Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

someone just kicked my dog

• 20-04-2015 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭

I'm absolutely shaking right now

I was just out walking my dog and as we walked past this guy he just turns and gives her a huge kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Links234 wrote: »

I was just out walking my dog and as we walked past this guy he just turns and gives her a huge kick.

And what did you do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hope you kicked him back. Could you remember a what they look like if you were to report it to the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Report it to the Guards,
    They may do nothing but worth calling anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

how weird and they knew you could see them? did the dog get hurt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Wow wow context? If a huge dog came running at me for example my first reaction might be a kick too lest I get my squares chewed off. Was your dog even on a leash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

already reported it,

no, I didn't kick him back, probably would've ended up with me getting the **** knocked out of me. I'm not a violent person at all, I screamed at him

I'm just shaking with anger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭66ad

Wow, sorry to hear that links. Is your dog hurt?

she seems ok, let a huge yelp when he kicked her but doesn't seem to be limping or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Shandashey

Jesus that is shocking

Your dog is gorgeous

Hope you're both ok after that - there are some mad people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Is she ok?

Report it to the DSPCA and to the guards. Look after yourself and give her lots of cuddles tonight.:o

happened me on the dart one time. It was packed and everyone was squashed and there was this man about 65 or so. I felt an elbow dig in the side. I just looked around and seen the man muttering something to himself angrily. I was looking at him throughout the journey and then he goes and does it to another woman standing beside him like a proper angry shove.

Two men got on that were very tall and stocky and he did it to one of them, they told him to f off and he turned into this little wimp.

People are weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

That's seriously crazy. Really hope your dog is ok ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

That's a really arseholeish thing to do. I wish them an explosive bout of the squits and crippling pain to match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm not a violent person either but I don't think I could restrain myself if someone done that to my dog.. even if it led to me getting my head kicked in.

What did the Gardai say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Satori Rae

This some what happened to me before, some young one I was walking by (she was leaning against a wall with a load of young lads) took a swing at my dog with her foot (I was expecting trouble due to them eyein us up and she screamed in my face as I was trying to walk by at my dog who was minding his own business on lead beside me) before she made contact with her foot I whipped off his muzzle

Her leg stopped mid air to my surprise the young lads grabbed her and pulled her back so I could continue on my way but not before I told her I would do a lot worse then the dog would if she tried that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

There are crazy people out there. That's the explanation, unfortunately.

If you don't feel like you can think straight right now, let us do the thinking for you - as others have already said, you need to report it to the Gardai and your local SPCA. Seriously. For multiple reasons.

Also, if it was me, I would be bringing the dog to the vet sooner rather than later. But I tend to be a bit of a hypochondriac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Jesus Links, that's awful :( We recently got a dog and I don't know how I'd react in that situation! I'm glad she seems unhurt, and she is absolutely gorgeous. Some people are just *****

Oh and sorry about your dog she is a real cutie. Where you walking her through a town or rural setting?. I stick to rural settings less chance of idiots!

Guards said they'll go looking for him, other neighbors came along to see what was happening as apparently he'd just kicked other people's dogs as well, including a little labrador pup up the street. he was talking to himself too, I thought at first he was on his phone or something so I didn't take any notice. this happened right near my house too so I'm especially scared right now.

no way would I attempt to give anyone a kicking, I'm a skinny woman who's no strength at all, and this is a violent scumbag who's seemingly getting his buzz by kicking animals that are weaker than him. I screamed at him to **** off but that's it, my main instinct was to pick up my dog and protect her, rather than try anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Is this other person some sort of head case? Do you recognise him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

let thee kick not, lest thee too be kick-ed.

and mine right hand surely would smote upon his loins.

didn't recognise him, never saw him before

Guards said they'll go looking for him, other neighbors came along to see what was happening as apparently he'd just kicked other people's dogs as well, including a little labrador pup up the street. he was talking to himself too, I thought at first he was on his phone or something so I didn't take any notice. this happened right near my house too so I'm especially scared right now.

no way would I attempt to give anyone a kicking, I'm a skinny woman who's no strength at all, and this is a violent scumbag who's seemingly getting his buzz by kicking animals that are weaker than him. I screamed at him to **** off but that's it, my main instinct was to pick up my dog and protect her, rather than try anything

I know it might sound stupid but could he have Tourette's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Sounds like a headcase. Hope the guards scoop him up sharpish and the pooch is ok.

Go and have a sit down and a cuddle Links. What a rotten experience to have :(.

Hope you and the doggy feel better and if any of the guards you spoke to have dogs of their own then I'm sure they'll do what they can. Give the pup a hug from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sounds like he might be schizophrenic or something. I wouldn't worry about him coming back to cause more trouble. He probably wasn't even paying attention to the people he encountered on his dog punting escapade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

Sounds like he could have mental health problems, or I hope that's the case not just someone who gets their thrill hurting animals. You did well keeping your temper I'd not of been able to if someone hurt my dogs.
    Your dog is so cute too glad she's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Your dog's a little cutie. That's awful. Not sure how I'd react if somebody kicked my little dog. Think I'd be too shocked. Guy sounds a bit disturbed. Probably for the best you just shouted and left him.

