Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should there be a size limit on domestic dogs?

• 08-05-2015 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭

Some dogs are just too large, I don't think its safe having canines in towns and cities that are too big for even the average sized male to fight off. This is the story that made me think about this .
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2733890/Im-dying-Horrifying-final-moments-jogger-killed-two-vicious-dogs-mauled-biting-father-three-eight-times.html

200lb pound hound. A normal sized man didn't even stand a chance. Is there any need for owning a dog this large? Obviously we should worry more about making people having better control over their dogs but I don't think that'll ever happen, there will always be careless owners. So shouldn't we nip the problem in the bud and ban large dogs, nobody 'needs' a domestic dog any larger than a cocker spaniel, unless for specific reasons such as herding sheep etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Some dogs are just too large, I don't think its safe having canines in towns and cities that are too big for even the average sized male to fight off. This is the story that made me think about this .
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2733890/Im-dying-Horrifying-final-moments-jogger-killed-two-vicious-dogs-mauled-biting-father-three-eight-times.html

200lb pound hound. A normal sized man didn't even stand a chance. Is there any need for owning a dog this large? Obviously we should worry more about making people having better control over their dogs but I don't think that'll ever happen, there will always be careless owners. So shouldn't we nip the problem in the bud and ban large dogs, nobody 'needs' a domestic dog any larger than a cocker spaniel, unless for specific reasons such as herding sheep etc.

the temperament of dog is dependent on how it was raised by its owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Would be better to have a law whereby you have to have your dog chipped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Should be a limit on some people brain size...stop them thinking about crap like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

A 200lb pound hound would need freedom not couped up in a semi d in your typical housing estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have an extreme view on this. Not only do I believe that many breeds of dogs should not be kept as domestic pets (Huskies and St Bernard's for example), I don't think towns and cities are very good places to keep dogs full stop. Some of them wee yappity things as I don't like them anyway :P, but an urban area is totally the wrong environment for normal dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Help!!!! wrote: »

That's becoming mandatory starting later this year I think.

Large dogs don't have to be banned, that's a ridiculous suggestion. Correct training, exercise and a suitable environment for larger dogs should definitely be enforced before owners are allowed to have them though. Done deal breeders have a lot to answer for in that regard. Breeds aren't researched correctly before being bought, which can be clearly seen by the amount of abandoned huskies n recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Roquentin wrote: »

Yes I know, as I said in a perfect world we would make everyone raise dogs very well and have them under control but that will never happen. So shouldn't we just make it impossible for people to own dogs that are both vicious and large. Seeing as its hard to limit people raising dogs badly, we can make people only have access to smaller dogs. A vicious king charles isn't going to kill anybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,777 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

So if your dog puts a bit of weight on over the winter and exceeds the weight limit? Shoot the fat fcuk is it?

Good time to set up a gym for dogs though I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

My dog is huge and I've never even seen him growl. So, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

A breed of dog known for its companionship. Big dogs tend not to be as vicious as smaller dogs, generally they have to be mistreated to turn vicious like that.

Over all people shouldn't be allowed to pick a breed, puppy farms should be banned, either you get the dog from someone you know or you go to the pound and pick a mongrel. Pedigree breeding for the most part should be banned entirely, unless it's going to be a working dog.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Dogs are only a problem if they arent trained, socialised and exercised properly. Its not a breed or size issue. Irish wolfhounds are gentle giants for example. Great danes can be exceptionally timid.

So if your dog puts a bit of weight on over the winter and exceeds the weight limit? Shoot the fat fcuk is it?

Good time to set up a gym for dogs though I suppose.

Well not an exact weight limit, but only certain breeds that are generally within an established weight limit should be sold to domestic customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Oryx wrote: »
    Dogs are only a problem if they arent trained, socialised and exercised properly. Its not a breed or size issue. Irish wolfhounds are gentle giants for example. Great danes can be exceptionally timid.

