Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People you would like to dislike but you just cant

• 18-04-2015 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭

What celebrities etc. do you like but at another level would like not to?

People that you think you shouldn't like but secretly you do.

For me:
    Gerry Adams,
    Not a fan of Sinn Fein and he's no angel but I love the guys sense of humor.

Micheál Martin, Again never a FF fan but grew up near him and we'd try to hassle him when canvasing etc but to be fair you just couldn't rattle him and he was always happy to entertain disgruntled teenagers.

Donal Skehan, Coming from an affluent background, boy band member and food critic by his mid twenties it sounds like I should find him really irritating but I cant. Dont know why but always find him entertaining.

Lance Armstrong, drug cheat sportsman etc etc. Something about just how single minded & determined to get what he wants just makes me find him fascinating. I read his books before he was found out and didnt believe his innocence for a second but so brazen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Tom Cruise, I want to hate the short arsed fecker but he always comes across great in interviews. No nonsense and very self deprecating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Kevin Myers
    Prince Philip
    Martin McGuinness

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Ryan tubs, can't understand the vitriol directed at him sometimes , he's not that bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

anncoates wrote: »
    Kevin Myers
    Prince Philip
    Martin McGuinness

Prince Philip, how could I have not mentioned him. Legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Everyone tells me I should dislike Bono but I really like him.

And I have never been to a U2 concert.

I just like Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Prince Philip, how could I have not mentioned him. Legend

Wouldn't go as far as that but I just guiltily enjoy his outbursts.

I suspect he's one of these people that is horrible in the accepted sense: gentry, politics and so on but you'd probably just like him personally. A good friend of mine had a father-in-law (a dyed-in-the-wool Francoist) that was the same: awful politics and views but you just couldn't help secretly warming to him personally, because of his charisma, (appalling) humour and friendliness. It was a little weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

I just like Bono.

And Bono like you too buddie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Jesus Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Nigel Farage. I dislike everything about his politics but he's most certainly the party leader in the UK that I'd prefer to be stuck with on a holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Aongus Von Bismarck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Nib wrote: »
    Aongus Von Bismarck.

Hardly a celeb. Unless Boards is the world.

Frederick off the Million Dollar Listing -a gowl, but a watchable gowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Hardly a celeb. Unless Boards is the world.

Frederick off the Million Dollar Listing -a gowl, but a watchable gowl.
    How do you know he's a Boards poster? This is your first post.. right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Nib wrote: »
    How do you know he's a Boards poster? This is your first post.. right?

First post ever. Honest Guv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Tom Cruise as well.
    Robert Downey Jr
    Jennifer Lawrence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

my old teacher. some would call her a bit of Nazi when it came to discipline and teaching style, but I always had this begrudging respect for her. she knew how to command a class and make them listen even if by rather abrasive means. she didn't take any crap and was very up front if someone was acting out. god help you if you hadn't the homework done to her standard, and if not done at all then ''don't even darken her door'' as she put it.you weren't even allowed have your head in your hand/s in her class. at the time I just thought she was a bully but at the end of the day I did listen to her. well I had to, her style of teaching was very ''shut up and listen''. you always knew where you stood with her.

I bumped into her recently and she asked me how I was, she was friendly and smiling. I only had her once for my junior cert year in a packed class, and even then we barely interacted apart from the odd correction. but she remembered me. it was disarming to see her ''out of character'', she rarely broke it. though I did see glimpses of it in the short time she taught me. I wasn't speaking to a teacher that day. its nice seeing them in a different light once you've left school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yup.+1 for Phil The Greek. And the missus for putting up with him. She's doing well being married to the old grump this long. Not to mention putting up with a squad of kids that belong on Shameless.

Daniel O' Donnell....I just know that guy is taking the piss and laughing all the way to the bank.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

cloud493 wrote: »
    Jennifer Lawrence.

Why would you like to dislike her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I hate how everyone gushes over Jennifer Lawrence like she's Jesus christ incarnate but she is just such a lovely person in interviews, so witty, she's just extremely likeable.
    Angelina Jolies humanitarian efforts seem so patronising and contrived sometimes but she too seems like a very genuine and kind person .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Paul Murphy. What he stands for is laughable but in any interview I've heard him in, he comes across as a decent, well-spoken guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Twink. But the thought of a threesome with her and daughter Chloe cancels any feelings of dislike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

Charlie Sheen "winning" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

whupdedo wrote: »
    Ryan tubs, can't understand the vitriol directed at him sometimes , he's not that bad

He is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Bressie

Then he goes and raises so much awareness for mental health/suicide, hard to dislike after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Georgia Salpa- so called celeb, never has to work, job seems to be going on holiday and taking selfies. But there just something about her that i can't put my finger on but i really really really like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭chewed

People who can't spell "can't"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

chewed wrote: »
    People who can't spell "can't"!

