Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting thrown out of a pub..

• 24-04-2015 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭

Ive been asked to leave a pub a few times in my life.. its really awkward. In my own defence i left without a fuss.. and never returned .. the shame.

i was just.. over enthusiastic

Stories please :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Stories please :-)

You first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'd bar everyone and put my feet up with a large Brandy and a Hamlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭dutopia

I was barred from the Savoy before for calling the salesperson a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

and was she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

You're not a real drinkin' man until you've been frog-marched out of a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I think its cos when I smile and leave..

Yeah, in the night club in Maynooth. Oh back in the student days... Ate too much food, drank too much beer. Ended up going to the jacks and even though I made it to the toilet I managed to sit down calmly on the seat and puke onto the floor in front of me for about 5 minutes. It was a mountain of puke. God I still feel awful about it still.

I managed to stumble out and was walking toward the bar when projectile puke decided it wanted to happen, I put my hand up to block it (that never works amirite?) and all it managed to do was increase the radius of the of the spread. Bouncer caught a little bit of it and promptly marched me out. I was wearing a t-shirt and it was snowing. My jacket was inside with my keys and my phone was dead. After he let me shiver and turn blue for about 30 minutes he escorted me back in to get my jacket.

One of only 2 times I've thrown up from drinking too much. None of my friends knew what happened but jaysus, it'll stay with me to the end of my days. That mountain still haunts me.

Your turn OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Apart from when I was caught in there underage, I don't think I've ever been kicked out. I've been told to cop on and I've been refused entry, but as far as I remember (which is a pretty important qualifier because I have been ratarsed black-out drunk on nights out quite a few times) I've never actually been thrown out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Honestly it's a little childish if it happens more than once when you are younger it's ok I guess.

Maybe it's a guy thing??

It's never happened to me. What do you have to do??

See also I don't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Only once. Was thrown out of Costello's in Limerick (which is an achievement in itself) for helping someone to crowd surf on the dancefloor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Zoo Bar, many moons ago, for filling a pint glass with Jack Daniels from a bottle I had smuggled in.

On reflection, taking a pint of ice to the jacks was a bit of a giveaway I was up to no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i don't know no shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Gatecrashed a party in the basement of Frankenstein's in Edinburgh, ended up getting lashed on the free booze and chasing the barmaid around with the drinks gun, the thing you get coke and what not from - thrown out. That said we were well known regulars so used to get away with quite a bit. That said Edinburgh bouncers, in the main, are very laid back.

Some of the stuff we used to get away with in Edinburgh just wouldn't fly here, and rightly so tbh. No sure I've ever been thrown out of anywhere here, not let in a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

i don't know no shame
    I feel no pain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

That said Edinburgh bouncers, in the main, are very laid back.

I was thrown out of Finnegan's Wake in Edinburgh last year. A friend I was with tried to start a fight, I was just guilty by association... As we were leaving, another friend arrived to see friend no. 1 being dragged out while he was shouting at the bouncers, while I was walking behind apologising repeatedly to the other bouncer...

Thankfully it didn't lead to a ban, it's my favourite pub here :P

Only once. Was thrown out of Costello's in Limerick (which is an achievement in itself) for helping someone to crowd surf on the dancefloor

So it is possible to get kicked out of Costello's! Well I'll be damned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Yea for pulling the connacht rugby bunting off the ceiling. Probably more times, that is the most recent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Happy to say that in 18 years of drinking in pubs I have never been thrown out of one, or asked to leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Have been kicked out numerous times from student clubs/pubs just because I was too drunk. They just escort me to the door, usually I'll have dropped a pint glass or something.

Worst is when you're hammered and start giving the bouncer abuse, just really cringey ****e.

Dude I know told a bouncer he was going to come back and buy the club when he was older and then fire him from his job. He gets a lot of slagging for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Been threatened with it a few times for being too rowdy/loud but usually the people I'm with calm me down before I get chucked out.

I socialise with far to much enthusiasm :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Anyone from Drogheda will probably remember when Redz had a balcony overlooking the smoking area. One saturday night Yours Truly, only a young fella from the faa side, was perched at the rail looking down. There was some stunner standing below, she either had implants or else the best, most gravity-defying rack known to man. Plus she was wearing a corset.