Too true. The problem is generally at the other end of the leash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

No.

http://www.dogguide.net/25-hero-dogs.php

Bigger dogs involve much more responsibility. Banning irresponsible owners from keeping dogs would be much more useful and sensible than banning big dogs entirely.

Most owners don't take responsibility for their dogs both in terms of the dog's wellbeing and in terms of making sure the dog isn't a nuisance or danger to others. Free roaming free barking dogs pooping everywhere and walking in front of cars, or dogs that never ever seem to leave their houses and bark lots and lots - these are the norm unfortunately.

Lia_lia wrote: »

Well you obviously raised him well. Im not saying all big dogs are bad but whats the point in having a large dog who's a potential liability in our cities? Animals are unpredictable, large dogs can kill adults and small dogs can't. So why carry the risk? And Im sure somebody will equate this with why don't we ban cars, cars kill people, or something else equally stupid, theres no benefits of dogs to our society apart from companionship really. And small dogs are just as good companions.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Well not an exact weight limit, but only certain breeds that are generally within an established weight limit should be sold to domestic customers.

What's weight got go do with it? Vicious breeds are already on a restricted list as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭REPTILEDAN88

What's weight got go do with it? Vicious breeds are already on a restricted list as far as I know.
    What rubbish, they are not vicious but could do more damage than alot of other Dog breeds. I have a Bull Terrier and im under no illusion that hes perfect around everyone or all the time hes good with other people but is aggressive on the approach of other dogs but stops barking etc when they get close enough to sniff, he was attack by 2 dogs as a pup this is why hes like that but is grand with some of my friends dogs. Its not only the breed traits you have to know when getting a dog its the training when you have one it starts from day one be it discipline, house training, recall etc. I have never had any dog on that restricted list try attack me accept a few rottweilers who where guarding a building site which is what they are there to do. Ive lost count the amount of times a yorkie, jack russell, pomeranian etc tried to go for my ankles but I know they are not all like that but alot get possessive especially when treated like a babied lapdog. Train any dog breed well, give them food, shelter, leave them be as they eat and sleep and you'll have a great companion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I'm not reading that cos I presume it's sad. But. I just weighed my doggy and he's 121lbs. Like Lia_lia, I've never even heard him bark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I have an extreme view on this. Not only do I believe that many breeds of dogs should not be kept as domestic pets (Huskies and St Bernard's for example), I don't think towns and cities are very good places to keep dogs full stop. Some of them wee yappity things as I don't like them anyway :P, but an urban area is totally the wrong environment for normal dogs.

So you don't like small dogs and you don't like big dogs. Ladies and gentlemen, we have Goldidogs!

Dog ownership works out fine in most continental cities. The number one difference between those cities from what I can tell is over here we have a general "F&^k you I can do what I want" attitude, coupled with a general disinterest in enforcing the laws of the land.

What rubbish, they are not vicious but could do more damage than alot of other Dog breeds. I have a Bull Terrier and im under no illusion that hes perfect around everyone or all the time hes good with other people but is aggressive on the approach of other dogs but stops barking etc when they get close enough to sniff, he was attack by 2 dogs as a pup this is why hes like that but is grand with some of my friends dogs. Its not only the breed traits you have to know when getting a dog its the training when you have one it starts from day one be it discipline, house training, recall etc. I have never had any dog on that restricted list try attack me accept a few rottweilers who where guarding a building site which is what they are there to do. Ive lost count the amount of times a yorkie, jack russell, pomeranian etc tried to go for my ankles but I know they are not all like that but alot get possessive especially when treated like a babied lapdog. Train any dog breed well, give them food, shelter, leave them be as they eat and sleep and you'll have a great companion.

Meh, I know which I'd prefer to meet. An angry Terrier or a hungry Rottweiler...

