Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,691 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Our town is getting like a ghost town.
    Nowhere to buy diesel or petrol, nowhere sells clothes, and the bank is gone over a year now.

Bleak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nowhere to buy diesel or petrol, nowhere sells clothes, and the bank is gone over a year now.
    It's taken a beating surely, thought it was mean to take away credit union too after soma my moved their accounts from the bank to the credit union.

Didn't ye even loose the private investigators office, how are ye getting by without that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Doh - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZ2oXzrnti4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

_Brian wrote: »
    It's taken a beating surely, thought it was mean to take away credit union too after soma my moved their accounts from the bank to the credit union.

Didn't ye even loose the private investigators office, how are ye getting by without that :)

Yeah Credit Union gone now too.
    Mill closed couple of years and this spring co-ok closed the meal store and weighbridge.

Private Investigator. .... that bollix ran himself out of town. Phoning the Gardai and lodging complaints about delivery trucks parking on the double yellows. Demanding that the traffic corps come and move them on. After twenty or thirty times they ignored him.....
    Wasn't exactly cut out for stake outs... Huge bear of a German man in a brightly coloured Cincecento...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

That's them Base. They must have been tricky in a while. Both my car and jeep give up with contaminated diesel in the same week back in early March. The shop is a loss, was very handy, open till 11pm nightly.

They are back open in Athboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

We dont know how lucky we have it down here in the south east so

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

The post office is hanging on here still, bank is gone a good while, clothes shop and filling station got the millennium bug, restaurant comes and goes. Saturday evening Mass is even stopped here.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

blue5000 wrote: »
    The post office is hanging on here still, bank is gone a good while, clothes shop and filling station got the millennium bug, restaurant comes and goes. Saturday evening Mass is even stopped here.

It's the opposite here , but we're close to the city I suppose .
    I had the youngest lad down to football for the enrollment day last month and there was 125 U6's down to try it for the day !
    It's good in one way but doesn't suit a wannabe recluse like myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

blue5000 wrote: »
    Our local shop/post office was sold earlier in the year. It stopped selling petrol and diesel a few years ago because they have to pay for fuel on delivery and mightn't sell it all for a few months.

The couple that bought it have spent a lot of money doing it up and there's rumours of it starting to sell petrol and diesel again.

All it needs now is for people to support it if they want these services to stay in the locality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,382 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Tradgedy in local town. Chain of filling stations complete with Mace shops gone into receivership.
    Best b/roll for ten miles around.

Did the customs close them down?

Bullocks wrote: »
    It's the opposite here , but we're close to the city I suppose .
    I had the youngest lad down to football for the enrollment day last month and there was 125 U6's down to try it for the day !
    It's good in one way but doesn't suit a wannabe recluse like myself
    Ah wait until the middle of december when its too cold for poor johnny to tog out on a saturday. Only half the team show up every week then.

Yeah Credit Union gone now too.
    Mill closed couple of years and this spring co-ok closed the meal store and weighbridge.

Private Investigator. .... that bollix ran himself out of town. Phoning the Gardai and lodging complaints about delivery trucks parking on the double yellows. Demanding that the traffic corps come and move them on. After twenty or thirty times they ignored him.....
    Wasn't exactly cut out for stake outs... Huge bear of a German man in a brightly coloured Cincecento...

Problem is when there is so much that people must leave the town for, people get into the habit of shopping away from the town and so it gets worse as you've broken the notion of being a community.

I think it all comes back to the loss in profitability in farming. There's just no money going about in the farming community, something replicated the county over, I think marginal counties like Cavan and Leitrim are particularly hit.
    At least Lakeland butter patts and Icecream are going well, massively profitable for them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jesus lad's ye paint a fairly bleak depressing picture. Guess I'm lucky to be living near a fairly vibrant town. If it wasn't for tourism tho it wouldn't be the town it is. Buford hit the nail on the head I think, if you want services to remain in your area then you have to make a effort support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Our local shop/post office was sold earlier in the year. It stopped selling petrol and diesel a few years ago because they have to pay for fuel on delivery and mightn't sell it all for a few months.

The couple that bought it have spent a lot of money doing it up and there's rumours of it starting to sell petrol and diesel again.

All it needs now is for people to support it if they want these services to stay in the locality.

making a fine job of it they are......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did the customs close them down?

I don't think so, although a tax bill or fine "in the pipeline" might have been the real reason. Staff came in to work and an hour later agents for the receiver arrived and told them their jobs were gone, and to empty all the deli food into the waste bins.
    Shutters pulled down and locked. Two security guards patrolled the forecourt for the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=100247104&posted=1#post100247104 looks like this isnt uncommon at all. Happened me just before xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=100247104&posted=1#post100247104 looks like this isnt uncommon at all. Happened me just before xmas.

Wow. The dirty bo11ox. I would love to see him caught for that.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Ah wait until the middle of december when its too cold for poor johnny to tog out on a saturday. Only half the team show up every week then.

Only half turned up the second week including my lad , he is like me and wouldn't kick a ball if it rolled into his feet but we try and get him interested in a few things . The older lad used be the same but he took off in the last few months with hand ball and football

I'd say it's very common

Bullocks wrote: »
    Only half turned up the second week including my lad , he is like me and wouldn't kick a ball if it rolled into his feet but we try and get him interested in a few things . The older lad used be the same but he took off in the last few months with hand ball and football

My young lad would play football if his mother didn't fecking molly him so much. I have him at the horses now and hoping to start him hurling with my club but its hard when im not there to take him to training etc.

We had a local "auctioneer" went rogue recently. Skimmed €100k from a land deal he was handling for his relation, load of €5-10k deposits from people putting deposits for houses. And conned some local business men out of €20k lump sums for an investment scheme. I know one couple well he took €10k deposit off for a house and they are heartbroken it took years to save it up.

Muy local auctioneer was Ger Killally lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Cops involved in a case like this?

Yea but little can be done it seems. Guards told this couple they are unlikely to ever see their money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

David Cameron resigning.
    Boris Johnston resigning.
    Nigel Farage resigning.
    Chris Evans resigning.
    Ivan Yates resigning (going on holiday in new York:pac:).

This thing is spreading I tell ya.
    Who's next Gerry Adams?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    David Cameron resigning.
    Nigel Farage resigning.
    Chris Evans resigning.

Jasus that's like if Enda, Simon Micheal Martin and joe Duffy all resigned

That'd be some crac then!

Adams would never resign he likes the sound of his own voice too much. Turn off local radio when he comes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    David Cameron resigning.
    Nigel Farage resigning.
    Chris Evans resigning.

Farage and Johnson the dirty cowardly bastards, well played on Cameron's part leaving the rest to it.