Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite episode of a show ever

• 07-05-2015 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭

I'm watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer (again) and I have to say...the musical episode must be my favourite episode of T.V. ever!

The shows a fine show and I really enjoy it, but normally I hate musical comedy crap. This is just pure fun though, while really chipping away at the over arc character problems, forcing them to bring everything to the fore in a really inventive way.

I often sing along too which never hurts. ;D

What's yer fav one episode of all time? Can be any show! I know it's hard to decide. I honestly wouldn't have picked this but seriously...when the woman gets the ticket and she bursts into a melodramatic song over it? Amazing...ordinary things made extraordinary...it's that little 'extra.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

i dunno a hard one, probably for nostalgia Stargate "window of opportunity" ive lost track of how many times ive watched it, just a really fun and great episode,

im sure people will come up with even better ones, but thats just the one that stands out right now,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 kizzybee

I love this question! I think I probably have a few but the first episode that comes to mind is Always Sunny in Philadelphia The Nightman Cometh, it always has me in hysterics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I have a tough enough time deciding on a favourite TV show, let alone a favourite TV episode of all-time.

Once More With Feeling would probably be my choice as well. I remember when they announced back in the day they were doing a musical episode of Buffy, all the fans were convinced it was going to be absolutely terrible, but it was pulled off so flawlessly and even though the songs were a lot of fun, the actual storylines and character development in that episode was incredibly dark. I know all the words to all the songs in the episode because I watch it so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,847 ✭✭✭Glebee

The first paintball episode in Community or the Jim and Pam wedding episode of the Office (USA)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

don ramo wrote: »
    i dunno a hard one, probably for nostalgia Stargate "window of opportunity" ive lost track of how many times ive watched it, just a really fun and great episode,

im sure people will come up with even better ones, but thats just the one that stands out right now,

This is certainly in my top 10 of best episodes ever. Really amazing episode. Always felt Stargate-SG1 was quite underrated, despite it lasting for 10 seasons and spawning two spin-offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

The red wedding episode from game of thrones? Wow just wow.

Also the Royal Family episode when the grandmother dies, a tough watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 kizzybee

omerin wrote: »
    The red wedding episode from game of thrones? Wow just wow.

Also the Royal Family episode when the grandmother dies, a tough watch

Agred. I'm still recovering from the red wedding episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

"Last exit to Springfield", feck it im gona watch it right now.

So long dental plan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Aimeee

Mark Greene dying episode of ER. Thought it was well done, especially the final scene, life goes on.
    Reminded also by above post of the Royal Family episode where Granny dies, it was excellent.
    Hmmm too many dying episodes there, will have to think of something happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭JoannieG

Has to be the Frasier one - Three Valentines - where Niles wrecks to apartment because of a crease in his trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The very first episode of Greys Anatomy. I've longs since fallen out of love with the show, but that very first experience of MerDer is something I'll never forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Episode in sopranos where they get lost in the woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Episode of firefly out of gas. Great story telling. I watch it on its alone a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Season 3 Episode 11 or 12 (not sure which one) of The Wire. So many huge things happen in that episode I won't spoil it for those who haven't seen it. All I'll say is Colvin finally gets what he knew he was coming with regards to Hamsterdam. The Barkesdale crew, Stringer, all these storylines come to different conclusions. And Jimmy can't even take credit for all the work he put into trying to topple the Barkesdale crew because of Stringers on going attempt to go legit. The Wire was brilliant for building up to great finales but this one was something special..

Game of Thrones Season 3 Episode 9, The Red Wedding. I knew it was coming so I thought I'd be okay with it but actually seeing it, plus the little changes from the book made it just as, if not more, traumatic than I expected.

The Sopranos Season 2 finale (I think). Tony has food poisoning and tests out his new boat. If you've seen it you know. What an absolutely unforgettable piece of television..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Pine Barrens. First one that popped into my head. Quality television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The episode of Father Ted- Chirpy Burpy Cheap Sheep.

A random joke from it popped into my head yesterday and it made me realise that I hadn't seen it in an age. It's quite possible I never need to watch any Father Ted ever again, it's been hardwired into my brain at this stage. I'll never stop loving it though and I definitely think this is my favourite episode. Season three was even more grand in it's surrealism than the previous two and this episode is particularly inspired. The whole set up of The King of the Sheep is enough genius absurdism in it's own right, without even adding in The Beast of Craggy Island; Ted dancing in wordless frustration in the dying sunlight; sheep recovery montage to the sounds of M People. All the nods to classic horror and Irish rural stereotypes just get my funny bone working when I think of this episode. And of course- ****ing hell!

It also contains possibly the single best line in Father Ted. The moment occurs at one point when Ted and Dougal are walking into shot, Dougal is just bringing his litany of "facts" about The Beast to a close and we hear him, slightly indistinctly, utter the immortal-

"...and when The Beast yawns he sounds like Liam Neeson chasing a load of hens around inside a barrel".

Brilliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

The Pine Barrens. Directed by Steve Buscemi (Tony B). I picked a different episode as number 1 (Tony, food poisoning, boat, you know...) but now that I think of it The Pine Barrens might just equal that.

Chris: "Fúck you Paulie, captain or no captain right now we're just two asshole lost in the woods"

also

Tony: (Over a bad phone line) "He killed 16 Chechen rebels single handed, he was with the interior ministry"
    Paulie: "No shít, (to Chris) "This guy killed 16 Chekzlovakians, he was an interior decorator".
    Chris: "Really? His house looked like shít".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Way to many to pick.

This is up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

The it crowd when they go to the gay musical. Laugh out loud funny from start to finish.

Also the episode of breaking bad involving the he train in the desert was edge of the seat high octane drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Breaking Bad - Dead Freight.

