Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knapsack sprayer course

• 01-05-2015 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

The EU are bringing regulations for anyone using a knapsack sprayer you"ll need to do a course to use one. The ICMSA are challenging it saying that grassland farmers are only occasional users of sprayers. What next a course to tie your shoelaces :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

there's one coming for calving...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The EU are bringing regulations for anyone using a knapsack sprayer you"ll need to do a course to use one. The ICMSA are challenging it saying that grassland farmers are only occasional users of sprayers. What next a course to tie your shoelaces :mad:
    I know it sounds silly but what proportion of farmers/general public can mix a correct dose of pesticide in a sprayer/knapsack?

We had a quiz last year in the school and less than half the tables could calculate the correct amount of pesticide to add to a quantity of water.

And that's before there is a few 100mls added 'for luck':D

I find it hard to believe it but i am actually in favour of this regulation:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

I know it sounds silly but what proportion of farmers/general public can mix a correct dose of pesticide in a sprayer/knapsack?

We had a quiz last year in the school and less than half the tables could calculate the correct amount of pesticide to add to a quantity of water.

Along some similar lines, to desiccate osr which is very thick and woody/vigorous and notorious for 'holding on' unless very hot and dry weather in the stem we use about 1,440mg of glyphosate per ha or 4l/or your standard cheapo glyphosate with a cocktail of acidifiers and sticker to improve performance, some folk seem to need the same amount to kill a few m2 of nettles, I think it's more so to see results within a few days rather than patience and come back in a week ;D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Yes, that really confirms the need for this new regulation :rolleyes: The instructions are on the bottle no need for guesswork ;)

we should have a back to school course before the sprayer course:)

http://connachttribune.ie/new-spray-rules-will-be-the-law-next-year-777/

Not so bad after all spend €120 and two days and away you go :) 2/3s of those attending will have forgotten what they learned the following day but they'll have a licence to spray. What a money racket :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

http://connachttribune.ie/new-spray-rules-will-be-the-law-next-year-777/

Not so bad after all spend €120 and two days and away you go :) 2/3s of those attending will have forgotten what they learned the following day but they'll have a licence to spray. What a money racket :mad:

Not really a racket, with the regulations there will be traceability of who bought what chemicals and if after the training they are using stupid amounts of chemical and cause a problem then it can be traced back to them, but also if someone proves they have done things correctly and kept records then it can also vindicate them.

I am also in favour of this.

Not guesswork, there are too many people who ignore the instructions and do what they think is right rather than follow the correct way.

Plenty of times you get people double spraying because they don't read the instructions that say it can take up to 21 days for the spray to show results, then when the second application yellows the foliage quicker they don't realise that they have reduced the effectiveness of the systemic action.

monkeynuz wrote: »
    Not really a racket, with the regulations there will be traceability of who bought what chemicals and if after the training they are using stupid amounts of chemical and cause a problem then it can be traced back to them, but also if someone proves they have done things correctly and kept records then it can also vindicate them.
    In fairness not many use stupid amounts of chemical.

And anyway we've known about this coming for a while now, I've been trying to get a knapsack course since late 2011.

In fairness not many use stupid amounts of chemical.

I think you're being a bit naive, in fairness plenty do.

And anyway we've known about this coming for a while now, I've been trying to get a knapsack course since late 2011.
    Are you still waiting? Imagine the backlog when they bring in the rules next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

120 euro and 2 days all to spray a bit of round up under electric wires (brilliant) add in the new trailer licence as well
    Is there anyone in IFA standing up to this BS

Are you still waiting? Imagine the backlog when they bring in the rules next year.

The rules have already been brought in and registration is due by November.

No backlog necessary, providers are coming on stream all the time.

The rules have already been brought in and registration is due by November.

No backlog necessary, providers are coming on stream all the time.

Yet you have been trying since 2011.

What is the point you are trying to make?

No point just that you are contradicting yourself.

Really?

You were the one who started this duplicate thread on spraying courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

People didn't really know about it till this year.

There will be plenty of courses before the end of this year and more again before the spraying season starts next year.

fair enough some people "only some" use the incorrect amount of chemical....with the price of it and margins being so tight i doubt there are many lads splashing it around the place

it's a bit of a joke that the boom sprayer takes 2 days

the way things are going you'll have to do a course to get up in the mornin.

trailer license, sprayer, glas training - you get paid in one hand and it's taken away with the other

Really?

You were the one who started this duplicate thread on spraying courses.

That's shocking shame on me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭MANSFIELD

50HX wrote: »

the way things are going you'll have to do a course to get up in the mornin.

Very true , a neighbour said to me, soon we will need a course on how to make a cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

MANSFIELD wrote: »
    Very true , a neighbour said to me, soon we will need a course on how to make a cup of tea.

Please enrol here :D

http://www.teacourse.com/members/teacourse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

Apparently you have to do two different courses for the knapsack vs the boom... now that is a money racket.. If you can use a boom sprayer correctly doing a separate knapsack is an absolute joke..
    Boom sprayers will have to be certified also which will see a rise in the cost of contract spraying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I think you have to do two courses if you use a knapsack and weed licker too?

One course should do, calling it what it is it's bull**** to force people to pay twice for small boom sprayers, knapsack, and weed lickers compared to large tractor spray booms and dedicated sprayer vehicles.

I don't object to handling chemicals properly, this is an example of a jobs for the boys, money for old rope industry preying on a primary industry which in many cases has fairly tight margins.

YES train farmers, by all means, but there shouldn't be a need for the course goer to bring large tubs of vaseline for personal use along as well.

as far as i am aware if you need to do the boom sprayer course if you have a weed licker
    the difference being that sprayers and lickers under 3mtrs won't need calibration

if i do the boom sprayer course then i sure has hell won't be forking out to do the knapsack course....why hang yourself with another bill, the boom course will cover me to buy the spray.....how is anyone going to know if i use a knapsack or not????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

They've fitted cameras in your shed where you keep the knapsack. You'll be done forputting it on your back incorrectly also. You'll need an up to date manual handling course and a famers ticket to wear wellies and wet gear.

Muckit wrote: »
    They've fitted cameras in your shed where you keep the knapsack. You'll be done forputting it on your back incorrectly also. You'll need an up to date manual handling course and a famers ticket to wear wellies and wet gear.
    Don't forget we also need to know how to put on said wet gear and wellies properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

We shouldn't lose sight of the fact that we do the course to get the number to buy the spray..if you do the boom I don't think anyone is going to be arsed if you then use a knapsack , weed licker etc.. Anyway my cert came in the post this morning..so feck the begrudgers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    We shouldn't lose sight of the fact that we do the course to get the number to buy the spray..if you do the boom I don't think anyone is going to be arsed if you then use a knapsack , weed licker etc.. Anyway my cert came in the post this morning..so feck the begrudgers! :D

Any chance ya could get me a few litres of grazon there ;)

Not a bother..form an orderly queue at the back of the van lads,
    ye will understand that there will be a 10% ' handling' charge of course.. :cool:

ganmo wrote: »
    Any chance ya could get me a few litres of grazon there ;)
    Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Not a bother..form an orderly queue at the back of the van lads,
    ye will understand that there will be a 10% ' handling' charge of course.. :cool:
    That is exactly what will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

That is exactly what will happen.

I'm sure they'll cop on soon enough and put a cap on the number bought for the cert number used.

Joking aside.. Record keeping is going to have to be fairly detailed, but I'm sure a couple litres of general purpose spray like Roundup etc would get 'lost' from time to time... but in tillage situations for instance, where large amounts of specialist pesticides are used with rigorous application rates any so called ' overuse' is going to be immediately suspect .