Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jacksepticeye

• 15-05-2015 11:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Is making more money than you...

Who?

Whadda'ya mean who?

He's Irish, he's a celebrity, he's actually probably more famous than Joe Duffy and Sharon Ní Bheoláin combined and he's only in his mid twenties...

Ahright a 20 something...that's why I don't know him. I'm not down with the kids.

Well if you have kids....grandpa, chances are you've heard of him. I did a quick search on boards and he hasn't been mentioned once. That's funny considering he's earning more money than you for doing nothing other than playing video games on YouTube.

So how's work going for ya? Bet you're delighted it's Friday and you get to browse boards at 1, when you're not allowed out of the office and have to eat at your desk because everyone else does....

I'm just joking with ya :)

Point of the thread being, there's money to be made in that there Youtube. For some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Wtf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

I will also be getting drunk today OP, but not till at least 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Down with begrudgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I will also be getting drunk today OP, but not till at least 1pm

I started at 11:30, it's fine. I'm fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I started at 11:30, it's fine. I'm fine.

is that still the morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I started at 11:30.

Yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Haill Satan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

That's my aim in life, to be more famous than Joe Duffy and Sharon Ni Something.

I have lofty ambitions, don't ya know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

If its not on Boards then no wonder I've not heard of him/it.

Also, this single mention of him/it on boards doesn't exactly clue you in to what the F%^k he/it is about, does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I feel violated after reading that. There are some things in this world I don't need to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Point of the thread being, there's money to be made in that there Youtube. For some.

... I feel like I should start removing items of clothing? Will you make me famous?

syklops wrote: »
    If its not on Boards then no wonder I've not heard of him/it.

Also, this single mention of him/it on boards doesn't exactly clue you in to what the F%^k he/it is about, does it?

he's earning more money than you for doing nothing other than playing video games on YouTube.

What's more to be said? :pac:

Oh yeah nosey posters questioning my drinking that's what! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

tl;didn't watch.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

My internet only has boards.ie on it.

I wouldn't satisfy the feckers to pay the premium for the other channels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Is making more money than you...

Who?

Whadda'ya mean who?

He's Irish, he's a celebrity, he's actually probably more famous than Joe Duffy and Sharon Ní Bheoláin combined and he's only in his mid twenties...

Ahright a 20 something...that's why I don't know him. I'm not down with the kids.

Well if you have kids....grandpa, chances are you've heard of him. I did a quick search on boards and he hasn't been mentioned once. That's funny considering he's earning more money than you for doing nothing other than playing video games on YouTube.

So how's work going for ya? Bet you're delighted it's Friday and you get to browse boards at 1, when you're not allowed out of the office and have to eat at your desk because everyone else does....

I'm just joking with ya :)

I've been a follower of numerous youtube personalities over the years, and most will share the same story, its not all playing games , editing and let the cash roll in. lots of them work upwards of 18 hours a day, playing games trying to get 15 minutes of footage that 'clicks'. also, you're constantly writing your own material for commentating over the vids. not to mention that youtube is full of hateful wasters, who do nothing only post trolling comments and insults, not to mind the whole "swatting" aspect to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

SPEED IS KEY!

Anyway, fair play to him. Nice energetic style to his videos, and he focuses on the smaller indie games i like.

Some back of a hankerchief maths:

Youtube + ads pay around €500-€2000 per million views.
    In terms of viewership and subscribers, and comparing him to much more popular channels, he's middle of the road, so lets call it €1000 per video.
    Youtube takes half: €500. Video editing fees can be anything from free-€500 per video. but if he's to be believed, he edits himself, so thats €0.
    So we're at €500 per video, at 3 videos per week = €1500 weekly.
    Then lets give him some holidays and its ballpark : €75000 pre-tax for a 60-70hr workweek.

I'm not particularly jelly. I'm at similar € p/hr for my 50hr workweek.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    SPEED IS KEY!

Anyway, fair play to him. Nice energetic style to his videos, and he focuses on the smaller indie games i like.

Some back of a hankerchief maths:

Youtube + ads pay around €500-€2000 per million views.
    In terms of viewership and subscribers, and comparing him to much more popular channels, he's middle of the road, so lets call it €1000 per video.
    Youtube takes half: €500. Video editing fees can be anything from free-€500 per video. but if he's to be believed, he edits himself, so thats €0.
    So we're at €500 per video, at 3 videos per week = €1500 weekly.
    Then lets give him some holidays and its ballpark : €75000 pre-tax for a 60-70hr workweek.

I'm not particularly jelly. I'm at similar € p/hr for my 50hr workweek.

He uploads 2 or 3 a day from what I can see. So that's 5 big ones per week we'll say.

Huh.

He used to be slower.

I stand corrected.

2-300000 per year so.

Yes, am now jelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

that would be an ecumenical matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

What's you tube ?

It's the telly tube of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I've been a follower of numerous youtube personalities over the years,.

There are youtube personalities?
    I really have to start watching more than stolen movies, ted talks and lesbian porn:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

What's you tube ?

I'm not sure but I think it's a subteranean vehicle found in and around the Greater London area. You know, one that you can travel in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good for him.

