Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***2015 LC Construction - June 12th***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 not.a.robot97

Hi guys just wondering what yous think will be coming up on this years paper, particularly the Q1 drawing. I'm guessing water supply or heating will also be up considering the water charges.

Let me know thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Kermin

Hi guys just wondering what yous think will be coming up on this years paper, particularly the Q1 drawing. I'm guessing water supply or heating will also be up considering the water charges.

Let me know thanks!

MHRV and wheelchair access ability always come up. That's about all we've actually covered too.

Most likely not an eaves detail as it came up last year, ive looked at the recent Q1's and am guessing its gonna be an:
    Opening (window, wall, foundation)
    Stairs (top or bottom)
    or Hearth

Also a useful link : www. constructionstudiesq1.weebly.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Quarks

I could see a fireplace coming up. Pray to god it doesn't.

Most likely not an eaves detail as it came up last year, ive looked at the recent Q1's and am guessing its gonna be an:
    Opening (window, wall, foundation)
    Stairs (top or bottom)
    or Hearth

Stairs was up in 2013 I doubt itll be again. Suspended timber floor like in the mocks hasn't been up in ages.

Really struggling to get my stairs detail to line up, praying it doesn't come up

I know absolutely nothing for this exam our teacher hasn't done half the course. Lucky its mostly common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Dkey

Kermin wrote: »
    I know absolutely nothing for this exam our teacher hasn't done half the course. Lucky its mostly common sense

Yeah, same here... Our teacher always talked to girls instead of doing normal classes...
    I hope that we won't get a question like in 2012 where you had to manipulate with the drawing in Q1. I would be delighted with stairs as it is quite simple rest of the questions is hard ;/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭ShaunDaSheep

Highly doubt window will come up. It was the question 7 last year and it focused 100% on windows. Personally I can see it being either a chimney , door or suspended timber floor drawing however i could be 100% wrong

What questions are people planning on answering ?
    I'm hoping to do Q1, heating, U-value, Q10 (a) and maybe the Q7 if it looks nice enough lol

Dkey wrote: »
    Yeah, same here... Our teacher always talked to girls instead of doing normal classes...
    I hope that we won't get a question like in 2012 where you had to manipulate with the drawing in Q1. I would be delighted with stairs as it is quite simple rest of the questions is hard ;/

Man that sounds just like our teacher :p
    We were talking about vibrating rods in fifth year someone found it funny, he picked up on it referred to the fact " we wouldn't want to see his rod" gleeming smile on his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 evertinian

i think ther is a good chance on door threshold coming up this year

evertinian wrote: »
    i think ther is a good chance on door threshold coming up this year

What's that? For a wheelchair?

nah im not sure about that stuff i was taking about the question 1 drawings

i hope somthing about personal safety comes up this year, its easy enuf

would love a bitta wheel chair accessibility, a nice easy Q1 for once, a nice Q10, if stairs cam up for Q7 i may consider and maybe a nice renovation question

Wait so looking through the exam papers we always get a; planning of house(q6) passive house (10a), question 2 is usually common sense, on top of the obvious uValue and Drawing questions. Looks like I'll be revising passive house and planning. But no clue for the q1 hope it has a foundation in it get some marks
    anyway

the drawings seem to have gotten way harder in recent years. Like i you look back at 2005,4,3 the drawings are lovely basic foundation etc but now they comine like 3 drawings together. I think they forget we only can afford 35m per question :(

ya thats true thats why i had more of a look at the other drawings

What's that? For a wheelchair?

yeah the usual door threshold has a wheelchair ramp in it

cant learn the drawings at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 KA97

Does anyone know where I can learn U-values? Our teacher didn't cover it but it looks like a handy enough question.

KA97 wrote: »
    Does anyone know where I can learn U-values? Our teacher didn't cover it but it looks like a handy enough question.

Have you got 'Get Constructive' they do it well

Only have my notes and we didn't cover it :/ any websites on it do you know ? :)

No sorry lad. Only use my book.

wish we could eliminate some drawings that are not going to come up in Q1

So no one has any idea for the drawing ? great we're all done for :(

i got 60% in my mock and that was the 2nd highest in a class of 25 :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 sponge151

anyone have a good site of all the drawings ?

how many drawings is there to pick from for question 1 ?

sponge151 wrote: »
    how many drawings is there to pick from for question 1 ?

What do you mean they tell you what to draw but it can be a combination of drawings.

yes i know how many drawings have you learned like stairs fireplace etc ?

None :D but I have a pretty good memory of what foundations with a fire place and suspended timber floor and a stairs look like. Other than that no idea

i really hope the roof our the stair our foundation comes up if any them come up i am sorted ! had a **** teacher all year so we didnt learn alot of the theory so im hopeing it will be a nice paper !

You think you didn't learn a lot of theory. We did 4 drawings, u value, passive house and a bit on wheelchairs in 2 years. And why stairs they're way to detailed

yeah we didnt even do u values we did stairs roof and water sytem and thats it i like the stairs i find them easy to draw. most of the questions are coomon sense though arent they like question 10 you can normally bul**** on about something for a page and get marks if a healthy and saftey question comes up it will be so handy

Its common sense to a point but certain things can't be bull...... and all the details in drawings is a pain. Just hate the damn subject. At least I'm a have half the marks got already anyway

that is true some of it cant. i know and they take some paitence to draw. excatly hopeing to be sitting on a good few percent with the project and pratical it is a horrible subject but after tomorow im free no more exams !!

Same man but this going to be 3 bad hours. Also never finished my day piece

might be 3 bad hours but hopefully it wil be 3 fast hours haha !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Patsy6546

We can rule out eaves detail since it came up last year. I'm thinking electricity will appear since its been 3 years since its appeared last and I'm hoping sound comes up too

Realistically how many drawings can they actual ask I know there's like 30 but it seems like they cycle the same 5 or double one up to throw you off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 johnnysgot123

Wtf is a stairs drawing?! I'm banking on Fireplace / wall,window,roof /Door Threshold for Q1
    Q2 Wheelchair Accessibilty or Saftey
    Q3 A renovation question
    Q5 U-value
    Q6 Planning - low envrio impact
    Q10a MHRV
    Q4,8 or 9 will be either sound, sewage/waste management - due to septic tank charge yoke/ Heating water system - Water taxes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Mitchell15

Ah lads, it's a nice subject! Just do question 6 and 10 (a), they overlap in places, u-value and if you have to learn the 20 drawings may as well do the 2. If not, pray for safety.
    I'd put my money on stairs, door and some foundation. Wouldn't be surprised if it is the split foundation.
    Q1 generally seems to be foundations, wall and eaves. You just need to know the difference between passive house and timber framed houses.
    Q7 can be really anything, stove, stairs, roof and so on.

does anyone know a website where I can learn U-Values?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 LordKingJimmy

does anyone know a website where I can learn U-Values?

I'll PM you some stuff. Hang on

Just a quick question. How do ye all answer your questions ? In essay type form or bullet point form ?

Bullets points...

How many bullet points considering its for 60 marks

Not too sure... 5 - 8 plus sketches under each heading i'd say... depends on the question