Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Weird Random Woman Accused Myself And a Mate of Perving/Leering on Her

• 24-04-2015 12:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭

Right so this week has been a somewhat eventful week for me...

I was out for a drink with a few friends for a charity shindig in a local pub, had a great night, even won a bottle of champagne in a raffle, was delighted with myself, anyway the shindig finished up and most of the group I was with went home but myself and one mate of mine left this pub and went to another hangout of ours nearby for another one or 2 pints, had a game of pool and had a laugh with the usual regulars you'd see in there.

I told this mate of mine because I considered him a close mate, I said that I had a date tomorrow night in the same bar, and I tell few people about my personal life so I told him because he's a mate and I confide with him about general trails and tribulations and I've personally had a difficult couple of months due to a horrible relationship break-up I had a few months ago and he knows all the bad details compared to everyone else.

Anyway I told him that I had this date and that I was feeling weird getting myself out there again due to the affect the break-up had on me and we were chatting and my mate made me feel better about seeing this new girl tomorrow and I'm going to go ahead with it because it's probably the best thing to do.

Next thing another mate of mine randomly comes into the pub and my other mate starts subtly taking the piss about my date tomorrow and saying to the other fella "Man we should come here tomorrow night for a few pints" in this sarcy funny tone if you follow me, the other mate was like "Why what's going on tomorrow?" and I was trying not to smirk and nudging the other lad to shut up, it between me smirking across the bar at the mate that said "Why what's going on tomorrow?" there was this woman in her mid 30's maybe at the bar, about 8-10 years older than the three of us, she seen the stupid grin I was trying to hide from my mate across the way and she got all bitchy and paranoid and thought I was leering at her and that my mate and I were talking about her.

She had a number of bitchy comments and making us out to be the horrible men for looking at her and when we denied it because we weren't, I was looking at my mate across the way and wasn't remotely attracted to yer one and my mate and I had some words and I eventually said "Don't flatter yourself" and her saying not to mess with her and warning us and all this bulls**t, creating a load of drama in front of the staff and the few people at the bar on a relatively quiet Thursday night in the pub. She walked off in a huff anyway and was being loud and bitchy to the rest of her friends.

My mate and I were sitting there afterwards and were a bit shocked because we're harmless enough and we drink there often and we were like "What the f**k?, how dare she paint us in that light" she completely misunderstood what was going on around her. My mate who asked what was going on about my date, actually sort of knows the woman as he worked in the pub for a while, she's a regular and he has no time for her, because she often starts s**t in pubs and she told my mate and I where she works, which is a local place.

My mate and I feel like we can't go to this pub anymore if she is a regular because we're sort of afraid she will slander us in front of people for apparent gawking/leering/perving at her when no such thing happened, we were thinking about going to her place of work to straighten it out and "retain our honour" (sounds a bit stupid) but still like it's our credibility and reputation and it's one of our local hangouts and we shouldn't be talked to and treated like that when she hasn't a foggiest what was going on.

So what do you think of that? Anything like that happen anyone before? It's never happened to me anyway, it's not nice at all, feeling very uneasy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭redarmy

not reading all that, ring joe

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Why do you care what she thinks? Looking isn't illegal. Built up story about nothing if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

You must type really really fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

zcorpian88 wrote: »

I was out for a drink with a few friends for a charity shindig in a local pub, had a great night, even won a bottle of champagne in a raffle, was delighted with myself, anyway the shindig finished up and most of the group I was with went home but myself and one mate of mine left this pub and went to another hangout of ours nearby for another one or 2 pints, had a game of pool and had a laugh with the usual regulars you'd see in there.

I told this mate of mine because I considered him a close mate, I said that I had a date tomorrow night in the same bar, and I tell few people about my personal life so I told him because he's a mate and I confide with him about general trails and tribulations and I've personally had a difficult couple of months due to a horrible relationship break-up I had a few months ago and he knows all the bad details compared to everyone else.