Any dog can be aggressive which is true, but an agressive Pomeranian and an agressive Pit Bull are two different things. And tbh, your Pit Bull sounds like a walking timebomb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

syklops wrote: »
    So you don't like small dogs and you don't like big dogs. Ladies and gentlemen, we have Goldidogs!
    I love love love big working dogs. There's nothing more cruel and unusual than seeing a Samoyed or a Newfoundland on a leash for it's two or three five minute walks a day before it's locked in a house alone while it's owner heads off to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Equally as much as it's genes. And raised should be expanded to include treated and socialised.

I love love love big working dogs. There's nothing more cruel and unusual than seeing a Samoyed or a Newfoundland on a leash for it's two or three five minute walks a day before it's locked in a house alone while it's owner heads off to work.

This, or two alsatians locked up on a tiny patch of grass in the back of some council house. People without adequete land should not be allowed to own dogs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

People without adequete land should not be allowed to own dogs.

1 acre per kg minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Nobody should own animals ever. Too dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Train any dog breed well, give them food, shelter, leave them be as they eat and sleep and you'll have a great companion.
    While that may well be true, how do we ensure that owners actually are responsible? There are plenty of "dangerous" dog breeds that are fine once you know what you're doing, but the reality is that if some moron in a small house wants to buy a large mastiff breed & not train or exercise it properly that dog will be a ticking timebomb of pent up agression. Not the dog's fault of course but how do we actually stop idiots from buying unsuitable dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

id say 200lbs is a fair bit of a stretch aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I used to have German Shepherds and I never saw either of them get in any way aggressive toward a person. If I ever decide to get another dog is will be a German Shepherd cross.

I live in a rural location with a 1 acre garden and I walk and run a good bit so I know it'd be a good home for a bigger dog. A small dog wouldn't be able to keep up with me on runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Well I agree with you there. Hopefully the dog gets its own back and destroys the couch, knocks over the TV, creates Lake Eerie sized puddles of pee in the kitchen and chews their favourite Nike Air Max.

Unfortunately this happy result rarely ends there and next thing you know the poor animal is in a shelter somewhere.

That said, I know some owners of large dogs and the dogs are very well looked after with plenty of exercise. Mistreatment of dogs isn't just the preserve of the town folk. I see plenty of dogs chained up down the country despite having ample room to move around in and plenty of space for walks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Flood wrote: »
    1 acre per kg minimum.

A metric-imperial mongrel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Somehow did that help!the person on the receiving end of the attack?
    Help!!!! wrote: »
    Assuming thats even enforced, how does that help!in this case? Shutting the barn door after thenhorsenhas bolted, where not having the dog type eliminates the possibility altogether.
    Lia_lia wrote: »
    Seen that a few times, was warned how my or someone's dog may obey their master but may view anyone else as they seem them in the pecking order, my dog obeys me, but doesn't really listen to commands by my wife or anything from my son no matter how many times they have given commands.
    Oryx wrote: »

Thats the problem, most dogs aren't trained, you don't as easily know the temperament ofm dog and certain breeds are easier to manage if they have a bad one.
    No.

http://www.dogguide.net/25-hero-dogs.php

Bigger dogs involve much more responsibility. Banning irresponsible owners from keeping dogs would be much more useful and sensible than banning big dogs entirely.

Most owners don't take responsibility for their dogs both in terms of the dog's wellbeing and in terms of making sure the dog isn't a nuisance or danger to others. Free roaming free barking dogs pooping everywhere and walking in front of cars, or dogs that never ever seem to leave their houses and bark lots and lots - these are the norm unfortunately.
    Restricted, but still dogs that may be of harm are let off the leash, saw a bull terrier near here off the lead and no owner in sight.
    If ownership can't be regulated than breeds may have to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

A dog you have to bend down to pat, isn't a dog.
    It's something else.

I always love that line about no such thing as bad dogs, just bad owners.

And I'm there thinking, hold on, dogs don't even know the meaning of good and bad. They're dogs ffs.

