Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenager dies after allegedly taking PMMA Pills *Mod warning first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

there are always bad pills doing the rounds though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Most ecstasy is dodgy. Hardly a surprise after taking 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

A Dublin girl collapsed suffering from a heart attack outside the Twisted Pepper nightclub last night, she had apparently taken three fake ecstasy pills called PMMA or Superman pills from a bad batch that came from the Netherlands to the UK in January. http://www.theguardian.com/society/2015/jan/16/superman-pill-deaths-dangerous-drugs-alert-system

http://www.joe.ie/news/dublin-teenager-fights-for-her-life-after-taking-pills-on-a-night-out/496279

Thank you. And now over to Barry with the sports news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Is MDMA itself a lethal drug?

If not it should be sold legally, would stop people consuming god knows what with the MDMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Pretty sure most users would avoid PMA and PMMA given the choice. Most would prefer MDMA, MDA, or MDEA. Risk associated with the drug mention are much greater, than the old favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I hope she'll be okay. Poor girl!

Hopefully this will be an eye-opener to other people her age (and any age) that take pills without checking what is in them.

Pretty mental taking 3. If one doesn't do it for ya, don't waste your time with more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mocha please!

I know feck all about drugs, but I would think taking three "real" ones could well lead to someone collapsing anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Depraved

No sympathy for adults/older teens who take recreational drugs. They are old enough to know the risks of ingesting/injection/smoking a substance of unknown quantity & content supplied to them by people who couldn't give a damn about their life/health.

If not it should be sold legally, would stop people consuming god knows what with the MDMA.

Afaik it can be lethal...but not next or near alcohol or cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

This always seems to happen coming up to the summer festival season, thats when you have to be wary what you take at an event, so Life Festival, Forbidden Fruit, Body & Soul, Longitude and all other festivals, parties and raves take heed.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If the label said take one after meals would that stop some people taking three?

Depraved wrote: »
    No sympathy for adults/older teens who take recreational drugs. They are old enough to know the risks of ingesting/injection/smoking a substance of unknown quantity & content supplied to them by people who couldn't give a damn about their life/health.

I know a few alcoholics and I do feel sorry for them. One acquaintance drank himself to death in the past month, picked him up recently, he was stinking of rotting flesh, asked him if he wanted to go to a doctor or if I could take him for a meal or to his relations. He asked me to take him to the pub. He died a week later. Must say I don't share your "he knew the risks, screw him" attitude.

Anything other than "it is thought that..." from a poor article to say it was dodgy? Could easily be a reaction to taking 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Pill report...that is all

Were they already up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

While I hope the girl in question recovers, this isn't a surprise... dodgy drugs bought from dodgy characters = problems waiting to happen :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Hardly a guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Given the amount of yokes getting necked here every week vs serious incidents , I'd say it's still generally safe enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Vast majority isn't dodgy. Of the millions of people who take pills every weekend, an incident like this is exceptionally rare.

I agree with Buttonftw that it might be that she took three (risky for an inexperienced user) rather than the pills being dodgy.

Were they already up there?

I have heard of Supermans before but if they weren't on there already, don't take them...simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Usually most people that suffer an adverse reaction to MDMA have an underlying health problem.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    While I hope the girl in question recovers, this isn't a surprise... dodgy drugs bought from dodgy characters = problems waiting to happen :(

True, but it's the crazy drugs policy that reduces it to dodgy drugs from dodgy characters. In a country that sees so much harm wrought by perfectly good alcohol bought from perfectly nice publicans, it's hard to understand the criminalisation of taking E.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Was not aware it had even left..

Only a fool takes pills containing who the **** knows what and that's a lot of fools. At least take pure mdma if you want a safe, fun time off your head. Moderation and lack of alcohol highly advised.

I have heard of Supermans before but if they weren't on there already, don't take them...simple as

Is it possible to test whats in the pills yourself with something or is that more for a lab?

