Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you died in the morning......

• 12-05-2015 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

Would you want to be able to see what people had to say about you?

Can't help but notice especially on Facebook how people react when someone dies sometimes a lot more than others would receive.

Does make me wonder what would people really say about me behind all the Facebook condolences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

They'd prob say I was a cúnt......and they'd be bang on the money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I will be dead. A lot more to be worrying about than what is said about me on facebook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Can't help but notice especially on Facebook how people react when someone dies sometimes a lot more than others would receive.

Does make me wonder what would people really say about me behind all the Facebook condolences.

I just hope they play There is a light that never goes out at my funeral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

kfallon wrote: »
    They'd prob say I was a cúnt......and they'd be bang on the money

This is Ireland even if you were, The usual "He was not that bad" and all that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'd haunt them if they bad mouthed me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I really dont give a flying hairy rats ass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Wouldn't want to see even if I could. Especially the grieving words from those who can't be bothered being part of my life or treating me right when alive. And frustrating as fcuk knowing that they're the ones who'll be most involved / affected, but not much I can do about it.

The ones who mean a lot to me and are genuine, loving people in my life, who mean the world to me, I can already imagine a lot of what they would say. and even if I could hear it now, I wouldn't want to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Honestly, I just hope I don't get the "rent a grief" crowd.
    You know, the ones who act like you were besties and are all conspicuously bereft on facebook etc despite now knowing the person that well and not having seen them in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The ones who mean a lot to me and are genuine, loving people in my life, who mean the world to me, I can already imagine a lot of what they would say. and even if I could hear it now, I wouldn't want to hear it.

Well lah-dee-dah, "Look at me! I have people in my life that care about me!"

People like you make me sick! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Woudnt give a tinker's tuppenny curse tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

catallus wrote: »

Go easy there hoss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Gers_punto

I don't care what they say about me now never mind when I'm dead

Try reading the first line that you didn't quote, think about what it means, and know you've really honestly no clue. lah-dee-bloody-dah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

If i died in the morning i'd be more annoyed at having taken steak out of the freezer for tomorrow's dinner.

Well lah-dee-dah, "Look at me, I've got steaks in my freezer!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't worry, someone would take it under the pretense, "It's what he would have wanted!" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

kfallon wrote: »
    Don't worry, someone would take it under the pretense, "It's what he would have wanted!" :P

F**k that, i'd want to be buried with them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Just in case I die in the morning, I'd better clear my browser history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

If I woke up tomorrow and found myself dead Id die with shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

You know, the ones who act like you were besties and are all conspicuously bereft on facebook etc despite now knowing the person that well and not having seen them in years.

Actually theres a thing now. Grief Porn.

*Heads to sacred cows thread*

I typed grief porn into redtube and a lactating ginger came up first.

This means I dont believe you.

Well, there goes my evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Yeah when I die I'll be too busy looking for the horned one to be bothered about Facebook. We have unfinished business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Someone better play Long as I can see the light, then I'll be safe.

Yeah when I die I'll be too busy looking for the horned one to be bothered about Facebook. We have unfinished business.

Please consider re-phrasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I hardly read other people's facebuke comments right now. Doubt that'd change after I'm dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Meh, I think it would probably piss me off reading fake comments from people who probably don't give a sh1t.

But I better get an AH RIP thread and I expect you all to mock me mercilessly.

It's so weird, I was thinking about this last night when they were talking about the guy in Australia on trial for the murder of that young irish chap and I remembered eirebhoy's RIP thread :(

I believe you. A friend of mine passed away a few years ago- some of the people who posted about it on facebook, wailed hysterically at the funeral (didn't show up in the graveyard funnily enough-well it was cold :rolleyes:) and tried to justify organising a piss up in said person's memory as "it's what they would have wanted" almost drove me to manslaughter. Especially as they didn't bother their arses checking in with her while she was ill, when she actually needed her friends.

I had to be talked out of confronting one of them after the mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'm not in any hurry to find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I know what you mean, but you can still be upset by a death despite this. Its not fake grief for attention always..a lad I used to know in school died in a car crash not that long ago. I never knew him that well but he was a lovely guy, I hadn't seen him in years but I was still quite upset by his death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Was at a funeral many years ago when the grieving widow said the immortal line.....
    "What a night the f*cker picked to die...I'm missing Coronation Street over him...."
    So yeah once it's not along those lines it'll be grand.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I'd love to hear what the biddies would be saying about my appearance.

"Ah he looks great, doesn't he?"

"Yeah Mary, he doesn't have that 'waxy' look some of the corpses have."

"No he doesn't, he look like himself in fairness."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Ah just the usual shyte I'm sure "such a beautiful girl....so much going for her....so full of life...she crammed more into her 30 years than most of us do in a lifetime..." yadda yadda yack.

Ultimately we're all a bit ordinary. I'm sure my ego would cream itself though if I was around to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Nah, some things we're better off not knowing.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I know what you mean, but you can still be upset by a death despite this.

Oh I know, but I'm sure you knew what was appropriate behaviour. Those of us who actually knew the person I mentioned earlier were upset enough as it was and knew damn well what my mate would have said it she could see the eejits in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,861 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I listened to this programme last night on BBC Radio 4, it's about what happens a persons digital life after their death. It is a subject which is going to matter much more in future. The likes of Facebook and G Mail will refuse to give anyone access to the deceased persons accounts without a court order.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01rl5r4

Starts around 1 min 30.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm sure the world would grind on without me.
    Beyond my family and handful of friends I would make as much of an impact as most people do, we feel bad and upset, we commiserate but the grass still needs cutting and the dog isn't going to walk itself.
    As for FB and the rest, don't really care all that much, seeing as I won't exist to give a fiddlers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

aw rip hun, cant stop cryin so sad sleep wit the angles hun havent stoped cryin all day lol xx

RayM wrote: »
    aw rip hun, cant stop cryin so sad sleep wit the angles hun havent stoped cryin all day lol xx

Yep. You were too good for this world. You tried so hard, and I can't believe you've gone. Life will never be the same without you. RIP whatismyname xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

If you died in the morning......

I would be dead and thus wouldn't know a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Someone asked me where I'd like to be buried when I die recently. "Surprise me" I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Don't have Facebook so don't know what would be written. I do know my kids would be going to their teachers looking to get out of homework using the dead dad card. At least I'd be of some use to them that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

You should hear the things they are saying about ya behind your back now. Discraceful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Someone asked me where I'd like to be buried when I die recently. "Surprise me" I said.
    Gerry Ryan asked a man where he'd like to be buried and he got a very surprising answer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I listened to this programme last night on BBC Radio 4, it's about what happens a persons digital life after their death. It is a subject which is going to matter much more in future. The likes of Facebook and G Mail will refuse to give anyone access to the deceased persons accounts without a court order.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01rl5r4

Starts around 1 min 30.

Hopefully deleting Internet history won't be such a rigmarole. I think you should have a clause in a will for some trusted mate who can do this on your behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

I'd stay up all night eating mikados.

Why?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

They would say I was a sweet soul.

I wouldn't really be bothered to know. I would only worry about those who were close to me being sad really.

I would hope there was more support and kindness from people for them and my family etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Why?!

If I'm going out, I'm going out full of squishy biscuit