as a reflection of the country.

A reflection of certain ideals maybe (wealth, luxury, fashionable, premium). I dunno, as I said, roll up in a standard saloon, broadcast the message that you could have had an S500 but chose to use the money for good....& I think it sends a much better message to anyone worth impressing. I also think it'd put a little egg on others leaders faces, & certainly get my attention.

But when a large portion of the cost of the car is tax, I don't see why you would choose the lessor car.
    But a fiesta tax free. Sell fiesta at 3 years for same as you paid for it.
    Buy s class merc tax free, sell as 3 years for same as you paid for it.
    No doubt the presidential costs have to include the taxes but at the end of the day the cost to the tax payer won't include the tax.

But when a large portion of the cost of the car is tax, I don't see why you would choose the lessor car.
    But a fiesta tax free. Sell fiesta at 3 years for same as you paid for it.
    Buy s class merc tax free, sell as 3 years for same as you paid for it.
    No doubt the presidential costs have to include the taxes but at the end of the day the cost to the tax payer won't include the tax.

It's not about the cost to the taxpayer, I've already said it's chump change in that respect. It's about sending a different message, something different...something that'd make people take note. I dunno, it's a silly point I'm making I suppose, just saying a leader with on that level of thinking would immediately catch my attention for the right reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd argue otherwise. Yes it sends a good message to the people of Ireland (albeit a trivial one as the cost is negligible), but potentially a bad message internationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

freddieot wrote: »
    It's not about the cost to the taxpayer, I've already said it's chump change in that respect. It's about sending a different message, something different...something that'd make people take note. I dunno, it's a silly point I'm making I suppose, just saying a leader with on that level of thinking would immediately catch my attention for the right reasons.
    The message would get lost though. You state your reason at the time, then maybe at the first outing, then people will get sick of you saying it if you keep spouting on about how great you are or they'll forget you did it and you'll just be appearing in an ordinary car.
    F**k it, just go for an armoured S600L with some Brabus tuning and keep her lit! :)

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    F**k it, just go for an armoured S600L with some Brabus tuning and keep her lit! :)

Ha, I actually drove an armoured embassy car before. A BMW 750iL (E38). Was a beast, bullet proof glass that didn't drop so you needed an intercom to speak to the outside with. The weight of the doors was something else, & it had a fire extinguisher system built around the engine

A proper state car in other words! :)

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    A proper state car in other words! :)

Well, it did ferry around more than a glorified ribbon cutter :p

Yourself and a few chicks you were trying to impress, ya?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Mercedes? BMW? Audi? Pedestrian.

This is how you do "state car" :D:D:D

MASERA.jpg

Base price, 117k. Pedestrian too, this is the GTS - 153k. Before all the "presidential" gadgets are installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The President's car is a Garda car, so no tax. I also understand they always go for Petrol for the Prez, you cant waft solemnly up to a memorial ceremony in a diesel, no matter how refined or modern.

I see the Guards ferrying around Ban-Ki Moon on the news last night in a 151 7 Series LWB, maybe they could give it to Michael D when theyre done!

In all seriousness they would probably have to tender for a new luxury car, probably a tussle between the Germans. The A8 is an understated barge, would look nice in Navy blue, the new S-Class is probably a bit blingey, and the 7er is old now.

New A8 Quattro 3.0 TFSI LWB, €96,500

New S400 Hybrid LWB €109,270

I imagine either manufacturer would make a handsome discount for the free marketing as State car provider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

A Toyota Century would be a nice F U to the Germans. But would they be supplied to anyone but the Japanese Emperor, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

moleyv wrote: »
    As long as it has ISOFIX they should fit him in just fine....

oh god man you're killing me:D

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Mercedes? BMW? Audi? Pedestrian.

This is how you do "state car" :D:D:D

MASERA.jpg

Base price, 117k. Pedestrian too, this is the GTS - 153k. Before all the "presidential" gadgets are installed.

Mary Robinson had an alfa in the earlier days of her presidency followed by an E38 bmw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Mary Robinson had an alfa in the earlier days of her presidency followed by an E38 bmw

Back when we knew what we could actually afford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

yep alfa 164 iirc :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

mickmmc wrote: »
    There is a report in today's independent and in Phoenix that the President sent back a New Mercedes as he wanted a superior model. The superior model was €40,000 dearer. The Gardaí denied the story. I assume that he got a E class and wanted an S class. Would there be a difference of €40,000 in the price of an E class and S class?

midget parasite;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

mickmmc wrote: »

<<feigns outrage for five milliseconds>>