Incredible episode with a great ending that opens up a huge story in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

Mentioned already but my absolute favourite has to be The Royle Family - Queen Of Sheeba. Fantastic writing, acting and music used. Hilarious in parts and heart wrenching in others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭youngblood

Im never a one for remembering episode names but
    Lost- The Constant- was one of those I do, it changed how viewers watched the show and was excellently paced & directed, amazing (even if you didnt like the ending)

Has to be the last episode of Six Feet Under, 'Everyone's waiting'.

The flash-forward montage at the end (showing everyone's future lives and deaths) would usually be cringey for me, but instead actually hugely touched me.

I had invested a lot in those characters :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

The UK office Christmas special (part two)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Mad Men: The Suitcase. Season Four, Episode Seven.
    Essentially a two-hander between Jon Hamm and Elisabeth Moss. Probably the single best episode of the entire series.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

Hannnibal season 2 finale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,777 ✭✭✭✭fits

martyos121 wrote: »
    Breaking Bad - Dead Freight.

Incredible episode with a great ending that opens up a huge story in itself.

This.

And also. THE episode in Pride and Prejudice (where Mr Darcy goes for a swim). Be still my beating heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭den87

Breaking Bad- Ozymandias. The most gruelling and draining piece of tv ever (but in a good way) nothing even comes close.

Pine Barrens is fantastic but I finally treated myself the other night and re-watched the final episode of The Shield for the first time in years. Absolutely fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Can't remember what season or what the episode was called, but it was an episode of Only Fools & Horses where Rodney decided to go it alone. He said that himself & Mickey Pearce we're going into the small holiday trade.

Grandad said; "What you got? A Wendy house!!??" Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

for me, it has to be the Speed episode of Fr Ted..pure class, with so many great lines..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,741 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Seinfeld, S9, E10 "The Strike"

Its the festivus one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Len_007

"Home" - The X Files.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Anonymagician

The season six finale of Grey's Anatomy, the one with the shooter in the hospital. So tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Community - Paradigms of Human Memory, it's like a dozen different episodes rolled into one and I absolutely love it. Fantastic piece of television!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Spaced - Gone

" it's too orangey for crows.....remember that?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Arghus wrote: »
    The episode of Father Ted- Chirpy Burpy Cheap Sheep.

A random joke from it popped into my head yesterday and it made me realise that I hadn't seen it in an age. It's quite possible I never need to watch any Father Ted ever again, it's been hardwired into my brain at this stage. I'll never stop loving it though and I definitely think this is my favourite episode. Season three was even more grand in it's surrealism than the previous two and this episode is particularly inspired. The whole set up of The King of the Sheep is enough genius absurdism in it's own right, without even adding in The Beast of Craggy Island; Ted dancing in wordless frustration in the dying sunlight; sheep recovery montage to the sounds of M People. All the nods to classic horror and Irish rural stereotypes just get my funny bone working when I think of this episode. And of course- ****ing hell!

It also contains possibly the single best line in Father Ted. The moment occurs at one point when Ted and Dougal are walking into shot, Dougal is just bringing his litany of "facts" about The Beast to a close and we hear him, slightly indistinctly, utter the immortal-

"...and when The Beast yawns he sounds like Liam Neeson chasing a load of hens around inside a barrel".

Brilliance.

:D I have a feeling that some episodes were written using magnetic words like these http://magneticpoetry.com/ stuck at random on someone's fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭pavb2

Star Trek - The City on the Edge of Forever

Not a Trekkie by any means but I always remember watching this as a kid.
    It has everything the love angle, Nazi Germany provoking the 'what if's' of history conversations and the consequences of time travellers changing the course of history.

Just googled it and it is considered the best Star Trek episode also didn't realise Joan Collins was in it.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_City_on_the_Edge_of_Forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Two episodes of ER over two seasons that were linked to Rocket Romano and a helicopter.

Also ER the death of
    Lucy

So many great episodes of ER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Threat Level Midnight in The Office U.S. and Speed 3 in Father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The first was that popped into my head was:

Dexter - The Getaway (Season 4 finale)

One of the best seasons of television ever IMO and capped off with a superb finale containing a twist I just did not see coming.

Such a shame that a show containing that standard of television was made a complete and utter mess of towards the end, but that's for another thread I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Len_007 wrote: »
    "Home" - The X Files.

Watched this a few weeks back, so unsettling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Palestinian Chicken episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Stargate Atlantis - "Vegas". A CSI parody but really well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

The final episode of
    Blackadder Goes Forth "Goodbyeee"

Goodbyeee_Melchett_and_Blackadder.jpg

Especially the final scenes before the big push...

...Good luck, everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭No_Comply

Len_007 wrote: »
    "Home" - The X Files.

Great episode. I love that one and Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose ( S03Ep04) with Peter Boyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭andala

"The French Mistake" from Supernatural is an episode I can watch over and over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bennyineire

den87 wrote: »
    Breaking Bad- Ozymandias. The most gruelling and draining piece of tv ever (but in a good way) nothing even comes close.
    Yep we've all pretty much watched and loved Breaking Bad but I'm guessing ~90% don't know each episode name so can you please give some context please. BTW this goes out to everyone when they nominate their favorite episode's please.

For me the "Final Five" I think the episode was called in Battlestar Galactica ,
    Wow just wow, also the final episode in Battlestar Galactica is up there with and ending, what an ending

• Site Banned Posts: 217 ✭✭Father Ted Crilly

Every single Goddamn episode of Father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

K.Flyer wrote: »
    The final episode of
    Blackadder Goes Forth "Goodbyeee"

Goodbyeee_Melchett_and_Blackadder.jpg

Especially the final scenes before the big push...

...Good luck, everyone.

God, I bloody love Blackadder!! Genius