Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The all new, revised and easier quiz! (mod note posts 1 and 2042)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,738 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Fob (watch)?

Can't claim credit again - daughter-in-law guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

looksee wrote: »
    Fob (watch)?

Can't claim credit again - daughter-in-law guess!

Hurrah for her, she's got it! kettle and hob = fob watch, which was particularly bloody-minded.

Over to you! (or her :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭KayPea

Samaris wrote: »
    Hurrah for her, she's got it! kettle and hob = fob watch, which was particularly bloody-minded.

Over to you! (or her :D)

Ok then. Guantlet accepted.
    What links young pentatomidae, a minor deity and a Monet painting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

KayPea wrote: »

I know exactly what pentatomidae are. :cool: (biology degree comes into it'sown at last)

BUT no idea on the connection :(

Oh crikey, KayPea.

Pentatomidae..five-sections, so a type of bug? Young insects are usually larvae, and sometimes called nymphs, which seems to be the most likely connection. Monet did a lot of nature scenes, but he may have included nymphs somewhere, and they are the offspring of a river Titan, according to my partner, so I suppose they could be considered minor deities. I'm not certain enough to get any more specific though.

Am I anywhere near the right track?

Edit: my next guess involves a nightmare dream of Monet's in which he painted Khepri, the scarab-god of Egypt while on a lot of drugs.

Oh crikey, KayPea.

Pentatomidae..five-sections, so a type of bug? Young insects are usually larvae, and sometimes called nymphs, which seems to be the most likely connection. Monet did a lot of nature scenes, but he may have included nymphs somewhere, and they are the offspring of a river Titan, according to my partner, so I suppose they could be considered minor deities. I'm not certain enough to get any more specific though.

Am I anywhere near the right track?

Edit: my next guess involves a nightmare dream of Monet's in which he painted Khepri, the scarab-god of Egypt while on a lot of drugs.

You are on the right track!
    Young insect = nymph
    Now you just need to find the other 2 connections

Edit: Just reread what you wrote (I was on phone and not concentrating)
    Minor deity = nymph
    One more connection left.

Did Monet paint fisherfolk using nymphs?

Rubecula wrote: »
    Did Monet paint fisherfolk using nymphs?

Not that I know of Rubecula. What painting is one of his most famous? That is the direction to head in.

Drat, I figured it out while staring at his most famous pictures. However, the -reason- I got it was because I was basically told it. Which is a leeetle dodgy in terms of le Google so I'll stay quiet for now! :D

Ok Samaris. We'll see who can get the last step.

It has all gone quiet. Will I give the last part of the answer or are ye still pondering?

Go for it!

looksee wrote: »
    Go for it!

The famous painting is Waterlillies and the Latin for Waterlillies is nymphaea.
    With the insect nymph and the minor deity nymph, Nymph is the link.

Samaris got two out of 3. Would you like to set the next question or will I go again?

Please do KayPea

Rubecula wrote: »
    Please do KayPea

Ok then. What is a deodand?

For no reason that i can fathom, all that is coming to mind is some sort of animal like a light-weight zebra. I have no idea why that is in my head. Otherwise I have no idea, and I am pretty sure it is not that.

Edit, ok i have looked it up and indeed it is not any sort of zebra. The other notion I had, which I dismissed, was actually much closer. Drat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Ok then. What is a deodand?

Well, did yiz miss me? Huh? I've had a week or so B&B at the hostible but, by using my knotwork skills, I'm out.

I don't know this but, from above hint, I don't think it's any specific animal. "Deo" is God, (not "king" so it's not a lion) so my guess is it's a sacrifice of something, maybe an animal, to God.

We did Brens (thats a royal 'we', I presume the others missed you :D) Hope you are feeling better.

Sorry Looksee, not a zebra or small, shy buffalo.

Hey Brens, You are on the right track - Deodand translates as "Gift to God", but not a sacrifice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

I swear some of ye are on first name terms with Mr. Wikipedia!! I 'fess to looking that up! Brens, when you say you are out, does that mean you escaped? You must have contacts in Mexico! :eek: They obviously gave you the wrong cell with the wrong shower! ;)

Hey Brens, You are on the right track - Deodand translates as "Gift to God", but not a sacrifice...

Hmmmm, "not a sacrifice!"
    A tribute? No, that's sort of customary and mandatory.
    A penance or a fine, maybe?

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Hmmmm, "not a sacrifice!"
    A tribute? No, that's sort of customary and mandatory.
    A penance or a fine, maybe?

I'll accept that brens! A deodand is medieval forfeit to the king of the instrument of a murder or death. It was usually confiscated by the coroner/crowner. It could be the horse that trampled someone, a knife that stabbed, a rock that was thrown. The deodand was often offered to the family of the deceased as part or all of compensation.

Something that the law takes off you if it has caused a death.

A deodand is medieval forfeit to the king of the instrument of a murder or death. It was usually confiscated by the coroner/crowner. It could be the horse that trampled someone, a knife that stabbed, a rock that was thrown. The deodand was often offered to the family of the deceased as part or all of compensation.

Hmmm. "Deo..." = "forfeit to the king"??? Shouldn't it be "Rexand"? I knew there was a reason I'm not a monarchist!

Anyway, in a similar vein, (ahem....big heads) I've given up asking how women's dress sizes are calculated but how are hat sizes measured? Yeah, yeah, I know! You use a tape to measure the circumference of your head. Typically, you'll get somewhere around 21 or 22 or even 23 inches or the equivalent in cms. But if you ask for a 22inch hat, you will be mocked mercilessly for a very long time. Where did the 71/4, 71/2 etc. come from?

PS: I'm off to assist medical science again tomorrow so apologies in advance for any delay with my replies.

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Hmmm. "Deo..." = "forfeit to the king"??? Shouldn't it be "Rexand"? I knew there was a reason I'm not a monarchist!

Anyway, in a similar vein, (ahem....big heads) I've given up asking how women's dress sizes are calculated but how are hat sizes measured? Yeah, yeah, I know! You use a tape to measure the circumference of your head. Typically, you'll get somewhere around 21 or 22 or even 23 inches or the equivalent in cms. But if you ask for a 22inch hat, you will be mocked mercilessly for a very long time. Where did the 71/4, 71/2 etc. come from?
    Kings and queens through history have often confused royal and divine. Maybe it comes from no one saying no to them.

As to hats I am puzzled. If it is as complicated as shoe sizing, I shudder to think. It can't be barleycorns because they are a third of an inch. It needs to be something that converts 22 inches to roughly 7 something or others.... Pause for thinking...
    There is a measurement that is equivalent to 3 inches; is it a stick?? That is if the whole notion is based on the inch. It might be based on a metrimperial doodad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Hat size is the measurement of the circumference of the head (in inches) divided by pi. (3.14 something something something).
    I blame the mercury. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

I know i came across that before OG, though I could not remember when the question was put (old age is a terrible thing!:)) and I think it was you who had explained it some long while ago :P

I know 3 milliners who have each explained it to me and I still can't tell you what they were waffling on about. :) On the plus side I do have a collection of fetching fitted hats.

Question:
    Harps, the musical instruments, come in all shapes and sizes. The largest of the harps are the grand concert double peddle ones. Although there are variances what is the typical number of strings on a concert harp?

ok, wild guess (I am not a bit musical!) I suspect it might be a multiple of 7 so I will hazard 84?

Lower than that. It's close to the number of white keys on a grand piano.