Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could live anywhere in Ireland, where would you live?

• 30-04-2015 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hello everyone, i'm looking for some advice/insights. Basically I have two questions.
    1)If you could live anywhere in Ireland, where would you live and why?
    2)If work wasnt that much of a concern, and you wanted to focus more on having a)good schools for the kids b) affordable rent and cost of living c)dry & sunny weather (within Irish standards of course!), where would you live?
    Any advice would be very much appreciated people.
    kind regards,
    Fernando

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Beside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Gola Island, away from all the Headers

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Donegal. The schools teach us stuff, you'll always have as much work to do as you want as long as you aren't fussy about getting paid, and the sun always shines when there's no clouds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Isn't Donegal in the Arctic circle?

catallus wrote: »
    Isn't Donegal in the Arctic circle?

No. We are in the temperate ring. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Portrush, the beauty and craic of Ireland with the benefits of the UK health & school system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Where I already am.

Outside the OP's window. In the bushes. Yes, those bushes right there. See me? That's not my hand I'm waving with ...

Portrush, the beauty and craic of Ireland with the benefits of the UK health & school system.

Yep, and in the summer you can ride the bumper cars in Barry's, eat soggy grease from Mr.Chips, snort loyalist coke in Kellys and dander up the road for yellow man.

Heaven indeed.

Exactly where I am cos none of you lot know it exists which means I have it, and all its beauty to myself.

Fundoran, so shìte even Leitrim doesn't want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Near Holly Carpenter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Achill Island.

Fundoran, so shìte even Leitrim doesn't want it.

At least they're not danderin' up the road to see the yellow man! :P:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'd live in a house, a very big house in the country
    Watching afternoon repeats
    And the food I'd eat in the country
    I'd take all manner of pills
    And pile up analyst bills in the country
    It's like an animal farm,
    Lots of rural charm in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Within 8 km of Wexford town ,in a nice bungalow with at least one acre ,but i would like 3 .I lived there before ,but had problems with neighbours whos travelling culture made then Kunts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

I'll take powerscourt please, you'll need to send some help with mowing the lawns though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Gorse Hill

At least they're not danderin' up the road to see the yellow man! :P:confused:

To eat the yellow man my friend, to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

In a little cottage, on a little hill somewhere in Connemara, near a lake and the sea. I'd while away my days wandering around the place, enjoying its savage beauty and pondering existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

I'd stay in West Cork, obviously, however, I'd swap Cork City and Dublin round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 FerFAL

anto9 wrote: »
    Within 8 km of Wexford town ,in a nice bungalow with at least one acre ,but i would like 3 .I lived there before ,but had problems with neighbours whos travelling culture made then Kunts .

Thanks, an actual reply. I'm actually leaning towards Wexford already.
    I'm just looking for a good, safe place. I'm looking for somewhere affordable but nice, which I know can be challenging, on the other hand I'm not job-restricted to a given place, so that means more options.

To eat the yellow man my friend, to eat.

I had to google that.

Mashed Honeycomb? Ye Northmen are very strange.

I had to google that.

Mashed Honeycomb? Ye Northmen are very strange.

Any kid north of the Mournes that hasn't tasted yellow man washed down with a can of warm Tennent's (or Ritz for the ladies) on a muggy, wasp infested August Tuesday hasn't lived at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Between Georgia Salpa's baps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Clonakilty.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Roundstone in Connemara. Clonakilty or Westport. Beautiful towns.

FerFAL wrote: »
    Thanks, an actual reply. I'm actually leaning towards Wexford already.
    I'm just looking for a good, safe place. I'm looking for somewhere affordable but nice, which I know can be challenging, on the other hand I'm not job-restricted to a given place, so that means more options.

Research as much as you can beforehand .Places like Castlebridge are good I.MO..Just outsideTown and near the beach .No dossers around there .
    (as far as i know )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

Dublin but a better part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Coole Mountain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Best weather is on the East Coast, southern half of. Warm, dry, even quite good land.

South County Dublin passes all the tests except Affordability. Co Wexford is serious contender, Co Wicklow also very nice.

If I won the Lotto I'd live in Blackrock Village - but shocking dear.

Neighbourhood of Greystones has much to recommend, including good transport links: Bray has nice areas as well as some rough patches. Around Enniscorthy is lovely too, but do check that your neighbours are friendly. [Kind of applies everywhere anyway]

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

Dublin, definitely! Only for I bought a house 2 years ago, I'd be gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭TemptationWaits

Cape Clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I was going to say Enniskillen for very similar reasons.

Otherwise, I wouldn't mind living for a while in Glengarriff. A grand spot to get the wind in your hair. Or a big ranch in D4 or D6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I'd buy the blaskets and open a pub there with a thatched roof, a red timber door and shmoke billowing out the chimney. Inside I'd have some of Ireland's most obscure craft beers on tap. I'd generate power using a Listeroid engine and a couple of solar panels on the hen house. A donkey would be stationed outside to help visitors carry their bags back to their boat. I'll be keeping livestock in another part of the building, with the same kind of red door so the uninitiated would have no way of knowing which is which. Halfway through the year I'd switch them around

Hipsters would travel from all over the world to visit Ireland's remotest pub. I reckon it will do quite well, twould be a badge of honour to have a selfie of oneself inside in this pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Whin mountain Gorse Hill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

katemarch wrote: »
    If I won the Lotto I'd live in Blackrock Village - but shocking dear.

What do you see in Blackrock village that no other place has?

I used to pass through there every day and it's a dump, the traffic is also desperate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I've always had a fondness for Bray. It's quite nice when the weather's good and you can't beat the amusements down at the pier. Failing that, I was informed today that there's a drive-in movie theatre in Dun Laorighe (or however you spell it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

O were I in the Moss House, where the birds do increase,
    By the foot of Mount Leinster, or in some silent place,
    By the streams of Bunclody, where all pleasures do meet…

http://bunclody.net/photos/index.html

Probably the only town in Ireland with a stream running down the centre of the main street. Lovely countryside around, very neatly kept, and sunnier weather than most of the country - though its economy has crashed in the last couple of years.

347174.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Dublin but a better part of it.

So not Dublin then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭IrishLoriii

Tramore- Love the summer time atmosphere but also the quietness in the winter..who doesn't want to wake up every morning and take a stroll on the beach :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Coole Mountain

Jesus I went on some truly frightening class A fueled benders down there during the 90s.Does that carry on still happen down there?
    If I'd the choice I'd probably pick skerries,lovely town.

If i won a bit of money on the Lotto.E300k is all ,which would only buy you a small very average house in Dublin City.

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/20-rectory-hall-castlebridge-wexford/3154019

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

Anywhere along the west coast of Ireland would make me happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Loving this thread. #propertyporn

Ah, happy daydreams - and the Euromillions on tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

katemarch wrote: »
    Loving this thread. #propertyporn

Ah, happy daydreams - and the Euromillions on tonight!

…and (for those who don't want to gamble their money away, but want to gamble and still have their money) the Prize Bonds are on every month!

Wexford sounds best for the OP. Apart from a nice view, nice weather, good shops and schools and so on, I'd be very inclined to check out the neighbours first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Jesus I went on some truly frightening class A fueled benders down there during the 90s.
    How I fondly don't remember, partying with the Crusties & their lurchers back in the days of yore :pac: ;)

In Clair Byrnes box .lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

anto9 wrote: »
    In Clair Byrnes box .lol

Ah Anto,looks like we gonna be roomies bud.My names Anto too away from boards so we'll have to arrange a nickname system,just to avoid confusion at night...