Anyway I told him that I had this date and that I was feeling weird getting myself out there again due to the affect the break-up had on me and we were chatting and my mate made me feel better about seeing this new girl tomorrow and I'm going to go ahead with it because it's probably the best thing to do.

Next thing another mate of mine randomly comes into the pub and my other mate starts subtly taking the piss about my date tomorrow and saying to the other fella "Man we should come here tomorrow night for a few pints" in this sarcy funny tone if you follow me, the other mate was like "Why what's going on tomorrow?" and I was trying not to smirk and nudging the other lad to shut up, it between me smirking across the bar at the mate that said "Why what's going on tomorrow?" there was this woman in her mid 30's maybe at the bar, about 8-10 years older than the three of us, she seen the stupid grin I was trying to hide from my mate across the way and she got all bitchy and paranoid and thought I was leering at her and that my mate and I were talking about her.

She had a number of bitchy comments and making us out to be the horrible men for looking at her and when we denied it because we weren't, I was looking at my mate across the way and wasn't remotely attracted to yer one and my mate and I had some words and I eventually said "Don't flatter yourself" and her saying not to mess with her and warning us and all this bulls**t, creating a load of drama in front of the staff and the few people at the bar on a relatively quiet Thursday night in the pub. She walked off in a huff anyway and was being loud and bitchy to the rest of her friends.

My mate and I were sitting there afterwards and were a bit shocked because we're harmless enough and we drink there often and we were like "What the f**k?, how dare she paint us in that light" she completely misunderstood what was going on around her. My mate who asked what was going on about my date, actually sort of knows the woman as he worked in the pub for a while, she's a regular and he has no time for her, because she often starts s**t in pubs and she told my mate and I where she works, which is a local place.

My mate and I feel like we can't go to this pub anymore if she is a regular because we're sort of afraid she will slander us in front of people for apparent gawking/leering/perving at her when no such thing happened, we were thinking about going to her place of work to straighten it out and "retain our honour" (sounds a bit stupid) but still like it's our credibility and reputation and it's one of our local hangouts and we shouldn't be talked to and treated like that when she hasn't a foggiest what was going on.

So what do you think of that? Anything like that happen anyone before? It's never happened to me anyway, it's not nice at all, feeling very uneasy about it.

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Have you considered cocooning yourself in duct tape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There is no chance under the sun that anyone but you is still thinking about this OP. Just forget it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

How can you think that much after a few drinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Still it's our local, I don't want people thinking that my mate and I are some pair of perv's that leer in some obvious fashion at women, this woman was upset because of my mate sniggering and it ended up making me smirk and she looks over at me then and gets the wrong idea.

If I'm going to check out someone out I'm subtle about it and I don't make it known, I won't stupidly grin towards her and give her the creeps, who the f**k does that?

diomed wrote: »
    How can you think that much after a few drinks?

Meh...Didn't have too many, only had 4 or 5 pints, I'm grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Just shag her and get it over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

There's only one thing to do really.
    Change your name and enter the witness protection programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Still it's our local, I don't want people thinking that my mate and I are some pair of perv's that leer in some obvious fashion at women, this woman was upset because of my mate sniggering and it ended up making me smirk and she looks over at me then and gets the wrong idea.

If I'm going to check out someone out I'm subtle about it and I don't make it known, I won't stupidly grin towards her and give her the creeps, who the f**k does that?

The only logical next step is that you get a sandwichboard made up with that printed on the front and then stand outside your local with it every friday and saturday night for a month.
    Have you considered passing out fliers explaining your plight?

The only logical next step is that you get a sandwichboard made up with that printed on the front and then stand outside your local with it every friday and saturday night for a month.

Aww God this is why I love After Hours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Don't let some b*tch on her high horse get to you. If this is a local hangout spot, then just bite the bullet and go there anyway. If she's there, then just ignore her and do your own thing, there's no reason for you to stop going there just because of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

I wouldnt worry about her kicking up a fuss when you go in there again.If shes a regular, the other regulars will know what way she is already. Just dont give her another thought, forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭whats_my_name

"Not a pervert"

But seriously though I feel like our characters have been tarnished somewhat, having to go to the same pub for a date tomorrow has me nervous now in case this bint shows up and paints a picture that I'm some sort of creepy bad pick-up artist.

