Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are a mans options?

• 19-05-2015 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

So myself and my mate were in a shopping centre car park earlier look for a spot. We had been waiting for about 15 mins, when a spot became vacant. my mate was driving and went to park, as did another car. my friend went ahead and parked in...Next minute we see the other driver (a woman) jump out of her car coming towards us. The two of them had words and one word led to another until she slapped him right in the face...... I nearly pissed myself laughing at my mate but he wasnt impressed at all. He started shouting at her until i dragged him away. he was fuming for ages after saying he should have hit her back.....

thats my question....what would have happened if he had have hit her back?
    Im not sure what the legal implications would be? Can a man hit back in defence?
    do you think he should have hit her back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

15 minutes to find a parking spot on a Tuesday in May?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

This is going to be an awesome thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Tony Beetroot

strobe wrote: »
    This is going to be an awesome thread.

Dont forget the popcorn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

He should have boxed the head off her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ftse100

Haha. This is going to be quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

A nice bloke would have let the lady have the parking spot.
    And god knows what knacker stuff he said before he got slapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I would have boxed the jaw off her. No joke

****ing bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Am i the only one thinking there is a wolf whistle or some other gob****e behaviour missing from this story.

Ye are boys, mooching in car parks.

Only scum bags do this, or hit women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Kelly06

_Brian wrote: »

Oh no you didn't !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Is that you Dermot? Or is it Dave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I'm assuming ye had the intelligence to take down the crazy lady's reg number. Go to the guards with that & get her charged with assault. That'll soften her cough. No need to stoop to violence yourself.

chair28 wrote: »
    So myself and my mate were in a shopping centre car park earlier look for a spot. We had been waiting for about 15 mins, when a spot became vacant. my mate was driving and went to park, as did another car. my friend went ahead and parked in...Next minute we see the other driver (a woman) jump out of her car coming towards us. The two of them had words and one word led to another until she slapped him right in the face...... I nearly pissed myself laughing at my mate but he wasnt impressed at all. He started shouting at her until i dragged him away. he was fuming for ages after saying he should have hit her back.....

thats my question....what would have happened if he had have hit her back?
    Im not sure what the legal implications would be? Can a man hit back in defence?
    do you think he should have hit her back?

No win situation. It's just not socially acceptable for a man to hit a woman even if it's self-defence (provided he has the ability to walk away).

I reckon your mate did the best thing. Got his car park space and the moral high ground. The woman was clearly a nutter and he rose above it. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Disgrace from the woman
    If it was the other way around..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

She deserved to be slapped back but it's best not to do so, because (1) It's being the bigger person, and (2) She'd use her already inflated sense of entitlement to play the victim (despite also delivering a slap herself).

Disgrace from the woman

There is literally no denying that if this was the other way around there about be absolute uproar

Without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

This is why we can't have nice things. The two cars should be taken away and crushed, and all three of ye fcuked into a piss-smelling cell until ye learn to behave like adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Disgrace from the woman

If the man hit the women she was a disgrace?

You trying to get into the next Eats, shoots and leaves book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Take the woman's registration number and report her to the gardai, it's an assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Get your friend to engage her in conversation while you run off to the shops and get a wig, dress and makeup.

Then pull her around by the hair and hit her with your stiletto.

Make sure your mate records it, naturally.

_Brian wrote: »
    As a woman, I'm of the view whoever gets the space first is the one who should have it. If a man offers it to a woman, it's a nice act, but he wouldn't be "not nice" for not doing so.

Possibly didn't say any knacker stuff before he got slapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Said it before, I'll say it again - equal rights, equal lefts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

(2) She'd use her already inflated sense of entitlement to play the victim (despite also delivering a slap herself).

it's what they call selective equality.
    women want to be treated equally, but still play the "poor defenseless little lady" card when it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think there is a context where it might be acceptable, like where you hear of lads getting attacked by drunken bitches on the street at 3am. I think self defense is permissible there. I don't think punching an irate woman in a carpark on a wet Tuesday is ever a runner though!

women want to be treated equally, but still play the "poor defenseless little lady" card when it suits them.
    Be a bit more specific there dude.

Possibly didn't say any knacker stuff before he got slapped.

Possibly (most likely) got slapped by a knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Be a bit more specific there dude.

Pretty sure he's correct in saying all women do this.