/care

I've been a follower of numerous youtube personalities over the years, and most will share the same story, its not all playing games , editing and let the cash roll in. lots of them work upwards of 18 hours a day, playing games trying to get 15 minutes of footage that 'clicks'. also, you're constantly writing your own material for commentating over the vids. not to mention that youtube is full of hateful wasters, who do nothing only post trolling comments and insults, not to mind the whole "swatting" aspect to it.

I highly doubt anyone is playing and editing 18 hrs a day to get 15 mins of footage. I'm not gonna listen to such crap in my thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

That's like a euphemism for a stubborn foreskin. But I'm sure there is a comparison between a useless piece of skin and flesh and an integral part of a mans anatomy.

Pewdiepie made €3m from YouTube.

Made? You mean makes per year at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I still don't know what a tracker mortgage is :(

You know what that tells you? Be an annoying f*cker and you get rich. This is the world we live in.

I'm trying my best but boards isn't making me no dough.

c_man wrote: »
    ... I feel like I should start removing items of clothing? Will you make me famous?

shhh the camera is rolling. More nude less talk c_man. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

I watch him a lot.

When I first switched it on, I was like "Who is this gimp?" but after watching a few videos and finding a lot of them hilarious, I thought - fair play to you. Better than some wasters doing nothing. He found a niche market of being a overly loud, energetic gamer who posts videos on Youtube and made cash from it.

Anyone that watches his Vlogs/Comment Readings knows he seems pretty sincere and just a normal bloke at the end of the day.

His videos often cheer me up on a Monday evening after work, I wish him the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Spotted him doing Oculus Rift stuff when his channel was small and he was getting a few thousand views per video, that was actually the perfect time to get your channel out there more and I think gave him good coverage since I saw his videos appear on a lot of VR sites.

But I can't stand that style of special kind of Youtuber shouting, screaming and over-exaggerating everything like a child. It's painful stuff that seems to be gobbled up on Youtube but it works.

Fair play to him, though. I checked up on his channel a few weeks back and was genuinely surprised at how massive he's gotten, I know it's not an easy task all the same but just not my flavour at all.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    But I can't stand that style of special kind of Youtuber shouting, screaming and over-exaggerating everything like a child. It's painful stuff that seems to be gobbled up on Youtube but it works.

He's nothing compared to this goon:

Opening picture says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

I've watched his stuff for a while.. I think he falls into a nice section where he is loud and energetic, but to the point when I think it's ok...

The work behind the scenes for youtubers like him can be insane, he was describing it on one of his videos how he often recorded into the early early morning, edited and then slept while the videos processed, then woke up, uploaded videos and then interacted with fans through social media, basically all work and no play..

He seems like a solid guy and genuinely works hard at his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Basically, if it's not current FrankieonPC or Seananners before he sold out I'm not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The only youtubers I watch are Trucker Josh and Luke Vernon. Fair play to this kid for doing well out of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I went to college with him. Lovely fella. I didn't know he was so big in to gaming though so it was a surprise when I found his youtube channel and saw all of his subscribers! He churns out two vids a day I think. That is a serious amount of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Banana republic,
    Jacksepticeye,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

I'm totally lost here folks. I think I've become dyslexic or suffered a mild stroke.

sparksfly wrote: »
    I'm totally lost here folks. I think I've become dyslexic or suffered a mild stroke.

It's the latter. Get yourself to a hospital and post a thread about it and a vlog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

It's the latter. Get yourself to a hospital and post a thread about it and a vlog.

Righty oh.
    Christ, I was just taking to herself this morning about how well I felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

I couldn't stand him at first. Thought he was an American playing the "Irish" card to get attention. He seems to horribly overact/shout/accent up some things way too OTT in some vids. When I realised hes actually Irish I gave few more a watch, in his "calmer" vids I enjoy him and he comes across as a nice genuine guy. He can go very OTT tho.

And if you want youtube as a guide look at Smosh. Two guys that released a video singing the pokemon theme song now have a company, a website, crew of hosts for their gaming channel, crew of actors and working main duo now on making a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I couldn't stand him at first. Thought he was an American playing the "Irish" card to get attention. He seems to horribly overact/shout/accent up some things way too OTT in some vids. When I realised hes actually Irish I gave few more a watch, in his "calmer" vids I enjoy him and he comes across as a nice genuine guy. He can go very OTT tho.

And if you want youtube as a guide look at Smosh. Two guys that released a video singing the pokemon theme song now have a company, a website, crew of hosts for their gaming channel, crew of actors and working main duo now on making a movie.

He said he had to take on a more American accent coz a lot of foreign viewers were struggling with his Irish accent.

Mars Bar wrote: »
    He said he had to take on a more American accent coz a lot of foreign viewers were struggling with his Irish accent.

Wait so he "un-irishes" his accent? Crap I thought he magnified it. I'll just put him alongside Kerry Condon in the truly bizzare Irish accent category.

He now has a vibrant green died into his hair. Hes getting calmer but hes milking the irish angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Why are people so obsessed with the fact that a few people make money off YouTube?

Who gives a crap. It's not a new concept or even that exciting. They upload videos, get ad revenues or sell crap.

It definitely takes talent, confidence and commitment. I'm not knocking it, even if watching "vlogger" isn't my thing at all. But it's hardly worthy of the kind of awe some seem to have for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I am Jack's lack of YouTube subscribers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I am Jack's lack of YouTube subscribers.

I see what you did there

Dont break the first rule.