Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Duper Official AH Eurovision thread

• 18-05-2015 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭

Super duper mega official AH Eurovision thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

If there was ever a feel good approach to a normally dull contest which I just flick over to see the results .. It's the entrant from Finland ..

I watched them this evening on a news channel and they brought a smile to my heart , not in a "sure God love them way" but well done for getting across the barriers that society imposes to stop people growing and great music too boot!!!

I'm backing them to win for straight out greatness !!

So AHs who Gives you the inspiration to move and grow from

Have you ever being inspired to reach further on hearing a story that touched you ..

What's your inspiring story

http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/tv-radio/578313/Eurovision-2015-Finland-s-entry-PKN-becomes-first-band-with-special-needs-to-compete

http://youtu.be/OR6BixXmo08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

First semi final is on.I think its traditional to have a piss take thread for our sexy European neighbours.
    So,look at them fecking eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Youd still ride them though wouldn't you op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It has to be said early on. The blonde host. Yes please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Watching Eurovision presenters attempting jokes that the audience never laughs at is always a harrowing experience.

Lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Who in Moldova thought that was a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

id say ill just spend the night here quoting marty whelan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It's just about better than the angelus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

kneemos wrote: »
    First semi final is on.I think its traditional to have a piss take thread for our sexy European neighbours.
    So,look at them fecking eejits.

And Australia. Seriously, WTF is that all about? Early favourites for me are Finland though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Celine wannabe has the obligatory wind machine and key change - jaysus she'll catch her death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭sjb25

What's this a staring competion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

sjb25 wrote: »
    What's this a staring competion

A stony gaze from Estonia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Lana96

Are we on tonight or??

Lana96 wrote: »
    Are we on tonight or??

What did you have in mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

It's Columbo, only forty years younger!!

It's Britney forty stone heavier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Bring back the orchestra!

Sign language. and then they strip and we're off to Ibiza

What I meant was is ireland on tonight? :)

Which ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Jaysus was that The Chaser singing?

We're on Thursday:)

Hungary sounds Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

talk about bringing the craic down to a depressing level

Get Finland back on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

What happened to the girl from Hungary's lips?

she has none

We are on second on Thursday. 10 from each semi qualify for the final along with the 7 already there.

http://www.eurovision.tv/page/news?id=running_order_of_semi-finals_revealed

Anyone know when austrailia are on!?

Saturday night in the final. They did not have to qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Terrible punk band with Xfactor back story.. I would be less harsh if they were actual any good.

ELSA!!!!

Romania at number 15 will be singing in Romanian. Any other non English?

BTW if they get the chance, Romania and Moldova always give each other 12 points same as Greece and Cyprus.

That Russian Girl was bleeding gorgeous, not a gay man in that audience that didnt think ''phrrrrrow''

major bill wrote: »
    That Russian Girl was bleeding gorgeous, not a gay man in that audience that didnt think ''phrrrrrow''

She could do with getting some of the cake which the Serbian girl obviously thrives on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

major bill wrote: »

That bird can invade me anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Given up on this. Very meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Think Russia are favourites

That Danish chap looks more Irish than anything...

Think Russia are favourites

Not how it works tonight. 10 will be going through but their rankings will not be revealed until the whole thing is over after Saturday. You can hardly judge someone as favourite until you see all 27 finalists on Saturday.

What are with those sleeves though????!!

holy jesus I have to cover my ears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

She cant really sing, but I would happily grant her asylum anytime.

I like Estonia and think they will be there or thereabouts,

the Russians bully tactics on Ukraine wont go down well with the voting public, good song but politics will play a part

that last song was ****e

I saw the Georgian bird last night in the dress rehearsal. She looks like a bird with the feathers and the beak on her head. If she wears the same gear tonight.

ha it's Gigi D'agostino

I saw the Georgian bird last night in the dress rehearsal. She looks like a bird with the feathers and the beak on her head. If she wears the same gear tonight.

Got your wish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Here in Germany, Ireland is known in popular culture for a few things.

In recent times - how Ireland has gone from being one of the PIIGS to now having the fastest growing economy in the Eurozone. A recent editorial piece in Germany's premium broadsheet discussed how Ireland navigated the crisis through strong Governance, and is now a threat to Germany for capturing the hearts and minds of young European entrepreneurs.

Secondly, the quality of our dairy products. Kerrygold butter is a household name here in Germany. Irish beef is seen as a real premium product in good restaurants.

Thirdly, our record in the Eurovision. It might seem twee, but Rivervision was the finest pan-European advertisement for a county in the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Here in Germany, Ireland is known in popular culture for a few things.

In recent times - how Ireland has gone from being one of the PIIGS to now having the fastest growing economy in the Eurozone. A recent editorial piece in Germany's premium broadsheet discussed how Ireland navigated the crisis through strong Governance, and is now a threat to Germany for capturing the hearts and minds of young European entrepreneurs.

Secondly, the quality of our dairy products. Kerrygold butter is a household name here in Germany. Irish beef is seen as a real premium product in good restaurants.

Thirdly, our record in the Eurovision. It might seem twee, but Rivervision was the finest pan-European advertisement for a county in the last 30 years.
    Surely you mean Dairygold? Kerrygold is awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Were we not one of the fastest growing economies in Europe before we joined the PIIGS ranks too? Have we actually recovered? :-/

Anyway, Italy are going to win.