A change of venue might be on the cards for this one, not going to put me off going to the pub altogether though, it's a great pub.

Actually this story might be a good story to break the ice with my date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

There is no pool table in that pub.

After trying to read the op again its sounds to me its pure imagination by the op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

It's crazy how some peoples definitions vary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

All that worrying and you haven't found time to worry about your date there tomorrow night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

we were thinking about going to her place of work to straighten it out and "retain our honour"

please do this and report back :)

deco nate wrote: »
    Just shag her and get it over with.

I wouldn't touch her if the penis was stolen!

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    After trying to read the op again its sounds to me its pure imagination by the op.

I can never understand how people can tell if some text written by a faceless poster on a public forum is "imaginary" or not.Its hardly the most far fetched story is it?And what would he have to gain from making it up?

PARlance wrote: »
    All that worrying and you haven't found time to worry about your date there tomorrow night...

Id say the only date the op has tomorrow night is with Rosie Palm and her five sisters.

How about using a dildo?

Rosie Palm?

I know her! :)

So now you are tell us she/he has a stolen penis?!
    1:...run fast!

2:....bend over and take it like a.......!!!

Id say the only date the op has tomorrow night is with Rosie Palm and her five sisters.

I've had too long a relationship on and off with Rosie Palm, good old reliable Rosie Palm, I need to move on though, could do better

Its hardly the most far fetched story is it?

Its amongst the rest of them.
    And what would he have to gain from making it up?

Imagination breeds more imagination.

Just cant see why he'd make it up.

Not made up bud, I wish it was, it's not a nice way to end a good night out, being seen like you're some sort of pervy predator by the opposite sex when all I did was smirk at my mates silly remark.

Interesting topic for a thread, at least in my ale filled head anyway.

Just cant see why he'd make it up.

True, I've had more exciting cups of tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You can get a surfeit of fervently moralistic and completely unqualified advice in Personal Issues, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

how was the date? get the ride?

anncoates wrote: »
    You can get a surfeit of fervently moralistic and completely unqualified advice in Personal Issues, OP.

I could be wrong here as I had 4 or 5 pints earlier and the last bar i had one or two but are you taking the piss? :pac:

That's some stretched humour, man. :mad:

how was the date? get the ride?

Date is tomorrow night bud, in the same feckin pub and all

whoops , sorry. didnt pay too much attention to when it was posted
    hopefully , the nutter wont cause trouble for ya if shes there again and throw a spanner in the works

If she's there tomorrow night, grab your date, and start dry riding her in the middle of the pub whilst shouting
    "RETAINING MY HONOUR, I'M RETAINING MY HONOUR"

Come back and tell us that story

this could turn out like feeky magee's thread

Worst thread of the day and the day is young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

If its pulling the piss it's tragic. If its true its even more so.

17 references to "mates" must break some record.

As for the story, it's just a misunderstanding at the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

eternal wrote: »
    Worst thread of the day and the day is young.

Dreadful, but I'm still mildly interested in how his date goes

Tasden wrote: »
    Dreadful, but I'm still mildly interested in how his date goes

There'll be war if he looks at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

If it's your local the people who drink there should know you and your mate well enough to makeup their own mind about what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'd hate to have to listen to a really long story of yours.

Why all padding. Some woman in the bar thought you and your friend were talking/leering about her. You told her 'don't flatter yourself' and she walked off bitching to her mates about you. End of story. The first 4 paragraphs are irrelevant.

Go back to the pub,if she's there, ignore her. If she says anything ignore her. If she asks you what you and your mate were saying the other night, ignore her. She'll soon get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Why did not not apologize for any misunderstanding and explain 'we were not laughing at you?'.