Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

saturday 16th may

• 15-05-2015 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭

Guys
    i notice Gitane Du Berlais travels to France again tomorrow (2.08 auteuil) and is 5/2 fav with pp but im looking for opinions as to his chances. Pipe sends Ballynagour who is rated 155 over hurdles and Nicholls sends Silsol rated 158 yet they are only giving Gitane rated 137 7lbs and 9lbs so on my reckoning he doesnt stand much of a chance.
    Forgive me if im getting this all wrong as im still wearing L plates but would really appreciate someones opinion.
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

was looking at that race too, will probably back both Silsol & Ballynagour. GTB is a bit of a false favorite imo, and is priced purely on course experience.

important thing with French racing is to specify Pari-Mutuel odds on your docket.
    this means you get paid the dividend of the French Tote, which with the french backing their own horses can lead to some big prices on foreign raiders.
    otherwise you'll only get the industry SP.

also noticed Cinders & Ashes is running in a maiden on the flat at Thirsk, 15/2 looks a big price for a horse with his ability over jumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Boys on s stag n not sober but have had a punt on secret witness tomorrow 25/1 unbelievably well in. 3 pts ew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Red Baron (4.50 Thirsk) goes again today just a few days after a fine second to Out Do at York. This looks a much easier assignment and provided he is able to perform to something like the same level as at York then I think he should make short work of these off the same mark.

I think it's telling that SMS pitches Crystal Zvezda (4.20 Newbury) into listed company when there would surely have been ample opportunities in handicaps off a mark of 78. This half sister to Crystal Capella and Hillstar should improve for the step up in trip and may even be a late contender for the Oaks (is entered) were she to win well today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

was looking at that race too, will probably back both Silsol & Ballynagour. GTB is a bit of a false favorite imo, and is priced purely on course experience.

important thing with French racing is to specify Pari-Mutuel odds on your docket.
    this means you get paid the dividend of the French Tote, which with the french backing their own horses can lead to some big prices on foreign raiders.
    otherwise you'll only get the industry SP.

also noticed Cinders & Ashes is running in a maiden on the flat at Thirsk, 15/2 looks a big price for a horse with his ability over jumps.

Any way to do this with online/mobile betting Groutch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Night Of Thunder is starting to look like a bit of value at 3/1 for the Lockinge considering he was 9/4 during the week. Only poor run last season was over 10f in a messy Eclipse. Big field today but most of them are Group 3 or Group 2 standard at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Headlong 66-1 ew 2.05
    I think this can run well. Should be super fit from it's Dundalk runs, first time over 2m .

Had a few quid on Dutch Uncle in the next at Newbury, form of his last run is working out well (2nd to Jack Hobbs on the AW last year also better than it looked at the time) and the yard know what it takes to win this race.

Get in there!!

I think it's telling that SMS pitches Crystal Zvezda (4.20 Newbury) into listed company when there would surely have been ample opportunities in handicaps off a mark of 78. This half sister to Crystal Capella and Hillstar should improve for the step up in trip and may even be a late contender for the Oaks (is entered) were she to win well today.

Was contemplating having a minimum bet on her for the Oaks before today's race... wish I had now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

What the fcuk was Hannigan at there?

Red Baron (4.50 Thirsk) goes again today just a few days after a fine second to Out Do at York. This looks a much easier assignment and provided he is able to perform to something like the same level as at York then I think he should make short work of these off the same mark.

Absolute legend, Just need monaleen to win in the 18.15 for the first time ever a L15 to come through.

Glad you followed. Think today put the final nail in the coffin of my Boyles account :mad:

Best of luck with Monaleen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jousting with chairs

Well done mate, nice touch.

Congrats.

I actually backed the Godolphin filly, so also did my bit to help Monaleen :)

American Pharoah wins Preakness in desperate conditions. Next stop Belmont.

http://www.sbnation.com/2015/5/16/8616099/preakness-stakes-video-replay-2015-american-pharoah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Hands and heels. He ran straight to the line, impressive. Let's hope he has left enough in the tank to win the triple crown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Cantonesque

We'll lads, what a weekend. God be with the days of pre cash out! Messed up on Saturday but hindsight is a great thing. Thought Ryan had a good book of rides so had an accumulator with his rides and Night of Thunder. Really fancied Night of Thunder. So stuck my 10 euro accumulator on that morning. First one returned 11/1winner and was 5/1 that morning so nice start. Telescope won well. Anyway after 3 winners I decided to cash in just before off to give ammunition for night of thunder. Next thing Ryan wins the 3rd and would have had 8.5k going on night of thunder ( would have cashed out) and then had 35k approx going on Attachment not found.image.jpg crystal zvadia at 4/1 and guess what. .. It won. So cashed out 1k for a 150k return but lumped on night of thunder. Am I happy???

Just so you know I'm not pulling your leg. When you see it in its reality you feel ill so off to the jacks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

you have made me feel so much better, cashed out after 5 footie selections came in with 3 remaining, the remaining all won so cashed out cost me about €150.

sure look at it like this, your €10 did well.

I am done with cashing out from here on in, will lay of instead - you should join me :)

Thanks "the man", or else as my wife pointed out... Just split your stake and that way can cash 1/2 out and let the other half run. Hindsight is a great thing.

lol, i did not think of that, you should get her advice more often.

don't dwell on it, just move on

Still sick but we'll "Keep on Moving". I feel your pain... Chin up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

One of the stickies on the Forum; Don't aftertime.

He aftertimes.

One of the stickies on the Forum; Don't aftertime.

He aftertimes.

this was Epic After-time, think he can be allowed that considering, better he shared it than stored it up

:P