Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf mk5 1.9tdi to 1.4 am I mad

• 20-04-2015 6:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭

So as most of you know I currently have a golf 1.9tdi 07 105bhp. Biggest problem with it being the lack of back seats. I noticed two local garages have 08 1.4 golfs the standard 80bhp 1.4. Now maybe I'm losing it but I was strongly considering going to look at them and see what kind of trade in I would get.

Now I'm under no allusion that the 1.4 is slower but I mean how bad are we talking I mean will it comfortably sit on the motorway at 120kmh or will it be screaming. What are they like on fuel obviously will be worse but are we talking 40mpg or worse on longish trips. Finally are they reliable from what I hear they are reasonably good.

Any opinions ?
    Even typing it I think I'm loosing it but would like to know abit about them before making a final decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You're mental. You love your TDI anyway.

It's the engine we all love to hate, but it's torquey and capable, the 1.4 is dirt.

Could you pay vrt and passenger it I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Would ya not get something different and a bit nicer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

DO NOT BUY A 1.4 PETROL GOLF.

You will hate yourself for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

More or less what I was expecting in terms of reply I think you are right I would probably get sick of it too quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Get a tsi if you're serious. Shouldn't be too hard if you look. The Base 1.4 is a shyte engine.

I wouldn't limit yourself to the same again either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Paul.k.b.90

Had a 1.4Mk5 golf myself, driving on the motor was torture..at 120 the car will be hitting nearly 4k revs (at least mine was) .. I never had an issue with mine other than that..great little car to nip around in but if your doing any sort of decent mileage I would stay well clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sell the Golf van privately, they'll be queuing outside the door for it. But I wouldn't be parting with it for a 1.4 Golf. You will soon lose the will to live it. Have a look at a Passat 1.4 TSi too, more of them around than TSi Golfs plus it's not another MkV Golf.

Thanks for all the advice.

My long term plan was always to buy something decent well up the years next summer when I'm finished college and have a permanent job.

Tbh I like my golf it runs very well needs nothing and I find it a comfortable car. The only reason I'm even considering changing it is the lack of back seats and it would be very handy to have them. Considering I have a job now and never have more than a few days of at a time trying to sell it privately and then buy something quickly would be a nightmare although would no doubt be the cheapest way to do it. Hence why I was thinking of trading it against something of similar value as I really dont want to hand over thousands and thousands with it when I'll only be changing in 12 months. Hence why the 1.4 golfs would have worked except for their sh!t engines.

The way I see it I have two options:
    1:
    Suck it up live without the back seats and keep the golf for another year then get something decent late next summer.

2:
    Sell it now try and get a decent car for in and around the same as what my one is worth and keep it for a year and then get something better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭madcabbage

I've a 07 1.4 sport and I can tell ya it bores the arse off me. Solid car, has never let me down but looking to change later in the year and get something that can actually move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You're mental. You love your TDI anyway.

It's the engine we all love to hate, but it's torquey and capable, the 1.4 is dirt.

Could you pay vrt and passenger it I wonder?

+10000000000000000000000000000000000000

Bpmull wrote: »
    Thanks for all the advice.

My long term plan was always to buy something decent well up the years next summer when I'm finished college and have a permanent job.

Tbh I like my golf it runs very well needs nothing and I find it a comfortable car. The only reason I'm even considering changing it is the lack of back seats and it would be very handy to have them. Considering I have a job now and never have more than a few days of at a time trying to sell it privately and then buy something quickly would be a nightmare although would no doubt be the cheapest way to do it. Hence why I was thinking of trading it against something of similar value as I really dont want to hand over thousands and thousands with it when I'll only be changing in 12 months. Hence why the 1.4 golfs would have worked except for their sh!t engines.

The way I see it I have two options:
    1:
    Suck it up live without the back seats and keep the golf for another year then get something decent late next summer.

2:
    Sell it now try and get a decent car for in and around the same as what my one is worth and keep it for a year and then get something better.

You try trade that against a car of the same value and you will pay thousands. It would be a salesmans dream.

How often do you have passengers? If you don't have free time to sell it I'm guessing not often enough to justify the spend.

