Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Golfer from another Sport.

• 04-05-2015 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Seen Nail Quinn at the range the other day - I think he is low enough handicap

Was very impressed with the performance of hurler Paul Flynn in West.

Talk about a couple of Rugby players and people went on about dj a good bit.

But has anyone played with or seen any people from other sport play golf in Ireland ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Conor Deegan plays off +5 when last I heard.

Stephen Grant (Shamrock Rovers) gave up footy early enough to play golf. Was on the Challenge Tour and now playing on a minor pro tour in the States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Niall Quinn isn't that low. I played with him in druids Glen couple of years ago. I can't remember what his handicap was exactly but I think I was off 6 or so then and he was a bit higher than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

PARlance wrote: »
    Conor Deegan plays off +5 when last I heard.

Stephen Grant (Shamrock Rovers) gave up footy early enough to play golf. Was on the Challenge Tour and now playing on a minor pro tour in the States.

Yes - forgot about Grant - that is impressive.

Connor Deegan - must have been in some amateur championships so.

Just after remembering another one Paul MGinley :p

Is Davy Fitz any good ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

ForeRight wrote: »
    Niall Quinn isn't that low. I played with him in druids Glen couple of years ago. I can't remember what his handicap was exactly but I think I was off 6 or so then and he was a bit higher than that

Played the JSC in the Castle a few weeks ago and Niall was in the four ball behind, currently plays of 6 and out of Naas I believe.

Conor Deegan plays out of Castle and last I heard was of +5 alright, savage handicap and one of the lowest in Great Britain and Ireland but he classifies himself as a Castle specialist and can't play to that handicap elsewhere and especially in the major amateur events. I remember an interview he gave last year on radio after he played in the East of Ireland and said something to the effect that he wasn't on the same level as some of the younger amateurs.

He talked a bit about it when he presented the Golfweekly podcast for Newstalk. He doesn't really get to play much in those. He had a fairly hectic schedule up until recently. Full time job, full time job number 2 with Kilmacude Crokes, newstalk.
    He reckons his game wasn't good enough to compete at that level with him just being a weekend golfer compared to lads doing it nearly full time. A bad +5 :)

Played the JSC in the Castle a few weeks ago and Niall was in the four ball behind, currently plays of 6 and out of Naas I believe.

Conor Deegan plays out of Castle and last I heard was of +5 alright, savage handicap and one of the lowest in Great Britain and Ireland but he classifies himself as a Castle specialist and can't play to that handicap elsewhere and especially in the major amateur events. I remember an interview he gave last year on radio after he played in the East of Ireland and said something to the effect that he wasn't on the same level as some of the younger amateurs.

Interesting - as I often wonder how many shots better you can get on your home course versus away - I know some lads can mix it up better .
    But for me i feel it is easily 4 + shots.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Is Davy Fitz any good ?

Plays off 2 I think and played the West of Ireland a couple of times, I think there was a but of controversy about his club and handicaps a few years back so I@m not sure how accurate the 2 is, but he's a whole lot better than me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Clareman wrote: »
    Plays off 2 I think and played the West of Ireland a couple of times, I think there was a but of controversy about his club and handicaps a few years back so I@m not sure how accurate the 2 is, but he's a whole lot better than me anyway.

Followed him for 2 holes at the pro am at the open in Fota last year.He can play alright.

Saw him teeing off at the first in Dromoland Castle two years ago. He must have put in some savage hours for the pro am.

There was talk of Drico - Sexton and Paul O'Connell all being good ?

Good stuff from quinny. I think he was off 8 or so when I played with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I believe he played in his first one last year or the year before, the East of Ireland or North I believe. Great player on his home course cause he knows every inch of it, I think he did okay in the championship as well. I remember reading an interview afterwards that he intended to play in many more of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Tony Romo.

Tony Romo.

Yes there are loads outside Ireland.

Everyone goes on about Tim Henman (+1)

But was thinking Irish - but yes work away , with handicaps

Romo ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Kankan14

David Humphreys ex Ulster and Ireland was +1. Dunno bout now as that was 4 years ago

Tony romo is off +4/5 last I saw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Rikand wrote:
    I believe he played in his first one last year or the year before, the East of Ireland or North I believe. Great player on his home course cause he knows every inch of it, I think he did okay in the championship as well. I remember reading an interview afterwards that he intended to play in many more of them

Played a lot of Golf with Conor, on many courses, Castle included, while he is awesome around Castle, he's a pretty solid player away from it too. He's not a member there any more as he has moved back up home and joining Ardglass or Down Patrick....
    Can't recall which one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

+3 at his peak. But I just googled it, and he hasnt played since early 2013. Boeta Dipenaar, south african test cricketer is another one. Here, not sure off hand, ill have a think.

Remember playing with a Kilkenny gent - he was a solid 6 handicap player in mid to late 60s.

I asked him about Dj Carey as a golfer.

They have a great way of putting down hype down there - comes from the hurling.

" Dj is not as good at golf as they go on"

Lol.

Still a fantastic achievement for these lads.

Obviously must come easy to them - or some have to fill a void when they finish up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

There was talk of Drico - Sexton and Paul O'Connell all being good ?

Think Drico is round the 12 mark, other 2 are mid to high single figures (not sure how official at the moment)

Saw O'Connell up in leopardstown range one day and could definitely tell he was single figures with the way he struck it

Romo played with woods in the AT&T Pro Am round Pebble Beach and others a few years ago.