I wish the laws about breeds on leashes and muzzled were strictly enforced with larger fines. I rarely see those pitbull and staffie type breeds muzzled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

I read the article as "two 'hundred pound' dogs" not "two hundred pound" dog I.e. The dogs in question weigh 100lbs (not 200lbs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Certain massive breeds like the Great Dane and Irish Wolfhound have good temperaments and are known as 'gentle giants'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Meh, I know which I'd prefer to meet. An angry Terrier or a hungry Rottweiler...

Any dog can be aggressive which is true, but an agressive Pomeranian and an agressive Pit Bull are two different things. And tbh, your Pit Bull sounds like a walking timebomb.

Reading comprehension 2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Kovu wrote: »
    That's becoming mandatory starting later this year I think.

Large dogs don't have to be banned, that's a ridiculous suggestion. Correct training, exercise and a suitable environment for larger dogs should definitely be enforced before owners are allowed to have them though. Done deal breeders have a lot to answer for in that regard. Breeds aren't researched correctly before being bought, which can be clearly seen by the amount of abandoned huskies n recent years.

Bingo. The dog breeds involved in the most attacks must have should be subject to mandatory training for owners.

Tigger wrote: »

Understanding of dangerous dogs 1/10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Tigger wrote: »
    Understanding of dangerous dogs 1/10.

Finding the lowest possible marks 0/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭REPTILEDAN88

Custardpi wrote: »
    While that may well be true, how do we ensure that owners actually are responsible? There are plenty of "dangerous" dog breeds that are fine once you know what you're doing, but the reality is that if some moron in a small house wants to buy a large mastiff breed & not train or exercise it properly that dog will be a ticking timebomb of pent up agression. Not the dog's fault of course but how do we actually stop idiots from buying unsuitable dogs?
    Well the restricted breed list sure has worked.....not go to any park or most places where theres housing estates etc and you'll see staffies running about nothing is ever done, sure I asked a dog warden local to me what breeds were on the list they could tell me or even id a pitbull, apparently my dog is a pit bull and will attack anything that moves according to some people these restricted breeds are not like that granted pitbulls can be known for dog on dog aggression but a well socialised dog wouldn't I know my friend bull terriers aren't either are their rottweilers or staffies. I think Huskies are more or a problem in a city environment they need a lot of training
    and exercise there's loads of people who get them as cute pups and then don't put in the work get rid of the dog before it a year old and its a basket case of problems sadly its horrible I know loads of owners of all types of dogs all of which are well trained etc. Granted some have problems but no one/dog is perfect I know a great Irish Setter good with rabbits, rats etc but if he sees a person on a skateboard he goes nuts at them again that was down to the fault of someone else when he and the owner and dog were harassed by a group of lads on skateboards. Banning Pitbulls in the UK didn't work either there more than ever there was before the ban. I believe all dogs should be on a lead in public if they are dog friendly then off lead if they have good recall and are not people aggressive in the like of parks etc. People need to take responsibility too and not let their kids go near strange dogs or be left alone or pull out of dogs they are not toys and the only way they defend themselves is by biting and will do if pushed to, then its bad parenting but that doesn't sell papers but devil dog attacks child would.
    Roaming/loose dogs are a big problem too especially in estates etc they are at risk or going for other dogs and people and getting knocked down and possibly causing a traffic accident I saw a Golden retriever get knocked down by a taxi in a housing estate a while ago it was off lead following it owner with another dog and as it went to cross the road it was sadly hit, that could of been avoided too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Well the restricted breed list sure has worked.....not go to any park or most places where theres housing estates etc and you'll see staffies running about nothing is ever done, sure I asked a dog warden local to me what breeds were on the list they could tell me or even id a pitbull, apparently my dog is a pit bull and will attack anything that moves according to some people these restricted breeds are not like that granted pitbulls can be known for dog on dog aggression but a well socialised dog wouldn't I know my friend bull terriers aren't either are their rottweilers or staffies. I think Huskies are more or a problem in a city environment they need a lot of training and exercise there's loads of people who get them as cute pups and then don't put in the work get rid of the dog before it a year old and its a basket case of problems sadly its horrible I know loads of owners of all types of dogs all of which are well trained etc. Granted some have problems but no one/dog is perfect I know a great Irish Setter good with rabbits, rats etc but if he sees a person on a skateboard he goes nuts at them again that was down to the fault of someone else when he and the owner and dog were harassed by a group of lads on skateboards. Banning Pitbulls in the UK didn't work either there more than ever there was before the ban. I believe all dogs should be on a lead in public if they are dog friendly then off lead if they have good recall and are not people aggressive in the like of parks etc. People need to take responsibility too and not let their kids go near strange dogs or be left alone or pull out of dogs they are not toys and the only way they defend themselves is by biting and will do if pushed to, then its bad parenting but that doesn't sell papers but devil dog attacks child would. Roaming/loose dogs are a big problem too especially in estates etc they are at risk or going for other dogs and people and getting knocked down and possibly causing a traffic accident I saw a Golden retriever get knocked down by a taxi in a housing estate a while ago it was off lead following it owner with another dog and as it went to cross the road it was sadly hit, that could of been avoided too.