You try trade that against a car of the same value and you will pay thousands. It would be a salesmans dream.

How often do you have passengers? If you don't have free time to sell it I'm guessing not often enough to justify the spend.

Ah well it's just the inconvenience of only being able to take one passenger. If I had a car I recon I would carry passengers regular enough. Tbh it looks like it really makes no sense to change it as I don't want to put much money with it and don't particularily want to go to the effort of trying to sell it privately. My biggest worry would be changing it and ending up going backwards with something that is troublesome or just not nice.

I might look at it again at the end of this summer in August maybe and see how I feel about it. Tbh I think changing it could be just throwing money away. As as it stands it has new pads all around discs are good all filters changed within the last few weeks new turanza tyres on the front over 50% turanzas I. The back it literally needs nothing spent on it and anything I buy will more than likely need stuff done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sell it and go buy something different BP!

There's so many other cars out there you could own for less than half of what you'd get for the Golf! Avoid the 1.4 though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,047 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The 1.4 Golf is fine if you never plan on going on a motorway and never plan on overtaking another car, that's as good as I can describe it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Now I'm under no allusion that the 1.4 is slower but I mean how bad are we talking I mean will it comfortably sit on the motorway at 120kmh or will it be screaming.

Compared to the TDI it'll be a dog on the Motorway

The 1.4 Golf is fine if you never plan on going on a motorway and never plan on overtaking another car, that's as good as I can describe it.

Could be an issue when at least 50% of my driving is motorway :pac: tbh I recon it would be a bit painful having on the motorway a lot screaming at you probably drinking petrol too. I think the best option would be to keep it for another year and then buy something mad and quick. I will keep an open mind over the summer as I change my mind on a weekly basis I could literally have anything. I have kind of gotten to the point where I have spent a fair bit since passing my test changing cars this is my third and it might be no harm just to keep it another while kind of just going through a phase of being sick of spending money on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

I have a 1.4 Golf (Albeit a Mk4)

60Mph is bang on 3k rpm. Get around 40mpg out of it, Really have to plan your overtakes though!

Solid reliable car but slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Stating the obvious here, would you not just stick 'em in the back(the passengers) You would fit two people in the back.

With no back seats?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Get a nice sportline passat or jetta of similar value for a year, then move on to something different. Didn't you have a 2.5 st before this?

Yes.

If you want some unsecured lads rolling around in the back of your van, have fun :pac:

I don't have a van, but if I did I would be dumping them in the back, or they can walk. They would be glad to get a lift at all.

Wouldn't be legal or safe, not to mind the stupidity of it.

I wouldn't go down that road myself have never had anyone in the back of it and never will tbh.

As for changing or not I think I need to think it over for a few weeks and see what I want to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭madcabbage

I wouldn't go down that road myself have never had anyone in the back of it and never will tbh.

As for changing or not I think I need to think it over for a few weeks and see what I want to do.

Well how much do you think it's worth? And what's your budget?

I know this isn't going to be very liked but anyway.

A local garage have a 1.4 petrol golf 08 80bhp 120k km out on loan to a girl but if she doesn't buy it it will be back in tomorrow. Tbh from the picture I like it not the highest spec but has the 5 spoke vw alloys which are my favourite of all the alloys.

So now let's be realistic here it will be slower than my current one in everyway I get that. But other than power it literally ticks every box and tbh I'm not a fast driver I often only trundle along anyway. Is it realistic to expect late 30s to 40mpg on longish trips.

I mean the car will be used to drive at 80-100 kmh on back roads to work which is 25km each way. Then there will be the odd long trips over the summer hoping to go to Kerry athlone etc. When I get back to college it will be used to go 160km to cork and back at weekend so 320km a week 160km being motorway.

So as an overall average your looking at 400km a week in the car of mainly mixed longish driving. Anyone any more comments on this.

.....tbh I'm not a fast driver I often only trundle along anyway. Is it realistic to expect late 30s to 40mpg on longish trips.

So as an overall average your looking at 400km a week in the car of mainly mixed longish driving. Anyone any more comments on this.

You could see less than 35mpg in that 1.4 unless you really are not a fast driver.