Woods was a bit taken aback that Romo was been asked to play off
    +3 while all the Pros were off scratch

http://www.dallasnews.com/sports/dallas-cowboys/headlines/20120212-tony-romo-shoots-lower-round-than-partner-tiger-woods-at-pebble-beach.ece

Few more here http://www.the42.ie/caddy-shack-15-celebrity-golf-handicaps-that-might-surprise-you-458768-May2012/#slide-slideshow1

Remember people going on about Redknap and Hansen.

Then seen Hansen at the Ryder cup stuff - he looked a footballer that turned into a golfer.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Drico is "a bad 9" as he said himself recently.

Keano wrote: »
    Drico is "a bad 9" as he said himself recently.

I think Sexton is useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

There is a classic in the Curragh every year around the time of the derby. Its for the injured jockey's fund. A few of the Jockey's are off low handicaps. I remember caddying for Kieren Fallon and he was off 5 or 6 at the time. A lot of Jockeys play golf. About the only sport they can where they won't get broke up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

Micheal Jordan plays off 3 according to golf digest.

Kenny Daglish is low singles too I think

Jimmy Bullard was on the Europro Tour for a while. Shevchenko is meant to be handy too I think. Seems the footballers get plenty of time on the course

My mate played in the pro am alongside shevchenko before the irish open in carton actually. Ill ask him what he was like.

For a lad that comes across as a bit of a head the ball - fair play.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2303829/Jimmy-Bullard-trying-build-new-career-pro-golfer-EuroPro-Qualifying-School.html

:eek::eek::eek:

Jaysus - lads - if this is what low single figure players look like , i look awful or they have unreal short games.

:P

Jaysus - lads - if this is what low single figure players look like , i look awful or they have unreal short games.

He's off 5 believe it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭BOB81

Rafa Nadal is supposed to be off 3 or 4, unconventional looking swing...(around 1min 20 in on this video)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuj6MUjMKhc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

....Stephen Grant (Shamrock Rovers) gave up footy early enough to play golf. Was on the Challenge Tour and now playing on a minor pro tour in the States.

..easy to play a bit of footy and then give time to play golf when you're from a multi-millionaire background and can just afford these playthings, his dad is Grant as in back-boiler (amongst many) inventory/manufacturer Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

slave1 wrote:
    ..easy to play a bit of footy and then give time to play golf when you're from a multi-millionaire background and can just afford these playthings, his dad is Grant as in back-boiler (amongst many) inventory/manufacturer Grant

Its all good Daddy having the cash, Ya still gotta put the effort and time in.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

neckedit wrote: »
    Its all good Daddy having the cash, Ya still gotta put the effort and time in.

Very true, just a hell of a lot easier when money is no object when gives you all the time and facilities you need, truly living the dream and good luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭yettie1701

Dj is off 2 I'm nearly sure. He is playing in Carton house now. He is caddying for his 15 year old son in the Barton cup next weekend.

slave1 wrote: »

Interesting you say that.

As I remember looking at his lifestyle going - how is he doing this. His soccer career wasn't exactly high profile.

But fair play to him all the same - to make it to that level of soccer you have to be made of tough stuff.

Your not the type of lad who will not put the work in and complain - golf seems to be prevalent in this area.

By the way - he is going well and scoring well

looks like he need to step up a league

Winning with 65s and 68s

http://www.minorleaguegolf.com/

yettie1701 wrote: »
    Dj is off 2 I'm nearly sure. He is playing in Carton house now. He is caddying for his 15 year old son in the Barton cup next weekend.

Dj - lived in Mount Juliet / K club at one stage.

Maybe both :eek: - the Celtic Tiger was nuts.

Just as an aside, there was a thread on a US forum years ago and you had to guess the HC from a video, you don't have to have a pretty swing to be low. It was a great thread, lads getting awarded up to 20 shots due to their swing.

Yes but you can't justify that left hand. :eek:

Odd thing - he seems to turn it in just before swing.

Yes but you can't justify that left hand. :eek:

Odd thing - he seems to turn it in just before swing.

A side on view of Spieth through and just after impact and he could be classed as a handicap golfer. His left arm looks shocking.

Accepted. Some low guys look high. Some high guys look low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Alan Hansen flirted with turning Professional when he was younger I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Rory Mcilroy said that Jamie Redknapp was the best amatuer golfer he's ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭A New earth

Paul Dean is around scratch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SevesThreeIron

Few GAA ones; Charlie Redmond, Barney Rock and Tommy Carr are all off around 6. Tommy's bro Declan is a 2. Anthony Nash is 9 or so, Alan Kerins was a 6. Eddie Keher is still 8 or 9. Paul Flynn (dublin) is 14. Former Meath manager Eamonn O'Brien is a 9.

A really good player is former meath trainer - and Derval O'Rourke's - Sean Cahill (a former Olympic hurdler himself) off 4 but could do scratch for sure. Hits it a bomb.

Bullard played the Europro at concra wood last year. Shot 79, 77. Matt Le Tissier is very good too, around 4. Got to regional finals of trilby tour a year or two back.

I know Deegan talks himself down and says Castle is handy etc but he's a beast of a golfer. Hits it an awful long way. 61 or 62 around druids glen, 66 in carton Monty. He's managed Boden and Crokes in last few years so can't imagine he practices massively. Pity he couldn't really commit for few years. He has brothers off around scratch also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

God, Hansen's and Daglish's swings are seriously fugly. Bullard has a really nice swing tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

I played with Knocklyon United, Leicester Celtic and Terenure VEC and gave up football at aged 30.

I started playing golf at 32 and I'm off 9. A bad 9 I reckon.

Am I doing this right?