Vast majority isn't dodgy. Of the millions of people who take pills every weekend, an incident like this is exceptionally rare.

I agree with Buttonftw that it might be that she took three (risky for an inexperienced user) rather than the pills being dodgy.

True.

But it suits the anti E agenda, the hysteria whipped up in the UK in the early 90s when the media blamed every wrong on E but ignored much more harmful drugs like alcohol was just incredible. I guess no red top headline or Government policy was ever formed by calm rational thinking.

Is it possible to test whats in the pills yourself with something or is that more for a lab?

Not sure. There is lads who put up stuff on pill report and some post about doing some colour reaction tests...you'd want to know a bit about it I'd say but I'd say anyone could do a half reliable test on them if they were so inclined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭the nikkei is rising

She was 18/19 you cretin. No discussion to be had about sympathy it's a foregone conclusion for anyone not acting the bigman on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

She was 18/19 you cretin. No discussion to be had about sympathy it's a foregone conclusion for anyone not acting the bigman on the internet.

And thusly an adult and surely recieved some sort of drug education in school to know not to consume some unknown chemicals produced and supplied by some scumbags on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

You can get reagent test kits which can test for MDMA content, PMA content etc.(PMA usually what is put in bad pills instead of MDMA, has a slower effect, which is why people end up taking even more pills).
    Ethical dealers and many users opt to use these kits, and put the results up on websites such as PillReports. Warnings about 'dodgy' pills in Ireland, such as Green Rolex's, are often up online prior to any deaths.

There is definitely a case for the decriminalisation of MDMA along with cannabis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Vast majority isn't dodgy..
    It turns ordinary everyday people into jawchomping arm waving morons. That's dodgy enough for me!:pac:

Yakult wrote: »
    Was not aware it had even left..

Only a fool takes pills containing who the **** knows what and that's a lot of fools. At least take pure mdma if you want a safe, fun time off your head. Moderation and lack of alcohol highly advised.

Why are people buying pills if they can buy pure mdma.

How can you be sure that's pure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

True, but it's the crazy drugs policy that reduces it to dodgy drugs from dodgy characters. In a country that sees so much harm wrought by perfectly good alcohol bought from perfectly nice publicans, it's hard to understand the criminalisation of taking E.

Do you not see the contradiction in that statement?

On one hand you (correctly) point out the negative impact alcohol abuse has on this country, and then you advocate for legalising more harmful drugs. You only have to walk around Dublin City Centre to see the effects their ready availability has now.

I know this is AH, with a predominantly younger "cooler" more liberal crowd (and I'm only - almost - 40 myself) but legalising E and the rest isn't the answer either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭poeticmakaveli

A Dublin girl collapsed suffering from a heart attack outside the Twisted Pepper nightclub last night, she had apparently taken three fake ecstasy pills called PMMA or Superman pills from a bad batch that came from the Netherlands to the UK in January. I think personally its a bit stupid to take three of something you know damn all about, better to take half of one rather than to gob three of them.

Better to take none than gob 3 of them!
    Its a disgrace that a young man takes drugs but to see a young girl take drugs is disgraceful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There was an article in Vice recently and apparently the purity and strength has increased massively in the last 10 years. Dodgy pills are less and less likely now.

Although superman, mitzi's and bacardi's are still used. Guess there's a lesson in there about branding.

Still, in the old days I'd buy a week beforehand and start with a half. That way if there were dodgy ones they'd appear in the news first and talking a half eased me into it. I never liked the rush of the come up on pills. I can only imagine how utterly terrifying it would be on three genuine pills. Hell, for most pill popper three pills would be enough for a night, not a start of a night.

Better to take none than gob 3 of them!
    Its a disgrace that a young man takes drugs but to see a young girl take drugs is disgraceful!

You feel the same about alcohol?

On one hand you (correctly) point out the negative impact alcohol abuse has on this country, and then you advocate for legalising more harmful drugs. You only have to walk around Dublin City Centre to see the effects their ready availability has now.