OP, sounds like your mind is really made up around a 1.4 Golf and no opinions here are really going to sway it at this stage.

It will rev insanely high on the motorway, is almost as noisy as the 1.9tdi and is going to be a real step down. It seems like it's got to be a Golf so just try find the best you can.

Wait. What was the point in selling it?

I test drove a few things there. Started with a 1.4 astra 08 was grand only felt like a step down interior wise. Then I test drove a spotless 06 1.6 golf with all the toys leather steering wheel everything I really like that 6 speed box. Only thing is its 06 and 3 door rather than 5.

I'm going looking at a 1.4 golf 08 comfortline 170k km on it tomorrow 6 month warranty 5 door. So tbh if I'm happy with that one and the deal goes through on my own tonight I'll probably buy that. Although I really like the 1.6 golf I test drove.

Will the 1.4 golf be slower than the standard 1.4 astra I drove today or about the same or what's the story comparing the two it was an astra h.

It will be slower yes. You're mad...unless this is a wind up because I can't see someone going as backwards as you are intentionally:D

If you want economy how about a 2 litre Focus. Decent poke, nice spec, 6 speed box and a nice car to drive. More reliable than the 1.6 since you've been burned before.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9201384

Megane which should have warranty and do your economomy/back seats thing.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9173586

Your mileage for college is low too. If I was in your shoes and the insurance worked I'd be in a GTI, RS Clio or similar.

Are they seriously a lot slower than a 1.4 astra I thought they were more or less the same.

Your all making me feel so bad :pac:

You see I've decided to reign in the budget a bit ive test drove a few things but want to stay with a golf so that leaves 1.4 or 1.6 take your pick.

Are they seriously a lot slower than a 1.4 astra I thought they were more or less the same.

Your all making me feel so bad :pac:

You see I've decided to reign in the budget a bit ive test drove a few things but want to stay with a golf so that leaves 1.4 or 1.6 take your pick.

But why bother selling at all if you're just going to get another, worse Golf? I'm really not seeing the logic here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭friso59

As far as I can see you want to change cars for extra seats so you can give other people a lift. So you are trading down to a worse car for the sake of other people.

I've had a 1.4 before and have a 1.9tdi now and would prefer the 1.9 every day of the week. The 1.4 really struggled on motorways. It doesn't make sense to me.

But why bother selling at all if you're just going to get another, worse Golf? I'm really not seeing the logic here.

My current golf as a van is now useless to me I need a car with back seats it's just way to inconvient to have a van for loads of reasons but main being back seats. But I like my golf and want another and tbh that astra felt perfectly fine to me today so the golf would want to be a lot slower tbh.

Anyway if someone could compare 1.4 to 1.6 and tell me which is the better in terms of economy and reliability although they all have warrants anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What are ya at ya daft looney! You love that golf you have, why would you demote yourself to a rotten petrol one. I get severely plssed of in my 90bhp focus most of the time, not too pokey when overtaking, needing to always drop a gear or 3 to overtake. I can easily just jump into the mondeo and have power again though.

Are you sure you've thought this through, this thread has opened, you've provisionally sold your van and almost bought another in the space of 2/3 days. Take a step back and be certain with what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Why don't you just go back a year or two and get a tdi passenger golf if your fixated on it being a golf of some sort?

And yes, yes you are insane; that is one of the single worst petrol cars on the road today. It's like fueling a 2.0 while driving a 1.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

My current golf as a van is now useless to me I need a car with back seats it's just way to inconvient to have a van for loads of reasons but main being back seats. But I like my golf and want another and tbh that astra felt perfectly fine to me today so the golf would want to be a lot slower tbh.

Anyway if someone could compare 1.4 to 1.6 and tell me which is the better in terms of economy and reliability although they all have warrants anyway.

Much better Petrol cars out there than a 1.4 Golf. A 1.8 civic for example would be a much better option.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Much better Petrol cars out there than a 1.4 Golf. A 1.8 civic for example would be a much better option.

Actually yes!

Something like this

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/8709886
    Honda Civic 1.8 Litre Petrol

Drove a relatives one, 2007, Type S 1.8 and it's absolutely smashing car. The only thing that goes against it is the lack of rear view with the spoiler. Plenty of power @ 140 odd bhp and Colm gets mid 40's mpg out of his.