There was almost a queue of lads coming up to look down her top. Then some yahoo decides to tip a bit of his pint straight down into her cleavage. Everyone scattered, bar me. I stood there sniggering like the teenager I was.

Next, two black suited gorillas came bursting through the doors, grabbed a hold of me and frog marched me off towards the fire exit. I put my transition year debating skills to great use as I loudly proclaimed "tha' wasn't meeee" but it was to no avail. Flung like a bowling ball out onto West Street. Months before they let me back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Yeah, in the night club in Maynooth. Oh back in the student days... Ate too much food, drank too much beer. Ended up going to the jacks and even though I made it to the toilet I managed to sit down calmly on the seat and puke onto the floor in front of me for about 5 minutes. It was a mountain of puke. God I still feel awful about it still.

I managed to stumble out and was walking toward the bar when projectile puke decided it wanted to happen, I put my hand up to block it (that never works amirite?) and all it managed to do was increase the radius of the of the spread. Bouncer caught a little bit of it and promptly marched me out. I was wearing a t-shirt and it was snowing. My jacket was inside with my keys and my phone was dead. After he let me shiver and turn blue for about 30 minutes he escorted me back in to get my jacket.

One of only 2 times I've thrown up from drinking too much. None of my friends knew what happened but jaysus, it'll stay with me to the end of my days. That mountain still haunts me.

Your turn OP.
    Everyone knows that the more you eat, the
    more you can drink. A full belly slows the
    absorbtion of alcohol. What they didn’t tell
    you is alcohol slows digestion of food.
    So you walk in the bar with a full belly, a nice
    fluffy bed for all those schnapps and tequila
    shots can cuddle together on. Let them play!
    Let them frolic! Let them bounce on the
    bedsprings! A shot of ouzo? Sure! More the
    merrier! Look at them bounce, ever higher
    and higher—and suddenly you realize the
    restroom is much farther than the distance
    between your stomach and your mouth.
    Bllluuuuuaaaaaaaaaggghhhhhppppppp!
    A drunk’s first instinct, of course, is to deny
    everything. With stomach bile dripping from
    your lips you’ll manage a
    “Heymanitwuzzuntme. I’mjestryintohep
    kleenitup.”
    The only good thing about being coated with a
    thick layer of vomit is no one wants to touch
    you. Your flight instructor will become
    circumspect about his tutelage. Instead of
    launching, he will merely let you taxi toward
    the runway while almost daintily dancing
    around the rivers and lakes you leave in your
    wake. But you can expect a farewell kick in
    the ass on the way out.
    So what’s the lesson here? Simple.
    Don’t be that guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Happy to say that in 18 years of drinking in pubs I have never been thrown out of one, or asked to leave

How ...............................

Exciting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I was carried out of McDonalds on O'Connell St by two bouncers for eating a smuggled Whopper. I was pissed on Whiskey at the time. I refused to leave so one grabbed me by my arms and one by my legs and they carried me out of the place while I shouted "I'm not resisting arrest!" at the top of my voice. It was like a scene from Withnail and I - at least in my head.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

stimpson wrote: »
    I was carried out of McDonalds on O'Connell St by two bouncers for eating a smuggled Whopper. I was pissed on Whiskey at the time. I refused to leave so one grabbed me by my arms and one by my legs and they carried me out of the place while I shouted "I'm not resisting arrest!" at the top of my voice. It was like a scene from Withnail and I - at least in my head.

Good times.

Sounds more like a scene from worlds dumbest criminals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Anyone thrown out of a pub is a nefarious delinquent on a fast track to a life of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Sounds more like a scene from worlds dumbest criminals :D