Go easy on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

We were more in shock than anything else.... its not in his nature to hit a woman and i think he was just trying to act hard man after by saying he should have hit her back......But what would happen if he did? Would he be in the wrong and get arrested or what?

on a side note, why should he give her the parking spot ?? that's just ridiculous. youd be waiting all day for a spot if that was the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

He must have the reflexes of a tortoise. Most women would telegraph a slap and should be relatively easy to block.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

But it's not genuinely self defence if you can walk away. Legally you have a duty to walk away.
    A woman isn't going to get charged for slapping a man. If he hit back then there is a good possibility of a charge. Personally I would prefer that he was charged in that context. Slap or no slap, if your inhibition against violence towards women is that low being locked up is probably the best thing for you.

By the way when I say self defence for a man I mean the following should be tried in sequential order in order to defend the man:
    1. Walk away
    2. Hold hands in front of head face to block any slaps/hits
    3. Hold outstretched arm to maintain a distance between you and the woman

Self-defence does NOT mean hitting the woman back. That is retribution.

Geniass wrote: »
    He must have the reflexes of a tortoise. Most women would telegraph a slap and should be relatively easy to block.

Difficult when it's a sucker punch or swing without warning. I've been on the receiving end of one in my time and it was a very sneaky blow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Bare in mind I'm no fancy big city lawyer *hooks thumbs through suspenders*. But yeah, I'm pretty sure it's illegal. You have to have no other option but to defend yourself through force to use force. He could have turned and run away. But what she did was also illegal obviously.

Personally I'd have slapped her back just slightly harder than she slapped me. 'Cause, fvck her. She'd probably think twice before the next time she did it too. It's a public service of sorts really, when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Give her a radio nova and walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

But it's not genuinely self defence if you can walk away. Legally you have a duty to walk away.
    A woman isn't going to get charged for slapping a man. If he hit back then there is a good possibility of a charge. Personally I would prefer that he was charged in that context. Slap or no slap, if your inhibition against violence towards women is that low being locked up is probably the best thing for you.

Why shouldn't a woman be charged for hitting a man? I wouldn't expect her to do time or anything but surely it's still simple assault. Striking someone over a parking spot should not be acceptable, regardless of a person's gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Hitting women is not politically correct. Your mate should have reported her to fuzz for assault.

Not me though, I'd be apologising profusely for incurring her wrath.Then as she walks away,bang!A good boot up the hole,and when she turns around deny the whole thing,a la Father Ted and bishop brennan.

Not sure if trolling or just huge idiot

At Slane the year before last as we were leaving my wife was pushed to the ground by some skanger scumbag girl and nobody reacted. When I gave her a Jonathan Sexton style kick to the hole everyone turned on me saying I was an animal for assaulting a girl.
    I did it because my wife was using her cane (she is blind in her left eye from being born premature) it was dark, and I was defending her.
    Its only assault when the woman gets hurt

Custardpi wrote: »
    Why shouldn't a woman be charged for hitting a man? I wouldn't expect her to do time or anything but surely it's still simple assault. Striking someone over a parking spot should not be acceptable, regardless of a person's gender.
    How often is anyone of either gender charged for a slap?
    It's a slap. Get over it. Only likely significant effect is on reputation of slapper.

How often is anyone of either gender charged for a slap?
    It's a slap. Get over it. Only likely significant effect is on reputation of slapper.

So you'd let me come up to you and slap you across the face then, bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Hitting women is not politically correct. Your mate should have reported her to fuzz for assault.

Not me though, I'd be apologising profusely for incurring her wrath.Then as she walks away,bang!A good boot up the hole,and when she turns around deny the whole thing,a la Father Ted and bishop brennan.

I would have ran away............then circled and took a running boot to her hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

agree with most people here, nobody cares if its a woman doing it to a man but once its the other way around its a massive deal.... like women need to decide if they want everything equal and if so they should act accordingly... going around dishing out slaps over car park spots is ridiculous

Remarkable deflection of responsibility going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ftse100 wrote: »
    Haha. This is going to be quality.

But not Equality I imagine

So you'd let me come up to you and slap you across the face then, bollox
    Not getting into that. Nothing lamer than keyboard warrior handbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

For those saying he should have hit back, What's he going to do? Men don't hit with open hand slaps and he could potentially do major harm if he unloaded a full force punch to the woman.

I know it was wrong for her to hit him but you have to try and be civilised and be the bigger person in these situations, same thing if a man starts in on ya (unless theres a genuine need for self defence), fighting is never worth the hassle it creates afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Drop to the ground
    Claim against her for assault causing injuries>Whiplash, sore back, emotional distress, the usual

Profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Best case scenario, ring the guards and get a charge against her.also attractive scenario -hard open handed clatter.will hurt her won't cause damage.worst case scenario -doing nothing and letting a scumbag get away with being a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

I would have gone to the nearest place that sold fish and shoved some in the engine bay of her car..

Everyone that got in the car after that would think she had a rotten fanny..