A 1.4 Golf will destroy you in terms of lack of pace and economy will suffer because you'll have to rev it. Why buy something to carry people but not have the power for it in the first place??

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

Sure fcuk it I'll skip the 1.8 civic and go straight in a buy that golf GTI that is linked above :pac: . I'm trying to keep it to 1.4 im not expecting something quick unfortunately I can't just go out and buy any engine size I want.

Tbh my head is beyond wrecked at this stage I've driven more cars today than Id say I've driven in my life and still all I want is another golf but of course there would only be two stupid petrol engines to choose from one worse than the other by the looks of the way they are talked about here.

Sure fcuk it I'll skip the 1.8 civic and go straight in a buy that golf GTI that is linked above :pac: . I'm trying to keep it to 1.4 im not expecting something quick unfortunately I can't just go out and buy any engine size I want.

Tbh my head is beyond wrecked at this stage I've driven more cars today than Id say I've driven in my life and still all I want is another golf but of course there would only be two stupid petrol engines to choose from one worse than the other by the looks of the way they are talked about here.

I don't know what else you expect though? If you really are set on a Golf then you'll have to settle for a not so good engine. To me that seems like madness but if it's what you want, work away.

Insurance and tax won't be much bigger on the 1.8 Civic and they are supposed to be super reliable. There's a difference between a 2.0T Golf and a 1.8 N/A Civic. Check the insurance quotes and go drive one sure!

We are only advising here, most of us can't understand your logic and unwillingness to see that a base spec 75bhp Golf that weighs about as much as the moon won't be a good car..!

If the 1.6 had a six speed box it's the better FSI engine. Another +1 for the civic though.

The way you keep harping on about a 1.4 has me thinking this might be a p1ss take. The world and it's mother knows that particular engine in the Golf isn't great, you surely do too. Why you would willingly buy one, and a leggy one at that, doesn't compute.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Tbh my head is beyond wrecked at this stage I've driven more cars today than Id say I've driven in my life and still all I want is another golf but of course there would only be two stupid petrol engines to choose from one worse than the other by the looks of the way they are talkd about here.

I think you need to step back here
    you could just wait for a golf that suits you to come up its not as if you have no car at the minute

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Then there will be the odd long trips over the summer hoping to go to Kerry athlone etc. When I get back to college it will be used to go 160km to cork and back at weekend so 320km a week 160km being motorway.

One thing I've learned since being on this Forum is that most people seem to like thrashing little petrol engines to within an inch of their lives. You may well be one of them mate.

You'll have to be, takin' that yoke on long Motorway jaunts :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rose35

If the 1.6 had a six speed box it's the better FSI engine. Another +1 for the civic though.

The way you keep harping on about a 1.4 has me thinking this might be a p1ss take. The world and it's mother knows that particular engine in the Golf isn't great, you surely do too. Why you would willingly buy one, and a leggy one at that, doesn't compute.

Please enlighten me, are you talking power wise or should I be looking out for something major to happen with my 1.4 petrol golf engine?
    Have it for nearly 3 years and had no problems so far...

Rose35 wrote: »
    Please enlighten me, are you talking power wise or should I be looking out for something major to happen with my 1.4 petrol golf engine?
    Have it for nearly 3 years and had no problems so far...

Little power.
    Geared to scream it's little heart out at higher speeds.
    Thirsty for what they are.
    Weak gearbox.
    Noisy.
    Can get tappetty, burn oil.

I'm sure you're happy with your car, but that particular engine is the worst version.

Phew... was half expecting that maybe the engine might blow up or something.
    Yeah happy enough, a bit underpowered alright but I don't do any motorway driving so suits me fine for country road driving, doesn't burn any oil at all and is same as my previous car on petrol (focus). Had a few issues with coils but that was the height of it.

Phew... was half expecting that maybe the engine might blow up or something.
    Yeah happy enough, a bit underpowered alright but I don't do any motorway driving so suits me fine for country road driving, doesn't burn any oil at all and is same as my previous car on petrol (focus). Had a few issues with coils but that was the height of it.