Eating contraband burgers is hardly a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Everyone knows that the more you eat, the
    more you can drink. A full belly slows the
    absorbtion of alcohol. What they didn’t tell
    you is alcohol slows digestion of food.
    So you walk in the bar with a full belly, a nice
    fluffy bed for all those schnapps and tequila
    shots can cuddle together on. Let them play!
    Let them frolic! Let them bounce on the
    bedsprings! A shot of ouzo? Sure! More the
    merrier! Look at them bounce, ever higher
    and higher—and suddenly you realize the
    restroom is much farther than the distance
    between your stomach and your mouth.
    Bllluuuuuaaaaaaaaaggghhhhhppppppp!
    A drunk’s first instinct, of course, is to deny
    everything. With stomach bile dripping from
    your lips you’ll manage a
    “Heymanitwuzzuntme. I’mjestryintohep
    kleenitup.”
    The only good thing about being coated with a
    thick layer of vomit is no one wants to touch
    you. Your flight instructor will become
    circumspect about his tutelage. Instead of
    launching, he will merely let you taxi toward
    the runway while almost daintily dancing
    around the rivers and lakes you leave in your
    wake. But you can expect a farewell kick in
    the ass on the way out.
    So what’s the lesson here? Simple.
    Don’t be that guy.

Don't be that guy.

The new poem from highly regarded poet Harry Bailey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I've been fcuked out of pubs in Ireland, Wales, Holland, and Lanzarote!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Was kicked out off a strip club in Liverpool, we basically told the strippers they weren't attractive enough to warrant paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Got thrown out of a bar in st. James park, lads weekend, all day drinking. According to the stewards and police you're not all allowed be drunk at sporting events in the uk, or sing "who supports the rapists" at the Newcastle United while seated with the home fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭neil_

Been kicked out of a couple of places over the years, just for benign stuff like falling over or taking naps in the toilets (as far as I can remember). Never bothered putting up a fight. In all cases I was too drunk to feel anything as complex as awkwardness or embarassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Steve_Carella

I've been asked to leave a pub a few times in my life...

Why do you keep going back to it?

Oh how I make myself lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

The one and only time happened in Tramore in Waterford. The Hi-B night club. I was drinking like it was going to run out of fashion (I had a bad week). I remember that last Bacardi and coke that threw me over the edge. I was sitting with my mates in the furthest place from the toilet possible. I knew when I drank that Bacardi that an imminent spew was highly likely. Now I remember this soo well because to this day, the pi*ss is still taken out of me. The one part I genuinely remember was Steps playing and I thought that the best route to the toilet wasn't around but right down the middle of the dance floor. To this day I never saw such a flow of vomit, it just went everywhere on the dance floor. It put the exorcist film to shame. I am not proud of this btw. I didn't get the chance to get to the toilet, but 2 bouncers pulled me off the floor, I was a mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've puked all over bathrooms in my day but have never got thrown out yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I pushed a woman after she pushed me.
    What about equality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

I pushed a woman after she pushed me.
    What about equality?
    I am more worried about intelligence after reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

osarusan wrote: »
    Don't be that guy.

The new poem from highly regarded poet Harry Bailey.

I plagiarised it from modern drunkard magazine.
    Alas,as far as my poetic musings are concerned,Im not held in very high regard amongst my literary peers :(
    Shower of w@nkers as far as I'm concerned,so their scornful remarks don't faze me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Some frisky one from work I'd scored with slipped a hand down my pants and started to tug me off as we were drunkenly fumbling in the corner of a late bar.
    bouncer came over and chucked us both out, advising we get a room!
    Some sound advice and duly noted... except once the fresh air hit me, I had to nip around the corner and 'call Ralph'... and she waited for me!
    Classy times...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Anyone from Drogheda will probably remember when Redz had a balcony overlooking the smoking area. One saturday night Yours Truly, only a young fella from the faa side, was perched at the rail looking down. There was some stunner standing below, she either had implants or else the best, most gravity-defying rack known to man. Plus she was wearing a corset.

There was almost a queue of lads coming up to look down her top. Then some yahoo decides to tip a bit of his pint straight down into her cleavage. Everyone scattered, bar me. I stood there sniggering like the teenager I was.

Next, two black suited gorillas came bursting through the doors, grabbed a hold of me and frog marched me off towards the fire exit. I put my transition year debating skills to great use as I loudly proclaimed "tha' wasn't meeee" but it was to no avail. Flung like a bowling ball out onto West Street. Months before they let me back in.
    Onlooker my eye. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Onlooker my eye. :pac:

I sweeeeeaaarrrrrr to ya!! :D