Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over Hyped EVENTS

• 01-05-2015 10:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭

This thread is inspired by the recent thread, Over Hyped Places. The kind of events that have been over hyped before and after are:
    • Third Level Rag Weeks.
    • *Any* event which is described in it's promotional material as "Cool" beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Corvo

Oxygen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

The millenium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Sitting the Leaving Cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Last year Rag Week involved a thunderstorm which blew away the temporary bar on campus and toppled over a ye olde sweet shop van.

Plus Karl Spain doing blind date or some ****e.

And it was the same this year. Rag Week is totes amazeballs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Garth........... need I continue.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Electric Picnic - or any irish festival for that matter.

they never get the weather, you have to stay as drunk as you possibly can for 3 days on end to deal with the amount of irish bog-trotters around you, and the rain. oh god the rain.

in fact, any event in this country has pretty much always been a complete and utter let down and waste of money or time. dump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Anything a team of overpaid diving soccer players play another team of overpaid soccer players based in the same English City.

This is somehow described by Sky Sports as "UNMISSABLE", "ACTION-PACKED", "ALL TO PLAY FOR" despite the teams meeting up at least twice a year. It's also deemed extremely personal affair even though half of the players on the pitch aren't even from this continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,105 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The forthcoming U2 concerts at Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Mayweather Vs Pacquiao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anything a team of overpaid diving soccer players play another team of overpaid soccer players based in the same English City.

This is somehow described by Sky Sports as "UNMISSABLE", "ACTION-PACKED", "ALL TO PLAY FOR" despite the teams meeting up at least twice a year. It's also deemed extremely personal affair even though half of the players on the pitch aren't even from this continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

The Ryder Cup at the K-club in '06. There was a private helicopter flying over my house every 2-3 minutes. I remember thinking to myself it was absurd that every self-respecting businessman thought he needed to own a helicopter

With hindsight, that was the summit of the Celtic Tiger and the start of the recession...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭valoren

The Race for Fourth. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭valoren

Star Wars movies.

Grown men and women crying over the trailer the other week.

GTFO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

Mayweather Vs Pacquiao

Sir, please show yourself out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

The sale of Siteserv.

Further to that, sky sports coverage of the Lions tours, and their commentator in particular.

It seems like every tackle made will echo down through the annals of time, or every scrum won have stories forever told about it around camp fires.
    It's a game of rugby ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The Heineken Cup in rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DamienOB

Ask my girlfriend, she'd prob say sex with me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Electric Picnic - or any irish festival for that matter.

they never get the weather, you have to stay as drunk as you possibly can for 3 days on end to deal with the amount of irish bog-trotters around you, and the rain. oh god the rain.

in fact, any event in this country has pretty much always been a complete and utter let down and waste of money or time. dump

Yet another one of your 'Ireland is a kip, everyone in it is a culchie muck-savage' posts.

How stunningly original, go you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Launch of the new iThingamabob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Mayweather Vs Pacquiao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Further to that, sky sports coverage of the Lions tours, and their commentator in particular.

It seems like every tackle made will echo down through the annals of time, or every scrum won have stories forever told about it around camp fires.
    It's a game of rugby ffs

Particularly that Munster vs All Blacks game in 1978.

You'd swear it was a world cup won, not some glorified friendly against a tour team.

And it's made even worse by that recent Guinness ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

valoren wrote: »
    Star Wars movies.

Grown men and women crying over the trailer the other week.

GTFO!

Careful now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Limerick Riverfest.

Which is something, because it isn't really hyped that much anyway.

Ryder Cup - it's a nonsense tournament.

International Rules - it's a nonsense tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Mass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I went to Electric Picnic a few years back with my girlfriend at the time. While it wasn't an absolute disaster, it certainly wasn't the tranquil and bohemian paradise portrayed by a breathless media.

The food was, with only two notable exceptions, terrible. Stodgy carb, poor quality meat, over salted sauce. Not the gourmets paradise I was expecting. The best meal of the weekend was out of the picnic hamper I prepared before we headed down.

The music itself was a real mixed bag. There's a reason I hadn't heard of most of them, and that's because they were rubbish. The crowd lived up to the stereotype for the most part. Think chunky ankles, sunburn, bootcut jeans, warm lager, excessive bad language, drunkenness, public urination.

The best part of the weekend was the lovely Yurt we hired in the boutique camping site. Lovely soft double bed, good plush carpets, a reading light. Some lovely people beside us as well. I also enjoyed getting involved in a passionate debate in the debate tent over my defence of the free market.

I was still glad to hop into the Beamer nice and early on the Monday morning and get us back to Dublin for a proper power shower and a bathrobe. A glass of properly chilled white wine was also appreciated.

Massively overhyped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

Christmas. A load of Bollocks.

I do enjoy the pints and time off though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The best part of the weekend was the lovely Yurt we hired in the boutique camping site. Lovely soft double bed, good plush carpets, a reading light. Some lovely people beside us as well. I also enjoyed getting involved in a passionate debate in the debate tent over my defence of the free market.