Was he on drugs or drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What a bastard. If anyone kicked my dog I'd slap their head in.

Keep an eye on her for the next 24-48 hours, make sure she's 100%. Check for any lumps or bumps and anything abnormal in her pee or poop.

I didn't keep my temper, I absolutely saw red and screamed at him what the **** did he think he was doing and to **** off, never felt so angry, I think I startled him because he muttered something and wandered off, my guess he didn't expect that from me and got a shock. doubt he'd have done what he did if it was some big lad and his dog instead of me

he didn't seem drunk, but he did seem kinda out of it so I'm guessing drugs, he looked rough. I wouldn't say he's mentally ill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If anyone comes near my dog, they're losing an eye. Slowly. With rusty pliers.

Sounds like he may not be mentally well or such so could be unaware of what he did even. Just stay inside and chuck lots of love at your pooch. It will be fine It is scary having a big man do something like that but he must be a coward for kicking puppies health issues or not.

I had the local alcoholic try attack me (for crossing the road as he was drunk driving) when I was walking my dog home. Stopped to get out the car to mouth off and was going to give me a few slaps lucky for me I own big dogs. So he backed off.

But I was scared sh**less for a while I can tell you.

I carry sprays in my dog bag I would spray a person in the eyes with deodorant if they came at me :P Small woman or not feck them like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

That's so cruel. So people are just scumbags
    Your dog is so cute op.hope she's OK and not too shaken up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

What utter scum! I'd be so upset and angry if that happened to my dog.

Hope your pup will be okay, but definitely watch her closely for a while to make sure she's not injured.

I hope she's ok too... I'm not ok though, I'm very shaken.

I suffer seriously bad with anxiety, so I'm kinda just ****ed sideways right now,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

That's sick. Can't believe someone would do that . Imagine what the asshole does to animals when there's no one there. I'd lose the rag if someone kicked my dog .

I hope she's ok too... I'm not ok though, I'm very shaken.

I suffer seriously bad with anxiety, so I'm kinda just ****ed sideways right now,
    Sit down and eat something and talk ****e or watch tv. Actually rehashing it on the net so soon after might actually build it up. If you feel it's helping continue sharing though. We are here for you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Any CCTV or street cameras in the area if so the garda should find him, hope you and your dog are okay now, I would kill anyone that tried to hurt my dogs.

No, no CCTV or anything I think, it's a pretty quiet neighborhood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Sorry to hear about your dog and other's dogs. My first reaction was one of violence also, but on further inspection it seems you've someone who is mentally ill there. Hopefully they're found and looked after.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    What a bastard. If anyone kicked my dog I'd slap their head in.

Keep an eye on her for the next 24-48 hours, make sure she's 100%. Check for any lumps or bumps and anything abnormal in her pee or poop.
    Check for tenderness too or if she is reluctant to give you a paw or let you touch her somewhere.

LadyAthame wrote: »
    Sit down and eat something and talk ****e or watch tv. Actually rehashing it on the net so soon after might actually build it up. If you feel it's helping continue sharing though. We are here for you. :)

Think I'll grab myself something to eat and get a coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Hey your dog is ok and you're ok, that's all that matters.

Don't let some drunk/drugged ape ruin your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Paul.k.b.90

I would flip the lid if I saw someone kick my dog

I found my dog..bunch of lads at the time I say late teens early 20s chasing him trying to kick him and throw things..the dog got aggressive because they backed him into a corner and they went off..poor dog was limping with cuts on his shoulders and stuff. Went over to him and he took a a few nicks outta my arms before he let me touch him.. trip to the vets and the rescue centre advertising him as missing for 2 months checking for mico-chips etc.

4 years later and he now enjoys tearing up my back garden :D

Hope your dogs OK OP..jsut keep an eye for the next couple days. some people are sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭poeticmakaveli

A box into the mouth that fella would want and I can guarantee he wouldn't be long coming back to his senses! Scumbag!! Can't stand the dirt that's around now,and that's from all walks of life in this country,not just the likes of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

That is absolutely unreal, it seems the man may be in need of medical attention. Hopefully the guards will get him and get him the help that he needs. You little dog is absolutely gorgeous. I hope that you and your dog will be ok tonight. I totally understand what you mean about the anxiety, maybe a friend or someone could accompy you and your dog on the same walk tomorrow.
    Hope ye both are ok xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Luckydog69

Your poor little doggie...how could anybody hurt an animal....hope she is OK and don't suffer any aftershock...she is so cute....I would love this a**hole to try and kick my 9 st beast, speaking of which he is pawing me for his evening stroll...give your little one an extra treat before bedtime tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭poeticmakaveli

Your dog is beautiful by the way!!