Wat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Georgia Salpa- so called celeb, never has to work, job seems to be going on holiday and taking selfies. But there just something about her that i can't put my finger on but i really really really like her.

your username might be a hint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Amanda Brunker.

Having seen those puppies up close and personal i have nothing but the utmost respect for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I could put my two hands on the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

He's a pain on television but isn't bad on the radio, maybe it's his uncontrollable winking eye and the fact that he talks utter sh1te on television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He's a pain on television but isn't bad on the radio, maybe it's his uncontrollable winking eye and the fact that he talks utter sh1te on television.

Gerry Ryan was the same, no problem listening to him, couldn't stand looking at him. Some presenters are just best suited to the radio i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Gay Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

No-one I would like to dislke as such, but I realised I quite like Sarah Jessica Parker based on her whole career. Some folks seem to mistake her for Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City, and haven't seen her in e.g. Mars Attacks! or LA Story. The "horse" nonsense was only ever funny once: in Ed Wood.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Hugh Grant - he plays the same character in pretty much every movie, I hate him in films. But he comes across well in interviews and I like how he seems to just own his mistakes.

Rachel Riley - because my boyfriend fancies her :p. She seems sweet though - and she does have a fine ar*e, to be fair :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

anncoates wrote: »
    I suspect he's one of these people that is horrible in the accepted sense: gentry, politics and so on but you'd probably just like him personally. A good friend of mine had a father-in-law (a dyed-in-the-wool Francoist) that was the same: awful politics and views but you just couldn't help secretly warming to him personally, because of his charisma, (appalling) humour and friendliness. It was a little weird.

:) my boyfriend's dad was (he died a few years ago) a massive supporter of General Franco but he was the loveliest man. My boyfriend had a very hard time dealing with him growing up as he'd be from the other side of the political spectrum as are his siblings and they had long periods where they didn't talk at all but they made peace later in his life. It was strange staying in his flat in Seville and talking to this very kind, unassuming, tiny man over lunch then going into the bedroom where I slept where a photograph of Franco hung along with biographies of his life all lined up against the wall. I've met a lot of Francoists here who've been more than lovely - that was very hard to get my head round when I first got here, though I still wouldn't choose to be their friends or anything.

I don't dislike any celebrity really. I don't give them much thought. Ryan Tubridy, for example, seems grand. Can't imagine caring enough to dislike the fella.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I could put my two hands on the reason.
    And my finger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Russell Brand.

I don't think I have ever agreed with anything he has ever said, his views annoy the arse off me in fact, wanker!!!! But, he always makes me laugh the fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Nigel Farage. I dislike everything about his politics but he's most certainly the party leader in the UK that I'd prefer to be stuck with on a holiday.

Yes, he's quite intelligent and witty but boy he's got awful views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Amanda Brunker.

Having seen those puppies up close and personal i have nothing but the utmost respect for her.

Puppies? More like big droopy old basset hounds thats are so old they need to be put down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Brendan O Carroll. I don't like his comedy stuff but he comes across well in interviews.

Russell Brand. He's an annoying pseudo intellectual twat but he comes acro... ohh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Cienciano wrote: »
    Puppies? More like big droopy old basset hounds thats are so old they need to be put down

Ahh there's life in them auld dogs yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Michael Bublé. He feels like someone i should dislike but he's just so damn likeable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Declan Ganley

There's undoubtedly something of the Oberst-Gruppenführer about him, but he's an authoritative & charismatic communicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Keanu Reeves. Wooden, crap actor.

But my god read what he's like in person, the losses he's suffered in his life and how down to earth and anti-materialistic he is and your heart melts for they poor fella :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It really has to be Brendan O'Carroll. Makes absolutely awful comedy for people who only have RTEOne and RTETwo on the box but does incredible charity work and usually without cameras or spotlight surrounding it. He has permission to keep wearing glasses on top of his forehead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

I used to think Tubs was ok. A bit cringey perhaps but a nice guy. My opinion changed after the setup Paul Murphy interview. I know he will look back at that with shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Stephen Nolan. His aggressive style of interviewing should irritate me but I just love to watch him when he gets going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Cienciano wrote: »
    Ah here.

I don't want to dislike them, but Mumford & Sons. I don't like their music, but can't understand the extreme hate for them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Louis Walsh, Victoria Beckham, Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Pat Kenny