Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Odd thing to find in your car

• 22-04-2015 9:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭

Was going to post thus under "did something to my car today" but here will probably do. Over the weekend my sunroof stopped working and then the annoying sliding of something in the head liner.....so this evening I went at the repair.

I have had the car 6 months yes that long and today I found a pink Ipod 4gb in the head liner.....it broke my sunroof .

Still not sure how it got in there.the music taste of the owner is awful ...so what have ye found

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Weird pack of Japanese jellies. I owned the car from new and found these about 4 years after I bought it.

I really really wanted to eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

antodeco wrote: »
    Weird pack of Japanese jellies. I owned the car from new and found these about 4 years after I bought it.

I really really wanted to eat them.

Do post the resultsðŸ˜

A soldering iron, yes a soldering iron lodged down behind the back seat of a corolla I had years ago. Worked fine. Still have it somewhere

Me -10

Previous owner - 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

A duff beer bottle cap which I then used as a rear window wiper hole blank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭cletus

A red rocker switch on the dash. Not sure what it does though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I had a 4gb pink iPod nicked when my FTO got written off by joyriders just after I sold it. (Forgot to take it back, buyer was to send it back but he only had the car a few days before it got nicked)

What kind of ****e music is on this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

A copy of Playboy under the spare wheel, bought the car off a fella through a friend, he either forgot it was there or left it in case his missus saw him with it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Cheque for €3400 behind the ashtray. Returned it to previous owner.

I found a Japanese parking ticket in mine

cletus wrote: »
    A red rocker switch on the dash. Not sure what it does though

My friend had a series of 6 rocker switches on his dash in a polo when he bought it. They had to be flipped in a certain order to start the car. Switch 1 was up, 2 down, 3 down etc until you completed the starter circuit. I don't know if you'd call it a clever or ridiculous kill switch set up. It was ripped out after about 2 days and replaced with a proper kill switch. Ironically the car was stolen in the end

colm_mcm wrote: »

What kind of ****e music is on this one?

The xfactor kind ,and a Marian finucane pod cast for some reason

I can safely say it's not my one so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭Bigus

200,000 euro of bank irish draft carbon copies to about 15 parties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Masking tape and rope in the boot..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

A shovel and a bag of lime

When my aunt bought her car, the previous owner had taped the angelus and had it in the tape deck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I can safely say it's not my one so :)

He says in the public domain as he quickly sends a pm to the OP. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Some weird sh*t I've found in cars include a hard disc drive, a questionable bag of white powder, a mars bar expired in 1994, half a bra, soiled jocks, gloopy cola, adult literature, ladies shoes, a snap on screwdriver in place of an air filter, a post office savings book and a hape of photos of some chap.

Plenty more that I just cant remember at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Found a distress flare under the seat of my neighbours jap import March. Expiry date of 1998 on it. Lovely.

dgt wrote: »
    Some weird sh*t I've found in cars include a hard disc drive, a questionable bag of white powder, a mars bar expired in 1994, half a bra, soiled jocks, gloopy cola, adult literature, ladies shoes, a snap on screwdriver in place of an air filter, a post office savings book and a hape of photos of some chap.

I'll be needing all that stuff back you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

dgt wrote: »

You forgot the box of dog biscuits in place of the airbag ECU :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You forgot the box of dog biscuits in place of the airbag ECU :pac:

That is something I don't ever want to see again :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Various Japanese coins under the carpet of the wifes' Micra import. Plastic bag with rolling papers and some weed in a little car belonging to my deceased relative. It was in the First Aid storage area:D
    Car had been sitting about 4 years, no kick off the grass......:(

Oh yeah, a black silk slip, and two boxes of "Black Cat" bangers under the drivers seat of a jeep I bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭Vic_08

A correctly filled out service book.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Bought a UK reg ex-company car at auction and found an iPad mini in the glove box with the service history.

Bought a charger and charged it up and I still have it today.

If it were a private individual I would have returned it.

Other than that when you press the eject button on the CD player it's always exciting seeing a CD pop out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

There was 3 or 4 tampons in the 206 when we got it, in the glovebox. These were small and rolled into a cylinder, not dissimilar in size to a cigarette. Now, I hadn't a clue what they were since they didn't look like the standard packaging ones. The packaging of these had flowers, a bit of a scent and nice patterns on them, so I only assumed they were air fresheners..... Yes I distributed them around the car, one or two in front of the gear stick and the door pockets. Few weeks later when the sister seen the car, she pointed out what they really were...... I split myself laughing when I realised. What a spa I must have looked like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Found three bags of 2 euro coins under the passenger seat of a car I bought a few years back, Previous owner never returned my call so I kept them. In another car I found 50 quid in the ashtray, rang the seller and he said it was luck money which was nice :) other than that just the usual jap coins etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Brasso

I found a video game themed wedding invitation a few months after buying my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

Some ammunition in behind the dashboard of a car bought privately from a staff member of an embassy in London.