I got dizzy trying to read that so I don't know if I agree with you or not.

Paragraphs, commas and full stops are your friend. Use them more often, thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭RickDeckard

You clearly know nothing about huskies.

*Drives me mad that they are a fashionable dog now and 'stored' in concrete back gardens with no walks and eventually goes mental as the unsupervised toddlers pulls its ears all day long.*

I own huskies and a gentelier breed of dog you could never meet. Its people who are the assholes.

I take back my last post BWM, nail on head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I always love that line about no such thing as bad dogs, just bad owners.

And I'm there thinking, hold on, dogs don't even know the meaning of good and bad. They're dogs ffs.

I wish the laws about breeds on leashes and muzzled were strictly enforced with larger fines. I rarely see those pitbull and staffie type breeds muzzled.

Have you ever witnessed an incident where they should have been?

Most incidents I've seen where dogs need to be muzzled has been aggression from one dog to another and it tends to be untrained designer dogs causing the issue.

I can see why people now think that certain breeds are dangerous but if anyone actually did a bit of research they'd change their opinion. Staffies in Melbourne are massively popular and have a great reputation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

It's not really size but aggression. Great Danes and wolfhounds are the biggest ...they have no restrictions because they are a calm breed.

Years ago Dobermans were badly bred....they corrected that in recent years and they are much better now..also in the states they really chilled out the breed making it more family friendly.

It's aggression and bad breeding...and bad owners.

Pitbulls if they are to survive need a lot of change in the breed. Also they have health problems..

Breeding too much aggression in leads to unhappy dogs that can't find a family.

Hobby horse time: F*k this country for not legislating to control scumbag run puppy farms.
    Also
    A dog license should be a serious thing, akin to a driving/gun license. Not just a cash cow for the state.

These things alone would end immense suffering and cruelty currently happening , at this exact moment, in **** filled sheds all over the country.

Ranchu wrote: »
    Have you ever witnessed an incident where they should have been?

Yes. Every single time.

And not only muzzled, but on a short leash.

Because it's the law. And some dog owners are not exempt because their previous pooches are above to the law.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1998/en/si/0442.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

This, or two alsatians locked up on a tiny patch of grass in the back of some council house. People without adequete land should not be allowed to own dogs.

My neighbours, five doors away have two alsations, three greyhounds, three other smaller dogs and two small children. All kept in an area smaller than my sitting room. (Not the children, I hope.) They are never taken out for a walk. Every second weekend they go away on a Saturday night and the barking would wake up a graveyard. One 'nosey neighbour' has rang the dog warden, the Guards and the spca several times and they deemed it to be 'no problem'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Yes. Every single time.

And not only muzzled, but on a short leash.

Because it's the law. And some dog owners are not exempt because their previous pooches are above to the law.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1998/en/si/0442.html

Ok so imagine if you can that it wasn't the law and then answer the question.