I know this is AH, with a predominantly younger "cooler" more liberal crowd (and I'm only - almost - 40 myself) but legalising E and the rest isn't the answer either.

If I walked around Dublin, what exactly are the effects of E that would I see? I would have thought them hard to discern, what with the visible effects of alcohol or hard drugs like heroin.

That's not true at all. Its very bad for business if someone dies from your supply.

Actually, just to add, there are risks even with pure MDMA but they're not that bad. MDMA is one of the few drugs that could be sold legally. A safe dose of MDMA would keep someone partying for a night, with minimal risks and would be rather cheap.

The problem for years that there are loads of derivatives that were sold. MDEA was the most common in Ireland. Similar high but the side effects are worse. And that includes the comedown/scag/whatever you call it.

Remember next to no-one has ever died tasking MDMA. Bad things happen when people take stuff they think is MDMA.

Anyone else remember the guy in Wicklow (I think it was there) who took some pills that were about 20% E and the rest was PCP. Because he wasn't getting a hit from the pills he took more and more. Problem is that PCP takes a lot longer to kick in that E. So he ended up trying to claw his own eyes out. It's nasty, nasty ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

I suspect he would not like to see a girl drinking pints either.

What effects in Dublin city centre? The problematic behaviour in Dublin city centre is down to alcohol and cocaine I'd have thought.
    The thing about E is that it makes people non confrontational.

I cannot see a downside to legalisation of drugs - for one, they'd be safer.

A single pill should get someone high for a few hours. On a full nights session most people would do between 2-4. Many would just do the one.
    Doing three is the alcohol equivalent of necking a bottle of pure alcohol.

One disclaimer though. I knew a guy years ago who did far too many over far too long a time. You actually build a tolerance to this stuff. He used to take 4 at once. It was insane. In one night he'd do as many as my friends would as a group. We were the once every month or two kinda people. Big nights out planned in advance. He was the Monday, Wednesday, Friday kind of guy.

So there's always a chance this girl was doing them a long time and thought she needed three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Have to say it really takes particularly sad cases to use a probably drunk teenager, that - along with millions of others - exercised relatively poor judgement on a night out, as a platform for smug moralizing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I hope she'll be okay. Poor girl!

Hopefully this will be an eye-opener to other people her age (and any age) that take pills without checking what is in them.

Sad thing is that it won't be just like she never learned from previous scares.

You can predict the future AND you know about past scares she experienced/learned about? That's pretty amazing.

What effects in Dublin city centre? The problematic behaviour in Dublin city centre is down to alcohol and cocaine I'd have thought.

alcohol and opiates are the ones that you see on the streets of Dublin. Cocaine isn't actually physically addictive (I was surprised as **** what I read that). People on coke would prefer crowds. They feel like they are ****ing fantastic people and need a crowd to talk sh1te to.

MDMA is different. It makes people loved up. You are far more likely to be randomly hugged by a person on MDMA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You can predict the future AND you know about past scares she experienced/learned about? That's pretty amazing.

Other scares of dangerous drugs and fatal results in recent momths didn't stop her from taking them. Equally people just think it won't happen them and we'll hear in another few months that someone else had taken dodgy pills.

Those are the risks unfortunately

I would never advocate legalisation of all drugs, just a declassification of E/MDMA and cannabis and a recognition that there are far more harmful drugs sold over the counters of pubs and pharmacies. I only criticise drug policy to that extent. I fully accept that hard drugs should not be legalised.

Grayson wrote: »
    alcohol and opiates are the ones that you see on the streets of Dublin. Cocaine isn't actually physically addictive (I was surprised as **** what I read that). People on coke would prefer crowds. They feel like they are ****ing fantastic people and need a crowd to talk sh1te to.
    Cocaine can make people aggressive in sufficient quantities and combined with alcohol though. This is documented. I wouldn't say it's that commonplace though.
    Yeah I knew cocaine wasn't physically addictive, but like anything, it can be psychologically addictive.