Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does your username mean

• 24-04-2015 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

Weekend is here so it's time for a little craic :D

Seen this in after hours earlier and thought I'd throw it up here. Just for the hell of it

I'll start off. "Reggie" is my nickname in the forces. so where does your username stem from or mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Reggie. wrote: »

Seen this in after hours earlier and thought I'd throw it up here. Just for the hell of it

I'll start off. "Reggie" is my nickname in the forces. so where does your username stem from or mean?

mine is a bull that we bred into ai

how long ago were you in the army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Well get u to 10k posts reggie don't worry!!!!!.anyway brother started calling me Mahoney after ur man in police academy years ago,a few still call me that..,,,among other things!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Mine comes from a Limousin bull called Millbrook Tanko, my favourite cow is bred off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Given to me by a local fella after a 10k race here. I had only taken up running a short while and I pushed this guy all the way down the last 2 miles and after the race he said I was a grueller and it just stuck.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Well get u to 10k posts reggie don't worry!!!!!.anyway brother started calling me Mahoney after ur man in police academy years ago,a few still call me that..,,,among other things!!!

were you as good with the ladies:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

Mine is fairly self explanatory haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

I just like rubbing peoples noses in it how I farm on the best land in the country :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Mine is fairly self explanatory haha

Me too !! :D

your fond of the saddle:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

first name and football club / parish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Cos I'm unimaginative... :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Well I think you all know where mine came from:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Well I think you all know where mine came from:D

a zetor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Mine has to do with my pastime.
    I've been known to have a bit of success with the k9's at the highest level...

Off to Argentina tomorrow to salute a few Doves and Ducks. Looking forward to a break.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

The thatch is gone a little silvered around the edges...........

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

First name and parish, not very imaginative!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I like Friesian cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

My first name and the binary code for the number 9 for no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Keyinn7

My name is Cian and years ago when I used to play Xbox Live Americans kept calling me every name under the sun except Cian some examples include.
    SeeAnn
    Clan
    Si-an

It wrecked my head so I came up with Keyinn so they could pronounce it properly ! And I've used it as a username for pretty much everything since !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Drew P. Wiener

Self explanatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My exclamation of choice when the sh1t is hitting the fan... 'f**k it'.

My username is just a play on words of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

funny enough Johnny Osbourne was a Jamaican Freed slave with Irish heritage who went to war against a corrupt auntie(who sold his farm) and blew her stinking head off with a shotgun, (both barrels , point blank), no relation

edited to add , i don't condone this action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I was/am a big fan of csi New York. So took my user name from that. Also the user name includes part of my address!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I breed stones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I breed stones...

I knew ye Clare boys were strange. Riding stone are ye:D:D

Ps no stones were harmed in this statement :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I lurve burds;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭visatorro

visa is a permit of sorts, torro Is a bull. so permission to bull, or free to ride. old girlfriend and more or less had me by the balls so I needed a passport to go out, and a visa for a ride basically so kinda came outta that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 anti christ

Its what all my friends call me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

stanflt wrote: »
    mine is a bull that we bred into ai

how long ago were you in the army?

Still in it. Will be for another few years yet

mahoney_j wrote: »

Passed that milestone a few days ago j ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Given to me in college cos lads couldn't pronounce my surname properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I like grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I used to manage a few soccer teams, not too imaginative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

Mine was the captiva check that you had to type in when registering - no other explanation, just pure laziness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Smart, good looking, redhead, custodian of the land.
    In other words a thick as a ditch, dog ugly, balding mucksavage!

Smart, good looking, redhead, custodian of the land.
    In other words a thick as a ditch, dog ugly, balding mucksavage!

Standard farmer so

Better than standard- bog standard!

I like grass

Amoung other things ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

It's time like these I wish I picked a more imaginative username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Mine is a television series that only had a short run, it aired here in the early 70's. Glenn Ford was Sam Cade, Cades county was the name of the series. We've a pub near here called Kade's Kounty that's where the k comes in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I like grass
    I thought that was you out grazing with the cows the other day when I was passing.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Mine is a television series that only had a short run, it aired here in the early 70's. Glenn Ford was Sam Cade, Cades county was the name of the series. We've a pub near here called Kade's Kounty that's where the k comes in :)

Ah up near Glenville so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

My favourite villain from the magnificent Count of Monte Cristo. Played superbly by Guy Pearse in the 2002 remake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

Asmooh is short for Asmodeus and Asmodeus is a devil :)

Still in it. Will be for another few years yet

Did you ever come across a lump of Ashe

stanflt wrote: »
    Did you ever come across a lump of Ashe or Moore

Not sure what you mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Given to me in college cos lads couldn't pronounce my surname properly.

Anything to Stephen the Waterford hurler?

Brigideer generals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

i called myself after an awesome poster who used to be on here:)