Partaaay. You sound like a right laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I went to Electric Picnic a few years back with my girlfriend at the time. While it wasn't an absolute disaster, it certainly wasn't the tranquil and bohemian paradise portrayed by a breathless media.

The food was, with only two notable exceptions, terrible. Stodgy carb, poor quality meat, over salted sauce. Not the gourmets paradise I was expecting. The best meal of the weekend was out of the picnic hamper I prepared before we headed down.

The music itself was a real mixed bag. There's a reason I hadn't heard of most of them, and that's because they were rubbish. The crowd lived up to the stereotype for the most part. Think chunky ankles, sunburn, bootcut jeans, warm lager, excessive bad language, drunkenness, public urination.

I was still glad to hop into the Beamer nice and early on the Monday morning and get us back to Dublin for a proper power shower and a bathrobe. A glass of properly chilled white wine was also appreciated.

Massively overhyped.

lol - still it was nice of you to mix with the common man, I'm sure it was a thrill for most of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Mayweather Vs Pacquiao

How on gods earth is this over-hyped? Its one of if not the biggest fight in boxing history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭daheff

How on gods earth is this over-hyped? Its one of if not the biggest fight in boxing history.

5 years ago maybe...they're both past their prime now.

also only reckoned to be a big fight because the heavyweight division has no top boxers for years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

This week:

Youtube ads screaming "ABOUT THE LOSS OF THE 2002 HEINEKEN CUP!!!".
    Youtube with a drawling Liverpool player talking "about the excitement of Anfield"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

osarusan wrote: »
    Limerick Riverfest.

Which is something, because it isn't really hyped that much anyway.

My first thought upon seeing the thread title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Massively overhyped.

Sounds like Graham Dwyer trying to fit in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Stillhouette

Mayweather Vs Pacquiao

Absolutely this. If ever there was two lads staging a fight for a big pay day it is this. Don't rule out a rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

New Years Eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

The Knitting and Stitching Show.

The way my mum goes on about it you'd think it was Woodstock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The marriage equality referendum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Particularly that Munster vs All Blacks game in 1978.

You'd swear it was a world cup won, not some glorified friendly against a tour team.

And it's made even worse by that recent Guinness ad.

And it was the All Blacks reserve team too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Having a baby, are they a new thing or is it just since Facebook came into existence, over 7 billion people in the world, but yours is the one that's really special to all 700 of your imaginary friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

National Ploughing Championships

And it was the All Blacks reserve team too!

I know, I was there, with 742,839 other people

whupdedo wrote: »
    Having a baby, are they a new thing or is it just since Facebook came into existence, over 7 billion people in the world, but yours is the one that's really special to all 700 of your imaginary friends

My son is 3 1/2 months old now and we've not made 1 single mention of him on Facebook or uploaded 1 picture, and we intend to keep it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

The introduction of UTV Ireland onto the Irish airwaves. Sweet Jesus what a damp squib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

The Obamas or the British royal family visits here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

How it probably should be read.....:pac:
    I went to Electric Picnic a few years back with myself girlfriend at the time. While it wasn't an absolute disaster, it certainly wasn't short of a large variety of hallucinogens that inevitably ended up leaving such lasting damage upon me. the tranquil and bohemian paradise portrayed by a breathless media.

The food was, with only two notable exceptions, fantastic terrible. Stodgy carb, poor quality meat, over salted sauce. I certainly wasn't expecting the Abbrakabraesque gourmet paradise that virtually surrounded me. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the best meal of the weekend, was from the skip I raided during the last night of the festival. picnic hamper I prepared before we.

The music itself was a real mixed bag. There's a reason I hadn't heard of most of them, and that's because they were rubbish I'm usually stoned or tripping as I lay around the bedsit all day. The crowd lived up to the stereotype for the most part. Think chunky ankles, sunburn, bootcut jeans, warm lager, of course my excessive bad language, drunkenness and public urination didn't go down too well with most of them but to hell with them.

The best part of the weekend was the smash and grab on the boutique camping site. Lovely soft double bed, good plush carpets, a reading light. Yes anything that wasn't tied down, left with me. Some lovely people beside us me even helped out. Later, they even gave me a few naggins of cider for free and always had a light for me when I asked. Yes it was paradise really. I also enjoyed getting involved in a passionate debate in the debate LSD tent over my defense of the free market right to trip when and where I want.

But all good things must come to an end and I was still glad to hop into the Beamer rickshaw nice and early on the Monday morning and get us back to Dublin for a proper power shower and a bathrobe. cider session. Indeed, a glass of properly chilled white wine scrumpy was also certainly much appreciated. As I settled my nerves back in the bedsit, thinking I had missed my signing day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Pretty much an open air gig in Ireland is viewed as a 'must attend' for anyone under 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Corvo wrote: »
    Oxygen
    Helium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Renua Ireland's launch.