At the time, in the late 80's, I was a frequent user of the ferries between Dublin and Holyhead. It would have been fairly interesting trying to explain their presence if they'd been discovered at one of the security checks. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

2x .22 rounds in the rear ashtray of a landcruiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭pcardin

a DVD called GOLDEN SHOWER :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

only found japanese coins in my import, nothing too odd really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Found a weird little JDM keyring character thingy in a DC2 teg fresh in from Japland, still have it somewhere :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Found a distress flare under the seat of my neighbours jap import March. Expiry date of 1998 on it. Lovely.

Common enough, still have a flare in mine, although I don't know if that's a good idea or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Dartz

The original manufacturer's tool kit in the boot. Still fresh and unused after 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

blastman wrote: »
    Common enough, still have a flare in mine, although I don't know if that's a good idea or not!

I know a lad that set one off near the coast of Waterford a few years ago, Coast guard heli made a pass over followed by a stern talking from the gardai, he thought nothing of setting it off lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Dartz wrote: »
    The original manufacturer's tool kit in the boot. Still fresh and unused after 8 years.

2 unsued first aid boxes (one in black the other in green) under the front seat and in the boot

all the creams and bandages etc saying best before 1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Other than that when you press the eject button on the CD player it's always exciting seeing a CD pop out!

Except when it turns out to be "A Woman's Heart" CD like in the last car my father bought.

Only thing found in mine was a Shoe Polish kit and some literature from Provident Finance (one of these crowd's offering loans for ridiculous APR)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

I found a pen behind my glove box when I had to take it out to change a relay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Not as unusual as others but I found a box or 40 or 50 contact lenses. Who ever they belonged to must have been half blind because they were -6 as far as I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

My friend had a series of 6 rocker switches on his dash in a polo when he bought it. They had to be flipped in a certain order to start the car. Switch 1 was up, 2 down, 3 down etc until you completed the starter circuit. I don't know if you'd call it a clever or ridiculous kill switch set up. It was ripped out after about 2 days and replaced with a proper kill switch. Ironically the car was stolen in the end

Have to ask... why would someone steal a Polo?!

The previous owner of my S2000 left an air freshener in it that smelled GLORIOUS... to the point where I've made a point of tracking down and buying ONLY that air freshener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Back when i was valeting years ago, you'd find all sorts. Particularly coming into the recession with repossessed cars, people used to ruin them before they were taken away.

some noteable ones are a freelander with a boot full of soiled nappies (under the carpet).

Cleaned a corsa once where someone shat on the rear bench.

Various undergarments, i'l let your imagination wander there.

Was once discussing a mk1 avensis with the salesman, just to give it a quick clean to freshen it up to trade it out as a farmer owned it and it was mauldy. He told me to pull the seat covers off of it and he ripped the arse part of one off himself to see what the seats were like. The seat had just shy of €1k in €20 notes in it. Nobody ever looked for it back.

The seat had just shy of €1k in €20 notes in it. Nobody ever looked for it back.

how much did that celica cost you again??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

I know a guy who found a load of scuba diving equipment in the back of his X5 after leaving it in for a service over the weekend in a main dealer garage.
    The garage frantically rang him later to try and bullsh1t him that he should bring the car back as they had forgotten to put an engine cover on or something but he had found the scuba stuff already.... One of the staff took it down the country... ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

An elephant in the snow with diarrhea, in the boot, you think I would have found it.Oh and some money.

I never had a chance to ask them to be honest

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

The previous owner of my S2000 left an air freshener in it that smelled GLORIOUS... to the point where I've made a point of tracking down and buying ONLY that air freshener.
    What was the air freshener?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

I found a load of Japanese coins and receipts in the car along with these weird buttons off a jumper or something
    By the look of it they were 90s buttons ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭RobTheLad

A few years ago I used to work valeting cars at a garage in Dublin which used to lease a lot of cars to car rental companies. When we got these back usually around August/September time, we used to find loads of cash when cleaning them out both Euro and Sterling in the cars, was crazy the sums we'd find!

Also similarly, the folks bought a nearly new car last year, was an ex rental I think too, and inside one of the door pockets they found a mass booklet for the funeral of some old lady, was quite random

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Found a camera and a ladies handbag in the glove compartment of a SAAB I bought a few years back. Rang the owner...

Me: "Hi it's me, the guy who bought the SAAB off you two days ago. I ..."
    Him: "You can fcuk right off ! Buyer beware! Don't ring this number again or else..." [Hangs up]

Sound so. Camera cost about €350 new, (still have it), bag was full of expensive make-up so the GF got all of that. Still have the car, never gave me a moments bother.

Twat.

There was a folder full of paperwork left in an E28 524 that I bought for DM 1300 (about €650) in Germany about 13-14 years ago. It looked important so I drove about 100km out of my way to hand it back (Munich to Augsburg return). Got DM1000 (€500) back from the company owner for my trouble, it was before mobile phones were everywhere, I had rang them to pick the car up from a payphone and they had no way of contacting me.